Pages:
Author

Topic: [XPM] BFGMiner Branch.. on github - page 5. (Read 9028 times)

sr. member
Activity: 401
Merit: 250
July 11, 2013, 04:42:24 PM
#22
With my first compile, --algo wasn't a supported switch at runtime.

I recompiled with:
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure --enable-cpumining --enable-prime
make

I don't know if --enable-prime did anything or not, but it didn't hurt.

Now I can launch with --algo prime and it asks for pool address. I will see if I can point to my local primecoind RPC port.

./bfgminer --algo=prime -o localhost:8000 -u rpcuser -p rpcpass



8000? default port is 9912, did you change it?

Whatever the daemons is running Smiley

This got me past the crash on launch anyways. Not sure if I was missing the "=" after --algo or what.

Now I can see "new blocks" arriving, although they don't line up with when I see new blocks in QT debug terminal. Difficulty is being reported as 0, could be an unimplemented piece of the code or could be an actual problem.



Doubtful that it's actually functional. Smiley
legendary
Activity: 1358
Merit: 1000
July 11, 2013, 04:39:37 PM
#21
I did not publish this for people to use, but rather for developers to play with.
It is not production-quality code, and without understanding the code you probably will not be able to get it working.

Since it is also only used by a probable-scamcoin at this point, I'd also like to express my preference that others not encourage/help non-developers use it for now, outside of improving the code/documentation in git.
(However, to be clear, I will also not hold any grudge or hard feelings against those who do.)

If any developers wish to work with or improve the code, perhaps even clean it up sufficient for merging into mainline BFGMiner, that is another matter entirely: I am more than willing to help/collaborate on this (but do expect me to ignore you if your questions suggest to me that you don't know the first thing about development!).


Why do you think Primecoin is a scamcoin?
hero member
Activity: 506
Merit: 500
July 11, 2013, 04:38:18 PM
#20
What's the difference between primecoind mining and this miner in terms of perfomance?.
full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
July 11, 2013, 04:32:25 PM
#19
With my first compile, --algo wasn't a supported switch at runtime.

I recompiled with:
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure --enable-cpumining --enable-prime
make

I don't know if --enable-prime did anything or not, but it didn't hurt.

Now I can launch with --algo prime and it asks for pool address. I will see if I can point to my local primecoind RPC port.

./bfgminer --algo=prime -o localhost:8000 -u rpcuser -p rpcpass


Don't you also need to specify a --coinbase-addr or does primecoind look after passing it to your address?
hero member
Activity: 602
Merit: 500
July 11, 2013, 04:28:10 PM
#18
With my first compile, --algo wasn't a supported switch at runtime.

I recompiled with:
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure --enable-cpumining --enable-prime
make

I don't know if --enable-prime did anything or not, but it didn't hurt.

Now I can launch with --algo prime and it asks for pool address. I will see if I can point to my local primecoind RPC port.

./bfgminer --algo=prime -o localhost:8000 -u rpcuser -p rpcpass



8000? default port is 9912, did you change it?

Whatever the daemons is running Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 401
Merit: 250
July 11, 2013, 04:27:49 PM
#17
With my first compile, --algo wasn't a supported switch at runtime.

I recompiled with:
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure --enable-cpumining --enable-prime
make

I don't know if --enable-prime did anything or not, but it didn't hurt.

Now I can launch with --algo prime and it asks for pool address. I will see if I can point to my local primecoind RPC port.

./bfgminer --algo=prime -o localhost:8000 -u rpcuser -p rpcpass



8000? default port is 9912, did you change it?
hero member
Activity: 602
Merit: 500
July 11, 2013, 04:21:37 PM
#16
With my first compile, --algo wasn't a supported switch at runtime.

I recompiled with:
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure --enable-cpumining --enable-prime
make

I don't know if --enable-prime did anything or not, but it didn't hurt.

Now I can launch with --algo prime and it asks for pool address. I will see if I can point to my local primecoind RPC port.

./bfgminer --algo=prime -o localhost:8000 -u rpcuser -p rpcpass

sr. member
Activity: 401
Merit: 250
July 11, 2013, 04:02:05 PM
#15
Sadly, I'm able to point to my primecoin rpc port, but then bfgminer crashes.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
July 11, 2013, 03:45:29 PM
#14
I did not publish this for people to use, but rather for developers to play with.
It is not production-quality code, and without understanding the code you probably will not be able to get it working.

Since it is also only used by a probable-scamcoin at this point, I'd also like to express my preference that others not encourage/help non-developers use it for now, outside of improving the code/documentation in git.
(However, to be clear, I will also not hold any grudge or hard feelings against those who do.)

If any developers wish to work with or improve the code, perhaps even clean it up sufficient for merging into mainline BFGMiner, that is another matter entirely: I am more than willing to help/collaborate on this (but do expect me to ignore you if your questions suggest to me that you don't know the first thing about development!).
sr. member
Activity: 401
Merit: 250
July 11, 2013, 03:45:15 PM
#13
With my first compile, --algo wasn't a supported switch at runtime.

I recompiled with:
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure --enable-cpumining --enable-prime
make

I don't know if --enable-prime did anything or not, but it didn't hurt.

Now I can launch with --algo prime and it asks for pool address. I will see if I can point to my local primecoind RPC port.
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
July 11, 2013, 03:38:18 PM
#12
--algo prime or -a prime apparently
sr. member
Activity: 401
Merit: 250
July 11, 2013, 03:33:41 PM
#11
Any special options this needs to be configured with and/or run with?

For ./configure, I'm assuming we'll need --enable-cpumining

Any switches for launching in prime mode instead of sha?
member
Activity: 70
Merit: 10
July 11, 2013, 03:18:54 PM
#10
Have you tried to make a windose client?

I'm trying on windows, running in to missing gmp library at the moment.

Edit your OpenSSL makefile & remove the no-gmp option

edit: nm you've got it from mingw now Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 401
Merit: 250
July 11, 2013, 03:11:41 PM
#9
Have you tried to make a windose client?

I'm trying on windows, running in to missing gmp library at the moment.

OK, the windows install instructions are pretty good. I was able to get a compiled .exe (haven't tested it yet) with two small updates.

Need to do "mingw-get install mingw32-gmp" before you build bfgminer. (this is new for XPM)

Need to add "mingw-get install mingw32-libtool" if you are doing the "Optional - Install libusb" (this is from before XPM fork, and not something we really care about for XPM)
member
Activity: 70
Merit: 10
July 11, 2013, 03:01:33 PM
#8
Trying with ./bfgminer -algo prime
full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
July 11, 2013, 02:33:11 PM
#7
https://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer/tree/prime

WIP, but deff would like any patches or updates! cheers!

Building on Linux now.

Can you give some example arguments to pass to ./bfgminer to be suitable for mining XPM?

Have you tried to make a windose client?
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
July 11, 2013, 02:27:13 PM
#6
XPM (should be PRC imo, less confusion with XRP)
hero member
Activity: 552
Merit: 500
newbie
Activity: 48
Merit: 0
July 11, 2013, 02:01:02 PM
#4
XMP?
hero member
Activity: 552
Merit: 500
July 11, 2013, 01:41:30 PM
#3
well its a start luke started on it last night and is pulling in some decent pps, join us on irc freenode #eligius if you want to help, add patches etc.. but yea first
Pages:
Jump to: