Pages:
Author

Topic: PCI-e Based FPGA Mining Cards - page 2. (Read 5961 times)

Activity: 347
Merit: 100
April 10, 2013, 05:26:43 AM
Looking for group buy Stratix V boards to reduce price.
Activity: 36
Merit: 0
April 10, 2013, 04:17:05 AM
I would be interested in this board as well. Let me know if you need help testing, etc.
Activity: 388
Merit: 250
Save A Life, Adopt a Pet Today!
April 10, 2013, 12:41:24 AM
As for people wanting to buy them, I don't think I want that kind of pressure.  I'm fine opensourceing my board, but I'm a rather lazy guy.

Can't say i blame you on that!
Activity: 182
Merit: 10
April 10, 2013, 12:37:11 AM
Why pci-e? You dont need such fast communication, and the cooling is worse than the stand alone pcbs.

Just to see if I can.  I'm not doing this because I'm trying to make a product or anything, I'm just a bored dev who has a mobo laying around with 6 pci-e x16 slots. Besides, the PCI-e will come in handy if BitSyncom ever gets around to selling ASIC chips.  The board will have to be completely redone, and the cooling situation tackled (I'm thinking closed-loop liquid), but it would be fun.
legendary
Activity: 966
Merit: 1000
April 10, 2013, 12:31:30 AM
I don't see the point.  USB-based FPGA miners already work well.

Putting them on a PCIe card just limits scalability to the number of PCIe slots in the system, and you'll have to fit the whole thing with cooling into a 20mm wide slot (40mm if you're gonna occupy 2 slot widths).

Now if you're going for a board to mine Scrypt, using host memory, well OK...
Activity: 70
April 10, 2013, 12:30:06 AM
Why pci-e? You dont need such fast communication, and the cooling is worse than the stand alone pcbs.
April 10, 2013, 12:15:34 AM
Of course everything is a little bit of a gamble with BTC - but since fpga's seem to still have some value based on the current price (which as we all know is subject to change) it is probably not a bad idea.