Pages:
Author

Topic: Avalon users: bitcoind and slush's/generalfaults mining pool setup - page 8. (Read 39216 times)

full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100
Thats a no to python3 as far as  I know, I havent seen the error before, did the stats still display?

Maybe ask in this https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-stratum-mining-protocol-asic-ready-108533

Its the forum for the pool software.
full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100
Bitcoind packages are available fro the same places as the libdb libraries, I have not tried them I assume they work, someone in the other thread for the eloipool said they were having trouble with binaries.

32bit

https://launchpad.net/~bitcoin/+archive/bitcoin/+files/bitcoind_0.8.1-quantal1_i386.deb

64bit

https://launchpad.net/~bitcoin/+archive/bitcoin/+files/bitcoind_0.8.1-quantal1_amd64.deb

hero member
Activity: 481
Merit: 500
Seems to work,

I'm getting this though from the status web page (port 8889):

stratum-mining/lib/basic_stats.py, line 99 in render_GET
97                  wc = "#0A0"
98                r+="%s%s/%s%s/%s%s"%(
99                        wc,wi,format(int(wd["speed"]),"n"),wd["difficulty"],format(int(wd["total_shares"]),"n"),
100                        format(int(wd["total_rejects"]),"n"),format(int(wd["total_found"]),"n"))

: int() argument must be a string or a number, not 'NoneType'
It's complaining about line 99.


Does this require Python3?

Edit:  Also getting untracked shares - what does that mean?

[2013-04-05 13:09:27] Accepted untracked stratum share from pool 0
[2013-04-05 13:09:32] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
[2013-04-05 13:09:57] Accepted untracked stratum share from pool 0
[2013-04-05 13:10:34] Accepted 0da078b4 Diff 18/6 GPU 1 pool 0
hero member
Activity: 481
Merit: 500
But the proxy is communicating with bitcoind using getworks, what's the difference? This makes sense for a remote installation, but I don't see how it makes sense for a local install?
legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
Why is the stratum proxy necessary. Can't you mine directly against the bitcoind (with getwork)? What benefit does the stratum bit do if bitcoind is on a local network?

Edit:  Also, can you use the regular bitcoind binaries instead of the latest git?

regular getwork can't handle the load from what i understand.  the speed of the asics is too much for the standard bitcoind/getwork system so slush designed stratum.  if you look at the code tictok has provided above, you see that you are installing stratum software locally to enable this process.

someone who knows the specifics could explain more thoroughly.
hero member
Activity: 481
Merit: 500
Why is the stratum proxy necessary. Can't you mine directly against the bitcoind (with getwork)? What benefit does the stratum bit do if bitcoind is on a local network?

Edit:  Also, can you use the regular bitcoind binaries instead of the latest git?
legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
would this work also in 12.04 LTS which might arguably be a  little more stable?
full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100
Don't know ignore it. It still works.
legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
why am i seeing "unexpected operator"?

Code:
joe@cypher:~/git/stratum-mining$ ./scripts/generateAdminHash.sh password
./scripts/generateAdminHash.sh: 3: [: xpassword: unexpected operator
5e884898da28047151d0e56f8dc6292773603d0d6aabbdd62a11ef721d1542d8
joe@cypher:~/git/stratum-mining$
full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100
you should be able to run it from anywhere if you copied it to /user/local/bin in the instructions.

just type bitcoind flags you need here

eg to test on testnet

Code:
bitcoind -testnet -daemon
legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
great.  i've gotten all the way down to connecting to testnet.

now i need to point one of my gpu miners at it to see if i can get any blocks when i get a chance.

how do i run bitcoind now and from what directory?
full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100
Someone asked me in pm about installing it on the 64bit version of ubuntu.

You just download and install the 64bit version of the libdb libraries.

Code:
wget https://launchpad.net/~bitcoin/+archive/bitcoin/+files/libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_amd64.deb
wget https://launchpad.net/~bitcoin/+archive/bitcoin/+files/libdb4.8-dev_4.8.30-quantal2_amd64.deb
wget https://launchpad.net/~bitcoin/+archive/bitcoin/+files/libdb4.8%2B%2B_4.8.30-quantal2_amd64.deb
wget https://launchpad.net/~bitcoin/+archive/bitcoin/+files/libdb4.8%2B%2B-dev_4.8.30-quantal2_amd64.deb


sudo dkpg -i libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_amd64.deb
sudo dkpg -i libdb4.8-dev_4.8.30-quantal2_amd64.deb
sudo dkpg -i libdb4.8%2B%2B_4.8.30-quantal2_amd64.deb
sudo dkpg -i libdb4.8%2B%2B-dev_4.8.30-quantal2_amd64.deb
full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100
Yeah its wrong ment to be

Code:
sudo dpkg -i libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_i386.deb

Was a bit tired when i was doing the final edit of it on bt talk.

Sorry Smiley

I have edited the main post to fix it, let me know if you have any more trouble, some reason I am not getting notifications for the thread.

Also if you installing something you have download you can always type part of the file name and hit tab and it will auto fill on the command line if it can.
legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
is this a problem?

Code:
joe@cypher:~/git$ sudo dpkg -i libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_i386.debsudo dkpg
dpkg: error processing libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_i386.debsudo (--install):
 cannot access archive: No such file or directory
dpkg: error processing dkpg (--install):
 cannot access archive: No such file or directory
Errors were encountered while processing:
 libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_i386.debsudo
 dkpg

Come on, the"sudo dpkg" after "deb" is redundant, remove them, it's just a copy/paste problem.

Actually, I copied and pasted perfectly.  Wink

S'all Greek to me  Grin
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 1000
is this a problem?

Code:
joe@cypher:~/git$ sudo dpkg -i libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_i386.debsudo dkpg
dpkg: error processing libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_i386.debsudo (--install):
 cannot access archive: No such file or directory
dpkg: error processing dkpg (--install):
 cannot access archive: No such file or directory
Errors were encountered while processing:
 libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_i386.debsudo
 dkpg

Come on, the"sudo dpkg" after "deb" is redundant, remove them, it's just a copy/paste problem.
legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
is this a problem?

Code:
joe@cypher:~/git$ sudo dpkg -i libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_i386.debsudo dkpg
dpkg: error processing libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_i386.debsudo (--install):
 cannot access archive: No such file or directory
dpkg: error processing dkpg (--install):
 cannot access archive: No such file or directory
Errors were encountered while processing:
 libdb4.8_4.8.30-quantal2_i386.debsudo
 dkpg
full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100
Just guessing, but searching the forums to see what some of the pools were using for their hardware. From what I can find it will be fine. Id assume slush's server has 48 to 64gig of ram in it and that has about 20k connections to it.
legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
If you mean 8gig of ram, then yes should be fine, most probably over kill for a couple of avalons Smiley


To the above person who asked about merged mining, I dont know anything about namecoin. Someone posted in the stratum pool software thread that they got it working on litecoin and were going to re-release the software. Maybe post in that thread?


do you think i could point 3 Avalons at this one server with 8G of ram?
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
If you mean 8gig of ram, then yes should be fine, most probably over kill for a couple of avalons Smiley


To the above person who asked about merged mining, I dont know anything about namecoin. Someone posted in the stratum pool software thread that they got it working on litecoin and were going to re-release the software. Maybe post in that thread?


10X
I will check
full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100
If you mean 8gig of ram, then yes should be fine, most probably over kill for a couple of avalons Smiley


To the above person who asked about merged mining, I dont know anything about namecoin. Someone posted in the stratum pool software thread that they got it working on litecoin and were going to re-release the software. Maybe post in that thread?
Pages:
Jump to: