Pages:
Author

Topic: Version 0.7.0 release candidate 1 ready for testing - page 3. (Read 9744 times)

legendary
Activity: 2058
Merit: 1431
Now I understand your problem, yes that small space is normal, as there is a hidden element that displays immature balance e.g. when you have mined and the amount is not yet ready for spending (has not matured). That is a new GUI feature ... try to mine some blocks on testnet to see it in action.

Dia
Ah I see. I think it would look better if there were no additional space when there's no maturing transactions. Rather, when there are maturing transactions, the extra line is added.
staff
Activity: 4172
Merit: 8419
Doesn't seem to work.
Bug in the release notes.  You want getrawtransaction 1
hero member
Activity: 675
Merit: 513
* Rework gettransaction, getblock calls. 'gettransaction' responds for non-wallet TXs now.
You mean like this?
Code:
gettransaction 97819a79a51510b1a9fed3c666464cf5316c47db7523d31348f374cba20b9b61

{"code":-5,"message":"Invalid or non-wallet transaction id"}
Doesn't seem to work.
legendary
Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001
let's celebrate!

Absolutely! That is a great release! Hope I'm not late to the party! :-)

Congratulations to the devs!

Ente
legendary
Activity: 3430
Merit: 3071
I'm still a little confused, I initially tried installing libdb4.8 & its development libraries, but the package I found didn't contain db_cxx.h, hence the build error. The equivalent package for 5.1 did include that particular header file, and I now have the Qt executable compiled and running.
You needed libdb4.8++-dev not just libdb4.8-dev.  Note that libdb4.8++-dev was removed in recent ubuntus/debians, so you may need to use the bitcoin ppa to get it (dont remember if its install-able or if its just for deps, but you can probably find the .deb on launchpad).  If you dont mind your wallet being incompatible with official binaries and having to build your own bitcoin to run your wallet, its probably easier to use libdb5.1.

You're right, I've tried to run an instance of the 0.6.3 client and it doesn't want to play any more. I'm giving myself an hour or two to fix this, or else I'm scrapping the VM!
hero member
Activity: 755
Merit: 515
I'm still a little confused, I initially tried installing libdb4.8 & its development libraries, but the package I found didn't contain db_cxx.h, hence the build error. The equivalent package for 5.1 did include that particular header file, and I now have the Qt executable compiled and running.
You needed libdb4.8++-dev not just libdb4.8-dev.  Note that libdb4.8++-dev was removed in recent ubuntus/debians, so you may need to use the bitcoin ppa to get it (dont remember if its install-able or if its just for deps, but you can probably find the .deb on launchpad).  If you dont mind your wallet being incompatible with official binaries and having to build your own bitcoin to run your wallet, its probably easier to use libdb5.1.
legendary
Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091
BIP 34 - block height in coinbase

Is there any web service to see the current ratio of v1 / v2?

Not AFAIK.  If you have access to a bitcoin node, the debug.log file will show

Code:
SetBestChain: some_number of last 100 blocks above version 1
legendary
Activity: 1652
Merit: 1015
Oh dear, problem.

Code:
An error occurred while setting up the RPC port 8332 for listening: Cannot assign requested address

Error appears when starting up bitcoin client in qt mode & daemon, then exits. Works fine in 0.6.3.

Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64 Desktop Version.


Ok, got it working now. My fault.
donator
Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006
Let's talk governance, lipstick, and pigs.
IIRC the multi-sig address begins with the integer of the number of input addresses. So this example would begin with a 2.
No, it doesn't. On mainnet it will begin with a 3. Clever notion, but the way address versions work that wouldn't really be possible.
Ah good. I am glad to be wrong about this one. I don't really want anyone to know the number of inputs just by looking at this output address.
staff
Activity: 4172
Merit: 8419
IIRC the multi-sig address begins with the integer of the number of input addresses. So this example would begin with a 2.
No, it doesn't. On mainnet it will begin with a 3. Clever notion, but the way address versions work that wouldn't really be possible.
donator
Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006
Let's talk governance, lipstick, and pigs.
Code:
addmultisigaddress 2 "[\"\", \"\"]"

Edit: and I looked at the error message when you use addmultisigaddress without any parameters, it does actually specify the above syntax.


The (presumed) multi-sig address generated by this operation begins with a "3" character. Is this correct?
IIRC the multi-sig address begins with the integer of the number of input addresses. So this example would begin with a 2.
newbie
Activity: 53
Merit: 0
BIP 34 - block height in coinbase

Is there any web service to see the current ratio of v1 / v2?
legendary
Activity: 3430
Merit: 3071
Liking the slightly revamped interface, and the RPC console will be a great way to give exposure to the optional possibilities for the command prompt shy. I'm getting this error with addmultisigaddress though, "Error: value is type int, expected array"

I tried putting the first term in the command in square brackets (to test that the error is referring to what is the only integer in the argument list) and it complains of the opposite problem ("Error: value is type array, expected int"). Am I misunderstanding this too?
It's referring to the public key list.
Code:
addmultisigaddress 2 '["02404c0b780b0d3f70a57bccb0cac31c77e980d899db00f04a61052cf6500bde23","02092eb733ce9027fcddb9917e841057c747318ff973de7a7768da9b3f039d6892"]'
(I don't recall if the outer single quotes are required in the GUI, after I get a copy build I'll check and edit this message)

Oh great, There appears to be a bug with the GUI and some kinds of JSON objects. I thought this was tested, but perhaps it was never tested with arrays. Looking into it.

Perhaps so, I've tested what seems like every sensible syntactical combination, and they all generate one error message or another

Take a look here https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/issues/1750 I figured out, how to use it on Windows with the GUI RPC console.
Code:
addmultisigaddress 2 \"[\\\"02404c0b780b0d3f70a57bccb0cac31c77e980d899db00f04a61052cf6500bde23\\\",\\\"02092eb733ce9027fcddb9917e841057c747318ff973de7a7768da9b3f039d6892\\\"]\"

That may look weird and we should take a look into how we can reduce the escaping needed here, but at least it works.

Dia

Ah, great initiative! I had no idea escape characters would work here (I am a noob). The following seems to work too...

Code:
addmultisigaddress 2 "[\"\", \"\"]"

Edit: and I looked at the error message when you use addmultisigaddress without any parameters, it does actually specify the above syntax.


The (presumed) multi-sig address generated by this operation begins with a "3" character. Is this correct?
hero member
Activity: 769
Merit: 500
Liking the slightly revamped interface, and the RPC console will be a great way to give exposure to the optional possibilities for the command prompt shy. I'm getting this error with addmultisigaddress though, "Error: value is type int, expected array"

I tried putting the first term in the command in square brackets (to test that the error is referring to what is the only integer in the argument list) and it complains of the opposite problem ("Error: value is type array, expected int"). Am I misunderstanding this too?
It's referring to the public key list.
Code:
addmultisigaddress 2 '["02404c0b780b0d3f70a57bccb0cac31c77e980d899db00f04a61052cf6500bde23","02092eb733ce9027fcddb9917e841057c747318ff973de7a7768da9b3f039d6892"]'
(I don't recall if the outer single quotes are required in the GUI, after I get a copy build I'll check and edit this message)

Oh great, There appears to be a bug with the GUI and some kinds of JSON objects. I thought this was tested, but perhaps it was never tested with arrays. Looking into it.

Perhaps so, I've tested what seems like every sensible syntactical combination, and they all generate one error message or another

Take a look here https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/issues/1750 I figured out, how to use it on Windows with the GUI RPC console.
Code:
addmultisigaddress 2 \"[\\\"02404c0b780b0d3f70a57bccb0cac31c77e980d899db00f04a61052cf6500bde23\\\",\\\"02092eb733ce9027fcddb9917e841057c747318ff973de7a7768da9b3f039d6892\\\"]\"

That may look weird and we should take a look into how we can reduce the escaping needed here, but at least it works.

Dia
legendary
Activity: 3430
Merit: 3071
Liking the slightly revamped interface, and the RPC console will be a great way to give exposure to the optional possibilities for the command prompt shy. I'm getting this error with addmultisigaddress though, "Error: value is type int, expected array"

I tried putting the first term in the command in square brackets (to test that the error is referring to what is the only integer in the argument list) and it complains of the opposite problem ("Error: value is type array, expected int"). Am I misunderstanding this too?
It's referring to the public key list.
Code:
addmultisigaddress 2 '["02404c0b780b0d3f70a57bccb0cac31c77e980d899db00f04a61052cf6500bde23","02092eb733ce9027fcddb9917e841057c747318ff973de7a7768da9b3f039d6892"]'
(I don't recall if the outer single quotes are required in the GUI, after I get a copy build I'll check and edit this message)

Oh great, There appears to be a bug with the GUI and some kinds of JSON objects. I thought this was tested, but perhaps it was never tested with arrays. Looking into it.

Perhaps so, I've tested what seems like every sensible syntactical combination, and they all generate one error message or another
hero member
Activity: 769
Merit: 500
Updated translation, maybe it will be included in rc2 ?

Translations will be updated during the whole RC phase Smiley.

Dia
hero member
Activity: 769
Merit: 500
loving the new debug window! just one thing, is there supposed be something here?


If you don't have any unconfirmed balance in your wallet the answer is NO.
Edit: Well it should read 0.00 BTC... more details please.

Dia
but the line spacing between "Unconfirmed" and "number of transactions" is bigger than normal.

Now I understand your problem, yes that small space is normal, as there is a hidden element that displays immature balance e.g. when you have mined and the amount is not yet ready for spending (has not matured). That is a new GUI feature ... try to mine some blocks on testnet to see it in action.

Dia
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
Does this version have coin control?
No, Coin Control was found to be poorly designed (how can you control specific outputs held by the same address?) and its maintainer disappeared. Parts of it (grouping logic) were merged into the new raw transaction RPC methods. At this point, getting Coin Control in probably means someone needs to step up to adapt it and clean it up to provide the same functionality as the raw transaction stuff.

Sad to say, looks like it was indeed abandoned: https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/1359
https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/415 was the original pullrequest; #1359 was just my keeping it rebased (ie, not maintaining it but just making it work with newer code)
staff
Activity: 4172
Merit: 8419
Liking the slightly revamped interface, and the RPC console will be a great way to give exposure to the optional possibilities for the command prompt shy. I'm getting this error with addmultisigaddress though, "Error: value is type int, expected array"

I tried putting the first term in the command in square brackets (to test that the error is referring to what is the only integer in the argument list) and it complains of the opposite problem ("Error: value is type array, expected int"). Am I misunderstanding this too?
It's referring to the public key list.
Code:
addmultisigaddress 2 '["02404c0b780b0d3f70a57bccb0cac31c77e980d899db00f04a61052cf6500bde23","02092eb733ce9027fcddb9917e841057c747318ff973de7a7768da9b3f039d6892"]'
(I don't recall if the outer single quotes are required in the GUI, after I get a copy build I'll check and edit this message)

Oh great, There appears to be a bug with the GUI and some kinds of JSON objects. I thought this was tested, but perhaps it was never tested with arrays. Looking into it.
legendary
Activity: 3430
Merit: 3071
And it seems that Berkeley DB version 5.1 development library is what's required (and not 4.8 as in the above document, but the other dependencies listed are useful to getting the job done)

Version 4.8 is the recommended and upwards compatible version.  Version 4.8 is what the official binaries are built with.

However, your operating system may ship a more recent version by default.  Or sometimes data downloaded from third party websites (not recommended!) is built with another version of BDB.

I'm still a little confused, I initially tried installing libdb4.8 & its development libraries, but the package I found didn't contain db_cxx.h, hence the build error. The equivalent package for 5.1 did include that particular header file, and I now have the Qt executable compiled and running.


Liking the slightly revamped interface, and the RPC console will be a great way to give exposure to the optional possibilities for the command prompt shy. I'm getting this error with addmultisigaddress though, "Error: value is type int, expected array"

I tried putting the first term in the command in square brackets (to test that the error is referring to what is the only integer in the argument list) and it complains of the opposite problem ("Error: value is type array, expected int"). Am I misunderstanding this too?
Pages:
Jump to: