Pages:
Author

Topic: A guide for mining efficiently on P2Pool, includes FUD repellent and FAQ - page 12. (Read 174849 times)

Activity: 37
Merit: 0
Which fee free PPS pool is that? Are there any left? Mining at a fee-free PPS pool might cost less now, but the risks of the pool failing are high so the cost may be more than you imagine.

Eligius - It's actually CPPSRB - Capped Pay Per Share with Recent Backpay

I understand the value of p2pool but I don't think that a failing pool is all that costly. If you have a failover you shouldn't have any issues when the primary is down. Worst case is that you'd lose out on anything that wasn't distributed to you yet - hopefully < 0.2
donator
Activity: 2058
Merit: 1007
Poor impulse control.
This a great guide - thanks!

I have a couple of questions.

This thread, and others, have said:
The mathematical fact still remains that a well tuned p2pool will out pay any other pool. In fact, it will approach solo mining.

I'm new to bitcoin (as my rep will tell you), but I understand the concept of luck and variance. How specifically does p2pool "out pay" others? I currently mine on a no-fee (keep trans fees) PPS pool. My analysis shows that the trans fees are ~1% so p2pool will out pay there. How else? [....]

Which fee free PPS pool is that? Are there any left? Mining at a fee-free PPS pool might cost less now, but the risks of the pool failing are high so the cost may be more than you imagine.
Activity: 37
Merit: 0
This a great guide - thanks!

I have a couple of questions.

This thread, and others, have said:
The mathematical fact still remains that a well tuned p2pool will out pay any other pool. In fact, it will approach solo mining.