Pages:
Author

Topic: This forum was down for me for sometime (Read 1345 times)

donator
Activity: 1419
Merit: 1015
December 29, 2014, 05:09:54 PM
#23
Thats obvious, I was wondering if there is something else.

There is, it's a bit long, but you can verify the certificate matches based on what theymos posts as the RSA modulus and exponent (65537). If you use Chrome, right click on the lock icon and go "Connection" to "Certificate Information", from there, click Details, Copy To File, Next, Base-64 encoded, Next, then save the file under somename.cer. Open somename.cer with a text editor, copy the text, then go to a site that will pull out the modulus from a certificate like this one:
https://certlogik.com/decoder/

Paste the text, click Decode, and then scroll down to the Modulus and Exponent. In this case you should see:
Code:
                Modulus:
                    00:c8:9d:5f:0e:95:79:ad:b9:9f:6e:b5:16:c9:bd:
                    12:0e:98:2f:23:08:00:73:3f:71:b2:ce:fb:93:8e:
                    5f:2a:12:7d:35:c6:91:f3:f6:ec:3e:ab:bd:06:08:
                    5b:12:c1:6e:96:71:33:20:ba:93:1a:a2:c3:15:56:
                    6d:de:9b:3f:6f:f4:06:0a:92:06:96:b7:f8:7f:65:
                    f5:c8:0e:ab:a2:8b:a6:33:11:82:8e:eb:ba:a0:67:
                    48:93:d1:f0:2b:45:68:5f:07:fd:6f:1f:3f:3e:11:
                    58:e7:e3:c9:91:24:8f:aa:f9:c9:b2:84:1d:13:67:
                    94:63:d4:ef:d0:e3:4d:48:4f:f8:47:a7:ec:95:72:
                    5a:03:f6:94:4f:d5:f7:76:92:ed:55:71:a8:12:14:
                    e7:be:5e:bf:33:9a:b2:ea:10:d9:54:93:42:25:60:
                    0c:86:d5:a3:f6:5e:d5:ee:0d:c9:94:23:f2:d6:cb:
                    24:ee:e0:6c:50:37:2a:9d:6e:41:19:3b:9f:c0:d7:
                    16:bd:ac:1e:a8:59:d1:0a:23:e4:e8:61:1f:7e:cd:
                    da:d5:91:74:65:f1:e0:d8:96:d8:28:2c:0f:5e:94:
                    67:f9:18:b6:d0:4f:2e:39:a4:67:13:51:aa:4b:21:
                    04:8b:a8:45:91:e0:8c:25:8d:b3:fd:10:d9:61:10:
                    9d:1f
                Exponent: 65537 (0x10001)

That should match the text of this theymos post or whichever future ones he provides.

The vast majority of people will never experience a Man-In-The-Middle attack to a website like bitcointalk.org, however there has been at least one occasion where someone attempted to compromise communication with the forum and changed a certificate (more specifically, the IP the name servers were pointing to, with a valid-looking certificate).

This way you shouldn't be able to access the forums if the IP changes, but this is really not necessary. If something bad happens, theymos will post it and you'll be able to see what you can do to protect yourself.

While this may work for now, he would need to remember to remove it if theymos switched hosts or changed IP addresses. The website may not always be hosted at the 109.201.133.195 IP. It may change to round-robin DNS or a new IP once the new forums are built or for any other reason. We may not always get a heads-up notification that the IP has changed, so it's never a good idea to hard code IPs unless you're doing it for development reasons, IMHO.
hero member
Activity: 812
Merit: 587
Space Lord
December 29, 2014, 07:19:33 AM
#22
Thats obvious, I was wondering if there is something else.

Btw, that message can also come if the clock is reset. Happened to me once and all the certificates became invalid.

Well that's on your side. Your responsibility.

Other thing you could do is add this change to your hosts file:
Code:
bitcointalk.org 109.201.133.195

This way you shouldn't be able to access the forums if the IP changes, but this is really not necessary. If something bad happens, theymos will post it and you'll be able to see what you can do to protect yourself.
hero member
Activity: 639
Merit: 500
December 29, 2014, 07:07:23 AM
#21
Thats obvious, I was wondering if there is something else.

Btw, that message can also come if the clock is reset. Happened to me once and all the certificates became invalid.
hero member
Activity: 812
Merit: 587
Space Lord
December 29, 2014, 06:59:55 AM
#20
It was apparently a short DoS attack. This kind of thing happens from time to time. It's nothing to worry about.

What you should worry about is if the HTTPS public key or IP address changes. I'll always post a PGP-signed announcement for such changes.

For reference purposes, his last post on this is here.

What doe sit mean for normal users like me? All I have to do is to make sure that the site link is https://.... ?

If something like this happens:
hero member
Activity: 639
Merit: 500
December 29, 2014, 06:38:41 AM
#19
It was apparently a short DoS attack. This kind of thing happens from time to time. It's nothing to worry about.

What you should worry about is if the HTTPS public key or IP address changes. I'll always post a PGP-signed announcement for such changes.

For reference purposes, his last post on this is here.

What does it mean for normal users like me? All I have to do is to make sure that the site link is https://.... ?
donator
Activity: 1419
Merit: 1015
December 28, 2014, 01:23:45 PM
#18
It was apparently a short DoS attack. This kind of thing happens from time to time. It's nothing to worry about.

What you should worry about is if the HTTPS public key or IP address changes. I'll always post a PGP-signed announcement for such changes.

For reference purposes, his last post on this is here.
administrator
Activity: 5222
Merit: 13032
December 28, 2014, 12:54:05 PM
#17
It was apparently a short DoS attack. This kind of thing happens from time to time. It's nothing to worry about.

What you should worry about is if the HTTPS public key or IP address changes. I'll always post a PGP-signed announcement for such changes.
global moderator
Activity: 3990
Merit: 2717
Join the world-leading crypto sportsbook NOW!
December 28, 2014, 07:49:05 AM
#16
Seriously though there usually would be an announcement if the site was compromised.

Unlikely when the admins are away for the holidays.
hero member
Activity: 882
Merit: 1006
December 28, 2014, 07:15:25 AM
#15
The forum gets flooded with DDoS attempts from time to time and theymos doesn't want to use any DDoS mitigation that will aid an attacker in MiTM'ing the forum so it's somewhat difficult to prevent.
donator
Activity: 1617
Merit: 1012
December 28, 2014, 07:12:42 AM
#14
There was apparently a glitch in the DNS switchover to the NSA-hosted servers. The good thing is that with the better new hardware there should be less downtime in the future.

Seriously though there usually would be an announcement if the site was compromised.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
December 28, 2014, 06:52:56 AM
#13
It happens to me once in a while

Were you able to connect to other websites though?
global moderator
Activity: 3990
Merit: 2717
Join the world-leading crypto sportsbook NOW!
December 27, 2014, 10:13:19 AM
#12
Was in the bath so didn't notice anything, but it's probably nothing to worry about changing your password over. I remember when this forum used to go down for 10-30 minutes at a time quite often but this is the first time in a very long time it has apparently happened.
hero member
Activity: 560
Merit: 500
December 27, 2014, 10:11:43 AM
#11
I had also some issues nearly one hour ago. I hope it won't be down again.
newbie
Activity: 10
Merit: 0
December 27, 2014, 10:10:44 AM
#10
Is there anything there to be worried about? Or was it only my ISP?
Me too.
It happens to me about 20 minutes.

also my pc down
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
December 27, 2014, 09:59:59 AM
#9
The forum was down for me an hour ago. I was thought we might be getting the forum software upgrade! Apparently not.
hero member
Activity: 639
Merit: 500
December 27, 2014, 09:52:49 AM
#8
It was unavailable fot me too about half an hour ago... Nothing to be worried about.

The worry was whether the site itself was under some trouble or if any data was compromised. Thinking I should change my password, but don't want to do that either before I know its secure again.

Actual good practice would be changing your password each month at least Wink

I don't want to change before I receive any word. Anyone shouldn't be typing in any kind of password right now. I was logged in through cookie.
legendary
Activity: 1666
Merit: 1185
dogiecoin.com
December 27, 2014, 09:51:13 AM
#7
I've been having the same problems but for the last month or so. Donate page goes down, wiki stays up.
hero member
Activity: 812
Merit: 587
Space Lord
December 27, 2014, 09:50:05 AM
#6
It was unavailable fot me too about half an hour ago... Nothing to be worried about.

The worry was whether the site itself was under some trouble or if any data was compromised. Thinking I should change my password, but don't want to do that either before I know its secure again.

Actual good practice would be changing your password each month at least Wink
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
December 27, 2014, 09:47:53 AM
#5
Are you using any proxy ?
hero member
Activity: 639
Merit: 500
December 27, 2014, 09:46:54 AM
#4
It was unavailable fot me too about half an hour ago... Nothing to be worried about.

The worry was whether the site itself was under some trouble or if any data was compromised. Thinking I should change my password, but don't want to do that either before I know its secure again.
Pages:
Jump to: