Author

Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000 - page 1080. (Read 2171083 times)

member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
I have an 8 Core I7 and its only using 33%. Memory usage is 500mb but I have 32GB.


C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java -Xmx1000m -cp pocminer.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer.POCMiner generate XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 4000000 8191 16

(Assuming its a 8-core 16 thread cpu)

When i execute with these settings i get the below error.

Uncaught error from thread [default-akka.actor.default-dispatcher-4] shutting do
wn JVM since 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is enabled for ActorSystem[default]
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.init(GenerateSupr.java:61)
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.preStart(GenerateSupr.java:55)
        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundPreStart(Actor.scala:470)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundPreStart(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.create(ActorCell.scala:580)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invokeAll$1(ActorCell.scala:456)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.systemInvoke(ActorCell.scala:478)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processAllSystemMessages(Mailbox.scala:263)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:219)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)

Has anyone encountered the above?

Yeah, change -Xms1000m to -Xms4000m to allocate more memory.

Did as suggested and now get the below error.

Error occurred during initialization of VM
Could not reserve enough space for object heap
Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit.

Thanks for your help

How much free memory do you have in your machine? 4000m will require nearly 4GB of free RAM to allocate properly. If you don't have sufficient memory for this, just change '8191' to '1024'.

Thats the thing i have like 12GB free!! I have noticed in Task Manager that the process is the 32bit version. Should it not be using x64 so it can address the extra memory?

Do you have a 64-bit version of Java installed? If not, just reduce 4000m to 2000m and then reduce 8191 to 4096, or 2048.

Yes i just re-installed both. I still get errors with 2000m only 1000m works.

If by any means possible use java x64 and run_generate like this:

"C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java.exe" -Xmx8000m -cp pocminer.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer.POCMiner generate your_addres start_plot number_of_plots 8191 6

(Yes, the double quotes should also be in there)! Also set your number_of_cores to max-2
sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
can someone help me use merge.exe ?

Has anyone checked the .exe-file?
I'm not saying it contains a virus, just we need to be careful.
sr. member
Activity: 560
Merit: 250
For everyone who wants to know if their plot ranges do overlap:

https://bchain.info/BURST/tools/overlap

Just copy filenames (or output of "ls -l" or "dir") into the box.

(let me know if you like it!)

version for Windows - https://www.dropbox .com/s/g4xs48y0505lu0u/merge.exe?dl=0

You compiled my overlap-checker from javascript to .exe  Huh

And it isn't working btw

Code:
'merge.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

can someone help me use merge.exe ?
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 500
Someone just put up a 2BTC value sell wall, and it was eaten.

The market will likely push burst to 1000 satoshi

the volume keep growing and the price keep growing slowely , this is a good sign and no dumper yet Smiley

according to NXT price i would say that BURST can easy go to 5/7K ....
sr. member
Activity: 336
Merit: 250
I agree we should definitely near or surpass 1k.  Not too sure about passing it, for now.
hero member
Activity: 560
Merit: 500
Told you all you could break 20 btc on C-CEX, burst going to the moon it seems.
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
Someone just put up a 2BTC value sell wall, and it was eaten.

The market will likely push burst to 1000 satoshi
I saw that too and was going to post haha. Honestly I believe we will pass 1000 satoshis for sure, but I don't know how much higher it can go after that.
Edit: We just hit 600 sats  Cheesy
member
Activity: 97
Merit: 10
Someone just put up a 2BTC value sell wall, and it was eaten.

The market will likely push burst to 1000 satoshi
hero member
Activity: 955
Merit: 1004
The instructions for setting up the v2 pool wallet just aren't very clear.  A few might have got it right by dumb luck but I need assistance.  

Can you provide some sort of clear instruction set with photos and pictures?

I have my wallet / miner mining in the pool, my wallet id is 13429957584083220507.  I have the 1.0.3 wallet and the pool miner.

Twice now, I have seem the pool shares and balance lists for my account go up towards 500 coins, then the next time I checked the number was smaller, meaning it had paid out twice but I did not get the coins!

My wallet ID is BURST-MYMR-JJN2-ZYSH-9XBTT.

The http://localhost:8125/rewardassignment.html  also isn't clear.  The top 2 data entry blocks, Get reward recipient and Get accounts with recipient, what do I do with those?

The lower two data entry blocks, Set reward recipient for Passphrase and Recipient, what's the correct process?  What does "Passphrase" mean?  The 12 word phrase the wallet/miner gives me during setup?  The long numerical number like my 134299 wallet id number?  The password I create on my own?

What about the recipient block?  Is that where my wallets BURST address goes or another BURST address?

I need this all explained like I am 4 years old, with photos and arrows and words drawn on them like in Microsoft Paint.

I figure I'm short 1000 coins so far.
legendary
Activity: 1713
Merit: 1029
I have an 8 Core I7 and its only using 33%. Memory usage is 500mb but I have 32GB.


C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java -Xmx1000m -cp pocminer.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer.POCMiner generate XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 4000000 8191 16

(Assuming its a 8-core 16 thread cpu)

When i execute with these settings i get the below error.

Uncaught error from thread [default-akka.actor.default-dispatcher-4] shutting do
wn JVM since 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is enabled for ActorSystem[default]
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.init(GenerateSupr.java:61)
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.preStart(GenerateSupr.java:55)
        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundPreStart(Actor.scala:470)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundPreStart(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.create(ActorCell.scala:580)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invokeAll$1(ActorCell.scala:456)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.systemInvoke(ActorCell.scala:478)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processAllSystemMessages(Mailbox.scala:263)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:219)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)

Has anyone encountered the above?

Yeah, change -Xms1000m to -Xms4000m to allocate more memory.

Did as suggested and now get the below error.

Error occurred during initialization of VM
Could not reserve enough space for object heap
Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit.

Thanks for your help

How much free memory do you have in your machine? 4000m will require nearly 4GB of free RAM to allocate properly. If you don't have sufficient memory for this, just change '8191' to '1024'.

Thats the thing i have like 12GB free!! I have noticed in Task Manager that the process is the 32bit version. Should it not be using x64 so it can address the extra memory?

Do you have a 64-bit version of Java installed? If not, just reduce 4000m to 2000m and then reduce 8191 to 4096, or 2048.

Yes i just re-installed both. I still get errors with 2000m only 1000m works.

Ah well, 1000 with 2048 work, or do you need to go down to 1024 for steps?
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
Hi HDD Miners,

is it a problem, if i had 3 HDD's 4GB HDDS, on the first the plotfile is at the moment 1,5TB, the second at the moment 150GB and the third also have 150GB plotfile at the moment.
The plotfile is like 0-10 11-20 21-30...is it possible to mine on all @ the pool in this status?

Thanks  Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
I have an 8 Core I7 and its only using 33%. Memory usage is 500mb but I have 32GB.


C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java -Xmx1000m -cp pocminer.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer.POCMiner generate XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 4000000 8191 16

(Assuming its a 8-core 16 thread cpu)

When i execute with these settings i get the below error.

Uncaught error from thread [default-akka.actor.default-dispatcher-4] shutting do
wn JVM since 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is enabled for ActorSystem[default]
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.init(GenerateSupr.java:61)
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.preStart(GenerateSupr.java:55)
        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundPreStart(Actor.scala:470)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundPreStart(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.create(ActorCell.scala:580)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invokeAll$1(ActorCell.scala:456)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.systemInvoke(ActorCell.scala:478)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processAllSystemMessages(Mailbox.scala:263)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:219)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)

Has anyone encountered the above?

Yeah, change -Xms1000m to -Xms4000m to allocate more memory.

Did as suggested and now get the below error.

Error occurred during initialization of VM
Could not reserve enough space for object heap
Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit.

Thanks for your help

How much free memory do you have in your machine? 4000m will require nearly 4GB of free RAM to allocate properly. If you don't have sufficient memory for this, just change '8191' to '1024'.

Thats the thing i have like 12GB free!! I have noticed in Task Manager that the process is the 32bit version. Should it not be using x64 so it can address the extra memory?

Do you have a 64-bit version of Java installed? If not, just reduce 4000m to 2000m and then reduce 8191 to 4096, or 2048.

Yes i just re-installed both. I still get errors with 2000m only 1000m works.
sr. member
Activity: 256
Merit: 250
I have an 8 Core I7 and its only using 33%. Memory usage is 500mb but I have 32GB.


C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java -Xmx1000m -cp pocminer.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer.POCMiner generate XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 1 4000000 8191 16

(Assuming its a 8-core 16 thread cpu)

When i execute with these settings i get the below error.

Uncaught error from thread [default-akka.actor.default-dispatcher-4] shutting do
wn JVM since 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is enabled for ActorSystem[default]
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.init(GenerateSupr.java:61)
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.preStart(GenerateSupr.java:55)
        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundPreStart(Actor.scala:470)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundPreStart(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.create(ActorCell.scala:580)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invokeAll$1(ActorCell.scala:456)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.systemInvoke(ActorCell.scala:478)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processAllSystemMessages(Mailbox.scala:263)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:219)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)

Has anyone encountered the above?
i have experienced a similar message on one of my identical plotting machines.
first i assumed it relates somehow to a timeout of the storage device when the threads collect their data to write it to disk.
later i realized that my whole batch process has thrown similar messages on this one machine.
looks like some sort of weird java behaviour which i have'nt traced down to its origin.
as soon as i have enough linux storage nodes ready i dont have to plot anymore with java.
i only hope that the wallet and miner code does'nt show any of such issues someday after a security hotfix.

legendary
Activity: 1713
Merit: 1029
So can anyone tell me what the realistic minimum amount of drive space is needed to mine this coin?

For pool mining, you're gonna need more than 250GB to get shares on a regular basis, 1TB or more would be preferred.

For solo mining, I'd recommend 8+ TB.
So basically I'm wasting my time trying to solo mine with a 500gb drive I had lying around?

Yeah, with rising difficulty chances are fairly slim for that to solo mine anything.
sr. member
Activity: 560
Merit: 250
So can anyone tell me what the realistic minimum amount of drive space is needed to mine this coin?

For pool mining, you're gonna need more than 250GB to get shares on a regular basis, 1TB or more would be preferred.

For solo mining, I'd recommend 8+ TB.
So basically I'm wasting my time trying to solo mine with a 500gb drive I had lying around?

yes you are
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
So can anyone tell me what the realistic minimum amount of drive space is needed to mine this coin?

For pool mining, you're gonna need more than 250GB to get shares on a regular basis, 1TB or more would be preferred.

For solo mining, I'd recommend 8+ TB.
So basically I'm wasting my time trying to solo mine with a 500gb drive I had lying around?
Yeah, I can get ~1000 per day with 450 GB in the pool.
newbie
Activity: 30
Merit: 0
So can anyone tell me what the realistic minimum amount of drive space is needed to mine this coin?

For pool mining, you're gonna need more than 250GB to get shares on a regular basis, 1TB or more would be preferred.

For solo mining, I'd recommend 8+ TB.
So basically I'm wasting my time trying to solo mine with a 500gb drive I had lying around?
legendary
Activity: 1713
Merit: 1029
So can anyone tell me what the realistic minimum amount of drive space is needed to mine this coin?

For pool mining, you're gonna need more than 250GB to get shares on a regular basis, 1TB or more would be preferred.

For solo mining, I'd recommend 8+ TB.
legendary
Activity: 1713
Merit: 1029
I bought some burst today. But after looking at it burst a little more it should have been made three years ago. Its actually a step backwards. But its here so its innovative, but it shouldn't get this much attention cause we have graphic cards which perform better, with better security. And nothing run by a pc is eco or more eco friendlier than another, cause its still using power plus I don't think everyone is going to turn off all there rigs.  I could go on more about viruses, hacks, and hard drive failure but I bought some so I want to make good with my purchase. But If we can get pc fans to start mining with our gpu's, hard drives, that's innovative. You might as well invest into western digital with all the new hard drive purchases esp if they make hard drives for mining like we have seen with motherboards.

Here's the kicker for why POC mining is attractive:

With a GPU, say, a R9 290x, you are pulling at least 300W for the card to run. The card itself costs around $550, and on $0.15/kWh pricing, it would cost $394.20 to run at full load yearly. This means after a bit over a year, your costs are split 50/50 between hardware and electricity, assuming you didn't invest in additional cooling and cooling upkeep. If all mining went south, you could sell your card, but you take a loss on that electricity. However, if you were mining with a hard drive which costs $7/year to run for a $300 drive, then if everything goes south, you can recoup a large portion of your investment. Most hard drives have a minimum of 2 years of warranty.

Additionally, the amount of network security possible from POC given the same amount of capital invested into mining as with POW is much higher, as the majority of that money goes towards actual hardware, and miners have very little reason (very little maintenance cost) to keep their hard drive rigs running. In comparison, miners may shut off GPU rigs when they produce too much heat, or consume more electricity than they pay for.

Hard drive mining is more eco-friendly. Each dollar invested into mining requires far less power to run, and each thus each 'dollar of security' (because what protects cryptocurrency networks is the cost to perform a 51% attack) requires less power, and less upkeep. Graphics cards don't 'perform better'; it's comparing apples to oranges. The reason Bitcoin is so secure is because it has significant amounts of hardware behind it--and that hardware costs money. Keep in mind, there aren't really the equivalent of ASICs for storage. The best TB/dollar storage is tape storage, which would be impractical for BURST mining, considering all the seeking involved. Considering only hardware practical for mining, consumer hardware is king--enterprise hardware has higher $/TB costs. It doesn't matter how many kH, MH, GH, TH, PH... a network has, it matters how much money it costs to acquire hardware to provide that much hashing power. I could create a coin which had a hashing function so simple that a GPU could run 20GH/s, but that doesn't make it any more secure. Network security is a cat-and-mouse-game, and all that matters is the cost for a third-party to deploy hardware in enough quantity to provide more than 50% of the network's computational power. If my coin has 20GH/s on a R9 290x, then for each R9 290x they deploy, they get that hash rate too.
legendary
Activity: 2282
Merit: 1072
https://crowetic.com | https://qortal.org
So can anyone tell me what the realistic minimum amount of drive space is needed to mine this coin?

There is no "minimum", but the less space you use, the less you will make of course, it's just like hashrate.

But, that being said, all I can do is provide you some facts from my experience....

I started relatively early mining this coin solo, my first block was number 700, or around there.

I started with around 2TB, and kept adding as much as I could.


I currently have 65 blocks mined, and a total amount of plotted space around 8TB, will be 9 when this 3TB drive finishes plotting.

I currently, with 8-9TB, mining solo, hit 2-4 blocks a day.

I am trying to add 3TB or more each week, and purchasing drives accordingly, because the way I see it, no matter what, even if the coin goes to shit, it's great to have a ton of extra storage, and the drives are always resellable.

I plan to continue solo mining until I get less than a block a day. Bearing in mind my additional space each week.

Hope this helps!
Jump to: