Pages:
Author

Topic: ... - page 9. (Read 214761 times)

Activity: 596
Merit: 251
August 21, 2015, 08:56:06 PM
Version 0.3.2 Beta Release has been released. Cool

https://talk.vanillacoin.net/topic/199/version-0-3-2-beta-release

Thank you for your support.
Activity: 69
Merit: 100
Cryptocurrencies since 2013 @cryptoPrecise
August 17, 2015, 10:48:30 AM
A major milestone in FinTech is now reached. Congratulations to Vanillacoin and all Vanillians.
Activity: 34
Merit: 0
August 19, 2015, 06:57:09 PM
Hello,

I already downloaded the file from the Vanillacoin site, but i'm clueless on how to build (!?) sgminer.

Sorry, total Linux noob here. Help would be appreciated.

Thank you!
Activity: 725
Merit: 503
August 18, 2015, 05:48:11 PM
Hey, can you run the FPGA stuff on zTex x1.15?

Edit: Apparently you need a different bitstream.
Activity: 295
Merit: 250
August 17, 2015, 10:16:01 AM
 Grin Grin Grin dat ver 0.3.2 gooooood. Thanks.  Grin Grin Grin
legendary
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
August 14, 2015, 07:09:30 PM
Will fpga be the final advancement in vanilla mining?

If it succeeds, ASIC is the end game.

ASICs are not planned though.  VNL marketcap would have to be in the hundreds of millions in less than 2 years for a third party to manufacture ASICs for VNL.

FPGAs are just working prototypes of future ASIC chip miners. Anything could happen and the marketcap won't dictate the development, adoption will.

No offense, but I don't believe that you know what you're talking about.  Producing many ASICs cheaply would require a very large investment.  Also, this coin isn't really secured by mining.  It's secured by POS.  Mining is for distribution.

Now, if we reached a $50 million market cap in 6 months and the price is stable with known names entering, that might be good enough.  The third party would probably need preorders though as most companies don't spend millions of dollars and hope they got it right when demand is unknown.