Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 821. (Read 5805740 times)

sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
Wouldn't suppose you could fix those intrinsics and such on your spare time?  *poke poke*   Grin
There would be a very modest improvement to hashing speed if we could get that SSE4 code to actually compile beyond SSE2.  We may need to adjust the alignment from 8 to 16 in one portion so as to let it take advantage of the optimizations which can only take place at a 16 byte boundary.
But yeah, check it out.  If we allow for the optimization to occur, and even include the intrinsics for an AMD processor, it could be as easy as specifying the CPU in the CFLAGS or using native that causes it to compile for Intel or AMD.  And, with the binary you create, simply using -mtune= whatever would allow for all processors of and under the specified type.  Unfortunately, I've had no luck with trying to modify the code to enable these and they keep compiling for SSE2 only.
Even the horizontal math functions of SSE3 could make for a modest improvement on small rotations.  But I'm going to keep trying to figure out what's causing the hiccup on compiling.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
The ncurses crash that you fixed in 1.5.0 is back again. This is a really annoying crash and there is no way I can update curses on Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, I was hoping to switch over from Diabolo today :-/
I fixed as much as I could at my end. There will still be a curses bug that I have no control over and only goes away by upgrading curses.
See:
http://davidben.net/blog/2010/05/03/barnowl-ncurses-and-terminal-resizing/
for the story of how the guy found the bug and fixed it.

So the only solution for any remaining resizing bugs is to upgrade ncurses or not use the curses interface by using -T mode. On ubuntu you could add the repository for a newer release and just select ncurses from that, or you could install it yourself. Either way the bug is not going to go away entirely since it's in ncurses itself.
sr. member
Activity: 404
Merit: 250
CGMINER works perfectly on two of my boxes, but on a third (a 32 bit Win7 box) it is getting the OpenCL 0 byte binary issue. I have tried running the program like 15 times in a row and also rebooting.

I am about to try booting to linux instead and running it there and reporting back, but I am just letting you know.

Edit: Actually I won't get to it tonight, but I will try to get this done in the morning!
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
I can confirm. CPU mining doesn't work
1.5.&up i have to go back to 1.4 and it works

with 1.5 only   4% was acepted  96% rejected

- CPU: AMD Phenom X6
- GPU: 4x HD 6790 oced to 900 MHz (Mem 300 MHz)
- ubuntu 64 bit natty
- Catalyst 11.6 with SDK 2.4

Have you tried forcing other CPU algorithms with the "-a" option? Perhaps it is particular to a algorithm running on your CPU architecture? You might need to look at the debug output for some of the rejects to get an idea why they are failing. Also, what pool are you connecting to?

-- RD
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
CPU Mining doesn't work properly. No accepted shares through CPU. Only GPU works as expected.
After 2 hours run time i can see the following:

Code:
cgminer version 1.5.1 - Started: [2011-07-28 13:37:27]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):117.4  (avg):111.8 Mh/s] [Q:1152  A:144  R:34  HW:0  E:12%  U:1.19/m]
 TQ: 1  ST: 5  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 455  NB: 14  LW: 1017  LO: 2  RF: 0  I: 4
 Connected to http://mining.eligius.st:8337 as user XYZ
 Block 000151fdeb39b3e1a21b797f87bdd355  started: [2011-07-28 15:32:34]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0: [102.8 / 102.0 Mh/s] [Q:678  A:144  R:11  HW:0  E:21%  U:1.19/m]
 CPU 0: [2.5 / 2.5 Mh/s] [Q:259  A:0  R:6  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
 CPU 1: [2.5 / 2.5 Mh/s] [Q:258  A:0  R:7  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
 CPU 2: [2.3 / 2.4 Mh/s] [Q:260  A:0  R:7  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
 CPU 3: [2.5 / 2.4 Mh/s] [Q:257  A:0  R:3  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

- CPU: Athlon II 605e (4x 2,3 GHz)
- GPU: HD 5670 oced to 900 MHz (Mem 300 MHz)
- Gentoo 64 bit stable
- Catalyst 11.6 with SDK 2.4
- latest cgminer GIT version

It could be that blocks are being found before you receive the next one.  It appears that your CPU hashing a rather slow which is understandable for a 2.3 Ghz processor.  But pay close attention to your accepted to rejected ratio on your GPU; with that high of a rejection rate, either something is happening with your network that is causing it not to send at the right time.  If this happens, the work will go stale and be rejected.
There's a number of reasons why the work could have been rejected but I don't think that the miner itself is one of them.

I can confirm. CPU mining doesn't work
1.5.&up i have to go back to 1.4 and it works

with 1.5 only   4% was acepted  96% rejected

- CPU: AMD Phenom X6
- GPU: 4x HD 6790 oced to 900 MHz (Mem 300 MHz)
- ubuntu 64 bit natty
- Catalyst 11.6 with SDK 2.4

sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
CPU Mining doesn't work properly. No accepted shares through CPU. Only GPU works as expected.
After 2 hours run time i can see the following:

Code:
cgminer version 1.5.1 - Started: [2011-07-28 13:37:27]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):117.4  (avg):111.8 Mh/s] [Q:1152  A:144  R:34  HW:0  E:12%  U:1.19/m]
 TQ: 1  ST: 5  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 455  NB: 14  LW: 1017  LO: 2  RF: 0  I: 4
 Connected to http://mining.eligius.st:8337 as user XYZ
 Block 000151fdeb39b3e1a21b797f87bdd355  started: [2011-07-28 15:32:34]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0: [102.8 / 102.0 Mh/s] [Q:678  A:144  R:11  HW:0  E:21%  U:1.19/m]
 CPU 0: [2.5 / 2.5 Mh/s] [Q:259  A:0  R:6  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
 CPU 1: [2.5 / 2.5 Mh/s] [Q:258  A:0  R:7  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
 CPU 2: [2.3 / 2.4 Mh/s] [Q:260  A:0  R:7  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
 CPU 3: [2.5 / 2.4 Mh/s] [Q:257  A:0  R:3  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

- CPU: Athlon II 605e (4x 2,3 GHz)
- GPU: HD 5670 oced to 900 MHz (Mem 300 MHz)
- Gentoo 64 bit stable
- Catalyst 11.6 with SDK 2.4
- latest cgminer GIT version

It could be that blocks are being found before you receive the next one.  It appears that your CPU hashing a rather slow which is understandable for a 2.3 Ghz processor.  But pay close attention to your accepted to rejected ratio on your GPU; with that high of a rejection rate, either something is happening with your network that is causing it not to send at the right time.  If this happens, the work will go stale and be rejected.
There's a number of reasons why the work could have been rejected but I don't think that the miner itself is one of them.
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
The ncurses crash that you fixed in 1.5.0 is back again. This is a really annoying crash and there is no way I can update curses on Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, I was hoping to switch over from Diabolo today :-/
Actually, you could update curses, but you would have to compile it yourself or find an already compiled version not currently in the repository if there isn't an updated version already there.  Alternatively, upgrade your Ubuntu installation.
hero member
Activity: 807
Merit: 500
The ncurses crash that you fixed in 1.5.0 is back again. This is a really annoying crash and there is no way I can update curses on Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, I was hoping to switch over from Diabolo today :-/
I'm assuming ncurses isn't used in text mode.  That said, if you really want to switch over from Diablo today, use -T (IOW, while the issue still needed reported, I don't think it should prevent you from switching if you so desire)..
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
The ncurses crash that you fixed in 1.5.0 is back again. This is a really annoying crash and there is no way I can update curses on Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, I was hoping to switch over from Diabolo today :-/
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
New release 1.5.2:

Source:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.5.2.tar.bz2

Linux x86_64 binary:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.5.2-x86_64-built.tar.bz2

Windows binary delayed!


Changes:

- Restarting a hung GPU can hang the rest of the GPUs so just declare it dead
and provide the information in the status.
- The work length in the miner thread gets smaller but doesn't get bigger if
it's under 1 second.     This could end up leading to CPU under-utilisation and
lower and lower hash rates.     Fix it by increasing work length if it drops
under 1 second.
- Make the "quiet" mode still update the status and display errors, and add a
new --real-quiet option which disables all output and can be set once while
running.
- Update utility and efficiency figures when displaying them.
- Some Intel HD graphics support the opencl commands but return errors since
they don't support opencl. Don't fail with them, just provide a warning and
disable GPU mining.
- Add http:// if it's not explicitly set for URL entries.
- Log to the output file at any time with warnings and errors, instead of just
when verbose mode is on.
- Display the correct current hash as per blockexplorer, truncated to 16
characters, with just the time.
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
ck, glitch: ./configure doesn't check for curses.

P.S. Would be nice to enable issues on github, so that bug / feature request are not lost in this thread.
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
I see quite a lot of rejects from the cpu. So it means that in a few hours it did find something
newbie
Activity: 22
Merit: 0
CPU Mining doesn't work properly. No accepted shares through CPU. Only GPU works as expected.
After 2 hours run time i can see the following:

Code:
cgminer version 1.5.1 - Started: [2011-07-28 13:37:27]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):117.4  (avg):111.8 Mh/s] [Q:1152  A:144  R:34  HW:0  E:12%  U:1.19/m]
 TQ: 1  ST: 5  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 455  NB: 14  LW: 1017  LO: 2  RF: 0  I: 4
 Connected to http://mining.eligius.st:8337 as user XYZ
 Block 000151fdeb39b3e1a21b797f87bdd355  started: [2011-07-28 15:32:34]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0: [102.8 / 102.0 Mh/s] [Q:678  A:144  R:11  HW:0  E:21%  U:1.19/m]
 CPU 0: [2.5 / 2.5 Mh/s] [Q:259  A:0  R:6  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
 CPU 1: [2.5 / 2.5 Mh/s] [Q:258  A:0  R:7  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
 CPU 2: [2.3 / 2.4 Mh/s] [Q:260  A:0  R:7  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
 CPU 3: [2.5 / 2.4 Mh/s] [Q:257  A:0  R:3  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

- CPU: Athlon II 605e (4x 2,3 GHz)
- GPU: HD 5670 oced to 900 MHz (Mem 300 MHz)
- Gentoo 64 bit stable
- Catalyst 11.6 with SDK 2.4
- latest cgminer GIT version
hero member
Activity: 807
Merit: 500
On WinXP, pressing q leads to an error report being generated.  This may be related to the hang in Win7, as in WinXP there is less security, and my firewall indicates that cgminer.exe interacts with dwwin.exe (Dr. Watson Windows) to generate that report.  I don't actually use cgminer in Windows because of the high CPU usage, though.  I'm only reporting this in case it helps with the aforementioned Win7 issue.
hero member
Activity: 772
Merit: 500
is there a solutiion for the problem other than downgrading the driver back to 11-6
I haven't been able to find one. It appears to really be a driver bug.

11.7 on Windows has a new OpenCL APP 2.5 runtime, compared to the earlier 2.4 runtime ... could be the source of the problem.

Dia
sr. member
Activity: 360
Merit: 250
Same here, if I press Q the program displays something and then just hangs.

It says "Satan <3 U", but it's too fast for the human eye to perceive...
hero member
Activity: 772
Merit: 500
I can't see the summary either on windows 7. It is an excellent idea to save it to a text file. Thx in advance, great program Smiley

Same here, if I press Q the program displays something and then just hangs.

Dia
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
is there a solutiion for the problem other than downgrading the driver back to 11-6
I haven't been able to find one. It appears to really be a driver bug.
full member
Activity: 157
Merit: 100
is there a solutiion for the problem other than downgrading the driver back to 11-6
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
i have updated my ATI Driver on Ubuntu to the newest Version 11.7. Now I am encountering the Problem, that the miner generates 100% of CPU Usage and is significiantly slower than before the update. Anybody here with experience on that?


Yep, that's one dodgy driver. I've reproduced it.
Jump to: