Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 829. (Read 5806004 times)

hero member
Activity: 772
Merit: 500
Great work Con *THUMBS UP* ... I have one strange observation though. When I first start up 1.4 on Windows, it will send 1-3 shares to pool 1 even if pool 0 is up. Any idea?

Dia
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
You should have mentioned we need the Microsoft SDK for mstcpip.h as well as probably a few new stuff to the configure line.

Which SDK,
IV got the 2008 and latest ones from visual studio installed.
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
1.4 doesnt work on windows 7

says
failed to int gpu thread 0
opengl genurated a 0 sized binnary may need to restart computer.

Restarted did same thing.
Going back to last version and it works fine again.



------

Running with no options set it works.
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
You should have mentioned we need the Microsoft SDK for mstcpip.h as well as probably a few new stuff to the configure line.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
New release 1.4.0

Source:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.4.0.tar.bz2

Win32 build:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.4.0-win32.zip

Summary: lots and lots of fixes and lots of new features via the menu Smiley

Version 1.4.0 - July 23, 2011

- Feature upgrade: Add keyboard input during runtime to allow modification of
and viewing of numerous settings such as adding/removing pools, changing
multipool management strategy, switching pools, changing intensiy, verbosity,
etc. with a simple keypress menu system.
- Free up resources/stale compilers.
- Kernels are safely flushed in a way that allows out of order execution to
work.
- Sometimes the cl compiler generates zero sized binaries and only a reboot
seems to fix it.
- Don't try to stop/cancel threads that don't exist.
- Only set option to show devices and exit if built with opencl support.
- Enable curses earlier and exit with message in main for messages to not be
lost in curses windows.
- Make it possible to enter server credentials with curses input if none are
specified on the command line.
- Abstract out a curses input function and separate input pool function to allow
for live adding of pools later.
- Remove the nil arguments check to allow starting without parameters.
- Disable/enable echo & cbreak modes.
- Add a thread that takes keyboard input and allow for quit, silent, debug,
verbose, normal, rpc protocol debugging and clear screen options.
- Add pool option to input and display current pool status, pending code to
allow live changes.
- Add a bool for explicit enabling/disabling of pools.
- Make input pool capable of bringing up pools while running.
- Do one last check of the work before submitting it.
- Implement the ability to live add, enable, disable, and switch to pools.
- Only internally test for block changes when the work matches the current pool
to prevent interleaved block change timing on multipools.
- Display current pool management strategy to enable changing it on the fly.
- The longpoll blanking of the current_block data may not be happening before
the work is converted and appears to be a detected block change.     Blank the
current block be
- Make --no-longpoll work again.
- Abstract out active pools count.
- Allow the pool strategy to be modified on the fly.
- Display pool information on the fly as well.
- Add a menu and separate out display options.
- Clean up the messy way the staging thread communicates with the longpoll
thread to determine who found the block first.
- Make the input windows update immediately instead of needing a refresh.
- Allow log interval to be set in the menu.
- Allow scan settings to be modified at runtime.
- Abstract out the longpoll start and explicitly restart it on pool change.
- Make it possible to enable/disable longpoll.
- Set priority correctly on multipools.     Display priority and alive/dead
information in display_pools.
- Implement pool removal.
- Limit rolltime work generation to 10 iterations only.
- Decrease testing log to info level.
- Extra refresh not required.
- With huge variation in GPU performance, allow intensity to go from -10 to +10.
- Tell getwork how much of a work item we're likely to complete for future
splitting up of work.
- Remove the mandatory work requirement at startup by testing for invalid work
being passed which allows for work to be queued immediately.     This also
removes the requirem
- Make sure intensity is carried over to thread count and is at least the
minimum necessary to work.
- Unlocking error on retry. Locking unnecessary anyway so remove it.
- Clear log window from consistent place. No need for locking since logging is
disabled during input.
- Cannot print the status of threads that don't exist so just queue enough work
for the number of mining threads to prevent crash with -Q N.
- Update phatk kernel to one with new parameters for slightly less overhead
again.     Make the queue kernel parameters call a function pointer to select
phatk or poclbm.
- Make it possible to select the choice of kernel on the command line.
- Simplify the output part of the kernel. There's no demonstrable advantage from
more complexity.
- Merge pull request #18 from ycros/cgminer
- No need to make leaveok changes win32 only.
- Build support in for all SSE if possible and only set the default according to
machine capabilities.
- Win32 threading and longpoll keepalive fixes.
- Win32: Fix for mangled output on the terminal on exit.
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
Just tested it:

[2011-07-23 12:59:10] 4 cpu miner threads started, using SHA256 'sse4_64' algorithm.                   

seems to work for me??

Make sure you do make clean && ./autogen.sh before ./configure when building from git?

Can reproduce. This is from the 1.3.1 tarball; there is no autogen.sh.

Code:
error@underground ~/cgminer-1.3.1 $ ./cgminer -a sse4_64 -g 1 -o http://127.0.0.1:8332/ -u error -p o9AwFzMc
[2011-07-23 00:54:32] ./cgminer: -a: Unknown algorithm

I have a CPU capable of it, I think:

Code:
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm ida dts tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid

I see in miner.h that capabilities are being detected at compile time. No idea why it isn't picking this up. It may be better to just build everything in that can be built and detect the CPU capabilities at runtime.

The system is: Fedora 15 with

kernel-2.6.38.8-35.fc15.x86_64
gcc-4.6.0-9.fc15.x86_64
glibc-2.14-4.x86_64
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Just tested it:

[2011-07-23 12:59:10] 4 cpu miner threads started, using SHA256 'sse4_64' algorithm.                   

seems to work for me??

Make sure you do make clean && ./autogen.sh before ./configure when building from git?

 
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
bug report - SSE4

ubuntu natty, 64bit, catalyst 11.6
CPU 6core AMD
Latest git version
CPU miner only. compiled without opencl.

michal@rig:~/cgminer4$ ./cgminer -a sse4_64 -t 6 -o http://useast.btcguild.com:8332/ -u  xxxxxxxxxxx -p xxxxxxxxxxx

[2011-07-22 22:15:02] ./cgminer: -a: Unknown algorithm


sse2_64 (17.5MH/s) and 4way (20.5MH/s) working good

sr. member
Activity: 314
Merit: 251
Would it be possible to add a multipool strategy that's similar to load balance, but with the first one having priory? So the second one is just active when the first one for some reason doesn't have enough work, for example because of latency.
That's basically failover that you're describing... That's the default policy. Or do you mean micro delays instead of macro ones?
Yes, to even out (very) short performance drops.
full member
Activity: 373
Merit: 100
Heads-up: NEWS currently contains this rather strange item:
Quote
- The longpoll blanking of the current_block data may not be happening before
the work is converted and appears to be a detected block change.     Blank the
current block be

-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Would it be possible to add a multipool strategy that's similar to load balance, but with the first one having priory? So the second one is just active when the first one for some reason doesn't have enough work, for example because of latency.
That's basically failover that you're describing... That's the default policy. Or do you mean micro delays instead of macro ones?
sr. member
Activity: 314
Merit: 251
Would it be possible to add a multipool strategy that's similar to load balance, but with the first one having priory? So the second one is just active when the first one for some reason doesn't have enough work, for example because of latency.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Latest git version segfaults when use -Q parameter at startup. Ubuntu 11.04, catalyst 11.6, 32bit
Thanks. Fixed in git.
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
Latest git version segfaults when use -Q parameter at startup. Ubuntu 11.04, catalyst 11.6, 32bit
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Looks like it never got the threads started. Grab a fresh tarball, uninstall sdk2.1 and install sdk2.4 perhaps. The phatk kernel in it may no longer be compatible with 2.1.

Sorry, this was stupid me, didn't export DISPLAY before I ran the miner. However, aren't you able to reproduce the segfault when you resize the terminal??? It happens to me both under screen and just like that on several machines (Ubuntu 10.04.3, RHEL5 etc.)
Nope. Cannot reproduce :\
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
Looks like it never got the threads started. Grab a fresh tarball, uninstall sdk2.1 and install sdk2.4 perhaps. The phatk kernel in it may no longer be compatible with 2.1.

Sorry, this was stupid me, didn't export DISPLAY before I ran the miner. However, aren't you able to reproduce the segfault when you resize the terminal??? It happens to me both under screen and just like that on several machines (Ubuntu 10.04.3, RHEL5 etc.)
member
Activity: 145
Merit: 10
Yeah , sshhhhh its not "official" ;-P

I hope he gets the json multipool config sorted
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
Fantastic work for 1.4.0, I think it's again donation time for everyone Smiley
member
Activity: 145
Merit: 10
are you running default queue size and I set to 8 ?

2x 6970 with -w 256 = U: 11.47/m (Mh/s = 773)

2x 6970 with -w 128 -v2 = U: 8.76/m (Mh/s = 800.4)


^^^ which would u rather have ? higher shares per minute or  higher Mh/s...
newbie
Activity: 49
Merit: 0
lol.. Wink

-w 256 is the correct work unit for ati 5870/5970/6950/6970/6990.

the correct worksize reported from the cards I have is 256 but they tune better on 128

also the correct vectors reported is 4 tuning in on 4 reduces mh/s by at least 30% for those cards

cgminer default (setting nothing) is vectors 2 and worksize 128

setting the worksize to 256 on my 5850 gets me 5 more MH/s and usually the card's thread freezes within minutes... means xserver stales means reboot (no kill -9)!
Jump to: