Pages:
Author

Topic: Open source trading bot? (Read 12441 times)

legendary
Activity: 2940
Merit: 1090
February 15, 2012, 08:24:56 AM
#64
For low trading prices, trading on Open Transactions servers might work. They do not even have mechanism in place for taking a percentage of trades at all, the only support they have for fees really is "usage tokens" against which all API calls are charged.

On first glance it seems as if this should help for reasonably-sized trades, but hinder stragegies that want to make many API calls per trade.

I have not checked yet whether the API calls themselves are reasonably "priced" in terms of the usage tokens, such as whether one can get a huge mass of data in one API call instead of having to make one call per market or suchlike.

I have set up my Open Transactions server to use integers for all assets, deliberately to help encourage volume trades. (As to get three digits of price granularity you'd have to use 3 digits of scale, like "100 of this for 101 of that".)

On the other hand I am not a fan of high frequency trading, I have often thought of actually bundling all offers within a half hour or so into one batch clearing run that processes them all at once, specifically to keep bots from butting in between a matching pair of offers to grab most of the difference that otherwise would have gone to the up-front "honest traders" who admitted what they wanted instead of lurking in the background "sniping".

-MarkM-
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
February 15, 2012, 02:59:19 AM
#63
any chance of an update to that bot? it seems to detect the same buy and sell price
hero member
Activity: 566
Merit: 500
hero member
Activity: 714
Merit: 500
February 14, 2012, 01:51:12 PM
#61
Everyone needs a bot.
legendary
Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000
฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
August 26, 2011, 02:14:21 PM
#59
Tell me how this dark magic werkz!!!!!!

hero member
Activity: 532
Merit: 500
August 21, 2011, 10:37:26 PM
#58
ask and ye shall receive.

added a simple buy and sell box to my bot.

check the box, place your values and when the ticker hits the specified points, it places a buy or sell order.

let me know what bugs you can find.

link in sig.
Your code looks pretty solid, I'll let you know if I run into any bugs, expect a donation within the near future.
member
Activity: 116
Merit: 10
August 19, 2011, 08:14:16 PM
#57
great!

bug one: tried it with one (almost) empty account. i suddenly thaught i was rich! damn u Grin {"usds":"0","btcs":"0.00037738"} is shown as: 37.738,0000 BTC
hero member
Activity: 566
Merit: 500
August 19, 2011, 07:15:32 PM
#56
ask and ye shall receive.

added a simple buy and sell box to my bot.

check the box, place your values and when the ticker hits the specified points, it places a buy or sell order.

let me know what bugs you can find.

link in sig.
hero member
Activity: 854
Merit: 500
August 11, 2011, 02:21:13 AM
#55
Is someone going to start a open-souce bot it a more cross-platform language. These open-source bots don't even need any algorithms. just.

if < 9.90 buy
if > 10.10 sell
full member
Activity: 121
Merit: 100
Obey me and live or disobey and die.
August 10, 2011, 03:27:40 PM
#54
Stupid question why is it username an pword as opposed to key and secret am i missing something.  or is username and password for tradehill and it should be key secret for gox?

cheers.
hero member
Activity: 566
Merit: 500
newbie
Activity: 36
Merit: 0
August 03, 2011, 08:19:31 AM
#52
Hmm, no more comments to the trading bot at post #35? I was expecting a bit more feedback considering the strong interest of the people here Wink

I know it's a sensitive topic, but I can't seem to find a simple buy/sell bot...And I have very little exp with PHP. Would it be possible to alter the code to 'scalp' to make a profit with a fee based Mt. Gox account? Adding something to sell if price is greater than .06% of the buy price?

Just check the functions "buy" and "sell" in my source code. Its less than 10 lines for both Smiley It won't get any easier than that.
hero member
Activity: 566
Merit: 500
August 02, 2011, 06:16:02 PM
#51
update posted to the bot. when i was re-doing some numbers earlier, i forgot to have the next buy and sell points actually calculated. that has been fixed.
hero member
Activity: 566
Merit: 500
August 02, 2011, 03:06:55 PM
#50
It's not ready yet due to some security issues that were pointed out to me earlier by Jine from Bitcoins.lc so please, dont use it. if you could, please remove the link for the time being.

i would like to make it open source, as i dont really have anything to hide, but i'm just not sure where to begin, lol.

EDIT:

(Coded in VB .Net)

i have removed a few things from the bot as there seems to be interest in it, so before anything goes live, i need help making a few changes:

there is a settings file that contains your username and password for a few things, i encrypt this based on a key in plain text in the file.

any decent ideas on how to get around this?

EDIT:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21251183/Bitcoin%20Bot.zip

open source. entire project file (actual bot is located inside the debug folder).

rip it apart, abuse it, just be careful

Let me know what you guys find or a better way for me to maintain the source.

Logic behind the buys / sells

it uses the ticker data and build averages from there.

there is a definable running average to based the high and low points, and i calculate a Simple moving average and an Exponential moving average from the ticker data that is based on a user defined depth.

from there, when the averages cross and the price is above/below the defined average percent, it attempts to place a buy/sell order at the ticker price. it doesnt always work. the next step here is to work in the market depth to place a valid order that would be placed.
member
Activity: 116
Merit: 10
August 02, 2011, 02:56:18 PM
#49
runlinux had a bot in his signature. gui etc.

could be, what u need, he didn´t advertise directly in a thread, and i´m wondering, if its still available.
also, i´m no programmer, and don´t know, what this thing might do.

"Try my bitcoin bot at your own risk! http://dl.dropbox.com/xxxx"

edit: i pmed runlinux after i posted this, and he asked me, to remove the link. so i did.
any professional, who could look at the source, would be veryvery much appreciated
newbie
Activity: 6
Merit: 0
August 02, 2011, 02:29:16 PM
#48
Hmm, no more comments to the trading bot at post #35? I was expecting a bit more feedback considering the strong interest of the people here Wink

I know it's a sensitive topic, but I can't seem to find a simple buy/sell bot...And I have very little exp with PHP. Would it be possible to alter the code to 'scalp' to make a profit with a fee based Mt. Gox account? Adding something to sell if price is greater than .06% of the buy price?
newbie
Activity: 36
Merit: 0
July 18, 2011, 07:19:18 AM
#47
Hmm, no more comments to the trading bot at post #35? I was expecting a bit more feedback considering the strong interest of the people here Wink
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!
July 14, 2011, 03:14:18 PM
#46
But why is your php dir "phpchroot" Sounds like chroot? Maybe php lacks access rights. If you PM me your ICQ/whatever I'd be willing to help if u can provide me a shell.

Just replied.
newbie
Activity: 36
Merit: 0
July 14, 2011, 03:01:23 PM
#45
But why is your php dir "phpchroot" Sounds like chroot? Maybe php lacks access rights. If you PM me your ICQ/whatever I'd be willing to help if u can provide me a shell.
Pages:
Jump to: