Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 768. (Read 5805728 times)

legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
No one can provide the ADL support except ATI/AMD.
(and I'm certain they won't have what you are looking for - only the download SDKs)
Any source build linux thus cannot provide the whole of cgminer.
You must (by the terms of their license) get the ADL/SDK code from them and manually install it.
More cluelessness from kano. Sad
Learn to research before commenting, please.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
No one can provide the ADL support except ATI/AMD.
(and I'm certain they won't have what you are looking for - only the download SDKs)
Any source build linux thus cannot provide the whole of cgminer.
You must (by the terms of their license) get the ADL/SDK code from them and manually install it.
hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
If you need ADL support, you'll probably have to write the missing ebuild-- I don't know of any yet. ADL support is controlled by the 'adl' USE flag and should be disabled by default-- ie, you shouldn't be getting this error with a simple 'emerge cgminer'
Ok, that explains it. As you probably guessed, I added the USE flag to my configuration as there was no warning it would break anything. Thanks for your effort, but I reverted to the ckolivas Ubuntu built packages as it's still more convenient for me.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
So I tested and reported Smiley My report seemed clear : Portage mentioned an unsatisfied dependency. As your post simply mentioned the bitcoin overlay, it seems the dependency is wrong, can't be fullfilled or the ebuild it depends on is in another overlay (should I really explain this to someone writing an ebuild ?). Would you be kind enough to choose one of these 3 possible reasons (or whatever 4th you may find more suitable) and help from here (is it my task to write the missing ebuild, is there another overlay you forgot to mention, ...).
If you need ADL support, you'll probably have to write the missing ebuild-- I don't know of any yet. ADL support is controlled by the 'adl' USE flag and should be disabled by default-- ie, you shouldn't be getting this error with a simple 'emerge cgminer'
hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
Cgminers binaries compiled for Ubuntu 64 bit with adl work (temp/fan/freq monitoring/setting works). Your ebuild depends on another that isn't provided in the bitcoin overlay nor the Portage tree.
That's an effect of using a from-source distro: you need build dependencies.
Would you please stop patronizing and start helping ? Your initial post :
NEW VERSION: 2.0.4
Now available for Gentoo through Portage (or any other ebuild package manager):
Code:
layman -a bitcoin && emerge cgminer

Please test and report results! Smiley
So I tested and reported Smiley My report seemed clear : Portage mentioned an unsatisfied dependency. As your post simply mentioned the bitcoin overlay, it seems the dependency is wrong, can't be fullfilled or the ebuild it depends on is in another overlay (should I really explain this to someone writing an ebuild ?). Would you be kind enough to choose one of these 3 possible reasons (or whatever 4th you may find more suitable) and help from here (is it my task to write the missing ebuild, is there another overlay you forgot to mention, ...).
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
Got +10 MH/s on 5850 by increasing the worksize from 128 to 256 @ 2 vectors, keeping the RAM @ 300, because @ 200 = -10 MH/s. Thanks for the update! cgminer is better than ever...
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
Cgminers binaries compiled for Ubuntu 64 bit with adl work (temp/fan/freq monitoring/setting works). Your ebuild depends on another that isn't provided in the bitcoin overlay nor the Portage tree.
That's an effect of using a from-source distro: you need build dependencies.
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 500
I know about PID controllers, I just think it's just far too complicated to bother trying to implement, as I said in git issues. Most people find the simple approach works fine. I'd happily take well done patches implementing it though. I will damp is slightly next release.

OK, thanks. I still didn't taste this new version; I guess your damp is a kind of differential control. Anyway, what I have in mind is something like this.

Fi: actual fan value
Ti: actual temp.
Tc: target temp

Pi = Ti - Tc
Di = Ti - T(i-1)
F(i+1) =  Fi + aPi + bDi

where a,b are constants that should be elected after some tryings.  See, that integral control is implicit in the dependence of old value.

the problem with the current algorithm even as it is now is that it updates too quickly before the changes have a chance to take place
so say it decreased by 1% until 34% fan, as the temp kept rising
at 34% it reaches 75C
then it reaches 78C and suddenly the fan goes to 39%, but the temp doesn't drop the next second, so the fan will increase to 44% and then to 49%

so you have two problems:
the fans keep dropping past the correct point because the temperature is a lagging indicator, the change in temperature is the current indicator of cooling (dT)
the fans go up to higher really quick because we slowed the fan down too much and won't come down for a while because we only lower by one degree

so any solution for the correct value to be reached quickly must involve a dT term, not just T
hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000

Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "dev-util/amd-adl-sdk"

I have dev-util/amd-app-sdk-bin though.
APP SDK isn't enough for the ADL features. You should be able to build with USE=-adl
Maybe it's not enough, I don't know : this was the only available ebuild with a name remotely similar to the one your ebuild requests.

More information :
Cgminers binaries compiled for Ubuntu 64 bit with adl work (temp/fan/freq monitoring/setting works). Your ebuild depends on another that isn't provided in the bitcoin overlay nor the Portage tree.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
My reply to DeathAndTaxes ... and where any more off topic discussion should be.
... as I said in my post quite a while ago ... it's shouldn't be here.

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.542595
legendary
Activity: 1762
Merit: 1011

Look I am no fan of merged mining but...

I'm curious to know why you aren't a fan of it? Is there a separate thread about this that people can take a look at that debates the pros and cons?

Edit: Nevermind: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/thoughts-and-questions-on-btc-pools-and-merged-mining-44546
donator
Activity: 1218
Merit: 1079
Gerald Davis

The description above by DeathAndTaxes is completely clueless (you missed completely what "create hash" is)

Funny you say then then link to a document which says the same thing.

Quote
This is of course a guess - but it would appear that namecoin is putting extra information in the coinbase - i.e. increasing the bitcoin block size.
(I'm guessing this due to a discussion with luke-jr)

No need to guess.  That isn't how it works at all. Funny you "know" what I said was wrong yet you haven't even figured out how it works (still making wrong guesses).

Quote
Edit: Well I guess I now have the link to get the official code at least ... from DavinciJ15 : http://dot-bit.org/Merged_Mining
(can't remember where I got it last time I compiled and ran it)

Lets take a look at that.

Quote
"Merged mining works like this, you have two totally separate block chains, they are not related in any way nor does either contain any data from the other. When you mine you generate hashes that may be the solution to the current block, this is very very improbable per hash, its like a lottery where everyone generates tickets until someone finds the winning one. Normally you make tickets and check them against the Bitcoin block chain to see if they are the solution. With merged mining you create a ticket and check it against both the Bitcoin block chain and the Namecoin block chain, Bitcoin and Namecoin know nothing about each other, they are two totally different lotteries with different winning numbers, you just sent a copy of your ticket to both. Since you are sending the same ticket to two lotteries you increase your chances of winning one or the other. No Bitcoin data goes into Namecoin no Namecoin data into Bitcoin they remain totally separate, you simply run both the Namecoin and Bitcoin clients on the same machine and submit hashes to both networks, if your hash is the solution to the Namecoin block you get Namecoins if you hash is the solution to the Bitcoin block you get Bitcoins, its exactly like if you where mining on just one network, except you submit the same work twice."

Single hash checked against both bitcoin and namecoin targets.  Hmm sounds exactly like my "wrong" answer above.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Yes my first post was a guess about how Namecoin works.

After reading up around here: what I said is wrong (yeah highlighted that myself Smiley
(well most likely wrong since I still haven't read the code and no one seems to know how it really does work)

However, as stated before (correctly) cgminer cannot mine 2 chains at the same time.

That is not what it would appear namecoin is doing.

The description above by DeathAndTaxes is completely clueless (you missed completely what "create hash" is)

This is of course a guess - but it would appear that namecoin is putting extra information in the coinbase - i.e. increasing the bitcoin block size.
(I'm guessing this due to a discussion with luke-jr)

As I already said, I'll be reading the code to determine how it works if no one can actually describe it.
It would appear that is my only option coz on one reading here does know how it works and thus is able to describe it properly.

Edit: Well I guess I now have the link to get the official code at least ... from DavinciJ15 : http://dot-bit.org/Merged_Mining
(can't remember where I got it last time I compiled and ran it)
donator
Activity: 1218
Merit: 1079
Gerald Davis
Also: lets say you mine 500Mh/s to Bitcoin
Please tell me how it is possible to add hashes to Namecoin, without reducing the hashs sent to Bitcoin?

THAT IS WHAT MERGED MINING DOES.

Look I am no fan of merged mining but you ranting on about things you don't understand is equally stupid.

The longest part (i.e. 99+) of mining is creating the hash from the nonce.

This is how bitcoin mining works.
Take nonce and create hash.
Check if Hash matches BITCOIN Target.
Repeat.

This is how namecoin mining works.
Take nonce and create hash
Check if Hash matches NAMECOIN Target.
Repeat.

See anything similar?  See any way you could do both at the same time?

This is how bitcoin mining works.
Take nonce and create hash.
Check if Hash matches BITCOIN Target.
Check if Hash matches NAMECOIN Target.
Repeat.

One hash two target checks.  While cgminer doesn't support it today it would take a small code change for it to support namecoin. If it doesn't honestly I don't really care I just find it annoying when people rant on and on about something they are clueless about.
hero member
Activity: 780
Merit: 510
Bitcoin - helping to end bankster enslavement.

good one but lets end this line of conversation.

http://dot-bit.org/Merged_Mining

Both bitcoind and namcoind have been modified and with a proxy app you can mine both try it out by enabling test net it works end of story.
legendary
Activity: 1762
Merit: 1011
This is a cosmetic issue, but if you are running cgminer with load balancing, shouldn't the priority of each pool be listed as identical (or just not display at all)?
legendary
Activity: 1316
Merit: 1005
Your pool is namecoin.
There is no point posting in this thread.
The bitcoin+namecoin mining scam idea will not work with cgminer.
It cannot mine more than one chain at the same time.

... post a link to some proper explanation.
... people posting beliefs, not facts.

Hey pot, the kettle says hi.

There's a simple solution regarding cgminer: run a fully separate instance for each blockchain.

From my understanding about the idea itself (I could be wrong):

Code:
if block valid in BTC
 return blockBTC
else if block valid in NMC
 return blockNMC
else
 return blockNone
hero member
Activity: 807
Merit: 500
yes i know... i just wanted the "1997 linux user" to explain why he thinks it couldn't work.

sorry
If you try to mine a BTC chain and an NMC chain at two different pools at the same time, it won't work, you will (in my experience) only get BTC blocks unless the BTC pool goes down.  I believe that is what he is saying, but I am not sure it has anything to do with merged mining.  That said, there are plenty of merged mining threads, thisi s a cgminer thread.
hero member
Activity: 780
Merit: 510
Bitcoin - helping to end bankster enslavement.
what i dont understand: why is cgminer not able to do that? other miners are.

This is a mistake it's not CGMINER it MY POOL's fault NOT CGMINER!


yes i know... i just wanted the "1997 linux user" to explain why he thinks it couldn't work.

sorry


Oh ok I have no idea why he thinks it will not work I have tested it on test net, no problems not sure I understand what he is talking about.
legendary
Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000
what i dont understand: why is cgminer not able to do that? other miners are.

This is a mistake it's not CGMINER it MY POOL's fault NOT CGMINER!


yes i know... i just wanted the "1997 linux user" to explain why he thinks it couldn't work.

sorry
Jump to: