Author

Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000 - page 1118. (Read 2170895 times)

sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
How are stagger size and memory related?  (I assume that is MBs of ram?)  

How does one determine optimal stagger size?

stagger size 1 is 256kb of mem, linear growing. In theory. But java needs more than that.
Go as high as your memory allows (8191 is max)

Quote
Sure hope it mines alright in my Windows box with all the others and doesn't have weird permission problems... Smiley

You can always work as root ("sudo su") and disable all this restrictions. If you really want to.
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
Cry

Maybe its mounted with noexec.

type "mount"

If it has the noexec attribute:

mount -o remount,exec /media/...  (the mount point)

Yes, that was the problem.  Once I posted that last stuff and realized I wasn't able to change permissions I googled how to do that to a mounted drive.  Did some stuff in the terminal and now it seems to be fine.  Says I'm still not a user but it's running now.  Thanks for your help!

Sure hope it mines alright in my Windows box with all the others and doesn't have weird permission problems... Smiley
legendary
Activity: 1517
Merit: 1042
@notsofast
Trying to setup pool mining and having some trouble with missing args:

Quote
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java -Xmx1000m -cp pocminer_pool.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer_pool.POCMiner generate
*address* 1 1750000 4000 4
pause

Am I referencing the correct library? Java noob over here.

Yes, but for 4000 stagger size it needs more than 1000m memory. Try 3000m or stagger size 1000.
[/quote

Still getting "missing args" after bringing it down to stagger size 1000 (anything more than 1000m would not start the java virtual machine).

Checking my address to see if it's the missing/mistyped arg...yes. There was some hidden formatting from copying and pasting the output address. Thanks for helping me figure out where the problem lay!
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
Damn, this thread grows faster than anyone I've ever seen   Cheesy

Any news on v2 of the pool that I missed...?
What new features will be in the pool v2 besides being able to use solo plots? The pool seems to work fine as of now.
MOB
hero member
Activity: 493
Merit: 504
Trying to setup pool mining and having some trouble with missing args:

Quote
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java -Xmx1000m -cp pocminer_pool.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer_pool.POCMiner generate
*address* 1 1750000 4000 4
pause

Am I referencing the correct library? Java noob over here.

Yes, but for 4000 stagger size it needs more than 1000m memory. Try 3000m or stagger size 1000.

How are stagger size and memory related?  (I assume that is MBs of ram?) 

How does one determine optimal stagger size?
sr. member
Activity: 462
Merit: 250
Damn, this thread grows faster than anyone I've ever seen   Cheesy

Any news on v2 of the pool that I missed...?
sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
Cry

Maybe its mounted with noexec.

type "mount"

If it has the noexec attribute:

mount -o remount,exec /media/...  (the mount point)
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
Sure thing.

Code:
-rw------- 1 generator generator 22629 Aug 28 16:31 plot

Its not executable!

chmod +x plot

should do it  Wink

Code:
root@generator-desktop:/media/generator/239DA259288DCE73/plotgenerator# sudo chmod +x plot
root@generator-desktop:/media/generator/239DA259288DCE73/plotgenerator# ls -la
total 105
drwx------ 1 generator generator   456 Aug 28 16:31 .
drwx------ 1 generator generator  4096 Aug 28 16:28 ..
-rw------- 1 generator generator   144 Aug 25 07:39 Makefile
-rw------- 1 generator generator 22629 Aug 28 16:31 plot
-rw------- 1 generator generator  5263 Aug 27 04:32 plot.c
-rw------- 1 generator generator  5003 Aug 24 19:07 shabal.h
-rw------- 1 generator generator  8267 Aug 28 16:31 shabal.o
-rw------- 1 generator generator 45792 Aug 24 19:07 shabal.s

 Cry
sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
Trying to setup pool mining and having some trouble with missing args:

Quote
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java -Xmx1000m -cp pocminer_pool.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer_pool.POCMiner generate
*address* 1 1750000 4000 4
pause

Am I referencing the correct library? Java noob over here.

Yes, but for 4000 stagger size it needs more than 1000m memory. Try 3000m or stagger size 1000.
legendary
Activity: 1517
Merit: 1042
@notsofast
Trying to setup pool mining and having some trouble with missing args:

Quote
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java -Xmx1000m -cp pocminer_pool.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer_pool.POCMiner generate
*address* 1 1750000 4000 4
pause

Am I referencing the correct library? Java noob over here.
sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
Sure thing.

Code:
-rw------- 1 generator generator 22629 Aug 28 16:31 plot

Its not executable!

chmod +x plot

should do it  Wink
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
Quote
Tried with and without the sudo.  Somehow I didn't have write permissions on the drive that I formatted under this user.  I played around with chmod but who knows what that did... It also gave it a crazy weird numbered name.  Linux...

Show us what you did:

ls -la

Sure thing.

Code:
generator@generator-desktop:/media/generator/239DA259288DCE73$ ls -la
total 24
drwx------  1 generator generator  4096 Aug 28 16:28 .
drwxr-x---+ 3 root      root       4096 Aug 28 16:25 ..
drwx------  1 generator generator   456 Aug 28 16:31 plotgenerator
-rw-------  1 generator generator 14818 Aug 27 19:46 plotgenerator.tgz
drwx------  1 generator generator     0 Aug 27 20:04 .Trash-1000

Code:
generator@generator-desktop:/media/generator/239DA259288DCE73/plotgenerator$ ls -la
total 105
drwx------ 1 generator generator   456 Aug 28 16:31 .
drwx------ 1 generator generator  4096 Aug 28 16:28 ..
-rw------- 1 generator generator   144 Aug 25 07:39 Makefile
-rw------- 1 generator generator 22629 Aug 28 16:31 plot
-rw------- 1 generator generator  5263 Aug 27 04:32 plot.c
-rw------- 1 generator generator  5003 Aug 24 19:07 shabal.h
-rw------- 1 generator generator  8267 Aug 28 16:31 shabal.o
-rw------- 1 generator generator 45792 Aug 24 19:07 shabal.s
sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
Quote
Tried with and without the sudo.  Somehow I didn't have write permissions on the drive that I formatted under this user.  I played around with chmod but who knows what that did... It also gave it a crazy weird numbered name.  Linux...

Show us what you did:

ls -la
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10

And the error I get when I try

Code:
generator@generator-desktop:/media/generator/239DA259288DCE73$ ls
Makefile  plot  plot.c  plotgenerator.tgz  shabal.h  shabal.o  shabal.s
generator@generator-desktop:/media/generator/239DA259288DCE73$ sudo ./plot 86----------84595 100000000 10625000 8191 4
[sudo] password for generator:
sudo: ./plot: command not found
generator@generator-desktop:/media/generator/239DA259288DCE73$

Tried with and without the sudo.  Somehow I didn't have write permissions on the drive that I formatted under this user.  I played around with chmod but who knows what that did... It also gave it a crazy weird numbered name.  Linux...

you must first compile C.
Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential gcc

after You write command Makefile. So Plot file will be created and can be used.
I am not an expert on linux but I learned.  Grin
MOB
hero member
Activity: 493
Merit: 504
Low sells, no panic it will rise again. Smiley

If I had a 8x3TB RAID0 or JBOD span, what generate numbers should I use?

Would I want a single plot?

I use cheap SATA Controller and single drives. Raid5 is safer but you can also take RAID0 or JBOD .

I would always take 2TB plots not  a large plot.

Thanks!

So, what would the generate command look like?

ID#:

Plot Start: 1

Plot End: 8392704 (for a 2TB--right?)

What are the next two?  The plot size and then what (edit: this is threads maybe?)?  The guide has them set to 1000 & 4 respectively.
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500
people dumping now on c-cex Undecided

It's going to happen, very normal to have an occasional period of dumping, it will rebound eventually. Just like the people who sold cheap at the beginning of C-Cex listing. All a part of cypto world, just need to wait and jump on opportunities when they arise.
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
Low sells, no panic it will rise again. Smiley

If I had a 8x3TB RAID0 or JBOD span, what generate numbers should I use?

Would I want a single plot?

I use cheap SATA Controller and single drives. Raid5 is safer but you can also take RAID0 or JBOD .

I would always take 2TB plots not  a large plot.
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
What would be a good Solution?

4TB and a Hexa-Core Xeon E5-2620 or better a Quad-Core Xeon E3-1230 and 12TB?
Or better more TB but then it takes so long to plot... Huh

Hexa would be good to do the plots faster, but 12TB with the Quad is fine too. More HDD storage is more important, you might be able to OC the quad a bit to get it to create plots faster.

thanks :-)
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
Can anyone explain how to install and use dcct's plot generator for Linux dummies?

I tried last night with the two commands in the OP using Ubuntu and only got an error like 'command "plot" not recognized'.  I'm at work now so I can't get the exact details but it sounds like I screwed something up...  I guess there's a chance I wasn't using 64 but Ubuntu - I just grabbed an old DVD I burned but the plot command should still do something, shouldn't it?

EDIT: Yes I was in the correct directory.  The ls command showed plot, the original .tgz I had extracted as well as all the other files that extracted and compiled with it.

type in:
uname -a

x86_64 in there?

Yes.

Code:
3.13.0-24-generic #46-Ubuntu SMP Thu Apr 10 19:11:08 UTC 2014 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

And the error I get when I try

Code:
generator@generator-desktop:/media/generator/239DA259288DCE73$ ls
Makefile  plot  plot.c  plotgenerator.tgz  shabal.h  shabal.o  shabal.s
generator@generator-desktop:/media/generator/239DA259288DCE73$ sudo ./plot 86----------84595 100000000 10625000 8191 4
[sudo] password for generator:
sudo: ./plot: command not found
generator@generator-desktop:/media/generator/239DA259288DCE73$

Tried with and without the sudo.  Somehow I didn't have write permissions on the drive that I formatted under this user.  I played around with chmod but who knows what that did... It also gave it a crazy weird numbered name.  Linux...
sr. member
Activity: 560
Merit: 250
people dumping now on c-cex Undecided

That is not dumping. Just standard swings
Jump to: