Pages:
Author

Topic: pushpool - open source pool software - page 8. (Read 120158 times)

newbie
Activity: 40
Merit: 0
May 26, 2011, 06:06:55 AM
#80
Ive had ago at installing this in ubuntu 10.04 on my vps. Can't get it to install libmemcached.

Would be very nice with a decent install guide! (I would write one if I got it install and working..)
Or can anyone elaborate on how they managed to install it?
newbie
Activity: 20
Merit: 0
May 26, 2011, 05:23:43 AM
#79
subscribed! Any pushpool experts want to consult with helping someone start a pool?

Pushpool itself isn't that intricate; it does most of the work by itself. You mostly need someone that knows their way around php/mysql (or the other databases used) to create a web frontend.
sr. member
Activity: 297
Merit: 251
Founder, Filmmaker, Fun Guy
May 26, 2011, 05:11:17 AM
#78
subscribed! Any pushpool experts want to consult with helping someone start a pool?
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
May 26, 2011, 02:00:36 AM
#77
Depending on the database. Are you using mysql? If so, is it on? Since pushpoold need's to get the workers from somewhere.
legendary
Activity: 980
Merit: 1003
I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man
May 26, 2011, 12:08:43 AM
#76
That isn't an error.

Thanks, I got it running. The only problem is when anyone try's to connect it comes up as Wrong Username & Password so I started trollin the IRC chat all day trying to convince anyone that i am typing in the wrong username and password. So it obviously isn't the wrong username and password if i copy and paste. It was a simple username and password like --user=a --pass=b that was it, theres no way you can type that in wrong.

 Any suggestions as to why my miner is having trouble connecting even tho pushpool will report "[382983464] Initialized"?
newbie
Activity: 40
Merit: 0
May 25, 2011, 06:29:56 PM
#75
PushPool looks interesting... Gonna get a VPS tonight and try it out.

I take it that push pool works on Ubuntu?
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
May 25, 2011, 05:41:39 PM
#74
That isn't an error.
legendary
Activity: 980
Merit: 1003
I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man
May 25, 2011, 04:05:48 PM
#73
Quote

I manually installed jannson-2.0.1

Any suggestions?


I did as well without problems...were you able to './configure;make;make install' without any problems (assuming linux)?

Yes Jannson ./configure;make;make check; make install flawlessly

So I guess i was using the git file and not the tarball so i got the tarball and now im experiencing this error after executing "make install"

Quote
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/shane/Downloads/pushpool-0.4.1'
test -z "/usr/local/sbin" || /bin/mkdir -p "/usr/local/sbin"
  /usr/bin/install -c pushpoold '/usr/local/sbin'
test -z "/usr/local/sbin" || /bin/mkdir -p "/usr/local/sbin"
 /usr/bin/install -c blkmond '/usr/local/sbin'
make[1]: Nothing to be done for `install-data-am'.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/shane/Downloads/pushpool-0.4.1'
[/quote]
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
May 25, 2011, 03:50:42 PM
#72
Please check my fork of pushpool for modified example-config and example db:
https://github.com/jine/pushpool

Smiley

Regards, Jim
In order to optimize. our_result and upstream_result must be enum 'y','n'.
legendary
Activity: 980
Merit: 1003
I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man
May 25, 2011, 03:45:29 PM
#71
Quote

I manually installed jannson-2.0.1

Any suggestions?


I did as well without problems...were you able to './configure;make;make install' without any problems (assuming linux)?

Yes Jannson ./configure;make;make check; make install flawlessly
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 13
May 25, 2011, 03:43:56 PM
#70
Wondering if there is a way to get the generation transaction id from the solution logged to SQL where the upstream result is true. That is, we find a block but I then need a handle to the transaction so I can monitor whether it gets the 120 confirmations.

Not trivially, but it's doable.  The solution logged gives you prevhash, which allows you to locate block-1.

member
Activity: 98
Merit: 13
May 25, 2011, 03:43:05 PM
#69
Are there plans to piggyback the longpoll update to changed midstates or will we always be needing an external monitor to trigger longpolls?

Patches welcome Smiley

legendary
Activity: 1750
Merit: 1007
May 25, 2011, 03:42:14 PM
#68
Wondering if there is a way to get the generation transaction id from the solution logged to SQL where the upstream result is true. That is, we find a block but I then need a handle to the transaction so I can monitor whether it gets the 120 confirmations.

If you're using a PHP frontend, you can do what I've done with my pool:

Changes to pushpool:
  1) On startup of pushpoold, run a query on a new table [found_blocks for example], which contains an ID# for each block that has been found, auto increment.  Get the highest ID#, increase it by one, store it as a global variable in pushpool.
  2) Change the sharelog query to include an ID# in the shares table.
  3) When it checks a share and finds upstream_result='Y', increment the block ID counter in pushpool.

PHP Frontend:
  1) Cron script executing your PHP script every minute (or 5 mintues, 30, your preference), which polls bitcoind for a list of block generations (listtransactions, search for category: "generate".
  2) Get the transaction ID from the most recent block generations, and check if those transaction IDs are in the found_blocks table.
  3) If they aren't, create a new entry in the found_blocks table, and include the transaction ID from bitcoind for that block.  You can now associate all the shares from that block with the transaction ID because they will use the same block_id as your found_blocks table does.
  4) Have a confirmations field on your found_blocks table, that gets updated when the script executes.

  Obviously this is just the quick and dirty implementation to get you started, you'll need to add security checks for invalids (category: "orphan"), and make sure it doesn't have a hiccup if two blocks are found between the checks.
newbie
Activity: 20
Merit: 0
May 25, 2011, 03:40:57 PM
#67
Quote

I manually installed jannson-2.0.1

Any suggestions?


I did as well without problems...were you able to './configure;make;make install' without any problems (assuming linux)?
legendary
Activity: 980
Merit: 1003
I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man
May 25, 2011, 03:35:08 PM
#66
This is the error i got when i ran "Make" after downloading the Master pool.
Quote
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -fno-strict-aliasing -pthread     -g -O2 -MT config.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/config.Tpo -c -o config.o config.c
config.c: In function ‘read_config’:
config.c:305:2: warning: passing argument 2 of ‘json_loads’ makes integer from pointer without a cast
/usr/local/include/jansson.h:219:9: note: expected ‘size_t’ but argument is of type ‘struct json_error_t *’
config.c:305:2: error: too few arguments to function ‘json_loads’
/usr/local/include/jansson.h:219:9: note: declared here
make[1]: *** [config.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/xenland/Downloads/bitcoin-pushpool'
make: *** [all] Error 2

I manually installed jannson-2.0.1

Any suggestions?
full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
May 25, 2011, 03:18:46 PM
#65
Wondering if there is a way to get the generation transaction id from the solution logged to SQL where the upstream result is true. That is, we find a block but I then need a handle to the transaction so I can monitor whether it gets the 120 confirmations.
hero member
Activity: 489
Merit: 504
May 25, 2011, 07:29:07 AM
#64
Are there plans to piggyback the longpoll update to changed midstates or will we always be needing an external monitor to trigger longpolls?
newbie
Activity: 47
Merit: 0
May 24, 2011, 03:14:32 PM
#63
btw, just wanted to point out that there is a 130btc bounty for a pushpool web front end (managing users, payouts, graphing)

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=8760.0

sr. member
Activity: 403
Merit: 250
May 24, 2011, 02:06:42 PM
#62
Please check my fork of pushpool for modified example-config and example db:
https://github.com/jine/pushpool

Smiley

Regards, Jim
kjj
legendary
Activity: 1302
Merit: 1025
May 24, 2011, 01:53:20 PM
#61
Is there a trick to getting debugging output from the database operations?

I'm not getting anything in the shares table, and I can't figure out why.  I made the table with the fields in the default statement, but still get nothing.

It looks like applog() should be writing the mysql error somewhere, but I can't find it in any logs or on the console (STDERR/STDOUT).
Pages:
Jump to: