Author

Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000 - page 927. (Read 2170895 times)

sr. member
Activity: 376
Merit: 250
I am having difficulty following the miner tutorial posted in the announcement thread, anyone help me with this?

I'll give a VPS with 2 TB HDD as a compensation for your lost time.
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
Hey, any Linuxxy devvy people, can you please check burstcoin.info/miner.php for errors(the Linux pool bit)
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
Is it possible to plot over SMB?


Yes it is possible, but two times slower then direct ploting into local HDD.
member
Activity: 60
Merit: 10
Here is the new version. I reduced the amount of memory used from 40KB to about 1KB per unit. The only drawback is that it requires twice the global memory as before. I will search a mean to reduce this overhead later.
In CPU mode, it all goes pretty well (when no graphic card is detected).
The GPU mode is still kind of buggy on my graphic card (an old GeForce 9300M GS), don't know the exact reason yet. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. I will try to fix this issue tomorrow.

Here are the files :
gpuPlotGenerator-src-1.1.0.7z : https://mega.co.nz/#!iYFWAL5B!BvtmRQ5qGq4gGwjDglFNtDtNIX4LDaUvATBtClBdTlQ
gpuPlotGenerator-bin-win-x86-1.1.0.7z : https://mega.co.nz/#!aBVGBBQD!tBsRtb8VrHR12_anrFTrl41U0fPQu_OqFnxyi5nCyBY

For the linux users, the Makefile has a new target named "dist" that builds and copy/paste all the necessary files to the "bin" directory.

The executable usage is : ./gpuPlotGenerator

: the path to the plots directory
: number of parrallel threads for each work group

Tried the Windows version on my Lappy (has a nvidia geforce 335M, 1GB) and I get the following:

Code:
gpuPlotGenerator.exe C:\plots 11111222223333344444 0 5000 500 1
Code:
GPU plot generator v1.1.0
Author: Cryo
Bitcoin: 138gMBhCrNkbaiTCmUhP9HLU9xwn5QKZgD
Burst: BURST-YA29-QCEW-QXC3-BKXDL
--------------
Path: C:\plots
Nonces: 0 to 5000 (1 GB)
Process memory: 125MB
Threads number: 1
--------------
Retrieving OpenCL platform
Retrieving OpenCL GPU device
Creating OpenCL context
Creating OpenCL command queue
Creating CPU buffer
Creating OpenCL GPU generation buffer
Creating OpenCL GPU scoops buffer
Creating OpenCL program
Building OpenCL program
Creating OpenCL kernel
Setting OpenCL kernel arguments
Generating from nonce #0
An OpenCL error occured in the generation process, aborting...
>>> [-5] Error in synchronous read

Each time I run it, the screen goes black for a moment and the comes back. Then I get a popup stating that the Nvidia display driver has stopped responding and has recovered.

I have my desktop with a ATI 7800 already in progress of plotting with dcct's plot generator on Linux. But I will see if I can figure out how to test this on linux on an ATI card.

Edit: Tested it on my Ubuntu install and I get the following when issuing the 'make' command:

Code:
Compiling [gpuPlotGenerator.cpp]
make: /c/_data/cryo/_apps/mingw/bin/g++: Command not found
make: *** [gpuPlotGenerator.o] Error 127
Seems this may be a hard coded location?
I've already installed 'build-essential'... how do I change this so I can actually test it?

Thanks for the test. There is a persistent bug in this implementation, I will work on it today.

For the compilation, yes I forgot to remove the hard coded path to my g++, juste replace the two locations in the Makefile by "g++". Also, replace the harcoded path to the opencl library to your own opencl install path. Sorry for the lack of linux build for now.
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
i have i5 cpu,16gb ram and free 2TB HDD now ı'm using this conf. is it true?Why ask u because ı started to mine 24 hours ago and ı find nothing what can ı do?
C:\Windows\System32\java.exe -Xmx4000m -cp pocminer.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer.POCMiner generate "ID" 1 8191 400000 12

Reduce the "400000" and increase the "8191" I think you got the order mucked up Wink
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 100
I'm on the moon
i have i5 cpu,16gb ram and free 2TB HDD now ı'm using this conf. is it true?Why ask u because ı started to mine 24 hours ago and ı find nothing what can ı do?
C:\Windows\System32\java.exe -Xmx4000m -cp pocminer.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocminer.POCMiner generate "ID" 1 8191 400000 12
member
Activity: 67
Merit: 10
Thank you @burstcoin

haha 0-999999 is indeed 10E6 values - Goddamn I have not had enough coffee yet XD

I think I actually mixed myself up with mining and plotting in my 3rd question though I believe that I can use common sense following your help to define my next plotting design.

Ava
sr. member
Activity: 355
Merit: 250
Yeah with one of my rigs it crashed once a day. I think must be some of hardware errors like RAM or HDD bad sectors.
newbie
Activity: 49
Merit: 0
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
Guys, i have a question. If I accidentally closed the CMD when it's plotting, can i continue the plots? How would I know where it stopped?

burstcoin.info/faq.php
sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
Hello forum, apologies for the barrage but I have a few questions regarding multi plot files and multi hdd mining.

1. Multiple Files
Ok so I have my first hdd plotting and mining away without issue (touches all the wood, no homo)

If this my first plot file:
generate 0 10000000 8191 6

and supposing that it ends dead on 10E6

,will I start the following file as:
generate  10000000 10000000 8191 6

,or:
generate 10000001 10000000 8191 6


1.1.

Will the miner continue to the next file by itself or must I restart and where would it restart from should I restart the miner at anytime anyway?


2. Multiple HDDs
When I start plotting on a new hdd, do I start the plot from 0 again.
i.e. generate 0 10000000 8191 6

,or do I begin from where this first hdd will finish?

Since I read a post a couple of pages back that would suggest the latter, does that mean that the start point is arbitrary and what does that mean for a plot section that has already been mined?


3. From http://burstcoin.info/faq.php

This is question 4 (and 9) on the FAQ and seems to be contradicted by question 16, which states that the best method is by using a mining instance for each drive.

Can I have multiple files in my plots folder?
Yes, you can even create symlinks to other drives, letting you mine with just 1 instance.


Is there any advantage to this over mining from two+ plot files independently?
I suppose what I am asking here really is how much of an impact will dividing CPU and RAM usage between two mining instances affect the mining rate.


Is this as simple as it looks,
i.e.
1 miner runs at 100% of processing power provided.
2 miners run at 50% each of total processing provided over 2 separate plot ranges

,meaning that the efficiency is the same in both cases.


Thank you to anyone who takes the time to provide some answers here.

Ava
1. If you are trying to do sequential, you would do the former, since 10000000 numbers starting with 0 is 0 - 9999999. Like you correctly stated later though, starting point does not matter as long as you don't have ranges that overlap.

The miner rescans the folder for new files every block.

2. Ranges must not overlap, or you will pointlessly doing repeat work.

3. The miner only reads with one thread, so running one / drive will cause it to finish reading sooner. The miner doesn't need much processing power when using plot files, but it can tend to eat ram a bit.
sr. member
Activity: 334
Merit: 250
🌟 æternity🌟 blockchain🌟
Guys, i have a question. If I accidentally closed the CMD when it's plotting, can i continue the plots? How would I know where it stopped?
member
Activity: 67
Merit: 10
Hello forum, apologies for the barrage but I have a few questions regarding multi plot files and multi hdd mining.

1. Multiple Files
Ok so I have my first hdd plotting and mining away without issue (touches all the wood, no homo)

If this my first plot file:
generate 0 10000000 8191 6

and supposing that it ends dead on 10E6

,will I start the following file as:
generate  10000000 10000000 8191 6

,or:
generate 10000001 10000000 8191 6


1.1.

Will the miner continue to the next file by itself or must I restart and where would it restart from should I restart the miner at anytime anyway?


2. Multiple HDDs
When I start plotting on a new hdd, do I start the plot from 0 again.
i.e. generate 0 10000000 8191 6

,or do I begin from where this first hdd will finish?

Since I read a post a couple of pages back that would suggest the latter, does that mean that the start point is arbitrary and what does that mean for a plot section that has already been mined?


3. From http://burstcoin.info/faq.php

This is question 4 (and 9) on the FAQ and seems to be contradicted by question 16, which states that the best method is by using a mining instance for each drive.

Can I have multiple files in my plots folder?
Yes, you can even create symlinks to other drives, letting you mine with just 1 instance.


Is there any advantage to this over mining from two+ plot files independently?
I suppose what I am asking here really is how much of an impact will dividing CPU and RAM usage between two mining instances affect the mining rate.


Is this as simple as it looks,
i.e.
1 miner runs at 100% of processing power provided.
2 miners run at 50% each of total processing provided over 2 separate plot ranges

,meaning that the efficiency is the same in both cases.


Thank you to anyone who takes the time to provide some answers here.

Ava
hero member
Activity: 952
Merit: 500
How long does it take to deposit to poloniex? I have 10+ confirmations in my wallet, but nothing on poloniex.

10 confirms to polo, then polo moves your deposit to another address then it will show up at polo and have to wait another 4 confirms to show up in your account.
full member
Activity: 221
Merit: 100
How long does it take to deposit to poloniex? I have 10+ confirmations in my wallet, but nothing on poloniex.
newbie
Activity: 49
Merit: 0
Getting java heap space error while mining and it automatically gets closed every few mins or hours. How to rectify this ?


Uncaught error from thread [default-akka.actor.default-dispatcher-13Uncaught err
or from thread [default-akka.actor.default-dispatcher-11] shutting down JVM sinc
e 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is enabled for ActorSystem[] shutting down JVM
since 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is enabled for ActorSystem[defaultdefault]
]
[ERROR] [09/09/2014 10:08:01.542] [default-akka.actor.default-dispatcher-13] [Ac
torSystem(default)] Uncaught error from thread [default-akka.actor.default-dispa
tcher-13] shutting down JVM since 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is enabled
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
        at pocminer_pool.ScoopReader.readFile(ScoopReader.java:33)
        at pocminer_pool.ScoopReader.onReceive(ScoopReader.java:18)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor$$anonfun$receive$1.applyOrElse(UntypedActor.s
cala:167)
        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundReceive(Actor.scala:465)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundReceive(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.receiveMessage(ActorCell.scala:516)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invoke(ActorCell.scala:487)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processMailbox(Mailbox.scala:238)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:220)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space

        at pocminer_pool.ScoopReader.readFile(ScoopReader.java:33)
        at pocminer_pool.ScoopReader.onReceive(ScoopReader.java:18)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor$$anonfun$receive$1.applyOrElse(UntypedActor.s
cala:167)[ERROR] [09/09/2014 10:08:01.542] [default-akka.actor.default-dispatche
r-11] [ActorSystem(default)] Uncaught error from thread [default-akka.actor.defa
ult-dispatcher-11] shutting down JVM since 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is ena
bled
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
        at pocminer_pool.ScoopReader.readFile(ScoopReader.java:33)
        at pocminer_pool.ScoopReader.onReceive(ScoopReader.java:18)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor$$anonfun$receive$1.applyOrElse(UntypedActor.s
cala:167)
        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundReceive(Actor.scala:465)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundReceive(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.receiveMessage(ActorCell.scala:516)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invoke(ActorCell.scala:487)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processMailbox(Mailbox.scala:238)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:220)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)


        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundReceive(Actor.scala:465)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundReceive(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.receiveMessage(ActorCell.scala:516)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invoke(ActorCell.scala:487)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processMailbox(Mailbox.scala:238)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:220)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
        at pocminer_pool.ScoopReader.readFile(ScoopReader.java:33)
        at pocminer_pool.ScoopReader.onReceive(ScoopReader.java:18)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor$$anonfun$receive$1.applyOrElse(UntypedActor.s
cala:167)
        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundReceive(Actor.scala:465)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundReceive(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.receiveMessage(ActorCell.scala:516)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invoke(ActorCell.scala:487)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processMailbox(Mailbox.scala:238)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:220)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)
legendary
Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000
https://bmy.guide
My 2950 is AWESOME at dropping 2GB plot files left and right.
I move them off to other machines in my network and start chewing up disks!


power edge server?

Yes, rack mounted PES....It's a processing monster!



nice theres 3, t210 and 1 t110 im going to attempt to "borrow" from work for a day. see how far along those will get me
full member
Activity: 164
Merit: 100
I just finished a 2TB plot and started mining with that.
I'm currently using v1.2 of the "Burst Mining System" miner (https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-burst-burst-mining-system-a-new-miner-for-burstcoin-771063) and mining on the official pool...

I don't see my address (13991743533807458994) in the "Shares" information at all (http://178.62.39.204:8121/shares), but the above miner reports I have 5 shares...

I was previously mining with a 100GB plot a couple days ago, so I have a balance (http://178.62.39.204:8121/balance), but it has not changed at all in the last 3 hours. Any incite would be appreciated.

...It would also be helpful to be able to view individual statistics, instead of having to search the different pages each time.
hero member
Activity: 868
Merit: 1000
I rented an FX-8320 CPU to plot some of my 3TB drives today.  I say "rented" because I intend to carefully open its box, get the job done, and return it within 15 days for a full refund.

I'm renting a big engine for a specific job, the Sempron 145 sucks, even when unlocked to Athlon 4450e dual core mode.

nothing is certain in life. U could possibly burn ur CPU running 24/7. In that case u can never get ur ROI because ur plot is worth less every single day.
Jump to: