Pages:
Author

Topic: (OLD) BFGMiner: modular FPGA/GPU, GBT, Stratum, RPC, Avalon/Lnx/OpnWrt/PPA/W64 - page 10. (Read 260035 times)

hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
WAIT means it's waiting on new work from the miner core, which suggests the work producing thread is getting stuck somehow. Can you make a debug log?
Code:
bfgminer all your options first --debuglog 2>debug.log
It would also be helpful to try versions in between (start with half way in between) to narrow down the range of changes that could be responsible.

Is there something indicator that I can search for in the log? Typically it runs for several hours until the mining tasks stop working.
If I knew that, I wouldn't need to get a debug log Smiley
legendary
Activity: 2702
Merit: 1261
Yesterday, I changed my bfgminer from an fairly old version to 2.10.2. Now I have the problem that the GPU miner just stops hashing. One GPU thread is on WAIT and the other one is doing a few kh/s. When I stop bfgminer and start it again, it starts hashing again with both threads in the Mh/s area. Pool is eligius.st (getblocktemplate), intensity is 11.
Which version were you using before?

It was one of the early 2.9 versions. Unfortunately I just deleted the old version after the new version started to work.

WAIT means it's waiting on new work from the miner core, which suggests the work producing thread is getting stuck somehow. Can you make a debug log?
Code:
bfgminer all your options first --debuglog 2>debug.log
It would also be helpful to try versions in between (start with half way in between) to narrow down the range of changes that could be responsible.

Is there something indicator that I can search for in the log? Typically it runs for several hours until the mining tasks stop working.
newbie
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
Would that be http with port 3333?
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
Try using http instead of stratum+tcp. It's worked for me for other pools.
newbie
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
Hey Luke-Jr

Any idea why I can't log on to bitminter using stratum?
I am trying to connect using:
stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333/
and all I get in return is
"No servers were found that could be used to get work from"

I initially tried bfgminer-2.10.* but Doc Haribo says try it with 2.9.* as it worked for him.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
Yesterday, I changed my bfgminer from an fairly old version to 2.10.2. Now I have the problem that the GPU miner just stops hashing. One GPU thread is on WAIT and the other one is doing a few kh/s. When I stop bfgminer and start it again, it starts hashing again with both threads in the Mh/s area. Pool is eligius.st (getblocktemplate), intensity is 11.
Which version were you using before? WAIT means it's waiting on new work from the miner core, which suggests the work producing thread is getting stuck somehow. Can you make a debug log?
Code:
bfgminer all your options first --debuglog 2>debug.log
It would also be helpful to try versions in between (start with half way in between) to narrow down the range of changes that could be responsible.
legendary
Activity: 2702
Merit: 1261
Yesterday, I changed my bfgminer from an fairly old version to 2.10.2. Now I have the problem that the GPU miner just stops hashing. One GPU thread is on WAIT and the other one is doing a few kh/s. When I stop bfgminer and start it again, it starts hashing again with both threads in the Mh/s area. Pool is eligius.st (getblocktemplate), intensity is 11.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Haven't received any yet, but will be receiving boards from Butterfly Labs, ASICMINER, and bASIC when they're ready.

Unless there was a change, bASIC is out ... gonne ... hasta la vista, baby!
There has been numerous changes; I'm not ruling bASIC out of the game just yet.
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Haven't received any yet, but will be receiving boards from Butterfly Labs, ASICMINER, and bASIC when they're ready.
Avalon and Deepbit don't seem interested in third-party development this time around, so support for those will likely depend on someone else donating a device or maintaining the code.
Avalon have Xiangfu doing it.
Avalon comes with cgminer in it, since it is a complete computer, not just a mining device.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Haven't received any yet, but will be receiving boards from Butterfly Labs, ASICMINER, and bASIC when they're ready.
Avalon and Deepbit don't seem interested in third-party development this time around, so support for those will likely depend on someone else donating a device or maintaining the code.
sr. member
Activity: 388
Merit: 250
Save A Life, Adopt a Pet Today!
I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
member
Activity: 81
Merit: 16
Crypto-Commodities are the People's Money!
No answer regarding the big I found with the GH/S showing instead of KH/S?
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
The GPU mining and API are copied from cgminer - he didn't write them Smiley
And then improved upon...
LJR's advertisement campaign was that he was the one who added FPGA support into CGMiner. Kano is specifically pointing out the GPU and API portions of BFGminer, which were copied from CGMiner. IIRC, LJR hasn't touched those areas of his clone BFGminer all that much, if at all.
Let's not have an argument where there isn't one. With regard to the OpenCL driver and RPC API, there is little different in BFGMiner.
Not to dismiss the bugfixes and minor improvements that are there (or the many driver-independent improvements and fixes), but the bulk of this code is still Con (OCL) / Kano (RPC) as-is.
legendary
Activity: 952
Merit: 1000
The GPU mining and API are copied from cgminer - he didn't write them Smiley
And then improved upon...
LJR's advertisement campaign was that he was the one who added FPGA support into CGMiner. Kano is specifically pointing out the GPU and API portions of BFGminer, which were copied from CGMiner. IIRC, LJR hasn't touched those areas of his clone BFGminer all that much, if at all.
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
And then improved upon...
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
I recently switched away from using Phoenix which I'd been using since GUI miner had some issues connecting for a lot of people. I'm the type of person that finds something that works and sticks with it. However, needing to prepare for some new FPGAs and ASICs, I needed to upgrade my mining software. As a test, I put it on my desktop first to play around with, and I noticed a slight performance increase, but I waived it off as a fluke. After I set it up remotely on my dedicated rack, however, I figured out that I got a decently significant increase in performance. Im currently running at 10% faster than with Phoenix, but it'll vary from 5%-15% faster. So, I'm please to say that I've found a new miner. I also like tr fact I can make changes to my mining program without having to stop and restart the process. It makes testing (and saving) different settings really easily. So, a big thanks, and job well done!
The GPU mining and API are copied from cgminer - he didn't write them Smiley
full member
Activity: 155
Merit: 100
I recently switched away from using Phoenix which I'd been using since GUI miner had some issues connecting for a lot of people. I'm the type of person that finds something that works and sticks with it. However, needing to prepare for some new FPGAs and ASICs, I needed to upgrade my mining software. As a test, I put it on my desktop first to play around with, and I noticed a slight performance increase, but I waived it off as a fluke. After I set it up remotely on my dedicated rack, however, I figured out that I got a decently significant increase in performance. Im currently running at 10% faster than with Phoenix, but it'll vary from 5%-15% faster. So, I'm please to say that I've found a new miner. I also like tr fact I can make changes to my mining program without having to stop and restart the process. It makes testing (and saving) different settings really easily. So, a big thanks, and job well done!
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
Wow i am impressed. Well done.
member
Activity: 81
Merit: 16
Crypto-Commodities are the People's Money!
I am having a very weird issue when I use your miner only... I am mining Litecoins and for some reason my Hash Rate is showing in GH/S there is no way I am going 16 - 20+ GH/S on a ATI 5770 what is going on when I use CGMiner it shows KH/S as it should. Can you please look into this.

bfgminer version 2.10.2 - Started: [2013-01-11 18:34:50] - [  0 days 00:03:54]
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5s:0.000 avg:0.000 u:6.478 Gh/s | A:117 R:4 S:0 HW:0 U:30.2/m
ST: 4  DW: 4  GW: 20  LW: 0  GF: 0  NB: 2  AS: 0  RF: 0  E: 6.43
Connected to mine.pool-x.eu diff 3 with LP as user unknown
Block: bb675e769af3b5f9...  Diff:1.91M  Started: [18:38:20]  Best share: 251
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[P]ool management [G]PU management ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
OCL 0:  64.0C  48%    | 0.000/0.000/6.533Gh/s | A:118 R:4 HW:0 U: 30.42/m

Pages:
Jump to: