Pages:
Author

Topic: Share your ideas on what to replace the 1 MB block size limit with - page 3. (Read 6977 times)

Activity: 602
Merit: 500
In math we trust.
Well, I'm not a bitcoin expert, but here's the idea.

I think the limit should be removed for the network to allow mass-adoption.
Here's an interesting idea.

Bitcoin devs should:
Set a date, like January 1 2015 and declare that a new client will be released with no limit on that date.
Also, make every client released from now on, have a timestamp-based limit, (change the limit automatically depending on the date)
As the clocks hit 1/1/2015, hopefully more than 50% of the people will have updated their clients to a timestamp-based ones.

Well, I hope you took the point.
legendary
Activity: 2282
Merit: 1050
Monero Core Team
My suggestion, to get this discussion started, is a dynamic block size limit that is based on the following two parameters:

1) The median size of the a set of the previous blocks. A good example is the model of the CryptoNote coins, for example Monero (XMR). https://cryptonote.org/inside.php.
2) We could also add the requirement that for an increase in the block size limit the difficulty must be rising and for a decrease the difficulty must be falling.
Activity: 772
Merit: 501
I think the biggest obstacle to mass adoption of Bitcoin is the 1 MB block size limit.

It's a major source of uncertainty for the Bitcoin economy because, on the one hand:

Bitcoin can't achieve mass adoption and global currency status status until the limit is lifted, because 7 transactions per second (the transaction rate that results in block reaching the 1 MB size limit) is miniscule for any global payment network or currency

and on the other hand, a change in the protocol to lift the 1 MB block size limit portends many risks, the biggest two of which are:

• a split in the community leading to the Bitcoin blockchain being forked