Pages:
Author

Topic: The Habanero - 650GH/s - OOS - page 13. (Read 96043 times)

full member
Activity: 154
Merit: 100
July 17, 2014, 01:26:40 PM
Am i right in assuming flashing the new firmware will set the voltages back to default?
No, it shouldn't affect the voltages or the name of the device.
Ah ok, also , how do you set the name?

To set device name use:
Code:
cgminer --hfa-name "name"

How about for different devices(habs) on same cgminer instance?

Device name is saved to the board flash so you need to set the device name only once for each board.
Use "--usb" to specify the board when you have multiple connected to the same system.  For example to set name "hab1" for habanero board connected as device 5 from usb bus 2 use:

Code:
--hfa-name hab1 --usb 2:5

To get the usb bus ID and device ID use "lsusb" as described in cgminer ASIC-README file.
legendary
Activity: 2450
Merit: 1002
July 17, 2014, 01:14:47 PM
Am i right in assuming flashing the new firmware will set the voltages back to default?
No, it shouldn't affect the voltages or the name of the device.
Ah ok, also , how do you set the name?

To set device name use:
Code:
cgminer --hfa-name "name"

How about for different devices(habs) on same cgminer instance?
full member
Activity: 154
Merit: 100
July 17, 2014, 11:14:24 AM
Am i right in assuming flashing the new firmware will set the voltages back to default?
No, it shouldn't affect the voltages or the name of the device.
Ah ok, also , how do you set the name?

To set device name use:
Code:
cgminer --hfa-name "name"
legendary
Activity: 2450
Merit: 1002
July 17, 2014, 10:58:36 AM
Am i right in assuming flashing the new firmware will set the voltages back to default?
No, it shouldn't affect the voltages or the name of the device.
Ah ok, also , how do you set the name?
legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1004
July 16, 2014, 11:10:20 AM
Am i right in assuming flashing the new firmware will set the voltages back to default?
No, it shouldn't affect the voltages or the name of the device.
legendary
Activity: 2450
Merit: 1002
July 16, 2014, 10:00:25 AM
Am i right in assuming flashing the new firmware will set the voltages back to default?
member
Activity: 117
Merit: 10
July 16, 2014, 09:55:39 AM
legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1004
July 16, 2014, 09:40:09 AM
hero member
Activity: 539
Merit: 500
July 16, 2014, 09:19:21 AM
So I got the new firmware installed, but I don't see any other temps in the app. How do I see what the VRM temps are?

If you don't want to wait for the pepper app, the vrm temps show in cgminer's miner.php.
member
Activity: 117
Merit: 10
July 16, 2014, 09:14:42 AM
I have Ubuntu running fine in a VM and the HF-tool works as desired, but I am having problems updating firmware.

When I run the update command, it finds the device, retrieves the serial OK, but eventually give me an error.

Any thoughts?

Code:
xxx@MINER:~/hf-tool/firmware-20140713-0$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 028: ID 297c:8001 
Bus 001 Device 012: ID 80ee:0021 VirtualBox USB Tablet
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
rkotsybar@MINER:~/hf-tool/firmware-20140713-0$ ./field_firmware_update.py
('confirm is ', False)
('FIRMWARE_DIR is ', '.')
UC_HFU_FILE at './uc3.cropped.hfu'.
READSERIAL found at 'i686/readserial'.
HFUPDATE found at 'i686/hfupdate'.
ENTERLOADER found at 'i686/enterloader'.

HashFast Firmware Updater

Please connect HashFast device to update.
Enumerating modules...
Found 1 modules.
Loading Firmware...
Updating module 0...
hfupdate v0.1
module chain config 1 master 1 slaves 0
module 0 version 0x80000003 crc 0x23ed99de
module 0 serial number: 25 1f de 78 74 34 9c 34 15 35 09 43 17 87 6c b7
done
hfupdate v0.1
module chain config 1 master 1 slaves 0
module 0 version 0x80000003 crc 0x23ed99de
module 0 serial number: 25 1f de 78 74 34 9c 34 15 35 09 43 17 87 6c b7
done
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./field_firmware_update.py", line 184, in
    firmware_updater()
  File "./field_firmware_update.py", line 160, in firmware_updater
    wait_for_device([(USBID_HF_VID, USBID_HF_PID)], 10)
  File "./field_firmware_update.py", line 114, in wait_for_device
    raise Exception("Error: timeout.  Failed to find device.")
Exception: Error: timeout.  Failed to find device.
Error: timeout.  Failed to find device.
Firmware Update had an error.  Please retry or report to HashFast Support.
xxx@MINER:~/hf-tool/firmware-20140713-0$
legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1004
July 15, 2014, 04:50:13 PM
So I got the new firmware installed, but I don't see any other temps in the app. How do I see what the VRM temps are?
The app hasn't been updated yet. It's in the API and debug data though.
hero member
Activity: 857
Merit: 1000
Anger is a gift.
July 15, 2014, 04:44:51 PM
So I got the new firmware installed, but I don't see any other temps in the app. How do I see what the VRM temps are?
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
July 15, 2014, 02:14:09 PM
After running fine with zero issues forever, I'm now getting a ZOMBIE status in cgminer with the following error displayed in the console:

ERR: Asked to memcpy 0 bytes from usbutils.c _usb_read(): 3075
HFA: OP_USB_INIT failed! Operation status 20 (Regulator programming error)

I've tried cycling power, restarting, doesnt seem to help.

Any ideas?  Huh

Any time I've seen that error it was a loose or disco'd power connector or the PSU wasn't turned on.  Have you tried a different supply?

I did, tried another supply that is guaranteed working, and got the same error.
Did you unplug the USB cable when you changed power supplies?

I don't think so, I powered down PSU 1, swapped PCI connectors to PSU 2, and powered up PSU 2. At what point should I unplug USB and plug it back in?
While the 12V power is off. Because the board can be powered over USB (at least the microcontroller), it never really fully power cycles if you just remove the 12V.

I've completely powered down the board (both 12V and USB unplugged). Then I plugged in USB first, then 12V. I still the the same repeating reset cycle with that error.
legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1004
July 15, 2014, 02:04:39 PM

Mr. Teal,

Is there any chance this updated firmware and firmware update process would work with a HF BabyJet board?

H@shKraker
The firmware update process should be the same, but the firmware itself is different. I'm not sure it would explicitly break a Babyjet board, but I wouldn't try it.
sr. member
Activity: 403
Merit: 250
July 15, 2014, 01:41:29 PM

Mr. Teal,

Is there any chance this updated firmware and firmware update process would work with a HF BabyJet board?

H@shKraker
legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1004
July 15, 2014, 12:31:59 PM
After running fine with zero issues forever, I'm now getting a ZOMBIE status in cgminer with the following error displayed in the console:

ERR: Asked to memcpy 0 bytes from usbutils.c _usb_read(): 3075
HFA: OP_USB_INIT failed! Operation status 20 (Regulator programming error)

I've tried cycling power, restarting, doesnt seem to help.

Any ideas?  Huh

Any time I've seen that error it was a loose or disco'd power connector or the PSU wasn't turned on.  Have you tried a different supply?

I did, tried another supply that is guaranteed working, and got the same error.
Did you unplug the USB cable when you changed power supplies?

I don't think so, I powered down PSU 1, swapped PCI connectors to PSU 2, and powered up PSU 2. At what point should I unplug USB and plug it back in?
While the 12V power is off. Because the board can be powered over USB (at least the microcontroller), it never really fully power cycles if you just remove the 12V.
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
July 15, 2014, 12:29:17 PM
After running fine with zero issues forever, I'm now getting a ZOMBIE status in cgminer with the following error displayed in the console:

ERR: Asked to memcpy 0 bytes from usbutils.c _usb_read(): 3075
HFA: OP_USB_INIT failed! Operation status 20 (Regulator programming error)

I've tried cycling power, restarting, doesnt seem to help.

Any ideas?  Huh

Any time I've seen that error it was a loose or disco'd power connector or the PSU wasn't turned on.  Have you tried a different supply?

I did, tried another supply that is guaranteed working, and got the same error.
Did you unplug the USB cable when you changed power supplies?

I don't think so, I powered down PSU 1, swapped PCI connectors to PSU 2, and powered up PSU 2. At what point should I unplug USB and plug it back in?
legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1004
July 15, 2014, 12:27:25 PM
After running fine with zero issues forever, I'm now getting a ZOMBIE status in cgminer with the following error displayed in the console:

ERR: Asked to memcpy 0 bytes from usbutils.c _usb_read(): 3075
HFA: OP_USB_INIT failed! Operation status 20 (Regulator programming error)

I've tried cycling power, restarting, doesnt seem to help.

Any ideas?  Huh

Any time I've seen that error it was a loose or disco'd power connector or the PSU wasn't turned on.  Have you tried a different supply?

I did, tried another supply that is guaranteed working, and got the same error.
Did you unplug the USB cable when you changed power supplies?
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
July 15, 2014, 11:37:37 AM
After running fine with zero issues forever, I'm now getting a ZOMBIE status in cgminer with the following error displayed in the console:

ERR: Asked to memcpy 0 bytes from usbutils.c _usb_read(): 3075
HFA: OP_USB_INIT failed! Operation status 20 (Regulator programming error)

I've tried cycling power, restarting, doesnt seem to help.

Any ideas?  Huh

Any time I've seen that error it was a loose or disco'd power connector or the PSU wasn't turned on.  Have you tried a different supply?

I did, tried another supply that is guaranteed working, and got the same error.
hero member
Activity: 539
Merit: 500
July 15, 2014, 07:27:25 AM

MrTeal, any semblance of a changelog?  Upped both of my boards and they still run beautifully but am curious what's changed other than the fan fix and vrm temp?
Pages:
Jump to: