Pages:
Author

Topic: [ANN][YAC] YACoin ongoing development - page 52. (Read 380060 times)

sr. member
Activity: 506
Merit: 252
October 01, 2014, 01:23:02 AM
I just tried mining for a day on yac.coinmine.pl

with 4x R7 240 4 GB.

each card hashes at about 340 h/s.

The problem is all the values of the miner are 0 and most values of the pool are very inaccurate.
Probably due to the fact that anything below 1 khash is rounded or not shown.

Also the payout is even below half of what you would normally expect with these 4 gpus.

I mine since nfactor 14/15 with these cards and in the past everything worked out as expected.
But the values you would expect since n 16 are totally off.

I'm pretty sure my settings for the gpus are correct just in case here is the bat:

yacminer.exe --scrypt-chacha -d 0,1,2,3 --buffer-size 3480 --no-submit-stale -w 64 -g 1 --rawintensity 1280 --lookup-gap 6 -o stratum+tcp://yac.coinmine.pl:9088 -u GrimVandal.yac -p yac --gpu-engine 1100,1100,1100,1100 --gpu-memclock 1000,1000,1000,1000

sr. member
Activity: 260
Merit: 251
September 30, 2014, 04:15:36 PM
Hi Joe,

Honestly the build date is more annoying to me... Wink

Either way, this function was changed in Bitcoin.

https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/issues/4065
I see, reading down in that link ...
Quote
...
 laanwj commented on May 6

Yesterday on IRC we had a discussion about this and it was decided to remove the 'number of blocks of peers' display completely.
It is unreliable information and not needed for progress reporting - the progress estimate based on block times is used for that.
...

So on May 6th of this year, 2014, Wladimir decided to dump it!  After ~5 years!  Ah, great minds think alike Grin

The build date is in version.cpp  If you undef #define GIT_ARCHIVE 1 then you will get your compile date IIRC?

(tips may be placed in the hat on the floor Smiley )

Ron
hero member
Activity: 802
Merit: 1003
GCVMMWH
September 30, 2014, 08:02:51 AM
Honestly the build date is more annoying to me... Wink

Either way, this function was changed in Bitcoin.

https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/issues/4065
sr. member
Activity: 260
Merit: 251
September 29, 2014, 11:45:47 PM
I'm looking to add to our team of core programmers. There is much to be done for 0.4.5. Anyone is welcome! Send me a PM or "apply" in this thread. Better yet, submit a pull on github Wink

I unfortunately have very little programming knowledge - but I would be more then willing to help beta-test any new versions or updates.  Smiley

Something else I noticed in 0.4.4 that maybe we could correct in 0.4.5; it seems that the 'estimated total blocks' and 'last block time' in the debug window might not be right.  Below is a screenshot of my debug window.  The client is fully synced and has been running for a few days.



OK thanks for offering to help test. The estimated total blocks just shows the last checkpoint in the code, so I will change it to show current block if greater than last checkpoint.

Hello Joe et al,

I believe the code for that element is problematic in lots of other coins, including bitcoin.  Looking at rpcconsole.ui the line is row 11, known as "totalBlocks". Now looking at rpcconsole.cpp function
Code:
void RPCConsole::setNumBlocks(int count, int countOfPeers)
{
    ui->numberOfBlocks->setText(QString::number(count));
    ui->totalBlocks->setText(QString::number(countOfPeers));
    if(clientModel)
    {
        // If there is no current number available display N/A instead of 0, which can't ever be true
        ui->totalBlocks->setText(clientModel->getNumBlocksOfPeers() == 0 ? tr("N/A") : QString::number(clientModel->getNumBlocksOfPeers()));
        ui->lastBlockTime->setText(clientModel->getLastBlockDate().toString());
    }
}

seems to set ui->totalBlocks to countOfPeers and then to getNumBlocksOfPeers()
and in main.cpp I see the function
Code:
// Return maximum amount of blocks that other nodes claim to have
int GetNumBlocksOfPeers()
{
    return std::max(cPeerBlockCounts.median(), Checkpoints::GetTotalBlocksEstimate());
}
Which is the maximum of whatever those two items are Huh

I think there is some (a lot) of cruft in the bitcoind and bitcoin-qt source code that *coin "cloners" just keep carrying along and pretty soon (it's been 5 years of bitcoin now) no one will know what or why some code exists Grin

I don't think the original bitcoin had any notion of checkpoints, so I don't know when this code came in?

I vote to fix the labels in rpcconsole.ui, rename the code in rpcconsole.cpp (and rpcconsole.h too) and in main.cpp to reflect whatever that element really is!!  Or just delete all of it!!!(lol)

Ron
hero member
Activity: 693
Merit: 500
September 29, 2014, 08:26:26 AM
Why not just change the label?  If that's what it is, then label it as such!
hero member
Activity: 802
Merit: 1003
GCVMMWH
September 29, 2014, 08:17:07 AM
I'm looking to add to our team of core programmers. There is much to be done for 0.4.5. Anyone is welcome! Send me a PM or "apply" in this thread. Better yet, submit a pull on github Wink

I unfortunately have very little programming knowledge - but I would be more then willing to help beta-test any new versions or updates.  Smiley

Something else I noticed in 0.4.4 that maybe we could correct in 0.4.5; it seems that the 'estimated total blocks' and 'last block time' in the debug window might not be right.  Below is a screenshot of my debug window.  The client is fully synced and has been running for a few days.



OK thanks for offering to help test. The estimated total blocks just shows the last checkpoint in the code, so I will change it to show current block if greater than last checkpoint.
legendary
Activity: 1918
Merit: 1012
★Nitrogensports.eu★
September 28, 2014, 07:09:42 AM
I'm looking to add to our team of core programmers. There is much to be done for 0.4.5. Anyone is welcome! Send me a PM or "apply" in this thread. Better yet, submit a pull on github Wink

I unfortunately have very little programming knowledge - but I would be more then willing to help beta-test any new versions or updates.  Smiley

Something else I noticed in 0.4.4 that maybe we could correct in 0.4.5; it seems that the 'estimated total blocks' and 'last block time' in the debug window might not be right.  Below is a screenshot of my debug window.  The client is fully synced and has been running for a few days.

hero member
Activity: 809
Merit: 501
September 27, 2014, 04:26:51 PM
Hi all!

I'm just arrived to YAC.

I've been minng datacoin months ago and now I'm interested in this coin, cpu mining.

What pool do you recommend?

Thank you!


I suggest
http://yac.m-s-t.org/   or
http://yac.tumblingblock.com/

Main reason why I "exercise"  with Bter is that Bter have also direct YAC exchnage to fiat money. YAC <-> CNY (RMB) and of course then direct fast transfer/deposit to bank account. (because some times I visit in China)


I suggest people stay away BTER since they stole thousands of dollars from me and all... look at the link in my signature line.

I think www.crypto-trade.com would be nice to get on. Please support YACoin, and vote for it!
Qxw
full member
Activity: 203
Merit: 100
September 27, 2014, 09:06:17 AM
If someone use Bter exchange and you have old YAC deposit address, it is good to check if it have changed!
Around bit over 2 weeks ago I have used Bter (because Cryptsy problems this time)
Nearly every time I need communicate with Bter (using ticket) that where are my coins. All times they answer quite fast and always then (perhaps manually) they move coins to my Bter balance. After then I ask that they need fix this problem and Bter tell that they are allready working with it and it looks that they have done it.  But it was not nice to wait this ticket handling (in my case it was fast))

Yesterday I move some amount of YAC to Bter and, (good luck) before I make transfer I check my deposit address for sure that it is ok.  Surprice, without any notice there was new deposit address and I did not ask new.

First I send small amount (need be over 10YAC)  for check.  It looks like they have repaired something and deposit work now fast without any extra delay. After then I made 3 times agen normal bigger amount deposit and every time it works now ok and fast.

Just, please check if also your deposit address have changed if you have previously used Bter and you may have old deposit address in your wallet address book.

Main reason why I "exercise"  with Bter is that Bter have also direct YAC exchnage to fiat money. YAC <-> CNY (RMB) and of course then direct fast transfer/deposit to bank account. (because some times I visit in China)
newbie
Activity: 31
Merit: 0
September 27, 2014, 02:47:49 AM
Hi all!

I'm just arrived to YAC.

I've been minng datacoin months ago and now I'm interested in this coin, cpu mining.

What pool do you recommend?

Thank you!
sr. member
Activity: 347
Merit: 250
September 25, 2014, 03:16:56 PM
I wonder if there is so much solo miners?

Yes.


Example I do not want solo mine (and also not know exactly how to do it)  with my poor average 2.8kh/s hash power (only this amount I can use for YAC because my R9 280x rigs really are not at all for N16 (they can but N16 is really not for these radeons)

How can find p2p nodes? In YAC coin information side and here page one many links are obsolete.
It is not good for coin in long run if it is some kind of "insiders club". Informatrion need be updated.

Setting up solo mining is not particularly difficult.  Getting the actual miner up and running is the hard part, and you've already got that covered.  If you're running the YAC wallet too, then you're 95% of the way there.  With 2.8kh/s, there's not much reason to be afraid of solo mining.  Pools are useful when your hash rate is low enough that you'll rarely mine a block on your own or can't take the risk of a long dry spell due to variability, but at 2.8kh/s and the current difficulty of 0.0012, you're likely to average about 30 minutes per block found.

After the last N change, I cranked back up quite a few otherwise-idle blade servers CPU mining YAC to keep things moving along after a lot of GPU miners stopped mining and to shift the balance of hash rate away from certain pools having too large a share of the overall hash rate.  So, at least some portion of the apparently large non-pool hash rate is me solo mining at the moment.  Thirtybird is probably another good chunk of it.  Granted, I'm mining at a loss (in terms of power cost), but I'll probably leave it going for the winter for a little extra heat in the building the servers live in.
Qxw
full member
Activity: 203
Merit: 100
September 25, 2014, 10:39:27 AM
There's yac.coinmine.pl, yac.m-s-t.org and I've heard there's a new one called tumblingblock but I haven't tried it.

Solo mining is where I'm at right now - there's no shame or fear there.  If you don't know how to do it, google "solo mine dogecoin" or "solo mine litecoin" or "solo mine any coin" - the instructions are all nearly the same.

links are obsolete because people come and go - the coin is nearly 1.5 years old now.  If you want to start a P2P mining ring, go for it, but I don't think that idea has ever really lasted long

your comment about an "insiders club" makes me laugh - you realize we _WANT_ people to mine YAC, right?  That's kind of the point... Jumping to conclusions and spreading FUD is not warranted.

European pool? - Silly me - I always assumed Poland was in Europe?  When did it move?


Yes I know Poland is in europe.also I 'm in europe. But some reason I have been over 90ms ping to yac.coinmine.pl  ( I do not know why and did not anymore remember traceroute) I have cheked ping many times and same reult.  But now I have checked agen, and what surprice: 0.233 ms, 0.247 ms, 0.253 ms, 0.264 ms
Of course there is small possible that I have previously made some mistake and mixed some things...

In my situation solo mining with 2 GPU rigs and 2 CPU is not very good idea and I will stay very well working yac.coinmine.pl

But I have checked all these pools you listed. Just ago: Tumbling 0 h/s; yac.coinmine.pl around ~20kh/s; yac.m-s-t.org around 15kh/s
Network around 115kh/s

So out from these pools come something like >70kh/s   and this put me thinking that if there is some other pool what is not well known.
Of course there may be solo miners but around 70%  of hash rate from solo miners souds some amount strange in this case but of course well possible.

So I just made question if there is some p2p pool what is not well informed.

Sorry, I know well where is Poland Wink  Perhaps this was some amount loosy  "Where are european pools (p2p or others)."  I was thinking specially p2p pools but after I edited my text... 

In history (tens of years ago)  I have listened lot of Radio Poland on short waves. (in this time was not any kind of internet and important fast "email" communication method was telex and later telefax also)


I believe YAC  is part of future.   Imho Also ASIC  business (or some near future technology things)  do not easy destroy this.

hero member
Activity: 693
Merit: 500
September 25, 2014, 09:23:35 AM
There's yac.coinmine.pl, yac.m-s-t.org and I've heard there's a new one called tumblingblock but I haven't tried it.

Solo mining is where I'm at right now - there's no shame or fear there.  If you don't know how to do it, google "solo mine dogecoin" or "solo mine litecoin" or "solo mine any coin" - the instructions are all nearly the same.

links are obsolete because people come and go - the coin is nearly 1.5 years old now.  If you want to start a P2P mining ring, go for it, but I don't think that idea has ever really lasted long

your comment about an "insiders club" makes me laugh - you realize we _WANT_ people to mine YAC, right?  That's kind of the point... Jumping to conclusions and spreading FUD is not warranted.

European pool? - Silly me - I always assumed Poland was in Europe?  When did it move?
Qxw
full member
Activity: 203
Merit: 100
September 25, 2014, 01:54:15 AM
@Thirtybird; @devlin

Thanks. Good clarification.

--------
Network hash rate have rised over 130kh/s
But, where are pools?
I can see 2 pools what have around <40kh/s.
I can not find any p2p pools and I can not find pools where are rest miners.
Is this page 1. pools list updated?

I wonder if there is so much solo miners?

Example I do not want solo mine (and also not know exactly how to do it)  with my poor average 2.8kh/s hash power (only this amount I can use for YAC because my R9 280x rigs really are not at all for N16 (they can but N16 is really not for these radeons)

How can find p2p nodes? In YAC coin information side and here page one many links are obsolete.
It is not good for coin in long run if it is some kind of "insiders club". Informatrion need be updated.

Where are european pools (p2p or others). Today I use pool what have shortest ping for me and it is still  moderate high ~90ms.
sr. member
Activity: 272
Merit: 250
September 24, 2014, 03:53:38 PM
Hi,

Difficulty  around 70 is not a typo:

"difficulty" : 0.00108411,
(block 723537)

So difficulty for mining  is aprox. 71.01  (  0.00108411 * 65.5K  = aprox  71.009 ) you find a block with a share >= 71.009

hero member
Activity: 693
Merit: 500
September 24, 2014, 03:48:35 PM
It looks like the difficultly has begun to stabilize around 70.  

I think this is typo and you mean hash rate.


No, he meant difficulty - as reported in the mining software.  For some reason (I never cared enough to figure out), the mining software reports difficulty as the network difficulty * 65536.  So the ~0.00106 difficulty * 65536 = 70.


Qxw
full member
Activity: 203
Merit: 100
September 24, 2014, 02:38:16 PM
It looks like the difficultly has begun to stabilize around 70.  

I think this is typo and you mean hash rate.
YAcoin network hashrate chart.
5. Sep drop is of course due to Nfactor change from 15 to 16  what naturally drops  hash rate.

Here YAC difficulty chart

N factor change itself do not perhaps explain all whole 5th September drop in Network hash rate.  There is perhaps also some mining hardwares  what have difficulties with N16 but still works well with lower N factor so they have better profit example with some N14 coin.

hero member
Activity: 802
Merit: 1003
GCVMMWH
September 24, 2014, 02:32:25 PM
I'm looking to add to our team of core programmers. There is much to be done for 0.4.5. Anyone is welcome! Send me a PM or "apply" in this thread. Better yet, submit a pull on github Wink
hero member
Activity: 802
Merit: 1003
GCVMMWH
September 24, 2014, 01:00:36 PM
It looks like the difficultly has begun to stabilize around 70.  I've been checking about once or twice a day, and I haven't seen it go past 68-72 in about a week.  That makes each block 'worth' about 78 YAC, giving about 112k new YAC per day.

That's about .38 BTC per day at current exchange. Yacoin is so underpriced it's almost unbelievable!
legendary
Activity: 1918
Merit: 1012
★Nitrogensports.eu★
September 24, 2014, 12:37:41 PM
It looks like the difficultly has begun to stabilize around 70.  I've been checking about once or twice a day, and I haven't seen it go past 68-72 in about a week.  That makes each block 'worth' about 78 YAC, giving about 112k new YAC per day.
Pages:
Jump to: