Pages:
Author

Topic: Antminer S2 Support and Overclocking Thread - page 3. (Read 26595 times)

newbie
Activity: 32
Merit: 0
September 13, 2014, 01:47:01 AM
#72
it looks like the freq_value is in hex.


Has anyone tested any higher settings with success? if so let me know so I can update this thread for others to try out. I am running stable at 1.11TH for over a week less than 0.45% HW errors


good idea, but i haven't tested it!
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1076
BTCLife.global participant
September 08, 2014, 07:34:33 PM
#71
Looks so.
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 501
September 08, 2014, 06:22:14 PM
#70
Well, at least we have a cgminer update for S3s: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.8731716

I wish I had me some S3 units to test and mess around with! We're all still waiting for Bitmain to update our firmware which is extremely older then the s3, I guess they only care about the new product line.
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1076
BTCLife.global participant
September 08, 2014, 02:00:50 PM
#69
Well, at least we have a cgminer update for S3s: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.8731716
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 501
September 07, 2014, 01:49:17 AM
#68
I'm tired of wait when the new firmware for S2 will be released....

I keep checking the website and github everyday :/
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1076
BTCLife.global participant
September 07, 2014, 12:55:42 AM
#67
I'm tired of waiting when the new firmware for S2 will be released....
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 501
Pushing the s2 a little harder and I'm glad I re-did the heat sinks or my temps would be extremely high

Pool says I'm averaging between 1.10-1.20TH/s

High hardware error rate but kind of low difficulty rejects.

Hardware Error Rate - 3.579 %
http://www.coincadence.com/antminer-s1-hardware-error/

hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 501
Pushing it at 225mhz now. Timeout set to 30 seconds. Anyone have better results adjusting the timeout seconds?
legendary
Activity: 1167
Merit: 1009
Then for you it's time to overclock your S2.  Cool

I'm officially over clocked and running a 1300 watt PSU from EVGA their Supernova Model. I'll post results one it steady itself out at 219mhz.

Good choice on the Power supply this is one of my favorites plus 10 year warranty cant go wrong
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 501
Then for you it's time to overclock your S2.  Cool

I'm officially over clocked and running a 1300 watt PSU from EVGA their Supernova Model. I'll post results one it steady itself out at 219mhz.
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1076
BTCLife.global participant
Sure it's only my S2.  Roll Eyes
But now I'm at slush's because of better ping.
legendary
Activity: 1316
Merit: 1003
225 Mhz, 1,207.93 GHash/s at ozco.in pool. Continue to monitor.  Cool
Thats the whole pool, right? Wink
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1076
BTCLife.global participant
225 Mhz, 1,207.93 GHash/s at ozco.in pool. Continue to monitor.  Cool
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 501
Then for you it's time to overclock your S2.  Cool

I had it running at 200 then at 212 but reset it to stock when I did the boards. Only have the original PSU so I can only push it so far before it's all hardware errors :/
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1076
BTCLife.global participant
Then for you it's time to overclock your S2.  Cool
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 501
Cleaned and applied Antec Formula 6 Nano diamond on the bottom 2 boards but ran out before I could compete the other 8. Huge drop in temperature,  usually stayed about 49-52c now 45-47c.

newbie
Activity: 53
Merit: 0
Modified with a time of day asic speed schedule -

Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl

use strict;

my %schedule = (
        0 => [ 218, 218,218,218,218,218,218, 218,218,218,218,218,218, 218,218,206,206,206,206, 206,218,218,218,218, ],
        1 => [ 218, 218,218,218,218,218,218, 218,218,218,218,218,218, 218,218,206,206,206,206, 206,218,218,218,218, ],
        2 => [ 218, 218,218,218,218,218,218, 218,218,206,206,206,206, 206,206,196,196,196,196, 196,206,206,206,196, ],
        3 => [ 196, 196,196,196,196,196,196, 196,196,206,206,206,206, 206,206,196,196,196,196, 196,206,206,206,196, ],
        4 => [ 196, 196,196,196,196,196,196, 196,196,206,206,206,206, 206,206,196,196,196,196, 196,206,206,206,196, ],
        5 => [ 196, 196,196,196,196,196,196, 196,196,206,206,206,206, 206,206,206,206,206,206, 206,218,218,218,218, ],
        6 => [ 218, 218,218,218,218,218,218, 218,218,218,218,218,218, 218,218,206,206,206,206, 206,218,218,218,218 ],
);

my ($hour, $wday) = (localtime(time))[2,6];

my $s2pooldata = `echo "pools|" | nc 192.168.1.99 4028`;
chomp($s2pooldata);
my $currclock = `sshpass -p 'admin' ssh -o UserKnownHostsFile=/dev/null -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no root\@192.168.1.99 ps w | grep 115200 | grep bitmain | grep -v grep | tr -s ' ' ' ' | cut -d'-' -f2- | cut -d' ' -f4 | cut -d':' -f5`;
chomp($currclock);

my $RESTART = 0;

if ( $s2pooldata =~ /btcguild/ ) {
        system("sshpass -p 'admin' scp -o UserKnownHostsFile=/dev/null -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no /path/to/s2-cgminer.conf root\@192.168.1.99:/config/cgminer.conf");
        $RESTART = 1;
}

if ( $currclock !~ /${$schedule{$wday}}[$hour]/ ) {
        my $asicfile = "asic-freq.config." . ${$schedule{$wday}}[$hour];
        system("sshpass -p 'admin' scp -o UserKnownHostsFile=/dev/null -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no /path/to/$asicfile root\@192.168.1.99:/config/asic-freq.config");
        system("sshpass -p 'admin' ssh -o UserKnownHostsFile=/dev/null -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no root\@192.168.1.99 cp /config/asic-freq.config /etc/asic-freq.config");
        $RESTART = 1;
}

if ( $RESTART == 1 ) {
        system("sshpass -p 'admin' ssh -o UserKnownHostsFile=/dev/null -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no root\@192.168.1.99 /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop");
        sleep 5;
        system("sshpass -p 'admin' ssh -o UserKnownHostsFile=/dev/null -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no root\@192.168.1.99 /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh start");
}


In my case I use it to keep my room from getting insanely hot while I'm here and more specifically, while I'm trying to sleep (like I would and should be right now if the room wasn't insanely hot from it running at 206, lol) ... could be useful for anyone on time of day hydro billing though if they wanted to run it at lower clocks during the more expensive times ...


This requires, for my specific schedule values -

s2-cgminer.conf
asic-freq.config.196
asic-freq.config.206
asic-freq.config.218

files to be in the current directory or an absolute path to them specified ...
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 501
What exactly do the timeouts do for the chips? I'm doing 200mhz @ 36 for timeout because 40 seemed to high
newbie
Activity: 53
Merit: 0
As I understood we can run Kano's compiled cgminer under latest stock Bitmain's firmware. We just need some linux geek who has a little free time to try it.  Roll Eyes

I couldn't get it to work even with all the linking and everything else mentioned in Kano's README, it would hang after launch ... even if you could get it to work, you'd lose all your changes after a reboot (since you either have to overwrite cgminer or modify /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh), so you'd might as well just be running Kano's firmware ...

Yeah, 225/6386 thus far (30 minutes in) is giving me about the same hashrate (0.85% increase), and more than double the hardware errors (7.43% vs. 2.33%) ...
What was your value for 'timeout' and where did you get it from?

I don't recall ... I started with the values at the top of this thread but the timeouts seemed to go in the wrong direction compared to the stock config, and to a degree, logic (getting longer with higher clocks), so I flipped them around and use 36 on 218 ... I probably used 35 on 225 ...
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1076
BTCLife.global participant
~1.08 TH average over several hours on nicehash, 218 clocks, latest stock firmware
1.12 TH average over several hours on multipool.us, 218 clocks, latest stock firmware
1.21 TH average over one hour on multipool.us, 218 clocks, Kano's firmware
CAN NOT use nicehash with Kano's firmware (invalid ntime errors)
As I understood we can run Kano's compiled cgminer under latest stock Bitmain's firmware. We just need some linux geek who has a little free time to try it.  Roll Eyes

Yeah, 225/6386 thus far (30 minutes in) is giving me about the same hashrate (0.85% increase), and more than double the hardware errors (7.43% vs. 2.33%) ...
What was your value for 'timeout' and where did you get it from?

p.s. by the way I have asked kano about his (or maybe her?  Roll Eyes ) plans about new firmware for S2 (or maybe even for S3) and I hope I will not be the one who is ready to donate him for this job...
Pages:
Jump to: