Pages:
Author

Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only) - page 43. (Read 1958260 times)

PSL
member
Activity: 166
Merit: 10
new version v2.3 can't connect to p2pool using stratum

If using cgminer, then it will connect to, like stratum+ tcp://p2pool.org, successfully
but cpuminer v2.3 can only connect to p2pool.org, and unable to stratum+ tcp://p2pool.org, why is this?

Thank you in advance.

I can replicate this.
Code:
minerd -a scrypt -t1 -o http://p2pool.org:9327 -O Lc8TWMiKM7gRUrG8VB8pPNP1Yvt1SGZnoH:x --no-stratum
[2013-06-16 20:47:26] 1 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-06-16 20:47:27] Long-polling activated for http://p2pool.org:9327/long-polling
[2013-06-16 20:47:28] thread 0: 4096 hashes, 2.96 khash/s
[2013-06-16 20:47:29] LONGPOLL detected new block
[2013-06-16 20:47:29] thread 0: 3524 hashes, 3.81 khash/s

Code:
minerd -a scrypt -t1 -o http://p2pool.org:9327 -O Lc8TWMiKM7gRUrG8VB8pPNP1Yvt1SGZnoH:x -D
[2013-06-16 20:54:01] 1 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-06-16 20:54:03] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://p2pool.org:9327
[2013-06-16 20:54:04] Failed to get Stratum session id
[2013-06-16 20:54:04] Stratum difficulty set to 308.794
[2013-06-16 20:54:04] Stratum authentication failed
[2013-06-16 20:54:04] ...retry after 30 seconds

minerd -V
cpuminer 2.3
libcurl/7.21.3 OpenSSL/0.9.8o zlib/1.2.3.4 libidn/1.18
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
new version v2.3 can't connect to p2pool using stratum

If using cgminer, then it will connect to, like stratum+ tcp://p2pool.org, successfully
but cpuminer v2.3 can only connect to p2pool.org, and unable to stratum+ tcp://p2pool.org, why is this?

Thank you in advance.
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
Thanks Pooler. Nice to see you developing again.  Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
Version 2.3

  • This version adds support for the Stratum mining protocol. The miner now recognizes URLs starting with stratum+tcp://, and can also switch from getwork to Stratum if the mining server supports the X-Stratum extension. For those who still don't know, Stratum reduces network resources consumption (only needs one TCP connection), and allows a significant reduction of the stale rate.
  • The miner should now automatically set CPU affinity on FreeBSD as it already did on Linux.
  • No speed improvements over version 2.2.3.

The source code is, as always, available at GitHub. Source tarball and binaries are available at Sourceforge (I had to switch from GitHub because they've deprecated their Downloads Tab).
Thanks to Tachikoma, we now also have a static 64-bit binary for Mac OS X.

NB: Stratum support does not render the Stratum proxy useless. You should keep using the Stratum proxy when pool mining, unless you only have one miner.
very nice Smiley
hero member
Activity: 839
Merit: 507
Version 2.3

  • This version adds support for the Stratum mining protocol. The miner now recognizes URLs starting with stratum+tcp://, and can also switch from getwork to Stratum if the mining server supports the X-Stratum extension. For those who still don't know, Stratum reduces network resources consumption (only needs one TCP connection), and allows a significant reduction of the stale rate.
  • The miner should now automatically set CPU affinity on FreeBSD as it already did on Linux.
  • No speed improvements over version 2.2.3.

The source code is, as always, available at GitHub. Source tarball and binaries are available at Sourceforge (I had to switch from GitHub because they've deprecated their Downloads Tab).
Thanks to Tachikoma, we now also have a static 64-bit binary for Mac OS X.

NB: Stratum support does not render the Stratum proxy useless. You should keep using the Stratum proxy when pool mining, unless you only have one miner.
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
men how do you use this do i have to make a bat file or what cant use ti can anyone help
hero member
Activity: 839
Merit: 507
Well, according this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=196196.2780

I should expect something like this:

Intel Core i7 2600K: 320 KH/s [AVX version, 4.43 GHz]

or, in a worst scenario, AT LEAST 200kh\s on scrypt-jane, mining YAC, since the 3d talks about a 4.43GHz CPU, and I'm on a 3.40GHz, as u can see.

The cpuminer discussed in this thread does not support YAC mining.
You are probably referring to ali1234's fork, which is discussed here.
hero member
Activity: 980
Merit: 1002
Hello, I'm expecting problems under linux debian squeeze.

I updated my gcc to 4.7.3, to been able to compile with AVX flags:

Code:
./configure CFLAGS="-O3 -march=corei7-avx"

My cpu:

Code:
processor       : 7
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 42
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
(x8)

Well, according this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=196196.2780

I should expect something like this:

Intel Core i7 2600K: 320 KH/s [AVX version, 4.43 GHz]

or, in a worst scenario, AT LEAST 200kh\s on scrypt-jane, mining YAC, since the 3d talks about a 4.43GHz CPU, and I'm on a 3.40GHz, as u can see.

Well, when I run the miner (on every pool) with 8 threads, it starts with something like this:

Code:
[2013-05-31 18:01:04] thread 3: 932 hashes, 7.37 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:04] thread 4: 930 hashes, 7.36 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:04] thread 2: 717 hashes, 5.67 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:04] thread 6: 920 hashes, 7.28 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:04] thread 1: 933 hashes, 7.38 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:04] thread 5: 925 hashes, 7.31 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:04] thread 7: 926 hashes, 7.32 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:04] thread 0: 916 hashes, 7.24 khash/s

It immediatly slow down.

Code:
[2013-05-31 18:01:39] thread 3: 17820 hashes, 4.51 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:39] thread 4: 17494 hashes, 4.43 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:39] thread 6: 16017 hashes, 4.06 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:39] thread 2: 18066 hashes, 4.58 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:39] thread 7: 17667 hashes, 4.47 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:39] thread 1: 16570 hashes, 4.20 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:39] thread 5: 16521 hashes, 4.18 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:39] thread 0: 17694 hashes, 4.48 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:41] thread 1: 9825 hashes, 4.39 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:01:41] accepted: 1/1 (100.00%), 35.10 khash/s (yay!!!)

And, after a couple of minutes:

Code:
[2013-05-31 18:03:08] thread 0: 3880 hashes, 2.18 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:08] thread 5: 3905 hashes, 2.20 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:08] thread 4: 3907 hashes, 2.20 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:08] thread 7: 3923 hashes, 2.21 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:08] thread 1: 3924 hashes, 2.21 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:08] thread 2: 3123 hashes, 1.86 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:08] thread 3: 3766 hashes, 2.12 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:08] thread 6: 2219 hashes, 1.24 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:11] thread 0: 7316 hashes, 2.23 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:11] accepted: 3/3 (100.00%), 16.27 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] LONGPOLL detected new block
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] thread 7: 7781 hashes, 2.22 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] thread 3: 7840 hashes, 2.23 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] thread 6: 6390 hashes, 1.83 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] thread 5: 7787 hashes, 2.22 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] thread 0: 377 hashes, 2.10 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] thread 4: 7800 hashes, 2.22 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] thread 1: 7836 hashes, 2.23 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] thread 2: 6690 hashes, 1.91 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] thread 0: 715 hashes, 2.13 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:03:12] accepted: 4/4 (100.00%), 16.98 khash/s (yay!!!)


My stats:

Code:
top - 18:02:40 up 109 days,  3:58,  2 users,  load average: 8.20, 3.79, 3.33
Tasks: 226 total,   3 running, 223 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s): 36.0%us,  1.0%sy, 62.9%ni,  0.0%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st

Any help is appreciated.

EDIT:

Code:
[2013-05-31 18:04:20] LONGPOLL detected new block
[2013-05-31 18:04:20] thread 4: 78 hashes, 2.42 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:04:20] thread 1: 89 hashes, 2.74 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:04:20] thread 7: 78 hashes, 2.40 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:04:20] thread 0: 77 hashes, 2.38 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:04:20] thread 3: 78 hashes, 2.40 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:04:20] thread 5: 15 hashes, 0.06 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:04:20] thread 2: 10 hashes, 0.01 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:04:21] thread 6: 6 hashes, 0.00 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:04:21] thread 2: 437 hashes, 0.39 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:04:21] thread 6: 258 hashes, 0.61 khash/s
[2013-05-31 18:04:22] thread 5: 3577 hashes, 1.91 khash/s

oh, cmon!  Angry

AH, OBV:

Code:
# file minerd
minerd: ELF 64-bit LSB executable, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.6.32, not stripped
hero member
Activity: 644
Merit: 500
Q: Is there any command-line option I can play with to make cpuminer mine faster?
A: No. (But you can lower the number of threads to make it go slower.)
I'm sorry but that made me laugh. Watching a movie and playing games make it go slower too. I found turning the computer off gives the best results. Although the performance suffers but the savings in energy is wonderful.
That reminded me of the barometer question. Cheesy
Seriously, what you say is true, but is outside the scope of the question, which specifically addressed command-line options.

No, there is not! I was just havin a bit of fun.
hero member
Activity: 839
Merit: 507
Q: Is there any command-line option I can play with to make cpuminer mine faster?
A: No. (But you can lower the number of threads to make it go slower.)
I'm sorry but that made me laugh. Watching a movie and playing games make it go slower too. I found turning the computer off gives the best results. Although the performance suffers but the savings in energy is wonderful.
That reminded me of the barometer question. Cheesy
Seriously, what you say is true, but is outside the scope of the question, which specifically addressed command-line options.
hero member
Activity: 644
Merit: 500
Is this for linux users or is this something I should or need to use or try on win7?  CFLAGS = -g -O3
Those are compile-time flags.

Q: Is there any command-line option I can play with to make cpuminer mine faster?
A: No. (But you can lower the number of threads to make it go slower.)

I'm sorry but that made me laugh. Watching a movie and playing games make it go slower too. I found turning the computer off gives the best results. Although the performance suffers but the savings in energy is wonderful.

To make it go faster you can increase the priority of minerd.exe in the taskmanager utility under processes. It's a bit more performance but not a lot.
hero member
Activity: 644
Merit: 500
Hi.

I have PC with 4 CPUs x 4 cores. I run minerd --threads 16, but each thread uses inly 25% of cpu. Then I run minerd --threads 4, each thread uses 100% of cpu. What is problem?

Press control + alt + del at the same time and then click then click start taskmanager

then you will see something like this



The number of windows you see under CPU Usage History is the number of cores you have.

1 thread per cpu core is what you should set it at.

eg this is a 2 core cpu so I would use --threads 2
     if it had 4 windows then use --threads 4
hero member
Activity: 1596
Merit: 502
Are you sure you really have 4 CPUs with each 4 cores?
It sounds like you have 1 CPU with 4 cores.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
Hi.

I have PC with 4 CPUs x 4 cores. I run minerd --threads 16, but each thread uses inly 25% of cpu. Then I run minerd --threads 4, each thread uses 100% of cpu. What is problem?
full member
Activity: 244
Merit: 101
hero member
Activity: 839
Merit: 507
Is this for linux users or is this something I should or need to use or try on win7?  CFLAGS = -g -O3
Those are compile-time flags.

Q: Is there any command-line option I can play with to make cpuminer mine faster?
A: No. (But you can lower the number of threads to make it go slower.)
newbie
Activity: 30
Merit: 0
I have an error when trying to run reaper

Quote
Error 6 getting work. See http://curl.haxx.se/libcurl/c/libcurl-errors.html for error code explanations.
Couldn't connect to server. Trying again in a few seconds...


Reaper.conf

Quote
kernel reaper.cl
save_binaries yes
enable_graceful_shutdown no
long_polling yes


mine litecoin

Litecoin.conf

Quote
host stratum+tcp://ltc.coinat.com:3333
port 3333
user xxx
pass xxx


protocol litecoin

worksize 256
aggression 18
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 32
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 24000

Anyone have an idea ?
Thanks in advance
In the "host" line you should only put ltc.coinat.com
full member
Activity: 244
Merit: 101
Is this for linux users or is this something I should or need to use or try on win7?  CFLAGS = -g -O3
sr. member
Activity: 336
Merit: 250
hero member
Activity: 839
Merit: 507
I have an error when trying to run reaper
1. You're in the wrong thread.
2. Don't use Reaper. It's obsolete, buggy and unmaintained. Use cgminer or bfgminer instead.
Pages:
Jump to: