Pages:
Author

Topic: 7970 Question :D - page 2. (Read 1975 times)

full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 100
April 23, 2013, 06:47:48 PM
#34
Do you use these?

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

legendary
Activity: 1140
Merit: 1000
The Real Jude Austin
April 23, 2013, 06:47:05 PM
#33
Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "",
"user" : "",
"pass" : ""
}
]
,
"intensity" : "13",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"gpu-engine" : "0-0",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "0",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "6",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"threads_per_gpu" : "1",
"sharethreads" : "32",
"hotplug" : "5",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "3",
"retry-pause" : "2",
"scan-time" : "60",
"scrypt" : true,
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

1200/1600 clocks - 615 Kh/s
I must have something messed up in here..

Bump up memory another 25.

Essentially keep going up with memory.

Litecoin is memory intensive.

You are mining Litecoins with memory clock.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
April 23, 2013, 06:45:17 PM
#32
Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "",
"user" : "",
"pass" : ""
}
]
,
"intensity" : "13",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"gpu-engine" : "0-0",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "0",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "6",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"threads_per_gpu" : "1",
"sharethreads" : "32",
"hotplug" : "5",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "3",
"retry-pause" : "2",
"scan-time" : "60",
"scrypt" : true,
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

1200/1600 clocks - 615 Kh/s
I must have something messed up in here..
legendary
Activity: 1140
Merit: 1000
The Real Jude Austin
April 23, 2013, 06:45:12 PM
#31
For future reference here is my config file for Bitcoin, these settings are not system dependent.

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333",
      "user" : "JudeAustin.7970",
      "pass" : "7970"
   }
]
,
"intensity" : "6",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "64",
"kernel" : "poclbm",
"lookup-gap" : "0",
"thread-concurrency" : "0",
"shaders" : "0",
"gpu-engine" : "0-1200",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "1050",
"gpu-memdiff" : "-150",
"gpu-powertune" : "20",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "75",
"temp-overheat" : "65",
"temp-target" : "60",
"api-port" : "4028",
"auto-fan" : true,
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "6",
"hotplug" : "5",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"balance" : true,
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

This yields ~720Mh/s.

previse, one thing to notice about Judes setup here is that he didn't set concurrency or shaders. The cgminer guys say that depending on the circumstances, the concurrency can change while mining so its best to leave it out.  Also, if you set shaders and concurrency at the same time the concurrency will cancel out the shaders command and make it pointless.  You can reference the cgminer git readme for that info as well.

This is my Bitcoin mining config.

So no shaders need to be set.

But you are correct about the concurrency, always just set shader count.

newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
April 23, 2013, 06:39:03 PM
#30
For future reference here is my config file for Bitcoin, these settings are not system dependent.

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333",
      "user" : "JudeAustin.7970",
      "pass" : "7970"
   }
]
,
"intensity" : "6",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "64",
"kernel" : "poclbm",
"lookup-gap" : "0",
"thread-concurrency" : "0",
"shaders" : "0",
"gpu-engine" : "0-1200",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "1050",
"gpu-memdiff" : "-150",
"gpu-powertune" : "20",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "75",
"temp-overheat" : "65",
"temp-target" : "60",
"api-port" : "4028",
"auto-fan" : true,
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "6",
"hotplug" : "5",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"balance" : true,
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

This yields ~720Mh/s.

previse, one thing to notice about Judes setup here is that he didn't set concurrency or shaders. The cgminer guys say that depending on the circumstances, the concurrency can change while mining so its best to leave it out.  Also, if you set shaders and concurrency at the same time the concurrency will cancel out the shaders command and make it pointless.  You can reference the cgminer git readme for that info as well.
legendary
Activity: 1140
Merit: 1000
The Real Jude Austin
April 23, 2013, 06:33:45 PM
#29
For future reference here is my config file for Bitcoin, these settings are not system dependent.

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333",
      "user" : "JudeAustin.7970",
      "pass" : "7970"
   }
]
,
"intensity" : "6",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "64",
"kernel" : "poclbm",
"lookup-gap" : "0",
"thread-concurrency" : "0",
"shaders" : "0",
"gpu-engine" : "0-1200",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "1050",
"gpu-memdiff" : "-150",
"gpu-powertune" : "20",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "75",
"temp-overheat" : "65",
"temp-target" : "60",
"api-port" : "4028",
"auto-fan" : true,
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "6",
"hotplug" : "5",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"balance" : true,
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

This yields ~720Mh/s.
legendary
Activity: 1140
Merit: 1000
The Real Jude Austin
April 23, 2013, 06:31:28 PM
#28
It takes a lot of tweaking.

We will get there, be patient.

And hardware is a big deal.

The results I seen may not be the same depending on system specs.

Unlike Bitcoin when mining Litecoins there is a lot more being used.

newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
April 23, 2013, 06:31:21 PM
#27
So basically that means I can achieve ~550/600 kh/s with the 7950s. Mining LTC/BTC or my current fav TRC.
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
April 23, 2013, 06:29:31 PM
#26
I'm gonna be switching to litecoins but i'd like to know what the best settings would be for me to mine the most?

Right now with
1100 Core
1500 Clock

I'm running 650 Kh/s

Quote
worksize 256
vectors 1
aggression 20
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 32
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 24000

That's my current litecoin.conf in reaper as well.

Any suggestions? Thanks!

Are you sure you're using the proper thread concurrency?  I have the 7950s and their max concurrency is 24000.  Although they run better closer to 16xxx.  You could also try changing the lookupgap to 1.  Also, when you mine litecoin(or any scrypt) and you're using cgminer you need to insert:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

Before the rest of your code.  For example, on my 7950s this is my LTC mining setup:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
title CG_MINER_420
color 02
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://us.wemineltc.com:80 -u USER -p PASS --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-fan 100 --intensity 18 --worksize 256 --gpu-engine 950,900,850 --gpu-memclock 1500,1500,1250 --thread-concurrency 16128
@pause
This is fairly optimized for my system after lots of trial and error.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
April 23, 2013, 06:28:59 PM
#25
With 1150/1575 clocks i'm steady at 602 Kh/s - My working config is --scrypt -- shaders 2048 --intensity 13 --worksize 128 -g 2

I still think it should be higher; no?

You can keep going.

Go to 1175/1600.

Eventually it will crash.

How are you pulling over 700 when for the life of me i cant get past 615. With 1175/1600 i get 615. after that i'm sort of SoL, 61% activity, 0 powertune now

legendary
Activity: 1140
Merit: 1000
The Real Jude Austin
April 23, 2013, 06:26:54 PM
#24
Shit, are you mining Litecoins or Bitcoins?

If Bitcoins then I have a config you can use.

Sorry.
legendary
Activity: 1140
Merit: 1000
The Real Jude Austin
April 23, 2013, 06:23:02 PM
#23
With 1150/1575 clocks i'm steady at 602 Kh/s - My working config is --scrypt -- shaders 2048 --intensity 13 --worksize 128 -g 2

I still think it should be higher; no?

You can keep going.

Go to 1175/1600.

Eventually it will crash.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
April 23, 2013, 06:12:56 PM
#22
With 1150/1575 clocks i'm steady at 602 Kh/s - My working config is --scrypt -- shaders 2048 --intensity 13 --worksize 128 -g 2

I still think it should be higher; no?
legendary
Activity: 1140
Merit: 1000
The Real Jude Austin
April 23, 2013, 06:08:59 PM
#21
You probably need to restart the machine you are on.

Also check to make sure you don't have a cgminer.conf file in your cgminer directory.

Did you set the proper shader count for your card?

Intensity 13
memory clock at 1500
Engine clock at 1100
Powertune 0%
ACtivitiy 61%

pushing 580kh/s

What's wrong here that im only using 61% and how can i make it push more?

Now you need to start overclocking with the ratio.

Press G > C > E and enter 1150

then

Press G > C > M and enter 1575

Let it sit for a few, if your hash rate is bouncing around, adjust engine speed in 1mhz increments until it goes steady again.

Then post results.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
April 23, 2013, 06:01:41 PM
#20
You probably need to restart the machine you are on.

Also check to make sure you don't have a cgminer.conf file in your cgminer directory.

Did you set the proper shader count for your card?

Intensity 13
memory clock at 1500
Engine clock at 1100
Powertune 0%
ACtivitiy 61%

pushing 580kh/s

What's wrong here that im only using 61% and how can i make it push more?
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
April 23, 2013, 05:57:08 PM
#19
I have a 2 x 7970 (Gigabyte) rig running right now on Ubuntu 12.10 running the ATI 13.3 Beta drivers. I tried the stable release but the cards wouldn't pull more than 650 MH/s combined and the fan speeds were reading inaccurately. Once I updated the driver to the beta release they both started getting somewhere between 650-680 MH/s each so I am getting about 1.35 GH/s right now. They are over clocked at 1100,1050 (GPU 0,1) 1375 Mem clock. Intensity 9, Powertune 20. Set the fan speeds to keep the cards around 78.0C consistently. I think you would have to liquid cool them to push them any harder but I could be wrong. I added another chassis fan that pulls heat from the cards outside the box as well.

ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Motherboard
AMD 8-Core AM3+ processor (3.4Ghz)
8GB DDR3 RAM
2 x 7970 Gigabyte Radeon cards
850W Modular PSU

Happy Mining.
legendary
Activity: 1140
Merit: 1000
The Real Jude Austin
April 23, 2013, 05:56:29 PM
#18
You probably need to restart the machine you are on.

Also check to make sure you don't have a cgminer.conf file in your cgminer directory.

Did you set the proper shader count for your card?
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
April 23, 2013, 05:53:56 PM
#17
I have a 7970 and I got it up to ~720Kh/s.

I did a lot of tweaking but you can try this:

http://www.judeaustin.com/theoretical-litecoin-gpu-settings/

That's what worked for me.



Mind giving me your batch file you use to start? or the line? As we have the same cards essentially lol..
thanks

I will look for it.

It probably won't work on your system.

After a lot of testing I found that the same settings will not work on a different machine.

Too many variables to account for.

Essentially what you want to do is just set shaders and 2 threads with cgminer using the command line like so cgminer --scrypt --shaders (shaders your card has) -g 2 -I 13

Then once cgminer is running press G > C and take note of your engine/memory speed.

Then press M and it should show your maximum memory speed at 1575 or something similar.

You want to increase memory pretty much until cgminer crashes.

Then start it back up with about 100 less.

Once you got it stable with memory clock you will want to adjust engine speed in small increments, maybe 5mhz at a time in either direction.

Eventually you will to a point where your hash rate is steady.

Once your hash rate is stable you can then divide your engine speed by memory speed and that is your golden ratio.

Then you can OC from there using your ratio and it will be pretty good.

before/after doing this im getting 20 KH/s -.- What the hell? is this thing using anything?

EDIT:
OK, for some reason the intesity didn't change but i got it now. Now with 13 intensity im running 594kh/s - which is WAY too low, what's going on ?
legendary
Activity: 1140
Merit: 1000
The Real Jude Austin
April 23, 2013, 05:44:04 PM
#16
I have a 7970 and I got it up to ~720Kh/s.

I did a lot of tweaking but you can try this:

http://www.judeaustin.com/theoretical-litecoin-gpu-settings/

That's what worked for me.



Mind giving me your batch file you use to start? or the line? As we have the same cards essentially lol..
thanks

I will look for it.

It probably won't work on your system.

After a lot of testing I found that the same settings will not work on a different machine.

Too many variables to account for.

Essentially what you want to do is just set shaders and 2 threads with cgminer using the command line like so cgminer --scrypt --shaders (shaders your card has) -g 2 -I 13

Then once cgminer is running press G > C and take note of your engine/memory speed.

Then press M and it should show your maximum memory speed at 1575 or something similar.

You want to increase memory pretty much until cgminer crashes.

Then start it back up with about 100 less.

Once you got it stable with memory clock you will want to adjust engine speed in small increments, maybe 5mhz at a time in either direction.

Eventually you will to a point where your hash rate is steady.

Once your hash rate is stable you can then divide your engine speed by memory speed and that is your golden ratio.

Then you can OC from there using your ratio and it will be pretty good.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
April 23, 2013, 05:34:37 PM
#15
I have a 7970 and I got it up to ~720Kh/s.

I did a lot of tweaking but you can try this:

http://www.judeaustin.com/theoretical-litecoin-gpu-settings/

That's what worked for me.



Mind giving me your batch file you use to start? or the line? As we have the same cards essentially lol..
thanks
Pages:
Jump to: