Pages:
Author

Topic: The Origin of Cellular Life on Earth - page 2. (Read 1750 times)

legendary
Activity: 3066
Merit: 1147
The revolution will be monetized!
December 02, 2014, 01:11:36 PM
Of course, without a time viewer or time machine, nobody can tell for sure if it happened this way. ...

Oh man. If someone invented a "time viewer" I would give all my bitcoins and half my testicles for one!
legendary
Activity: 3906
Merit: 1373
December 02, 2014, 01:04:51 PM
I am a biologist, but it doesn't help. Where life comes from is one of those central issues in science that still does not have an answer. I am at work and could not watch the videos. However, it sounds like the "primordial soup" idea. That is where a mix of complex molecules start a chain reaction that leads to a replication of the original state.

That is what I learned in school, but I am no longer sure about.  I say this because, although we have been able to make organic molecules by simulating the early Earth since the 1930s, we have failed to create life. Something else is going on also. I have no clue what it is, but my guess is that it involves physics that we don't understand yet.

As far as we can tell, life on Earth is part of a single occurrence. Since then life has branched and evolved into countless varieties of the same phenomena. The differences between me and a tree are really trivial. We are just different expressions of the same molecule.

Mind blown.  Smiley

I have watched the full first video now. And it seems, as I said in my first post above, that there is enough of an understanding of the primordial soup idea (although I didn't use the term "primordial soup" that is what it is about), that scientists are attempting to finally put together a plausible method that the whole process could have come about.