Pages:
Author

Topic: Securing your savings wallet - page 6. (Read 8363 times)

legendary
Activity: 1078
Merit: 1002
September 17, 2012, 08:01:24 AM
These are my conditions:

-I want it in a digital form, preferably on an encrypted USB stick
-I want to be able to use it with my primary and only laptop (needing to reboot my laptop is fine)
-I want to be able to at least send myself an email with an address where to send the coins to and be safe doing so or use some other way of copy/paste
-I want to spend from my savings wallet without having to download the blockchain

Does having a liveCD linux on a USB with armory meet all these conditions?

Btw I'll pay up to $15 worth of BTC for a plug&play version of this and I'm sure I'm not the only one.
legendary
September 17, 2012, 07:57:22 AM
I'm no expert, but just spent a good chunk of time researching this.

Here's the options recommended elsewhere...

You can setup a bootable USB drive.  The OS commonly recommended was Ubuntu.  Then boot to that drive. Use exclusively for Bitcoin transactions and that's it.

Then for savings....

After looking at everything I feel your best bet is still the paper wallet approach.  However you don't have to store the paper.  You can create screen captures of the private keys (or cut and pastes) and store them in a truecrypt vault.  And then store that vault in the cloud.  Be sure though when you create the paper wallet your computer is clean (this might be where having that bootable USB comes in very handy).

To import the private keys I tested MultiBit.  Using Mac Texedit.app I simply edited an exported private key file, then imported it back into MultiBit.  It seems to work and wasn't too much of a hassle for a long-term savings wallet.

This actually sounds decent.. And yes keyloging is mainly what I want to protect against, I already secured everything with passwords..
legendary
September 17, 2012, 07:53:49 AM
These are my conditions: