Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 780. (Read 5805728 times)

member
Activity: 90
Merit: 12
Interesting. So some call must be failing on the 2nd core and cgminer is disabling ADL on that card inappropriately. I think I'll just enable ADL on any AMD recognised card.
Do you get anything useful with ADL in the message if you start with -D -T ?

The only ADL message I get is a "Failed to ADL_Overdrive5_FanSpeedInfo_Get" right at startup:

Code:
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Started cgminer 2.0.0                    
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Testing pool http://       
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Popping work to stage thread                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Popping work to work thread                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] X-Roll-Ntime found                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Successfully retrieved and deciphered work from pool 0 http://     
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Pushing pooltest work to base pool                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Pool 0 http:// active                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Pushing ping to longpoll thread                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Discarded 0 stales that didn't match current hash                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Pushing work to getwork queue                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Popping work to stage thread                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Long-polling activated for http://       
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Failed to ADL_Overdrive5_FanSpeedInfo_Get                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Pushing ping to thread 0                   
[2011-09-08 19:02:50] Init GPU thread 0

I can confirm that even aticonfig throws an error when trying to get the fan speed of the second GPU:

First GPU:
Code:
 aticonfig --pplib-cmd="get fanspeed 0"
Fan speed query:
Query Index: 0, Speed in percent
Result: Fan Speed: 100%

Second GPU:
Code:
aticonfig --pplib-cmd="get fanspeed 0"
PPLIB command execution has failed!
ati_pplib_cmd: execute "get" failed!
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Interesting. So some call must be failing on the 2nd core and cgminer is disabling ADL on that card inappropriately. I think I'll just enable ADL on any AMD recognised card.
Do you get anything useful with ADL in the message if you start with -D -T ?
member
Activity: 90
Merit: 12
Interesting. Perhaps it supports only a few commands but not others since it does show up as a discrete device. What can you set manually with other software? Are GPU speeds linked for example?

aticonfig seems to show them as separate, including different temps:

Code:
$ aticonfig --odgt --adapter=all

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 100.00 C

Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 100.00 C

Adapter 2 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 90.00 C

Adapter 3 - ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 97.50 C

Adapter 4 - ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 93.50 C

I also can set the clocks on both cards separately:

Code:
$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

*snip unrelated cards*

Adapter 3 - ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    725           1000
             Current Peak :    725           1000
  Configurable Peak Range : [550-1000]     [1000-1500]
                 GPU load :    99%

Adapter 4 - ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    726           1000
             Current Peak :    726           1000
  Configurable Peak Range : [550-1000]     [1000-1500]
                 GPU load :    0%

cgminer doesn't see the temp sensors on the second GPU though:

Code:
GPU 3: [322.9 / 319.7 Mh/s] [Q:119  A:164  R:1  HW:0  E:138%  U:4.25/m]
Temp: 97.5 C
Fan Speed: 100% (4743 RPM)
Engine Clock: 725 MHz
Memory Clock: 1000 Mhz
Vddc: 1.050 V
Activity: 99%
Powertune: 0%
Last initialised: [2011-09-08 18:17:08]
Thread 3: 156.0 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 8: 152.8 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 4: [331.7 / 331.0 Mh/s] [Q:111  A:184  R:0  HW:0  E:166%  U:4.76/m]
Last initialised: [2011-09-08 18:05:30]
Thread 4: 157.5 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 9: 175.3 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

cgminer won't let me change anything on GPU4 either:

Code:
Select GPU to change settings on: 4
Fan autotune is disabled
GPU engine clock autotune is disabled
Change [A]utomatic [E]ngine [F]an [M]emory [V]oltage [P]owertune
Or press any other key to continue
Get enginerange not supported
Enter GPU engine clock speed (0 - 0 Mhz):
Value is outside safe range, are you sure?
donator
Activity: 798
Merit: 500

To achieve this I changed line 1871 of main.c:

Code:
wprintw(statuswin, "%4dMHz %.1fC %2d%% | ", gpu_engineclock(gpu), gpu_temp(gpu), gpu_fanpercent(gpu));


And now that I have clocks in the display (thank you for sharing) I am noticing both the fans jumping to 100% and the clocks being lowered at the temp-overheat value.  How do I properly set this with auto-gpu so the fans will increase at 80 but the clocks won't drop until it reaches 85?
full member
Activity: 235
Merit: 100
No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.
ok there may not be platform portable code...
however you could implement 2 versions
wrap them around
Code:
#ifdef WIN32
// win32 code version
#else
// linux version
#endif // WIN32

Or I could not. It was a bootload of work importing the adl sdk and sponsored code.

well its all up to you...
however... there is a project that may server that purpose in linux.
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/radeonvolt-hd5850-reference-voltage-tweaking-and-vrm-temp-display-for-linux-10228
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
1) Dual GPU cards don't get adjusted/disabled correctly. For example, a 5970 will only disable the one GPU that has the temp sensor:

Code:
 GPU 3: [80.5 C] [DISABLED /78.5 Mh/s] [Q:2 A:11 R:1 HW:0 E:550% U:1.81/m]
 GPU 4: [327.3/324.5 Mh/s] [Q:25 A:23 R:1 HW:0 E:92% U:3.78/m]
Out of curiosity, what does AMDOverdriveCtrl -h return as a list of adapters on machines with dual core GPUs like this one?


Code:
INF: Nr. of Adapters: 13
INF: Adapter index: 0, active, ID:9879600, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 1, inact., ID:9879600, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 2, inact., ID:9879600, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 3, active, ID:10442944, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 4, inact., ID:10442944, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 5, inact., ID:10442944, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 6, active, ID:11009344, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 
INF: Adapter index: 7, inact., ID:11009344, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 
INF: Adapter index: 8, inact., ID:11009344, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 
INF: Adapter index: 9, active, ID:11573824, ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 10, inact., ID:11573824, ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 11, inact., ID:11573824, ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 12, active, ID:12191920, ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series

Code:
$ lspci |grep VGA
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Hemlock [ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series]
08:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 5800 Series (Cypress LE)
0b:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Juniper [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
0c:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Juniper [Radeon HD 5700 Series]

Interesting. Perhaps it supports only a few commands but not others since it does show up as a discrete device. What can you set manually with other software? Are GPU speeds linked for example?
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.
ok there may not be platform portable code...
however you could implement 2 versions
wrap them around
Code:
#ifdef WIN32
// win32 code version
#else
// linux version
#endif // WIN32

Or I could not. It was a bootload of work importing the adl sdk and sponsored code.
full member
Activity: 235
Merit: 100
No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.
ok there may not be platform portable code...
however you could implement 2 versions
wrap them around
Code:
#ifdef WIN32
// win32 code version
#else
// linux version
#endif // WIN32
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.
How is the new overclocking feature implemented anyway? Maybe I can figure it out myself why it doesn't work for me...
Using the ATI display library SDK

http://developer.amd.com/gpu/adlsdk/Pages/default.aspx
legendary
Activity: 1666
Merit: 1057
Marketing manager - GO MP
No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.
How is the new overclocking feature implemented anyway? Maybe I can figure it out myself why it doesn't work for me...
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.
full member
Activity: 235
Merit: 100
Greate more room for other stuff
any chance you can get the temperatures of VRegs?
on my 6990 they run hotter then the GPU itself  Shocked
full member
Activity: 181
Merit: 100
It was good early on, showing off optimizations but now everyones stole (or 'recreated') all the patches. Not as applicable now and screen real estate is more important now, imo. :]
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Queued requests per card and efficiency is an increasingly irrelevant value and poorly understood. I figure I'll just remove it.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Look harder. From the readme:
Quote
The output line shows the following:
[(5s):204.4  (avg):203.1 Mh/s] [Q:56  A:51  R:4  HW:0  E:91%  U:2.47/m]

Each column is as follows:
A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
An all time average hash rate
The number of requested work items
The number of accepted shares
The number of rejected shares
The number of hardware erorrs
The efficiency defined as the accepted shares / requested work and can be >100
The utility defines as the number of shares / minute
full member
Activity: 235
Merit: 100
ok here is a question
do we realy need to now the stats?
Quote
Q:9 A:14 R:0 HW:0 E:156% U:9.13/m
other then 'Q' I don't even know what the rest mean.
and not sure how queue count helps me in the long run...
what i want to know is if it is mining or not.


I think it is
Q - Queued
A - Accepted
R - Rejected
HW - Hardware Failures
E - Efficiency
U - Utiliziation?  Shares/minute? 

Honestly, I think I could lose E and U.  They seem to be related to the hash rate.  Also, E appears to be random and not a function of the OC or anything. 

Aren't all of these described in the README ?


Just took a quick glance through it
looks like it has everything but that.
sr. member
Activity: 349
Merit: 250
BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!
ok here is a question
do we realy need to now the stats?
Quote
Q:9 A:14 R:0 HW:0 E:156% U:9.13/m
other then 'Q' I don't even know what the rest mean.
and not sure how queue count helps me in the long run...
what i want to know is if it is mining or not.


I think it is
Q - Queued
A - Accepted
R - Rejected
HW - Hardware Failures
E - Efficiency
U - Utiliziation?  Shares/minute? 

Honestly, I think I could lose E and U.  They seem to be related to the hash rate.  Also, E appears to be random and not a function of the OC or anything. 
legendary
Activity: 1666
Merit: 1057
Marketing manager - GO MP
I have tried the new overclocking feature but it doesn't work for me.

My specs
5770, Llano A8-3850, Windows 7 x86, sdk-2.3, catalyst 11.8

It tells me GetEnginerange not supported.


Also, if you have the time I would like to request a new feature: It would be nice if the automatic intensity feature could work only for one gpu of your choosing.
full member
Activity: 181
Merit: 100
It would appear that you will be outside the 80 character range as soon as your accepted and queued counts get up to the double digits, nevermind etiher being in the quadruple/quintuple digits.

Or if the fan hits 100%? :O

Quote
Q:9 A:14 R:0 HW:0 E:156% U:9.13/m
other then 'Q' I don't even know what the rest mean.
and not sure how queue count helps me in the long run...
what i want to know is if it is mining or not.

After some other miners my guess is: "Query (of work?), Accepted, Rejected, HardWare faults?, Efficiency, don't know?"
full member
Activity: 235
Merit: 100
ok here is a question
do we realy need to now the stats?
Quote
Q:9 A:14 R:0 HW:0 E:156% U:9.13/m
other then 'Q' I don't even know what the rest mean.
and not sure how queue count helps me in the long run...
what i want to know is if it is mining or not.
Jump to: