Author

Topic: [ANN] Sia - Decentralized Storage - page 256. (Read 1382194 times)

Activity: 312
Merit: 111
June 06, 2017, 05:26:01 AM
is there any online chart that you can see the current available HDD space on the sia network?
Activity: 224
Merit: 100
June 06, 2017, 05:14:02 AM
Have been looking at Sia last couple of days and looks very interesting.

Where can we buy if we want to invest? I see no easy way to buy?

I just bought on poloniex 2 days back. But cant withdraw because poloniex have some issues which they have temporailiy halted withdrawal for many coins like Sia, BCN, etc.
So my money is in Poloniex till now

I badly wish I had more money to invest. So far very little. I hope the price stays same till 15th June when I get paid from my job, Im going to put a little to Sia.

@boopy : The potential is huge indeed, because I studied the whole Sia project before investing, and for those who understand the scope is unlimited.
Sia is not trying to replace Dropbox or iCloud, but wants to work together with Dropbox, Apple, Amazon and help these big companies leverage the true power of blockchain.

Many are just looking into Sia for a few moments and come to the conclusion that Sia is just trying to compete with Amazon or Dropbox, but that is not the case.
Sia plan is much bigger in scale, it plans to be the storage for amazon, apple, dropbox etc.
How does all these big companies store data today? They buy large buildings and turn them into storage warehouses, hire employees, several thousand TB of hard disks, computers, electricity, security etc. Thousands and thousands of dollars spent to store their data.

Sia vision is to help THESE COMPANIES cut down on this costs and move towards decentralized cloud storage for a fraction of the cost.

Even though they have GUI for everyone to explore, the real power is from using the Sia API.
Many are already using the API from the response I read in slack.