Author

Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000 - page 925. (Read 2170895 times)

sr. member
Activity: 355
Merit: 250
sr. member
Activity: 355
Merit: 250
Does anybody can help me to mine with http://burst-pool.cryptoport.io/ ?
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500
Hi everyone,

After many hours of setup I finally made it. I have a 1Tb generation in progress and 3x100Gb already finished.
I would like to test the V2 pool but I haven't any BURST for now. Could someone send me 1 BURST to test it please ? Here is my address : BURST-YA29-QCEW-QXC3-BKXDL.

Regarding the plot generation, I found an OpenCL implementation of Shabal (https://github.com/aznboy84/X15GPU/blob/master/kernel/shabal.cl) that could be used to make a GPU version of the generator. I will try to work on it when I have some free time.

Regards

Hi everyone,

As promised I have been working on a GPU plot generator on the last few days. I made a little program built on top of OpenCL, and it seems to work pretty well in CPU mode. Unfortunately, I can't test the GPU mode as it requires a very powerfull graphic card (with at least 46kB private memory per compute unit, because the algorithm needs at least 4096*64 static bytes to store an entire plot).

Here is a preview you can test for now :
gpuPlotGenerator-src-1.0.0.7z : https://mega.co.nz/#!bcF2yKKL!3Ud86GaibgvwBehoxkbO4UNdiBgsaixRx7ksHrgNbDI
gpuPlotGenerator-bin-win-x86-1.0.0.7z : https://mega.co.nz/#!HJsziTCK!UmAMoEHQ3z34R4RsXoIkYo9rYd4LnFtO_pw-R4KObJs

I will build another release in the end of the day with some minor improvements (threads per compute unit selection, output of OpenCL error codes, improvement of the Makefile to generate the distribution directly).
I will also try to figure out another mean to dispatch the work between the GPU threads to reduce the amount of private memory needed by the program.

For the windows people, you can use the binary version directly.
For the linux people, just download the source archive, make sure to modify the OpenCL library and lib path in the makefile (and maybe the executable name), and build the project via "make". To run the program, you need the "kernel" and the "plots" directories beside the executable.

The executable usage is : ./gpuPlotGenerator

The parameters are the same as the original plot generator, without the threads number.

If you find bugs or if you want some new features, let me now.

If you want to support me, here are my Bitcoin and Burst addresses :
Bitcoin: 138gMBhCrNkbaiTCmUhP9HLU9xwn5QKZgD
Burst: BURST-YA29-QCEW-QXC3-BKXDL

Regards

Unfortunately, I can't test the GPU mode as it requires a very powerfull graphic card (with at least 46kB private memory per compute unit, because the algorithm needs at least 4096*64 static bytes to store an entire plot).
It's nice to see someone else working on this, since I seem to have failed in it.

Private memory is actually part of global on AMD cards, so storing it in private isn't any better than just using global for everything; it's local that needs to aimed for for the massive speedup. No AMD cards have more than 64KB local per workgroup, which makes storing it all in local impossible however.

I haven't tried your implementation yet, but on my own first attempt, I also used global on everything also, and the result was faster than the java plotter, but slower than dcct's c plotter. My 2nd attempt used a 32KB local buffer I rotated through for storing the currently being hashed stuff, however I couldn't figure out how to get it copied also to global fast enough, and the local -> global copy killed the performance.

You might be interested in those kernels here: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.8695829

Thanks, I will look at your kernels to see if I can find a better solution.

Here is the new version. I reduced the amount of memory used from 40KB to about 1KB per unit. The only drawback is that it requires twice the global memory as before. I will search a mean to reduce this overhead later.
In CPU mode, it all goes pretty well (when no graphic card is detected).
The GPU mode is still kind of buggy on my graphic card (an old GeForce 9300M GS), don't know the exact reason yet. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. I will try to fix this issue tomorrow.

Here are the files :
gpuPlotGenerator-src-1.1.0.7z : https://mega.co.nz/#!iYFWAL5B!BvtmRQ5qGq4gGwjDglFNtDtNIX4LDaUvATBtClBdTlQ
gpuPlotGenerator-bin-win-x86-1.1.0.7z : https://mega.co.nz/#!aBVGBBQD!tBsRtb8VrHR12_anrFTrl41U0fPQu_OqFnxyi5nCyBY

For the linux users, the Makefile has a new target named "dist" that builds and copy/paste all the necessary files to the "bin" directory.

The executable usage is : ./gpuPlotGenerator

: the path to the plots directory
: number of parrallel threads for each work group

So the usage would be like this: "D:/gpuPlotGenerator 0  819200 4096 "

Is that format correct? Is the thread count need for gpu plotting(Point out in bold)? What's the nonce/minute rate?

Hi,

This is still a buggy early stage version. I post it here to have feedback from people who owns more powerfull graphic cards (the behaviour may vary from one card to another).
But yes, the final usage would be the one you mentioned. The threads parameter is the number of threads used in the local work group. In GPU mode, the value should be a multiple a 64, 256 is the typical value for most of the cards.


Ok i made a test with my R9 290

I Put 256 in thread (apparently can't put more)

And in 1min15 i generate from nonce 888597 to nonce 900885, So 9830 nonce minute, not bad at all

What's your gpu load and temps?
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
anybody know how long can a CPU last running at 95-100% 24/7  ?

Can run fine for a long period, depending on the cooling and if the cpu is overclocked too high/too long.

stock , no extra cooling , can run for at least a year ?

Don't know if a year, but maybe for a couple of months it could. Server cpus are probably more tolerable to 95%~100% loads than the common desktop cpus to run for a year.

most people here running on home PC, this coin is only 1 months old, couple of months down the road we will start seeing people complaining about their CPU dying ? If they kill their CPU, motherboard , RAM , i don't think it's easy to get ROI

Home users don't plot 1000tb....You only use high cpu while plotting
hero member
Activity: 868
Merit: 1000
anybody know how long can a CPU last running at 95-100% 24/7  ?

Can run fine for a long period, depending on the cooling and if the cpu is overclocked too high/too long.

stock , no extra cooling , can run for at least a year ?

Don't know if a year, but maybe for a couple of months it could. Server cpus are probably more tolerable to 95%~100% loads than the common desktop cpus to run for a year.

most people here running on home PC, this coin is only 1 months old, couple of months down the road we will start seeing people complaining about their CPU dying ? If they kill their CPU, motherboard , RAM , i don't think it's easy to get ROI
hero member
Activity: 1036
Merit: 531
Hi everyone,

After many hours of setup I finally made it. I have a 1Tb generation in progress and 3x100Gb already finished.
I would like to test the V2 pool but I haven't any BURST for now. Could someone send me 1 BURST to test it please ? Here is my address : BURST-YA29-QCEW-QXC3-BKXDL.

Regarding the plot generation, I found an OpenCL implementation of Shabal (https://github.com/aznboy84/X15GPU/blob/master/kernel/shabal.cl) that could be used to make a GPU version of the generator. I will try to work on it when I have some free time.

Regards

Hi everyone,

As promised I have been working on a GPU plot generator on the last few days. I made a little program built on top of OpenCL, and it seems to work pretty well in CPU mode. Unfortunately, I can't test the GPU mode as it requires a very powerfull graphic card (with at least 46kB private memory per compute unit, because the algorithm needs at least 4096*64 static bytes to store an entire plot).

Here is a preview you can test for now :
gpuPlotGenerator-src-1.0.0.7z : https://mega.co.nz/#!bcF2yKKL!3Ud86GaibgvwBehoxkbO4UNdiBgsaixRx7ksHrgNbDI
gpuPlotGenerator-bin-win-x86-1.0.0.7z : https://mega.co.nz/#!HJsziTCK!UmAMoEHQ3z34R4RsXoIkYo9rYd4LnFtO_pw-R4KObJs

I will build another release in the end of the day with some minor improvements (threads per compute unit selection, output of OpenCL error codes, improvement of the Makefile to generate the distribution directly).
I will also try to figure out another mean to dispatch the work between the GPU threads to reduce the amount of private memory needed by the program.

For the windows people, you can use the binary version directly.
For the linux people, just download the source archive, make sure to modify the OpenCL library and lib path in the makefile (and maybe the executable name), and build the project via "make". To run the program, you need the "kernel" and the "plots" directories beside the executable.

The executable usage is : ./gpuPlotGenerator

The parameters are the same as the original plot generator, without the threads number.

If you find bugs or if you want some new features, let me now.

If you want to support me, here are my Bitcoin and Burst addresses :
Bitcoin: 138gMBhCrNkbaiTCmUhP9HLU9xwn5QKZgD
Burst: BURST-YA29-QCEW-QXC3-BKXDL

Regards

Unfortunately, I can't test the GPU mode as it requires a very powerfull graphic card (with at least 46kB private memory per compute unit, because the algorithm needs at least 4096*64 static bytes to store an entire plot).
It's nice to see someone else working on this, since I seem to have failed in it.

Private memory is actually part of global on AMD cards, so storing it in private isn't any better than just using global for everything; it's local that needs to aimed for for the massive speedup. No AMD cards have more than 64KB local per workgroup, which makes storing it all in local impossible however.

I haven't tried your implementation yet, but on my own first attempt, I also used global on everything also, and the result was faster than the java plotter, but slower than dcct's c plotter. My 2nd attempt used a 32KB local buffer I rotated through for storing the currently being hashed stuff, however I couldn't figure out how to get it copied also to global fast enough, and the local -> global copy killed the performance.

You might be interested in those kernels here: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.8695829

Thanks, I will look at your kernels to see if I can find a better solution.

Here is the new version. I reduced the amount of memory used from 40KB to about 1KB per unit. The only drawback is that it requires twice the global memory as before. I will search a mean to reduce this overhead later.
In CPU mode, it all goes pretty well (when no graphic card is detected).
The GPU mode is still kind of buggy on my graphic card (an old GeForce 9300M GS), don't know the exact reason yet. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. I will try to fix this issue tomorrow.

Here are the files :
gpuPlotGenerator-src-1.1.0.7z : https://mega.co.nz/#!iYFWAL5B!BvtmRQ5qGq4gGwjDglFNtDtNIX4LDaUvATBtClBdTlQ
gpuPlotGenerator-bin-win-x86-1.1.0.7z : https://mega.co.nz/#!aBVGBBQD!tBsRtb8VrHR12_anrFTrl41U0fPQu_OqFnxyi5nCyBY

For the linux users, the Makefile has a new target named "dist" that builds and copy/paste all the necessary files to the "bin" directory.

The executable usage is : ./gpuPlotGenerator

: the path to the plots directory
: number of parrallel threads for each work group

So the usage would be like this: "D:/gpuPlotGenerator 0  819200 4096 "

Is that format correct? Is the thread count need for gpu plotting(Point out in bold)? What's the nonce/minute rate?

Hi,

This is still a buggy early stage version. I post it here to have feedback from people who owns more powerfull graphic cards (the behaviour may vary from one card to another).
But yes, the final usage would be the one you mentioned. The threads parameter is the number of threads used in the local work group. In GPU mode, the value should be a multiple a 64, 256 is the typical value for most of the cards.


Ok i made a test with my R9 290

I Put 256 in thread (apparently can't put more)

And in 1min15 i generate from nonce 888597 to nonce 900885, So 9830 nonce minute, not bad at all
sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
Anyone else facing virus notifications? My Kaspersky detects "Dangerous URL blocked, http://123.249.35.13:8123/burst" every half an hour or so. Why is this happening?
The client exchanges addresses with each other so you can connect to more people. Someone's probably just running a burst client on an ip kaspersky blocks for some other reason.
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500
anybody know how long can a CPU last running at 95-100% 24/7  ?

Can run fine for a long period, depending on the cooling and if the cpu is overclocked too high/too long.

stock , no extra cooling , can run for at least a year ?

Don't know if a year, but maybe for a couple of months it could. Server cpus are probably more tolerable to 95%~100% loads than the common desktop cpus to run for a year.

Regardless, it should run with no issues if everything around it runs properly. ie. motherboard, psu, etc....
hero member
Activity: 868
Merit: 1000
anybody know how long can a CPU last running at 95-100% 24/7  ?

Can run fine for a long period, depending on the cooling and if the cpu is overclocked too high/too long.

stock , no extra cooling , can run for at least a year ?

Probably not...

3 months ?
sr. member
Activity: 256
Merit: 250
anybody know how long can a CPU last running at 95-100% 24/7  ?
depends on the ambient temperature. the intel stock cooler is designed to work good.
most time the powersupplies and mainboards break in longterm before a cpu breaks.
despite of some old athlon thinderbirds (those with plain dies on the chip) many years back i never had any issues with a cpu running within the specified conditions under full load 24/7 (idleling  windows servers tend to keep the cpu constantly hot).
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
anybody know how long can a CPU last running at 95-100% 24/7  ?

Can run fine for a long period, depending on the cooling and if the cpu is overclocked too high/too long.

stock , no extra cooling , can run for at least a year ?

Probably not...
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
Anyone else facing virus notifications? My Kaspersky detects "Dangerous URL blocked, http://123.249.35.13:8123/burst" every half an hour or so. Why is this happening?

Where did you download from?
hero member
Activity: 868
Merit: 1000
anybody know how long can a CPU last running at 95-100% 24/7  ?

Can run fine for a long period, depending on the cooling and if the cpu is overclocked too high/too long.

stock , no extra cooling , can run for at least a year ?
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500
anybody know how long can a CPU last running at 95-100% 24/7  ?

Can run fine for a long period, depending on the cooling and if the cpu isn't overclocked too high/too long.
sr. member
Activity: 376
Merit: 250
anyone tried mining BURST on cloud yet??


not on a public cloud which can be setuped to automatically clone plotting/mining instances but on my private cloud manually ;-)

on centos you only install the core system from the setup and run this:
yum groupinstall "Development Tools"
yum install java* screen git
mkdir burst
cd burst
git clone https://github.com/BurstProject/burstcoin
git clone https://github.com/BurstProject/pocminer

cd burstcoin
chmod +x *.sh
./compile.sh
screen -dmS wallet ./run.sh
cd..

cd pocminer
chmod +x *.sh
./compile.sh
screen -dmS mine ./run_mine.sh
upload or generate your passphrase.txt
screen -dmS plot ./run_generate.sh address start count stagger threads
 

great, following your commands now Smiley
will post if stumble on something.
hero member
Activity: 868
Merit: 1000
anybody know how long can a CPU last running at 95-100% 24/7  ?
sr. member
Activity: 334
Merit: 250
🌟 æternity🌟 blockchain🌟
Anyone else facing virus notifications? My Kaspersky detects "Dangerous URL blocked, http://123.249.35.13:8123/burst" every half an hour or so. Why is this happening?
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
anyone tried mining BURST on cloud yet??


not on a public cloud which can be setuped to automatically clone plotting/mining instances but on my private cloud manually ;-)

on centos you only install the core system from the setup and run this:
yum groupinstall "Development Tools"
yum install java* screen git
mkdir burst
cd burst
git clone https://github.com/BurstProject/burstcoin
git clone https://github.com/BurstProject/pocminer

cd burstcoin
chmod +x *.sh
./compile.sh
screen -dmS wallet ./run.sh
cd..

cd pocminer
chmod +x *.sh
./compile.sh
screen -dmS mine ./run_mine.sh
upload or generate your passphrase.txt
screen -dmS plot ./run_generate.sh address start count stagger threads
 
start = starting plot
count = how many nonces you want to generate
stagger = stagger size
threads = cpu threads you want to use
sr. member
Activity: 334
Merit: 250
🌟 æternity🌟 blockchain🌟
Guys, i have a question. If I accidentally closed the CMD when it's plotting, can i continue the plots? How would I know where it stopped?

burstcoin.info/faq.php

Good link, thx. But it doesn't mention about continuing the plots and how to know where it stopped. Guys, any help on this?

Check the file size, and, just to be safe, start the new plots way above the old ones, it doesn't actually matter.

excellent. Just what i wanted to know. thx
Jump to: