Pages:
Author

Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread - page 96. (Read 521763 times)

newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
October 25, 2013, 04:56:23 PM
Can't you just convert dice results to a private key yourself and import that into Armory?
Now I feel really lazy but is there any simple way to do this? Any offline open source tools available to do this? Or how exactly do I convert dice results into a private key?
hero member
Activity: 496
Merit: 500
October 25, 2013, 02:50:14 PM
I would not trust that I got the information into /dev/random correctly and that Armory really picked it up. I would really appreciate some sort of user interface inside of Armory that allowed me to input dice results (In expert mode ofc).

Can't you just convert dice results to a private key yourself and import that into Armory?
newbie
Activity: 25
Merit: 0
October 25, 2013, 02:23:13 PM
I just updated to OSX 10.9 and now my armory app is broken with this error in the console...
Code:
% /Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/     
% ./Armory
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 26, in
  File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/socket.py", line 47, in
    import _socket
ImportError: dlopen(/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload/_socket.so, 2): Symbol not found: __PyInt_AsInt
  Referenced from: /System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload/_socket.so
  Expected in: flat namespace
 in /System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload/_socket.so

Looks like I just have to install something can someone point me in the right direction?

Is this the .dmg/app that was downloaded from our website?  Or did you follow Red Emerald's instructions to build it yourself?  Because that's clearly referencing system libraries, which I'm pretty sure the .dmg is not supposed to do (it's supposed to be totally isolated).  Perhaps that's a hint for why it doesn't work on some systems?

I have some stuff from picobit to try, which may improve the OSX compatibility.  But I'm still getting caught up with some other things.  Maybe someone else wants to try what he produced and give me a review? Smiley  My new Mac Mini isn't sufficiently setup to try it yet.

Yes it is the application downloaded from your site.

I can confirm this issue. DMG from Armory Website used to function properly in 10.8 but I get the same error after updating to Mavericks.
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
October 25, 2013, 08:56:43 AM
Hello, is there currently any plans for adding support for generating single bitcoin addresses or whole wallets using own entropy? From lets say a dice like this: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/e5/Dice_%28typical_role_playing_game_dice%29.jpg

Maybe you could write your dice results directly to /dev/random

I would not trust that I got the information into /dev/random correctly and that Armory really picked it up. I would really appreciate some sort of user interface inside of Armory that allowed me to input dice results (In expert mode ofc).
member
Activity: 96
Merit: 10
October 24, 2013, 09:43:29 PM
When unlocking the first wallet after an install, all the numbers on the onscreen keyboard start with a "#" symbol, presumably so you can easily differentiate numbers from letters on the pad, but when you press the number on the onscreen keyboard, two digits are entered into the field, presumably the # and the number you want.

So if you want to enter "3" as part of your password, you press the [#3] button on the onscreen keyboard, but "#3" are entered into the field.

THEN when making new wallets or changing the paraphrases there is no onscreen keyboard at all...

Am I missing something?


cp1
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Stop using branwallets
October 24, 2013, 06:17:47 PM
Hello, is there currently any plans for adding support for generating single bitcoin addresses or whole wallets using own entropy? From lets say a dice like this: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/e5/Dice_%28typical_role_playing_game_dice%29.jpg

Maybe you could write your dice results directly to /dev/random
full member
Activity: 226
Merit: 100
October 24, 2013, 06:06:45 PM
Hello, is there currently any plans for adding support for generating single bitcoin addresses or whole wallets using own entropy? From lets say a dice like this: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/e5/Dice_%28typical_role_playing_game_dice%29.jpg

I am looking forward to hooking up my Geiger counter to my offline pc and fiddling around with the plutonium I bought on SR while counting how many seconds my lava lamp takes to produce or merge a new bubble for even more entropy  ;-)

Edit: I love the idea by the way!
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
October 24, 2013, 04:38:44 PM
Hello, is there currently any plans for adding support for generating single bitcoin addresses or whole wallets using own entropy? From lets say a dice like this: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/e5/Dice_%28typical_role_playing_game_dice%29.jpg
legendary
Activity: 1428
Merit: 1093
Core Armory Developer
October 23, 2013, 01:54:06 PM
I just updated to OSX 10.9 and now my armory app is broken with this error in the console...
Code:
% /Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/     
% ./Armory
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 26, in
  File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/socket.py", line 47, in
    import _socket
ImportError: dlopen(/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload/_socket.so, 2): Symbol not found: __PyInt_AsInt
  Referenced from: /System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload/_socket.so
  Expected in: flat namespace
 in /System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload/_socket.so

Looks like I just have to install something can someone point me in the right direction?

Is this the .dmg/app that was downloaded from our website?  Or did you follow Red Emerald's instructions to build it yourself?  Because that's clearly referencing system libraries, which I'm pretty sure the .dmg is not supposed to do (it's supposed to be totally isolated).  Perhaps that's a hint for why it doesn't work on some systems?

I have some stuff from picobit to try, which may improve the OSX compatibility.  But I'm still getting caught up with some other things.  Maybe someone else wants to try what he produced and give me a review? Smiley  My new Mac Mini isn't sufficiently setup to try it yet.
member
Activity: 75
Merit: 10
October 23, 2013, 12:51:03 PM
I want to know if developing a version for OS X Mavericks. Thanks !
legendary
Activity: 3430
Merit: 3079
October 18, 2013, 06:01:57 PM
Feature request: make the number of change addresses configurable via a minimum and maximum setting.

Maybe instead of just one change address, I want a random number between 2 and 5.

Then my regular transactions would start to look like CoinJoin transactions.

Seconded.
legendary
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1013
October 18, 2013, 04:41:23 PM
Feature request: make the number of change addresses configurable via a minimum and maximum setting.

Maybe instead of just one change address, I want a random number between 2 and 5.

Then my regular transactions would start to look like CoinJoin transactions.
jr. member
Activity: 56
Merit: 1
October 18, 2013, 04:30:01 PM
When we can expect to see the multi-sig transactions? That would be awesome! Smiley

It's on the to do list.   Need the new wallets first, but gotta finish RAM reduction before that.  Luckily, there's a lot of new capability I can implement with the new wallets, since that will also include BIP32, and so I'm placing it high on my priority list.   

Be patient :-)  it's coming.


i got really excited because i read it's 95% done Smiley
so decided to get better idea, like exact date for example Smiley
just kidding, but if you have raw estimation that would make my day Smiley
member
Activity: 72
Merit: 10
October 18, 2013, 08:01:32 AM
Big Thanks!!! It Works!!! Smiley
so simply Wink

legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1360
Armory Developer
October 18, 2013, 07:08:13 AM
OK... i switched to branch "testing"
My OS is 64-bit ( Linux xxxxx 3.4.9-gentoo #5 SMP Sun Feb 19 13:41:22 CET 2013 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9550 @ 2.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux)

Now I see error on compilation:

Code:
ar -cr   libcryptopp.a xtr.o integer.o seed.o wake.o default.o skipjack.o osrng.o arc4.o gost.o hmac.o hex.o esign.o randpool.o sharkbox.o base32.o files.o dessp.o fips140.o eprecomp.o dsa.o polynomi.o winpipes.o vmac.o md2.o fipstest.o ccm.o simple.o queue.o xtrcrypt.o gf256.o cmac.o authenc.o idea.o oaep.o squaretb.o pkcspad.o emsa2.o sha.o network.o eax.o rijndael.o rc5.o square.o algparam.o elgamal.o zlib.o dh2.o camellia.o ecp.o adler32.o wait.o iterhash.o safer.o rc2.o gf2n.o ida.o shark.o md5.o shacal2.o ttmac.o tea.o serpent.o eccrypto.o ripemd.o gcm.o pubkey.o trdlocal.o salsa.o seal.o luc.o hrtimer.o crc.o tigertab.o mqv.o dh.o bfinit.o cryptlib_bds.o whrlpool.o rw.o cast.o tiger.o rng.o channels.o asn.o zinflate.o pssr.o misc.o mqueue.o rc6.o base64.o zdeflate.o basecode.o des.o blowfish.o blumshub.o ec2n.o dll.o gfpcrypt.o cryptlib.o algebra.o strciphr.o casts.o modes.o md4.o nbtheory.o socketft.o twofish.o tftables.o pch.o cbcmac.o rsa.o rdtables.o sosemanuk.o 3way.o gf2_32.o gzip.o rabin.o filters.o cpu.o
ranlib libcryptopp.a
make[2]: Opuszczenie katalogu `/xxxxx/BitcoinArmory/cppForSwig/cryptopp'
cd leveldb; make libleveldb.a; mv libleveldb.a ..
make[2]: Wejście do katalogu `/xxxxx/BitcoinArmory/cppForSwig/leveldb'
g++ -I. -I./include -fno-builtin-memcmp -pthread -DOS_LINUX -DLEVELDB_PLATFORM_POSIX -fPIC -O2 -DNDEBUG        -c db/builder.cc -o db/builder.o
g++ -I. -I./include -fno-builtin-memcmp -pthread -DOS_LINUX -DLEVELDB_PLATFORM_POSIX -fPIC -O2 -DNDEBUG        -c db/c.cc -o db/c.o
db/c.cc: In function ‘bool SaveError(char**, const leveldb::Status&)’:
db/c.cc:141:42: error: ‘_strdup’ was not declared in this scope
db/c.cc:145:42: error: ‘_strdup’ was not declared in this scope
db/c.cc: In function ‘char* leveldb_property_value(leveldb_t*, const char*)’:
db/c.cc:250:30: error: ‘_strdup’ was not declared in this scope
make[2]: *** [db/c.o] Błąd 1
make[2]: Opuszczenie katalogu `/xxxxx/BitcoinArmory/cppForSwig/leveldb'
mv: nie można wykonać stat na `libleveldb.a': Nie ma takiego pliku ani katalogu
make[1]: *** [libleveldb.a] Błąd 1
make[1]: Opuszczenie katalogu `/xxxxx/BitcoinArmory/cppForSwig'
make: *** [all] Błąd 2

"Błąd" mean "Error" Wink


In the leveldb folder, there's is a file called c.cc. At the top of the file there's a line that looks like this:
#define strdup _strdup

delete that line or comment it out.
member
Activity: 72
Merit: 10
October 18, 2013, 06:17:55 AM
OK... i switched to branch "testing"
My OS is 64-bit ( Linux xxxxx 3.4.9-gentoo #5 SMP Sun Feb 19 13:41:22 CET 2013 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9550 @ 2.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux)

Now I see error on compilation:

Code:
ar -cr   libcryptopp.a xtr.o integer.o seed.o wake.o default.o skipjack.o osrng.o arc4.o gost.o hmac.o hex.o esign.o randpool.o sharkbox.o base32.o files.o dessp.o fips140.o eprecomp.o dsa.o polynomi.o winpipes.o vmac.o md2.o fipstest.o ccm.o simple.o queue.o xtrcrypt.o gf256.o cmac.o authenc.o idea.o oaep.o squaretb.o pkcspad.o emsa2.o sha.o network.o eax.o rijndael.o rc5.o square.o algparam.o elgamal.o zlib.o dh2.o camellia.o ecp.o adler32.o wait.o iterhash.o safer.o rc2.o gf2n.o ida.o shark.o md5.o shacal2.o ttmac.o tea.o serpent.o eccrypto.o ripemd.o gcm.o pubkey.o trdlocal.o salsa.o seal.o luc.o hrtimer.o crc.o tigertab.o mqv.o dh.o bfinit.o cryptlib_bds.o whrlpool.o rw.o cast.o tiger.o rng.o channels.o asn.o zinflate.o pssr.o misc.o mqueue.o rc6.o base64.o zdeflate.o basecode.o des.o blowfish.o blumshub.o ec2n.o dll.o gfpcrypt.o cryptlib.o algebra.o strciphr.o casts.o modes.o md4.o nbtheory.o socketft.o twofish.o tftables.o pch.o cbcmac.o rsa.o rdtables.o sosemanuk.o 3way.o gf2_32.o gzip.o rabin.o filters.o cpu.o
ranlib libcryptopp.a
make[2]: Opuszczenie katalogu `/xxxxx/BitcoinArmory/cppForSwig/cryptopp'
cd leveldb; make libleveldb.a; mv libleveldb.a ..
make[2]: Wejście do katalogu `/xxxxx/BitcoinArmory/cppForSwig/leveldb'
g++ -I. -I./include -fno-builtin-memcmp -pthread -DOS_LINUX -DLEVELDB_PLATFORM_POSIX -fPIC -O2 -DNDEBUG        -c db/builder.cc -o db/builder.o
g++ -I. -I./include -fno-builtin-memcmp -pthread -DOS_LINUX -DLEVELDB_PLATFORM_POSIX -fPIC -O2 -DNDEBUG        -c db/c.cc -o db/c.o
db/c.cc: In function ‘bool SaveError(char**, const leveldb::Status&)’:
db/c.cc:141:42: error: ‘_strdup’ was not declared in this scope
db/c.cc:145:42: error: ‘_strdup’ was not declared in this scope
db/c.cc: In function ‘char* leveldb_property_value(leveldb_t*, const char*)’:
db/c.cc:250:30: error: ‘_strdup’ was not declared in this scope
make[2]: *** [db/c.o] Błąd 1
make[2]: Opuszczenie katalogu `/xxxxx/BitcoinArmory/cppForSwig/leveldb'
mv: nie można wykonać stat na `libleveldb.a': Nie ma takiego pliku ani katalogu
make[1]: *** [libleveldb.a] Błąd 1
make[1]: Opuszczenie katalogu `/xxxxx/BitcoinArmory/cppForSwig'
make: *** [all] Błąd 2

"Błąd" mean "Error" Wink
legendary
Activity: 1428
Merit: 1093
Core Armory Developer
October 17, 2013, 04:43:08 PM
When we can expect to see the multi-sig transactions? That would be awesome! Smiley

It's on the to do list.   Need the new wallets first, but gotta finish RAM reduction before that.  Luckily, there's a lot of new capability I can implement with the new wallets, since that will also include BIP32, and so I'm placing it high on my priority list.   

Be patient :-)  it's coming.
jr. member
Activity: 56
Merit: 1
October 17, 2013, 04:39:39 PM
When we can expect to see the multi-sig transactions? That would be awesome! Smiley
legendary
Activity: 1428
Merit: 1093
Core Armory Developer
October 17, 2013, 12:02:41 PM
I still can make working ramreduceleveldb version :/
I realy want to have working armory but I have only 4GB on my hardware...
Yesterday I try to install leveldb with snappy support and still have same problem

Any sugestion ?

Make sure you have installed all the packages listed here:

http://bitcoinarmory.com/download/building-armory-from-source/

And then make sure you switch to the "testing" branch, not "ramreduceleveldb".  The only other thing you might need to do is modify the BitcoinArmory/cppForSwig/Makefile, but I think I have a fix for that soon (thanks Goatpig!).  Today I'll try integrating & testing it, and push it to the testing branch.

What OS are you in?  32-bit or 64-bit?

By the way, you don't need the leveldb or snappy packages.  Everything you need (wrt LevelDB) is included in the project.
member
Activity: 72
Merit: 10
October 17, 2013, 10:03:17 AM
I still can make working ramreduceleveldb version :/
I realy want to have working armory but I have only 4GB on my hardware...
Yesterday I try to install leveldb with snappy support and still have same problem

Any sugestion ?
Pages:
Jump to: