Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 808. (Read 5805977 times)

-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Since Con is away...

I thought I'd take a try at integrating some of the recent changes in both phatk kernel threads. (here and here)
I've also changed the method used to specify various #defines for the kernels by simply specifying the defines as build options for clBuildProgram() instead of editing the .cl text on the fly. (so much simpler!)

Compared to the current kernel in cgminer 1.5.3, this does benefit from reduced ALU OPs, although not as much as either of the other phatk kernels:

1.5.3:
VLIW4: 1699 ALU OPs
VLIW5: 1376 ALU OPs

Mine:
VLIW4: 1694 ALU OPs
VLIW5: 1368 ALU OPs

My changes are here at github, but it's all in one big ugly commit, and not broken out by the individual changes, so i don't feel comfortable in the slightest offering a pull request to CK for it.
Don't be scared. You're doing good work. I'll play with your changes and see if they break anything Smiley
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
...

Another possibility: did you do the following :


Code:
cd /; tar zxpvf /opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/icd-registration.tgz

Without the above, things are very likely to behave according to
what you describe.

...
Yes that's in the README file but some people (I did the very first time also) accidentally skip it.
full member
Activity: 174
Merit: 100
I tried cgminer on a couple of my boxes last night and woke up to find 3/4 GPU marked as DEAD on one and 2/4 DEAD on another. Trying to restart the DEAD GPU doesnt seem to do anything on either machine (restarting the ones still running did seem to restart them OK). Both boxes have been running for weeks using poclbm without errors. Running the 1.5.3 binary on Ubuntu (3xHD5870 and HD6310).

Anyone else seeing problems with DEAD GPU that won't recover unless cgminer is restarted?

BB.

Restart dead GPUs does not work for me too. Win7 64bit, Catalyst 11.7
Me too. LinuxCoin beta final

In my testing, under Fedora14, SDK2.4, restart GPU works in 100% of my 5xxx series cards, and 0% of my 6xxx series cards.

Not for me. It won't restart either gpu on my 5970.

Does not work in Win 7 x64 on HD69xx and HD58xx for me.
member
Activity: 79
Merit: 10
I apologize for repeating the question but it's been about 6 pages and it appears to have been overlooked.

I'm getting the following error when trying to run the latest version of cgminer (compiled from git checkout) on linuxcoin.
Code:
[2011-08-09 23:57:10] Error: Getting program info CL_PROGRAM_BINARY_SIZES. (clGetPlatformInfo)
[2011-08-09 23:57:10] Failed to init GPU thread 0
[2011-08-09 23:57:15] Error: Getting program info CL_PROGRAM_BINARY_SIZES. (clGetPlatformInfo)
[2011-08-09 23:57:15] Failed to init GPU thread 0
When trying to get it to compile I had to first APT-GET a few packages including pkg-config, libcurl4-gnutls-dev, curl, libncurses5-dev and autoconf.

But I managed to get it to compile successfully with the following:
Code:
./autogen.sh
./configure
./make

Unfortunately, after it compiled I get the above error.
After configuring, it reports that OpenCL is enabled. When I do "./cgminer --ndevs" it properly reports my number of GPUs.

Has anyone else run into this problem on their machines?
It works perfectly on another linuxcoin install, but not on this one rig...but I don't know what separates this rig from the others. I must have missed installing some package? or other prerequisite?

Thanks for any help you can provide!
legendary
Activity: 1316
Merit: 1005
The problem I've noticed is that there are occasional lock-ups even with the temperature steady. My 69xx cards won't start again even if cgminer is restarted. They don't respond to anything and require a cold boot.
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
I was just thinking, how about instead of restarting on lockups, we work to throttle the work load once the temp. reaches a preset value?  Most of these cores have an internal temperature sensor.  We just have to monitor it and throttle back to let it cool so as to let it continue mining.  However, it would be a good idea to let the user know when the temperature is being reached so as to allow for user intervention to fix the cooling issue that it is having.
newbie
Activity: 42
Merit: 0
I tried cgminer on a couple of my boxes last night and woke up to find 3/4 GPU marked as DEAD on one and 2/4 DEAD on another. Trying to restart the DEAD GPU doesnt seem to do anything on either machine (restarting the ones still running did seem to restart them OK). Both boxes have been running for weeks using poclbm without errors. Running the 1.5.3 binary on Ubuntu (3xHD5870 and HD6310).

Anyone else seeing problems with DEAD GPU that won't recover unless cgminer is restarted?

BB.

Restart dead GPUs does not work for me too. Win7 64bit, Catalyst 11.7
Me too. LinuxCoin beta final

In my testing, under Fedora14, SDK2.4, restart GPU works in 100% of my 5xxx series cards, and 0% of my 6xxx series cards.

restart GPU works even if the GPU is hung due to things like overheat-lockup?  Shocked

I simply have a monitoring script that checks for serious lockups and coldreboots the rig if it is triggered, not pretty, but all GPU are at least up and mining again within a minute.
Will probably add that corespeed controlled by temperature levels script(it down clocks the core if temperature gets too high) I saw in some thread on the forum a few days ago.

Summertime is a bitch when it comes to mining   Cool
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
I tried cgminer on a couple of my boxes last night and woke up to find 3/4 GPU marked as DEAD on one and 2/4 DEAD on another. Trying to restart the DEAD GPU doesnt seem to do anything on either machine (restarting the ones still running did seem to restart them OK). Both boxes have been running for weeks using poclbm without errors. Running the 1.5.3 binary on Ubuntu (3xHD5870 and HD6310).

Anyone else seeing problems with DEAD GPU that won't recover unless cgminer is restarted?

BB.

Restart dead GPUs does not work for me too. Win7 64bit, Catalyst 11.7
Me too. LinuxCoin beta final

In my testing, under Fedora14, SDK2.4, restart GPU works in 100% of my 5xxx series cards, and 0% of my 6xxx series cards.

Not for me. It won't restart either gpu on my 5970.
legendary
Activity: 910
Merit: 1000
Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank
I was looking through the code, but I'm a little tired right now and can't figure out if this would be an easy change or not...

I want to set it so that it will do a pool rotation, but start it over at the beginning when a new block is detected via LP.

+1
But this is not that easy. You probably need to add a way to pull in JSON stats from pools and let the miner make decisions based on that information.



sr. member
Activity: 467
Merit: 250
I tried cgminer on a couple of my boxes last night and woke up to find 3/4 GPU marked as DEAD on one and 2/4 DEAD on another. Trying to restart the DEAD GPU doesnt seem to do anything on either machine (restarting the ones still running did seem to restart them OK). Both boxes have been running for weeks using poclbm without errors. Running the 1.5.3 binary on Ubuntu (3xHD5870 and HD6310).

Anyone else seeing problems with DEAD GPU that won't recover unless cgminer is restarted?

BB.

Restart dead GPUs does not work for me too. Win7 64bit, Catalyst 11.7
Me too. LinuxCoin beta final

In my testing, under Fedora14, SDK2.4, restart GPU works in 100% of my 5xxx series cards, and 0% of my 6xxx series cards.
legendary
Activity: 966
Merit: 1004
Keep it real
I was looking through the code, but I'm a little tired right now and can't figure out if this would be an easy change or not...

I want to set it so that it will do a pool rotation, but start it over at the beginning when a new block is detected via LP.
full member
Activity: 174
Merit: 100
Just ran into a serious bug with cgminer tonight. I noticed when you only mine at one pool, and it goes down temporarily the miner will open over 4,000 connections (with a TCP timeout of 120 set on my router!) to attempt to reconnect.

Having multiple machines doing this just brought my router to its knees and it couldn't do shit until I unplugged all my rigs and waited for cgminer to close itself, which is another bug that occurs if internet access is temporarily lost.

This happened in Windows 7 SP1 32-bit with cgminer 1.5.1.
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
I tried cgminer on a couple of my boxes last night and woke up to find 3/4 GPU marked as DEAD on one and 2/4 DEAD on another. Trying to restart the DEAD GPU doesnt seem to do anything on either machine (restarting the ones still running did seem to restart them OK). Both boxes have been running for weeks using poclbm without errors. Running the 1.5.3 binary on Ubuntu (3xHD5870 and HD6310).

Anyone else seeing problems with DEAD GPU that won't recover unless cgminer is restarted?

BB.

Restart dead GPUs does not work for me too. Win7 64bit, Catalyst 11.7
Me too. LinuxCoin beta final
hero member
Activity: 772
Merit: 500
Anyone tried CGMINER on an E-Series APU?

Dia

e350 gives ~11mh
cpu is less than 1mh
also with 11.7cata, cpu usage is seriously high on that machine
EDIT: with 11.6 cata cpu usage dropped drastically

best i got on the e350 is poclbcm with latest (your last version that works with it) phatk kernel - 11.5mh

ps. not overclocked.

A C-50 gives ~6,5 MHash/s for the GPU (Codename Loveland ^^).

Dia
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
I'm having a problem with cgminer. It runs perfectly for 3-4 (random) hours and then it finishes itself without showing any error. It just shows the same report as if I would stopped it vountaryly pressing the quit key.

Anybody has had the same problem ?


I can't personally say that I'm having this error, what are your settings?
full member
Activity: 153
Merit: 100
I'm having a problem with cgminer. It runs perfectly for 3-4 (random) hours and then it finishes itself without showing any error. It just shows the same report as if I would stopped it vountaryly pressing the quit key.

Anybody has had the same problem ?

full member
Activity: 174
Merit: 100
I tried cgminer on a couple of my boxes last night and woke up to find 3/4 GPU marked as DEAD on one and 2/4 DEAD on another. Trying to restart the DEAD GPU doesnt seem to do anything on either machine (restarting the ones still running did seem to restart them OK). Both boxes have been running for weeks using poclbm without errors. Running the 1.5.3 binary on Ubuntu (3xHD5870 and HD6310).

Anyone else seeing problems with DEAD GPU that won't recover unless cgminer is restarted?

BB.

Restart dead GPUs does not work for me too. Win7 64bit, Catalyst 11.7
newbie
Activity: 17
Merit: 0
Anyone tried CGMINER on an E-Series APU?

Dia

e350 gives ~11mh
cpu is less than 1mh
also with 11.7cata, cpu usage is seriously high on that machine
EDIT: with 11.6 cata cpu usage dropped drastically

best i got on the e350 is poclbcm with latest (your last version that works with it) phatk kernel - 11.5mh

ps. not overclocked.
full member
Activity: 373
Merit: 100
I got it, you have to use
Code:
--verbose 2> Output.txt
Wink. Guess now I can debug that C-50 Cheesy.
The -T option might also have worked. I prefer that for debugging as ncurses doesn't interfere that way.
hero member
Activity: 772
Merit: 500
I got it, you have to use
Code:
--verbose 2> Output.txt
Wink. Guess now I can debug that C-50 Cheesy.
Anyone tried CGMINER on an E-Series APU?

Dia
Jump to: