Author

Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000 - page 1057. (Read 2170889 times)

legendary
Activity: 1932
Merit: 1042
https://locktrip.com/?refId=40964
Code:
If you do that you will have two hard drives with the same information.  Think of this as a process of generating lottery numbers.  It calculates lottery "tickets" (plots) based on some static value (like your account number) plus the variable nonce value.  If you simply copy and paste it to another drive you will have two of each lottery ticket with the same winning numbers (plots) and you can't win the lottery twice.  It's just a waste of hard drive space.

really good example to understand!

 Wink Wink Wink Wink
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
but it isn't generated in the same way anyway? mimic in what sense?

If you do that you will have two hard drives with the same information.  Think of this as a process of generating lottery numbers.  It calculates lottery "tickets" (plots) based on some static value (like your account number) plus the variable nonce value.  If you simply copy and paste it to another drive you will have two of each lottery ticket with the same winning numbers (plots) and you can't win the lottery twice.  It's just a waste of hard drive space.


Hey guys, question.. I have used 0 to 800000 plots for Drive 1 (just for testing) and plots 800000 to 1600000 for Drive 2, is it possible to expand the plots on Drive 1? If so, can i just adjust the batch file to start at 1600000?

That is exactly how to do it. Start the next plot where you left off in the previous file

Thanks Smiley

Does someone know how to stop the Error messages? I have finished making plots but I still get the error reading file errors...

Because you overlapped your plot files. Should really be a major issue. The first number is the starting point for the plot and the second number is the number of plots to create. How big/size is the drives?

Should or shouldn't Tongue? Because I'm still getting a pretty decent amount of shares still. Anyway one drive is about 1TB and one 500GB. But I think they're overlapping because i paused the plotting process once and started it over again at the point it stopped. Well guess I'd start over again then...
Does the "plot number order" really matter that much? I mean does it matter if i start at like 500000 and end at 900000 instead of 0?

It doesn't matter at all what numbers you start with or use - you can count backwards if you want, just so long as it never uses the same number twice.  I mean you CAN use the same number twice, but it will be wasted because of what I said above.  For that reason I find it's best to not even try to be all sequential about it.  Start at 500000 and end at 900000 then on your next drive, start at 1000000 and go to 1500000 then next time do 2000000 and go to 2500000, etc.
legendary
Activity: 3248
Merit: 1070
do you have to have the plots in order, like on my first harddrive i have 1-7200000 and started my second harddrive 72000001-144000000


turns out my first harddrive is only 80% full, how would i plot the other 20 percent, could i put 144000001-160000000 on the first one?

It doesn't matter what numbers you use at all.  The number is just a variable in the encryption process.  For instance it would take your account number + 1, then account + 2, etc.  It takes the values from the and goes for as long as you tell it to in the next argument .  Each output is completely random so you could do account number + 50238 or account number +10000000000 and you'll get just as random a plot as you would with + 4 and + 5.

That's why you don't ever want any overlapping hashes - it always uses the same information + the nonce value.  If you two plots both starting at 1 and doing to 1000000, you each plot will calculate your account number + 1, +2, etc so both plots will have the same values and you can't submit a value twice.

I did my first hard drive starting at 1.  Second drive started at 100,000,000.  Third at 200,000,000. And so forth.  It's way overkill, I could probably do increments of 20,000,000 but since the value of the number doesn't matter, it doesn't matter - I'm not going to run out of numbers.

Just don't use the same numbers twice, ever. Other than that, it has no effect whatsoever what numbers you use, they absolutely do not need to be sequential.


you need to do it for every drive, couldn't you just copy paste the plot file into the next hdd?

do what for everydrive? 2 drives both need different plots pointing to the same account, correct?

that's my question, does two drives(same type) need two different plot? can't you just copy paste that large file in the plots folder to a different HDD?
Yes, you must generate new plots, if you copy plots to the 2nd drive, it will exactly mimic the first, resulting in a wasted drive.

but it isn't generated in the same way anyway? mimic in what sense?
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
do you have to have the plots in order, like on my first harddrive i have 1-7200000 and started my second harddrive 72000001-144000000


turns out my first harddrive is only 80% full, how would i plot the other 20 percent, could i put 144000001-160000000 on the first one?

It doesn't matter what numbers you use at all.  The number is just a variable in the encryption process.  For instance it would take your account number + 1, then account + 2, etc.  It takes the values from the and goes for as long as you tell it to in the next argument .  Each output is completely random so you could do account number + 50238 or account number +10000000000 and you'll get just as random a plot as you would with + 4 and + 5.

That's why you don't ever want any overlapping hashes - it always uses the same information + the nonce value.  If you two plots both starting at 1 and doing to 1000000, you each plot will calculate your account number + 1, +2, etc so both plots will have the same values and you can't submit a value twice.

I did my first hard drive starting at 1.  Second drive started at 100,000,000.  Third at 200,000,000. And so forth.  It's way overkill, I could probably do increments of 20,000,000 but since the value of the number doesn't matter, it doesn't matter - I'm not going to run out of numbers.

Just don't use the same numbers twice, ever. Other than that, it has no effect whatsoever what numbers you use, they absolutely do not need to be sequential.


you need to do it for every drive, couldn't you just copy paste the plot file into the next hdd?

do what for everydrive? 2 drives both need different plots pointing to the same account, correct?

that's my question, does two drives(same type) need two different plot? can't you just copy paste that large file in the plots folder to a different HDD?
Yes, you must generate new plots, if you copy plots to the 2nd drive, it will exactly mimic the first, resulting in a wasted drive.
Think of it like generating keys to open a chest, if you generate 100 different keys, then copy those instead of generating 100 more different ones, it will be a waste.
legendary
Activity: 3248
Merit: 1070
do you have to have the plots in order, like on my first harddrive i have 1-7200000 and started my second harddrive 72000001-144000000


turns out my first harddrive is only 80% full, how would i plot the other 20 percent, could i put 144000001-160000000 on the first one?

It doesn't matter what numbers you use at all.  The number is just a variable in the encryption process.  For instance it would take your account number + 1, then account + 2, etc.  It takes the values from the and goes for as long as you tell it to in the next argument .  Each output is completely random so you could do account number + 50238 or account number +10000000000 and you'll get just as random a plot as you would with + 4 and + 5.

That's why you don't ever want any overlapping hashes - it always uses the same information + the nonce value.  If you two plots both starting at 1 and doing to 1000000, you each plot will calculate your account number + 1, +2, etc so both plots will have the same values and you can't submit a value twice.

I did my first hard drive starting at 1.  Second drive started at 100,000,000.  Third at 200,000,000. And so forth.  It's way overkill, I could probably do increments of 20,000,000 but since the value of the number doesn't matter, it doesn't matter - I'm not going to run out of numbers.

Just don't use the same numbers twice, ever. Other than that, it has no effect whatsoever what numbers you use, they absolutely do not need to be sequential.


you need to do it for every drive, couldn't you just copy paste the plot file into the next hdd?

do what for everydrive? 2 drives both need different plots pointing to the same account, correct?

that's my question, does two drives(same type) need two different plot? can't you just copy paste that large file in the plots folder to a different HDD?
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0

perfect explanation thanks a million

edit, you should write the tutorial since you speak very clear english what should of taken 5 clicks and 5 minutes took me 8 hours LOL

Thanks! Smiley

I'm far from an expert though.  These are just the things I've understood to be true from spending 10-20 hours over the last week trying to get everything running.  It is pretty easy though once you get the hang of it.
legendary
Activity: 1778
Merit: 1043
#Free market
Does anyone plot on  AMD X8 FX 9590 or 9370?  How fast are they?

This is a HDD mining coin. No GPU/CPU. Read the OP

I asked about plot creating speed, not about mining.

Read this :

Quote
Regarding the plot generation, I found an OpenCL implementation of Shabal (https://github.com/aznboy84/X15GPU/blob/master/kernel/shabal.cl) that could be used to make a GPU version of the generator. I will try to work on it when I have some free time.

Regards
newbie
Activity: 16
Merit: 0
Hey guys, question.. I have used 0 to 800000 plots for Drive 1 (just for testing) and plots 800000 to 1600000 for Drive 2, is it possible to expand the plots on Drive 1? If so, can i just adjust the batch file to start at 1600000?

That is exactly how to do it. Start the next plot where you left off in the previous file

Thanks Smiley

Does someone know how to stop the Error messages? I have finished making plots but I still get the error reading file errors...

Because you overlapped your plot files. Should really be a major issue. The first number is the starting point for the plot and the second number is the number of plots to create. How big/size is the drives?

Should or shouldn't Tongue? Because I'm still getting a pretty decent amount of shares still. Anyway one drive is about 1TB and one 500GB. But I think they're overlapping because i paused the plotting process once and started it over again at the point it stopped. Well guess I'd start over again then...
Does the "plot number order" really matter that much? I mean does it matter if i start at like 500000 and end at 900000 instead of 0?
mm4
newbie
Activity: 43
Merit: 0
Does anyone plot on  AMD X8 FX 9590 or 9370?  How fast are they?

This is a HDD mining coin. No GPU/CPU. Read the OP

I asked about plot creating speed, not about mining.
member
Activity: 60
Merit: 10
Hi everyone,

After many hours of setup I finally made it. I have a 1Tb generation in progress and 3x100Gb already finished.
I would like to test the V2 pool but I haven't any BURST for now. Could someone send me 1 BURST to test it please ? Here is my address : BURST-YA29-QCEW-QXC3-BKXDL.

Regarding the plot generation, I found an OpenCL implementation of Shabal (https://github.com/aznboy84/X15GPU/blob/master/kernel/shabal.cl) that could be used to make a GPU version of the generator. I will try to work on it when I have some free time.

Regards

I got ya, sending 10 now

Thanks a lot! Smiley
legendary
Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000
https://bmy.guide
do you have to have the plots in order, like on my first harddrive i have 1-7200000 and started my second harddrive 72000001-144000000


turns out my first harddrive is only 80% full, how would i plot the other 20 percent, could i put 144000001-160000000 on the first one?

It doesn't matter what numbers you use at all.  The number is just a variable in the encryption process.  For instance it would take your account number + 1, then account + 2, etc.  It takes the values from the and goes for as long as you tell it to in the next argument .  Each output is completely random so you could do account number + 50238 or account number +10000000000 and you'll get just as random a plot as you would with + 4 and + 5.

That's why you don't ever want any overlapping hashes - it always uses the same information + the nonce value.  If you two plots both starting at 1 and doing to 1000000, you each plot will calculate your account number + 1, +2, etc so both plots will have the same values and you can't submit a value twice.

I did my first hard drive starting at 1.  Second drive started at 100,000,000.  Third at 200,000,000. And so forth.  It's way overkill, I could probably do increments of 20,000,000 but since the value of the number doesn't matter, it doesn't matter - I'm not going to run out of numbers.

Just don't use the same numbers twice, ever. Other than that, it has no effect whatsoever what numbers you use, they absolutely do not need to be sequential.


you need to do it for every drive, couldn't you just copy paste the plot file into the next hdd?

do what for everydrive? 2 drives both need different plots pointing to the same account, correct?
legendary
Activity: 3248
Merit: 1070
do you have to have the plots in order, like on my first harddrive i have 1-7200000 and started my second harddrive 72000001-144000000


turns out my first harddrive is only 80% full, how would i plot the other 20 percent, could i put 144000001-160000000 on the first one?

It doesn't matter what numbers you use at all.  The number is just a variable in the encryption process.  For instance it would take your account number + 1, then account + 2, etc.  It takes the values from the and goes for as long as you tell it to in the next argument .  Each output is completely random so you could do account number + 50238 or account number +10000000000 and you'll get just as random a plot as you would with + 4 and + 5.

That's why you don't ever want any overlapping hashes - it always uses the same information + the nonce value.  If you two plots both starting at 1 and doing to 1000000, you each plot will calculate your account number + 1, +2, etc so both plots will have the same values and you can't submit a value twice.

I did my first hard drive starting at 1.  Second drive started at 100,000,000.  Third at 200,000,000. And so forth.  It's way overkill, I could probably do increments of 20,000,000 but since the value of the number doesn't matter, it doesn't matter - I'm not going to run out of numbers.

Just don't use the same numbers twice, ever. Other than that, it has no effect whatsoever what numbers you use, they absolutely do not need to be sequential.

you need to do it for every drive, couldn't you just copy paste the plot file into the next hdd?
legendary
Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000
https://bmy.guide
do you have to have the plots in order, like on my first harddrive i have 1-7200000 and started my second harddrive 72000001-144000000


turns out my first harddrive is only 80% full, how would i plot the other 20 percent, could i put 144000001-160000000 on the first one?

It doesn't matter what numbers you use at all.  The number is just a variable in the encryption process.  For instance it would take your account number + 1, then account + 2, etc.  Each output is completely random so you could do account number + 50238 or account number +10000000000.

That's why you don't ever want any overlapping hashes - it always uses the same information + the nonce value.  If you two plots both starting at 1 and doing to 1000000, you each plot will calculate your account number + 1, +2, etc so both plots will have the same values and you can't submit a value twice.

I did my first hard drive starting at 1.  Second drive started at 100,000,000.  Third at 200,000,000. And so forth.  It's way overkill, I could probably do increments of 20,000,000 but since the value of the number doesn't matter, it doesn't matter - I'm not going to run out of numbers.

Just don't use the same numbers twice, ever. Other than that, it has no effect whatsoever what numbers you use, they absolutely do not need to be sequential.

perfect explanation thanks a million

edit, you should write the tutorial since you speak very clear english what should of taken 5 clicks and 5 minutes took me 8 hours LOL
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
do you have to have the plots in order, like on my first harddrive i have 1-7200000 and started my second harddrive 72000001-144000000


turns out my first harddrive is only 80% full, how would i plot the other 20 percent, could i put 144000001-160000000 on the first one?

It doesn't matter what numbers you use at all.  The number is just a variable in the encryption process.  For instance it would take your account number + 1, then account + 2, etc.  It takes the values from the and goes for as long as you tell it to in the next argument .  Each output is completely random so you could do account number + 50238 or account number +10000000000 and you'll get just as random a plot as you would with + 4 and + 5.

That's why you don't ever want any overlapping hashes - it always uses the same information + the nonce value.  If you two plots both starting at 1 and doing to 1000000, you each plot will calculate your account number + 1, +2, etc so both plots will have the same values and you can't submit a value twice.

I did my first hard drive starting at 1.  Second drive started at 100,000,000.  Third at 200,000,000. And so forth.  It's way overkill, I could probably do increments of 20,000,000 but since the value of the number doesn't matter, it doesn't matter - I'm not going to run out of numbers.

Just don't use the same numbers twice, ever. Other than that, it has no effect whatsoever what numbers you use, they absolutely do not need to be sequential.
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
Something weird:

My solo miner shows current block @ 7950
My Pool_miner shows current height @ 7957
Try scrolling down on your solo miner?

Nope, that's not it.

What do you guys have for the current block (since i think i have a wallet issue)?
Your pool miner seems fine, the current block as of now is 7963.

Yup, just restarted my solo_miner but still the same. Will check what's wrong.
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
Something weird:

My solo miner shows current block @ 7950
My Pool_miner shows current height @ 7957
Try scrolling down on your solo miner?

Nope, that's not it.

What do you guys have for the current block (since i think i have a wallet issue)?
Your pool miner seems fine, the current block as of now is 7963.
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
Something weird:

My solo miner shows current block @ 7950
My Pool_miner shows current height @ 7957
Try scrolling down on your solo miner?

Nope, that's not it.

What do you guys have for the current block (since i think i have a wallet issue)?
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
How many burst are mining in 1 day?

Right now ~3.6 million

this mean that the nethash is 1 peta?

I think it was last 1,5 Petabyte
sr. member
Activity: 289
Merit: 250
and my second question, could i simultaneously fill harddrives?
1tb? if i did 1-36000000.        and could on a different computer do 36000000-72000000 for my next 1tb?

at the same time for best time managment?

Thats exactly what I am doing.  I have 4 machines plotting at the same time over a 1GB network, it saturates about half the available bandwidth. Two of the machines write to one HD and the other two write to another drive, making sure the plots do not overlap. I started to think that more than 2 machines plotting would overwhelm the write speed of the drive so playing it safe.
legendary
Activity: 3248
Merit: 1070
How many burst are mining in 1 day?

Right now ~3.6 million

this mean that the nethash is 1 peta?
Jump to: