Author

Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool - page 234. (Read 2591928 times)

sr. member
Activity: 248
Merit: 250
Are we there yet?
Running p2pool few days with pypy. Today I tried $ find -iwholename "*.pyc" -delete and rerun with pypy -O -E. Local rate: 8.49TH/s (1.3% DOA) (3*SP20,4*S3,1*S4). GBLatency 0.275s (running 0.9.4.0, qt version, ubuntu distro). RAM usage 2.19GB (there is 16GB total, I do not care). Subjectively it is better. Objectively we would need more miners using p2pool and to find some block! Smiley


hmm... Think I'll try that later. Can't do that now as there are others mining in my node. And yes.. what we really need it to get more ppl using p2pool to find blocks! Just wondering what it will take to make ppl understand they have to be patience and leave the miner running on the node for at least a week or 2 to see the results. I keep having ppl come in.. mine an hour and leave.. You're just wasting electricity doing that. Maybe have to add a link to the p2pool site maintained by coincadence. Or all of us running public node should add some info.

Lucky guy too. Within few seconds with 400gh, he got a share Smiley Well done.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
....(memory usage went up too from 500MB+ to 1500MB+)...

Seriously!? 3 x more memory?

When I played with pypy, I got similar results. I concluded the initial efficiency was simply the number of peers going down.

The system python libraries appeared to be c-optimized though. If the libraries are not compiled, you may see more improvement.

Just tried pypy.. and wow.. the RAM usage is ... just wow. But it really does load faster. Start up p2pool on python and on pypy and you can really see the increase in speed in loading p2pool. Less DOA too and registered hashrate is faster, but even with matt's relay, the getblock latency increased (tested for around 16+ hours). Can we just rm all the .pyc files and will pypy be able run p2pool? Or is there something else we have to do?

Running p2pool few days with pypy. Today I tried $ find -iwholename "*.pyc" -delete and rerun with pypy -O -E. Local rate: 8.49TH/s (1.3% DOA) (3*SP20,4*S3,1*S4). GBLatency 0.275s (running 0.9.4.0, qt version, ubuntu distro). RAM usage 2.19GB (there is 16GB total, I do not care). Subjectively it is better. Objectively we would need more miners using p2pool and to find some block! Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 248
Merit: 250
Are we there yet?
....(memory usage went up too from 500MB+ to 1500MB+)...

Seriously!? 3 x more memory?

When I played with pypy, I got similar results. I concluded the initial efficiency was simply the number of peers going down.

The system python libraries appeared to be c-optimized though. If the libraries are not compiled, you may see more improvement.

Just tried pypy.. and wow.. the RAM usage is ... just wow. But it really does load faster. Start up p2pool on python and on pypy and you can really see the increase in speed in loading p2pool. Less DOA too and registered hashrate is faster, but even with matt's relay, the getblock latency increased (tested for around 16+ hours). Can we just rm all the .pyc files and will pypy be able run p2pool? Or is there something else we have to do?
legendary
Activity: 1008
Merit: 1001
Let the chips fall where they may.
....(memory usage went up too from 500MB+ to 1500MB+)...

Seriously!? 3 x more memory?

When I played with pypy, I got similar results. I concluded the initial efficiency was simply the number of peers going down.

The system python libraries appeared to be c-optimized though. If the libraries are not compiled, you may see more improvement.
legendary
Activity: 1258
Merit: 1027
Hey folks,

This is a little off topic, but I feel some of you may benefit from it, and I'm super excited about it! Smiley

Today CoinCadence announces our new partnership with SatoshiLabs, as the authorized Amazon reseller for TREZOR.

This has been in the works for some time, but wanted to have everything ready to go before announcing it... (can't stand pre-orders Wink)

For more info:

http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/2sjk1j/trezor_the_bitcoin_safe_now_available_on_amazoncom/

and

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-trezor-the-bitcoin-safe-now-available-on-amazoncom-926127

sr. member
Activity: 248
Merit: 250
Are we there yet?
Need a little help.

How do you show blocks found that is more than a day ago? I've been looking at the code but I can't seem to find it or rather, changes I make doesn't seem to make it happen. So, as you can tell, I'm not a programmer and am only good at changing letters here and there.

Reason being, it looks really really really bad when recent blocks is blank.......

Thanks much.

http://minefast.coincadence.com/p2pool-stats.php

Coincadence gives pool stats and all blocks ever mined from p2pool.  It is very useful.  However, if you are asking how to modify your p2pool server website to show more than just one day of blocks than that code is in p2pool/web.py.  Find the area of code which is "web_root.putChild('recent_blocks', ..." and in there it defines the time period.  Several lines down it should say something like "24*60*60" which represents 24 hours, 60 minutes, and 60 seconds.  If you would like to show more than one day of data just multiply this number larger by the number of days you would to display.


That's what I was looking for. Thank you very much!
member
Activity: 97
Merit: 10

2014-12-01 08:58:52.270247 > p2pool.util.p2protocol.TooLong: payload too long

Whatsup?


It became orphan because payload too long? Too many users on pool or too many transactions in a block or what?


I received the same error as well at around the same time.  I will post it on github if anyone hasn't already.

I posted the issue here https://github.com/forrestv/p2pool/issues/238 so others can update as well.

Did this happen to anyone else?


Well I experience more or less the same issues. P2Pool or Bitcoind does not crash, except the static site of P2Pool (http://localhost:9332/static/) is frozen during this error and mining becomes impossible. Sometimes it takes up to 60 seconds and sometimes several minutes; the error keeps showing up until that block has been solved. The "freeze" on the static website and the interruption of mining is temporarily and only happens during the error "payload is too long". Please check the log below:


Code:
2015-01-15 14:50:04.013590 > Error submitting primary block: (will retry)
2015-01-15 14:50:04.013683 > Traceback (most recent call last):
2015-01-15 14:50:04.013742 >   File "/home/bitcoind/p2pool/p2pool/work.py", line 381, in got_response
2015-01-15 14:50:04.013785 >     helper.submit_block(dict(header=header, txs=[new_gentx] + other_transactions), False, self.node.factory, self.node.bitcoind, self.node.bitcoind_work, self.node.net)
2015-01-15 14:50:04.013817 >   File "/home/bitcoind/p2pool/p2pool/bitcoin/helper.py", line 86, in submit_block
2015-01-15 14:50:04.013858 >     submit_block_p2p(block, factory, net)
2015-01-15 14:50:04.013900 >   File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/twisted/internet/defer.py", line 1181, in unwindGenerator
2015-01-15 14:50:04.013932 >     return _inlineCallbacks(None, gen, Deferred())
2015-01-15 14:50:04.013977 >   File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/twisted/internet/defer.py", line 1039, in _inlineCallbacks
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014007 >     result = g.send(result)
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014037 > --- ---
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014067 >   File "/home/bitcoind/p2pool/p2pool/util/deferral.py", line 41, in f
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014097 >     result = yield func(*args, **kwargs)
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014127 >   File "/home/bitcoind/p2pool/p2pool/bitcoin/helper.py", line 67, in submit_block_p2p
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014157 >     factory.conn.value.send_block(block=block)
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014191 >   File "/home/bitcoind/p2pool/p2pool/util/p2protocol.py", line 102, in
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014222 >     return lambda **payload2: self.sendPacket(command, payload2)
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014257 >   File "/home/bitcoind/p2pool/p2pool/util/p2protocol.py", line 93, in sendPacket
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014289 >     raise TooLong('payload too long')
2015-01-15 14:50:04.014318 > p2pool.util.p2protocol.TooLong: payload too long

This error in the log file showed up during block #339060 ( https://blockchain.info/block-height/339060 ) which took ~22 minutes to solve and contained +2200 transactions.
Note: Timezone is GMT+1

What is wrong here? Why the error "payload too long" occurs? I'm having this issue for 1-2 weeks now and noticed that the error occurs when blocks have a larger time interval than average (+10 mins and +2000 transactions).


Does anyone has any idea how to fix this issue?
hero member
Activity: 798
Merit: 1000
So with the latest fix in github for p2pool for the random address enhancement (which I don't use since I point my node to a separate wallet from my node's bitcoin core), and with my curiosity getting the better of me for the latest Bitcoin Core's 0.10.0rc3 released a few days ago... I restarted my node with the latest pulls from both.

I'm definitely liking the new Peers tab in Bitcoin Core (running with nowallet settings). 
At a glance realtime view of the current connected peers to BT core and associated ping times.
I know I can get similar from the console commands, but this is nicer imho.



So far so good... hopefully there aren't any gotchas.
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
I presume he means don't set it at the miner? I never set it with p2pool as I find p2pool manages it all very nicely  Wink

Exactly. Sorry, I've been AFK trying to coax a dead S5 into life again....... Tongue

Any luck?

It lives!!  Grin
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 500
WANTED: Active dev to fix & re-write p2pool in C
I presume he means don't set it at the miner? I never set it with p2pool as I find p2pool manages it all very nicely  Wink

Exactly. Sorry, I've been AFK trying to coax a dead S5 into life again....... Tongue

Any luck?
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
I presume he means don't set it at the miner? I never set it with p2pool as I find p2pool manages it all very nicely  Wink

Exactly. Sorry, I've been AFK trying to coax a dead S5 into life again....... Tongue
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 500
WANTED: Active dev to fix & re-write p2pool in C
I presume he means don't set it at the miner? I never set it with p2pool as I find p2pool manages it all very nicely  Wink
legendary
Activity: 1500
Merit: 1002
Mine Mine Mine
It will take a while to download the p2pool sharechain, so expect some errors. Just let it do it's thing for a while. I have never used an S4, but suggest you reduce the queue setting to 1 or 0, and let p2pool decide the diff level, ie: don't set it.

which difficulty u talking abt patman ? current share diff or miner diff ?

miner diff maxxed out to 999.984741
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
It will take a while to download the p2pool sharechain, so expect some errors. Just let it do it's thing for a while. I have never used an S4, but suggest you reduce the queue setting to 1 or 0, and let p2pool decide the diff level, ie: don't set it.
full member
Activity: 193
Merit: 100

Yes, that's correct. P2pool creates a new address when it connects to bitcoind for the first time & names the account "p2pool" & mines to that address.

Glad you got it sorted, welcome to p2pool!  Smiley

sir,,can you check please, is this correct?


for first time,my hashrate jump over 4 TH, and i rebooted my speed normally, but why too many rejected?


my setting diff = 2048 ,i'm using antminer s4
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
thank you very much that working now, but i have one question sir, why in my bitcoind now show two address?is that right?

Yes, that's correct. P2pool creates a new address when it connects to bitcoind for the first time & names the account "p2pool" & mines to that address.

Glad you got it sorted, welcome to p2pool!  Smiley
full member
Activity: 193
Merit: 100
OK, get rid of listen=0 for a start. Try this:

server=1
daemon=1
rpcuser= [YOUR_USERNAME]
rpcpassword= [YOUR_PASSWORD]
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
maxconnections=12

Also, don't use special characters in your password or user name & ensure your wallet is fully synced.

Edit: If it still won't connect, type:

bitcoind getinfo

& post the result  Wink

thank you very much that working now, but i have one question sir, why in my bitcoind now show two address?is that right?
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
OK, get rid of listen=0 for a start. Try this:

server=1
daemon=1
rpcuser= [YOUR_USERNAME]
rpcpassword= [YOUR_PASSWORD]
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
maxconnections=12

Also, don't use special characters in your password or user name & ensure your wallet is fully synced.

Edit: If it still won't connect, type:

bitcoind getinfo

& post the result  Wink
legendary
Activity: 1258
Merit: 1027

Is your bitcoind running? If it is, you have maxed out on your bitcoind connection limit - try restarting your bitcoind.......

yes,, i was restarting bitcoind and still problem like that sir..

Is your bitcoind running on the same machine as your p2pool client? Also, have you port forwarded it's ports?

Yes ..my bitcoind and p2pool client on same machine ..how to forwarding port sir...?

What OS are you using? Please post your bitcoin .conf file.

this my screenshot sir

i was reading the other site about p2pool setting , we must remove rpcport and rpcallowip on bitcoin.conf, but still no effect..

I'm not 100% on the allowed characters for the RPC password, but I would stick with plain text...
full member
Activity: 193
Merit: 100

Is your bitcoind running? If it is, you have maxed out on your bitcoind connection limit - try restarting your bitcoind.......

yes,, i was restarting bitcoind and still problem like that sir..

Is your bitcoind running on the same machine as your p2pool client? Also, have you port forwarded it's ports?

Yes ..my bitcoind and p2pool client on same machine ..how to forwarding port sir...?

What OS are you using? Please post your bitcoin .conf file.

this my screenshot sir

i was reading the other site about p2pool setting , we must remove rpcport and rpcallowip on bitcoin.conf, but still no effect..
Jump to: