Pages:
Author

Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner - page 23. (Read 1239035 times)

member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
March 14, 2011, 04:48:50 AM
Hi m0mchil I do experience 25% load on the cpu per poclbm instance. I have tried running with 10.11 + 2.1 stream but poclbm refused to load. Also 11.2 + 2.1 doesnt work either saying that no opencl device detected. 11.2 + 2.2 on the other hand runs with the 25% load issue. I am running win 7 64 bit. Any advice on the configuration?
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
March 14, 2011, 04:18:14 AM
It shouldn't use any CPU (unless you use it on your CPU which you should not). Any other CPU usage is cleanly problem of driver + OpenCL SDK + OS.
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
March 14, 2011, 03:16:44 AM
poclbm: each miner appears to use exactly 25% of your CPU. Open task manager and start/stop a miner.


Each miner is using 1/N_Core of your CPU, where n_Core is the number of Cores detected by windows. If you have HyperThreading, enable it to half the CPU usage.

i5, no hyperthreading Sad
qed
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 100
March 14, 2011, 01:20:36 AM
poclbm: each miner appears to use exactly 25% of your CPU. Open task manager and start/stop a miner.


Each miner is using 1/N_Core of your CPU, where n_Core is the number of Cores detected by windows. If you have HyperThreading, enable it to half the CPU usage.
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
March 13, 2011, 05:47:05 PM
poclbm: each miner appears to use exactly 25% of your CPU. Open task manager and start/stop a miner.
hero member
Activity: 696
Merit: 500
March 13, 2011, 04:52:45 PM
similar problem with q6600 + 5970, W7 x64, ati 2.3.451

each instance of poclb using one core to the full


no such problem with single 5870 - it uses 3-5% of cpu

Im having the same problem on intel i5.
member
Activity: 67
Merit: 10
Stop trying to steal my account, thanks.
March 13, 2011, 01:55:35 PM
HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + Catalyst + Windows 7 64bit = worked out of teh box without any issue.
Well, actually i have an issue: 25% constant cpu load (quad core machine).
I only have one miner instance open, crunching at +- 170Mhash/s with the gpu.
How come it is using that CPU core?

[edit]
@m0m
Hey man, could you please update the executable on OP?
I'm lazy to setup a compiling environment Tongue
[/edit]

do Ctrl alt delete and check your processes to see what is using your CPU

poclbm.exe is using 25% cpu, tot it was obvious Smiley
Not explorer.exe or something else.
jr. member
Activity: 56
Merit: 22
March 12, 2011, 10:43:19 PM
Latest version, shut it down by doing CTRL+c

Code:
13/03/2011 04:41:47, Unexpected error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyo", line 285, in mine
  File "Queue.pyo", line 177, in get
  File "threading.pyo", line 256, in wait
IOError: [Errno 4] Interrupted function call

bye
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
March 11, 2011, 05:00:41 PM
Miner updated with support for long polling, see https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.63957
full member
Activity: 170
Merit: 100
March 11, 2011, 02:37:06 PM
similar problem with q6600 + 5970, W7 x64, ati 2.3.451

each instance of poclb using one core to the full


no such problem with single 5870 - it uses 3-5% of cpu
legendary
Activity: 3920
Merit: 2349
Eadem mutata resurgo
March 11, 2011, 01:11:03 AM
Okay, some more info on the default display hang bug in linux, actually think it is an Xserver poclbm fglrx kernel shit fight going on.

I truly thought the hardware on the GPU0 (default display) was fried since I swapped the 2 5970 cards and the hang on launch failure followed the GPU0 that was the display adapter that had hung but was now just another node ... go figure.

After complete re-install to get back to known good fglrx 10.12, ATI-stream SDK 2.1, yada,yada best set-up launched a poclbm instance on default display adapter ... yay, works, hardware not fried.

But wait, after a few moments and some movement of mouse, move an x-term around or something it hangs, @#$%!, restart and try to launch poclbm on GPU0 and hangs the system immediately this time. Back to square one, staring down barrel of complete system install Huh try one more thing, have you heard about the too cold bug to run 5970 crash all you water-cooler guys? http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/293030-33-5970-freezes-running-watercooled

So thinking outside chance card maybe too cold I launched an instance of gears;

$ fgl_glxgears

by default it was cranking on GPU0 so then after few seconds launched poclbm on GPU0, it works, yay, eh wtf?!. Shutdown fgl_glxgears and poclbm on GPU0 is away, still hashing like a raped ape, looks like a starter motor needed to get it fired up! Tried this several times and works reliably but one time I used -f 5 and left fgl_glxgears running longer and it all froze again. In amongst all this freezing, hanging and restarting sometimes the system doesn't come back up  or sends out an ugly kernel crash and string of errors on reboot ... so not too cold bug but I think there is kernel conflict with Xserver, running on default display, fglrx and poclbm (maybe pyOpenCL has something to answer for also.)

The high CPU work for the default display process is the big hint here, wtf is it churning on the CPU when the poclbm process is running on the GPU0?

$ps -A
...
 2001 pts/5    00:01:51 poclbm.py
 2004 pts/1    00:00:18 poclbm.py
 2007 pts/2    00:00:18 poclbm.py
 2010 pts/3    00:00:18 poclbm.py
...
all launched nearly simultaneously but the process 2001 is the one running on the default display adapter (started using the patented fgl_glxgears kick-starter method)

EDIT: update, swapped hardware again and the hanging process followed the dodgy GPU again ... i.e. not default display adapter problem but weird GPU core. Get this, the core will not run the poclbm.py unless I launch fgl_glxgears (maybe some other graphic intensive code also but haven't tested) first on the display associated with that core (e.g. $export DISPLAY=:0.2; fgl_glxgears )and "kickstart" it off. But also noticed that this core runs 1-2Mhash FASTER than other cores when it is crunching but then eventually hangs, sometimes runs for 30-60 mins, sometimes 10 mins only.

Since it is no longer default display GPU it doesn't hang system unless I try to kill it (Ctrl^C) or reboot the system ... at this point requires hard power restart, euchh. So most likely ultra-sensitive GPU core hardware but not so dodgy that it won't run and tempting to see if I can trick it into stabilising since it is a fast core ... any ideas hardware tech. heads? NB: have also tried under-clocking and over-clocking on the same core with same results .... GPU BIOS problem maybe? ... anyone gone under the hood there?
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
March 10, 2011, 11:32:12 PM
HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + Catalyst + Windows 7 64bit = worked out of teh box without any issue.
Well, actually i have an issue: 25% constant cpu load (quad core machine).
I only have one miner instance open, crunching at +- 170Mhash/s with the gpu.
How come it is using that CPU core?

do Ctrl alt delete and check your processes to see what is using your CPU

explorer.exe, stopping mining, stops cpu usage, I have same problem with HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + WindowsXP

if you closes explorer.exe does mining still work? and CPU usage?

How about putting explorer.exe at low priority and for it to use only one core (affinity), preferable the last core (try to avoid putting it on core 0)

I'm still getting high CPU usage with 2.1, each of my four poclbm-mod instance is using 20-25% CPU 

If it is the poclbm that is using CPU do the same, Affinity to one processor and low priority, see if that works... else just upgrade to 2.2

(lol 3 people with the same problem)
sr. member
Activity: 257
Merit: 250
Not trusting third parties with my private keys
March 10, 2011, 09:46:33 PM
HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + Catalyst + Windows 7 64bit = worked out of teh box without any issue.
Well, actually i have an issue: 25% constant cpu load (quad core machine).
I only have one miner instance open, crunching at +- 170Mhash/s with the gpu.
How come it is using that CPU core?

do Ctrl alt delete and check your processes to see what is using your CPU

explorer.exe, stopping mining, stops cpu usage, I have same problem with HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + WindowsXP

if you closes explorer.exe does mining still work? and CPU usage?

How about putting explorer.exe at low priority and for it to use only one core (affinity), preferable the last core (try to avoid putting it on core 0)

I'm still getting high CPU usage with 2.1, each of my four poclbm-mod instance is using 20-25% CPU 
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
March 10, 2011, 07:25:28 PM
HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + Catalyst + Windows 7 64bit = worked out of teh box without any issue.
Well, actually i have an issue: 25% constant cpu load (quad core machine).
I only have one miner instance open, crunching at +- 170Mhash/s with the gpu.
How come it is using that CPU core?

[edit]
@m0m
Hey man, could you please update the executable on OP?
I'm lazy to setup a compiling environment Tongue
[/edit]

do Ctrl alt delete and check your processes to see what is using your CPU

explorer.exe, stopping mining, stops cpu usage, I have same problem with HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + WindowsXP

if you closes explorer.exe does mining still work? and CPU usage?

How about putting explorer.exe at low priority and for it to use only one core (affinity), preferable the last core (try to avoid putting it on core 0)
hero member
Activity: 698
Merit: 500
March 10, 2011, 05:51:39 PM
HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + Catalyst + Windows 7 64bit = worked out of teh box without any issue.
Well, actually i have an issue: 25% constant cpu load (quad core machine).
I only have one miner instance open, crunching at +- 170Mhash/s with the gpu.
How come it is using that CPU core?

[edit]
@m0m
Hey man, could you please update the executable on OP?
I'm lazy to setup a compiling environment Tongue
[/edit]

do Ctrl alt delete and check your processes to see what is using your CPU

explorer.exe, stopping mining, stops cpu usage, I have same problem with HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + WindowsXP
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
March 10, 2011, 01:46:45 PM
HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + Catalyst + Windows 7 64bit = worked out of teh box without any issue.
Well, actually i have an issue: 25% constant cpu load (quad core machine).
I only have one miner instance open, crunching at +- 170Mhash/s with the gpu.
How come it is using that CPU core?

[edit]
@m0m
Hey man, could you please update the executable on OP?
I'm lazy to setup a compiling environment Tongue
[/edit]

do Ctrl alt delete and check your processes to see what is using your CPU
member
Activity: 67
Merit: 10
Stop trying to steal my account, thanks.
March 10, 2011, 05:35:53 AM
HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + Catalyst + Windows 7 64bit = worked out of teh box without any issue.
Well, actually i have an issue: 25% constant cpu load (quad core machine).
I only have one miner instance open, crunching at +- 170Mhash/s with the gpu.
How come it is using that CPU core?

[edit]
@m0m
Hey man, could you please update the executable on OP?
I'm lazy to setup a compiling environment Tongue
[/edit]
sr. member
Activity: 257
Merit: 250
Not trusting third parties with my private keys
March 09, 2011, 11:45:27 PM
i will pay 50 BTC to whoever updates this miner to make it work with sdk 2.1 on 64bit windows 7, since a bunch of people have this problem.  Seems like it would be something really simple....

Would it be fair to split the reward 25/25 between FairUser and I? Considering it is his miner but I tested and confirmed it working. Hell, I'll even write up a guide for switching from 2.3 to 2.1 if you'd like Smiley

I was going to suggest that myself.  Just post how to get it working in the sdk problem thread and pm me an address guys.  lol, now I know how to get things done around here.... someone should make a site where you can pledge to donate x BTC for a certain feature, that might encourage a lot of development with tons of people contributing even 1btc for features.

Im getting 40Mhash more total out of my 2x5970 rig with 10.11 drivers.  didn't need to do safe mode or anything crazy to downgrade from 2.2, just uninstall, delete the ati stream directory in program files, and install the developer part of 2.1
sr. member
Activity: 406
Merit: 256
March 09, 2011, 11:37:11 PM
i will pay 50 BTC to whoever updates this miner to make it work with sdk 2.1 on 64bit windows 7, since a bunch of people have this problem.  Seems like it would be something really simple....

Would it be fair to split the reward 25/25 between FairUser and I? Considering it is his miner but I tested and confirmed it working. Hell, I'll even write up a guide for switching from 2.3 to 2.1 if you'd like Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 406
Merit: 256
March 09, 2011, 11:25:27 PM
15mh/s per core on a 5970 at 800mhz each

315 mh/s per core, 630 total
Pages:
Jump to: