Pages:
Author

Topic: Phoenix - Efficient, fast, modular miner - page 21. (Read 760701 times)

member
Activity: 67
Merit: 10
Stop trying to steal my account, thanks.
May be verywell a psu related issue.
Try using a new one, and overclock again.
newbie
Activity: 30
Merit: 0
Nope. Not temps. Like I said, I can run FURMARK on both cards at the same time, no issues. Furmark makes them hotter than Bitcoin mining does.

That is by far one of the strangest issues I've ever seen, please let us know if you ever figure it out!

Things I'd start with - swapping PSU's, swapping PCI-E slot order of the cards, making sure PCI-E bus is at exactly 100MHz, FSB isn't overclocked, RAM is running at spec (or under spec to be safe), maybe try ORTHOS set to "blend" mode to make sure it's not something between the cpu and the gpu core that's causing errors (furmark only loads the GPU, not the bus from the CPU _to_ the GPU)

I dropped both cards down to their stock clocks and suddenly it works. Tested for multiple hours twice. Once while working on the house and then again while out to dinner. For some reason Furmark & Shogun 2 don't expose the faulty OC (which was only 50MHZ per card core), but bitcoin mining and Modern Warfare 2 do. And Bitcoin mining causes a hard reset instead of a simple driver crash like MW2.
sr. member
Activity: 418
Merit: 250
Nope. Not temps. Like I said, I can run FURMARK on both cards at the same time, no issues. Furmark makes them hotter than Bitcoin mining does.

That is by far one of the strangest issues I've ever seen, please let us know if you ever figure it out!

Things I'd start with - swapping PSU's, swapping PCI-E slot order of the cards, making sure PCI-E bus is at exactly 100MHz, FSB isn't overclocked, RAM is running at spec (or under spec to be safe), maybe try ORTHOS set to "blend" mode to make sure it's not something between the cpu and the gpu core that's causing errors (furmark only loads the GPU, not the bus from the CPU _to_ the GPU)
sr. member
Activity: 262
Merit: 250
Dubs Get
hmmm


strange...


have your tried different kernels? or miners?
newbie
Activity: 30
Merit: 0
Nope. Not temps. Like I said, I can run FURMARK on both cards at the same time, no issues. Furmark makes them hotter than Bitcoin mining does.
sr. member
Activity: 262
Merit: 250
Dubs Get
this could be temperature... with arguments both stay at the limit and temperatures go at the top
newbie
Activity: 30
Merit: 0
Hi, Phoenix has been causing hard resets for me when mining with both cards. I can mine with one indefinately, or run a furmark instance on both with no issues. Game on one while mining on other, etc with no problems at all. But if I start two Phoenix miners my computer will just suddenly reset within two minutes. However, if I give one of the miners no arguments at all this doesn't happen. I started a thread about the issue I'm having: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=19289.0

Never had a rejected share or artifacts, and can furmark on both cards, so it can't be a hardware problem.
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
Getting the following error on my mac :
Code:
/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.6/Extras/lib/python/twisted/internet/_sslverify.py:5: DeprecationWarning: the md5 module is deprecated; use hashlib instead
  import itertools, md5
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./phoenix.py", line 29, in
    import minerutil
  File "/Users/Dittie/Downloads/phoenix-1.50/minerutil/__init__.py", line 25, in
    from RPCProtocol import RPCClient
  File "/Users/XXXXXXX/Downloads/phoenix-1.50/minerutil/RPCProtocol.py", line 26, in
    from twisted.web.iweb import IBodyProducer
ImportError: cannot import name IBodyProducer

legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1020
I had two hard crashes / freezes with v1.50 but never before. anyone else? maybe it's time to switch from drivers 10.12 to 11.6.
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
sr. member
Activity: 262
Merit: 250
Dubs Get
post pic of your patch plz =)
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
Hey, I made a quick patch for Phoenix Miner 1.5. It just displays efficiency (accepted shares / get work requests * 100) along with the other stats. Additionally I copied the logging code from poclbm-mod (public domain so why not) because that doesn't make the status flicker on windows like phoenix did and because it's easier to print formatted strings (e.g. percent to two decimal places) that way. I also changed a few parts of the status to fit better on 80 character lines (accepted -> ACC rejected  -> REJ).

Patch can be found here: http://pastebin.com/basCaTXM
newbie
Activity: 41
Merit: 0
v1.50, I've been getting this from time to time:

Quote
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/twisted/internet/tcp.py", line 519, in connectionLost
    protocol.connectionLost(reason)
  File "/home/bitcoin/phoenix-1.50/minerutil/_newclient3420.py", line 826, in dispatcher
    return func(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/home/bitcoin/phoenix-1.50/minerutil/_newclient3420.py", line 1438, in _connectionLost_WAITING
    self._disconnectParser(reason)
  File "/home/bitcoin/phoenix-1.50/minerutil/_newclient3420.py", line 1367, in _disconnectParser
    parser.connectionLost(reason)
--- ---
  File "/home/bitcoin/phoenix-1.50/minerutil/_newclient3420.py", line 494, in connectionLost
    self.bodyDecoder.noMoreData()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/twisted/web/http.py", line 1388, in noMoreData
    finishCallback('')
  File "/home/bitcoin/phoenix-1.50/minerutil/_newclient3420.py", line 409, in _finished
    self.finisher(rest)
  File "/home/bitcoin/phoenix-1.50/minerutil/_newclient3420.py", line 1346, in _finishResponse
    self._giveUp(Failure(reason))
exceptions.UnboundLocalError: local variable 'reason' referenced before assignment
newbie
Activity: 51
Merit: 0
Quote
MSG: upstream RPC error                                     
[18/06/2011 01:29:06] Disconnected from server             
[18/06/2011 01:29:18] Warning: work queue empty, miner is idle
[18/06/2011 01:29:19] Result: d8d7ccc4 accepted 
[18/06/2011 01:29:19] Connected to server       
[18/06/2011 01:29:43] Warning: work queue empty, miner is idle
[18/06/2011 01:31:13] Result: c8b213d5 accepted       
[18/06/2011 01:31:13] Result: 2dd8e44a accepted       
MSG: upstream RPC error                               
[18/06/2011 01:31:13] Disconnected from server         
[18/06/2011 01:31:23] Result: e5eb79fe accepted       
[18/06/2011 01:31:24] Result: d981469f accepted 
MSG: upstream RPC error                         
[18/06/2011 01:31:34] Failed to connect, retrying...
MSG: upstream RPC error                         
[18/06/2011 01:32:30] Failed to connect, retrying...
MSG: upstream RPC error                         
[18/06/2011 01:32:43] Failed to connect, retrying...
MSG: upstream RPC error                         
[18/06/2011 01:32:58] Failed to connect, retrying...
MSG: upstream RPC error                         
[18/06/2011 01:34:01] Failed to connect, retrying...
MSG: upstream RPC error                         
[18/06/2011 01:36:22] Failed to connect, retrying...
MSG: upstream RPC error                         
[18/06/2011 01:36:33] Failed to connect, retrying...
MSG: upstream RPC error                         
[18/06/2011 01:37:42] Failed to connect, retrying...
[0 Khash/sec] [1812 Accepted] [30 Rejected] [RPC]

This erro occurs with Version 1.5

hero member
Activity: 608
Merit: 500
I get a similar rate though for some odd reason guiminer shows Connecting for a reaaaaly long time even though it's clearly already connected and mining and submitting shares.
full member
Activity: 235
Merit: 100
Hey, Sevenwolf here on the forums had this problem while mining. Message him for details: http://pastie.org/2081416
full member
Activity: 219
Merit: 120
Quote
[16/06/2011 20:21:48] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[16/06/2011 20:22:01] Result 000000002f4255ac... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:22:06] Result 00000000956163ae... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:22:08] Result 000000006244c69e... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:22:15] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[16/06/2011 20:22:42] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[16/06/2011 20:23:08] Result 0000000068e4507d... rejected
[16/06/2011 20:23:08] Result 00000000e2b80025... rejected
[16/06/2011 20:23:09] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[16/06/2011 20:23:10] New block (WorkQueue)
[16/06/2011 20:23:13] Result 000000003717b83f... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:23:25] Result 00000000706aa557... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:23:28] Result 00000000edf564dc... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:23:37] Warning: work queue empty, miner is idle
[0 Khash/sec] [859 Accepted] [23 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]
v1.50
did not restart for two hours...

Seven other miner instances worked fine, one of them on the same GPU. Could it be something with the socket connection?

anything we can do to help debug?

I am completely out of ideas for fixing this. I have looked through the RPC protocol code countless times and I can't find the cause. At this point I'm going to have to leave it up to other developers to fix.

However, if someone can identify the cause of the problem I should be able to fix it.
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 100
"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"
after fresh reinstall of Ubuntu and following the guide completely again. Phoenix is working now. I'm doing AGGRESSION=13 + backup pool with poclbm -f60.

Still have no idea why it didn't work previously, but since I couldn't get much help from the forum I reinstalled everything, works fine now. Btw jedi. Nice job on the new release. No more freezing workers Smiley
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1020
Quote
[16/06/2011 20:21:48] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[16/06/2011 20:22:01] Result 000000002f4255ac... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:22:06] Result 00000000956163ae... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:22:08] Result 000000006244c69e... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:22:15] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[16/06/2011 20:22:42] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[16/06/2011 20:23:08] Result 0000000068e4507d... rejected
[16/06/2011 20:23:08] Result 00000000e2b80025... rejected
[16/06/2011 20:23:09] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[16/06/2011 20:23:10] New block (WorkQueue)
[16/06/2011 20:23:13] Result 000000003717b83f... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:23:25] Result 00000000706aa557... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:23:28] Result 00000000edf564dc... accepted
[16/06/2011 20:23:37] Warning: work queue empty, miner is idle
[0 Khash/sec] [859 Accepted] [23 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]
v1.50
did not restart for two hours...

Seven other miner instances worked fine, one of them on the same GPU. Could it be something with the socket connection?

anything we can do to help debug?
legendary
Activity: 1320
Merit: 1001
First, congratulations for keeping the good work jedi95! I already sent another donation.

I noticed a decrease in cases of miners remain stuck after a warning of "miner is idle".

But some still get stuck... Normally my rigs with Ubuntu (maybe it's a coincidence, but W7 rigs are running fine).
Pages:
Jump to: