Pages:
Author

Topic: 3 years ago...let's reminisce - page 4. (Read 12129 times)

legendary
Activity: 2198
Merit: 1311
June 08, 2014, 09:21:28 AM
Three years and 2 months ago my $99 HD 5830 GPUs were mining 3 BTC a day each. I was so cheap that I only bought 8 cards.

About 3 years ago I had been mining for a couple of months with a single 6990.  I OC'd the crap out of that thing to get it up around 900 MH/s.  We lived in a pretty small house at the time and just that one miner raised the temperature of our house by at least 10 degrees.  By July/August, with temps outside in the upper 90s to the low hundreds and with no central air, it was pretty miserable.  My wife definitely deserves a lot of credit for putting up with that through the summer.
donator
Activity: 1617
Merit: 1012
June 08, 2014, 09:12:03 AM
Three years and 2 months ago my $99 HD 5830 GPUs were mining 3 BTC a day each. I was so cheap that I only bought 8 cards.
legendary
Activity: 2338
Merit: 2106
June 08, 2014, 05:22:00 AM
Initially I thought that Bitcoin is pretty cool, you can check my posting history if you'd like. I even mined some.
Then I got to know how pathologically anti-social this community is, and sociopaths like Bruce Wagner get a free roam until they do their thing. I only started to really realize how stupid this community really is after pirateat40s ponzi scheme. (I posted "Smells like a typical HYIP scam." right after his OP, which I'm sure every idiot who gave him money had to see.)
Other realisations came to view, the amount of coins owned by satoshi, a design flaw concerning a missing incentive to relay transactions after the next few block reward reductions and the difficulty adjustment controller. Only a fraction on people using Bitcoin know these things and you don't find out unless you look.

I could go on but I have better things to do. (like laughing at the next clusterfuck)