Pages:
Author

Topic: BFGMiner 5.5.0: CPU/GPU/FPGA/ASIC mining software, GBT+Stratum, RPC, Linux/Win64 - page 49. (Read 834507 times)

full member
Activity: 207
Merit: 100
Victory is mine! It works now. Seems to be hashing around 37 GH/s.

Any thoughts on why it's running slower than it should? I've read that the USB cable is crap, so I ordered a new A-B one. Will try testing with that.
hero member
Activity: 725
Merit: 503
Seems it's not my 3G connection but something is really weird, when I arrived at the cabin bfg had crashed and said "No availiable pools" but during the better part of this week bfg had been unstable during the day, but stable during the nights.

I suspect some complex interaction between bfgminer and the 3G connection causes this. I guess the only proper thing to do is to fix a VPN so I can access the cabin from the city with a linux machine instead of my windows "oculus rift" gaming rig...

Oh, well, I'm going slush solo for now to see if that makes things stabler so expect a DDoS on slush any day now.
full member
Activity: 207
Merit: 100
Victory is mine! It works now. Seems to be hashing around 37 GH/s.
full member
Activity: 207
Merit: 100
What version of git itself? 1.7.10.4.
Hm, so pretty old. Maybe that's related.

How do I make sure I have an updated libblmaker besides doing what I've done?
git log inside the libblkmaker directory should show e9cd82be9352d502fce9df696a8933567e1e00a4 as the top commit.

You can use the git fetch command followed by git checkout v0.5.1 if it isn't.

Seemed to work. I was able to compile and run.

Testing the U3 is inconclusive however. It doesn't seem to run at the appropriate speed; running at 2 GH/s. Often with 80+% HW.
Are you using the antminer driver for it? -S antminer:/dev/ttyUSB0

Code:
./bfgminer -d? -S antminer:/dev/ttyUSB7

 [2015-03-17 20:54:53] Started bfgminer 5.1.0-31-g3bc0b32
 [2015-03-17 20:54:54] Devices detected:
 [2015-03-17 20:54:54]  CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller by Silicon Labs (driver=antminer; procs=4; serial=0001; path=/dev/ttyUSB7)
1 devices listed
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
What version of git itself? 1.7.10.4.
Hm, so pretty old. Maybe that's related.

How do I make sure I have an updated libblmaker besides doing what I've done?
git log inside the libblkmaker directory should show e9cd82be9352d502fce9df696a8933567e1e00a4 as the top commit.

You can use the git fetch command followed by git checkout v0.5.1 if it isn't.

Seemed to work. I was able to compile and run.

Testing the U3 is inconclusive however. It doesn't seem to run at the appropriate speed; running at 2 GH/s. Often with 80+% HW.
Are you using the antminer driver for it? -S antminer:/dev/ttyUSB0
full member
Activity: 207
Merit: 100
What version of git itself? 1.7.10.4.
Hm, so pretty old. Maybe that's related.

How do I make sure I have an updated libblmaker besides doing what I've done?
git log inside the libblkmaker directory should show e9cd82be9352d502fce9df696a8933567e1e00a4 as the top commit.

You can use the git fetch command followed by git checkout v0.5.1 if it isn't.

Seemed to work. I was able to compile and run.

Testing the U3 is inconclusive however. It doesn't seem to run at the appropriate speed; running at 2 GH/s. Often with 80+% HW.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
What version of git itself? 1.7.10.4.
Hm, so pretty old. Maybe that's related.

How do I make sure I have an updated libblmaker besides doing what I've done?
git log inside the libblkmaker directory should show e9cd82be9352d502fce9df696a8933567e1e00a4 as the top commit.

You can use the git fetch command followed by git checkout v0.5.1 if it isn't.
full member
Activity: 207
Merit: 100
So what version of git? Wink

After making sure you have an updated libblkmaker, you can tell autogen.sh to skip submodules with:
NOSUBMODULES=1 ./autogen.sh

What version of git itself? 1.7.10.4.

How do I make sure I have an updated libblmaker besides doing what I've done?
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
So what version of git? Wink

After making sure you have an updated libblkmaker, you can tell autogen.sh to skip submodules with:
NOSUBMODULES=1 ./autogen.sh
full member
Activity: 207
Merit: 100
Before running autogen.sh, do:
git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker


Code:
$ git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
fatal: destination path 'libblkmaker' already exists and is not an empty directory.

Ah, this is an existing repo... Try this then:
( cd libblkmaker && git fetch git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker; )

Code:
~/u3test/bfgminer $ cd libblkmaker && git fetch git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
remote: Counting objects: 638, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (6/6), done.
remote: Total 638 (delta 34), reused 31 (delta 31), pack-reused 601
Receiving objects: 100% (638/638), 99.72 KiB, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (418/418), done.
From git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
 * branch            HEAD       -> FETCH_HEAD
~/u3test/bfgminer $ ./autogen.sh
Getting submodules...
Submodule 'ccan' () registered for path 'ccan-upstream'
Submodule 'knc-asic' () registered for path 'knc-asic'
Submodule 'libbase58' () registered for path 'libbase58'
Submodule 'libblkmaker' () registered for path 'libblkmaker'
fatal: Needed a single revision
Unable to find current revision in submodule path 'libblkmaker'
You skipped the git clone of libblkmaker in there...

What version of git? What is the output of:
git submodule status

I did skip the git clone. I did it after the autogen.sh gave me the error above, and then I got the first error, the unable to find current revision one.

Code:
git submodule status
 8b0bdb090e2882aa431e89f4bc7aa4736e9e2838 ccan-upstream (init-1884-g8b0bdb0)
 e75c9ba362466546a83f1e705b62510a0e0afc6c knc-asic (v2.3-4-ge75c9ba)
 b6adca8ebb12962374a9cd1f6b543186f0cf6a40 libbase58 (v0.1.3)
 e9cd82be9352d502fce9df696a8933567e1e00a4 libblkmaker (e9cd82b)
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
Before running autogen.sh, do:
git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker


Code:
$ git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
fatal: destination path 'libblkmaker' already exists and is not an empty directory.

Ah, this is an existing repo... Try this then:
( cd libblkmaker && git fetch git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker; )

Code:
~/u3test/bfgminer $ cd libblkmaker && git fetch git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
remote: Counting objects: 638, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (6/6), done.
remote: Total 638 (delta 34), reused 31 (delta 31), pack-reused 601
Receiving objects: 100% (638/638), 99.72 KiB, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (418/418), done.
From git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
 * branch            HEAD       -> FETCH_HEAD
~/u3test/bfgminer $ ./autogen.sh
Getting submodules...
Submodule 'ccan' () registered for path 'ccan-upstream'
Submodule 'knc-asic' () registered for path 'knc-asic'
Submodule 'libbase58' () registered for path 'libbase58'
Submodule 'libblkmaker' () registered for path 'libblkmaker'
fatal: Needed a single revision
Unable to find current revision in submodule path 'libblkmaker'
You skipped the git clone of libblkmaker in there...

What version of git? What is the output of:
git submodule status
full member
Activity: 207
Merit: 100
To clarify, I did a fresh run of this, and these are the full errors:

Code:
git clone git://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer
sudo get-apt install build-essential autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl4-gnutls-dev libjansson-dev uthash-dev libncursesw5-dev libudev-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libevent-dev libmicrohttpd-dev
cd bfgminer
./autogen.sh
~/u3test2/bfgminer $ ./autogen.sh
Getting submodules...
Submodule 'ccan' (git://git.ozlabs.org/~ccan/ccan) registered for path 'ccan-upstream'
Submodule 'knc-asic' (git://github.com/KnCMiner/knc-asic) registered for path 'knc-asic'
Submodule 'libbase58' (git://github.com/luke-jr/libbase58.git) registered for path 'libbase58'
Submodule 'libblkmaker' (git://gitorious.org/bitcoin/libblkmaker.git) registered for path 'libblkmaker'
Cloning into 'ccan-upstream'...
remote: Counting objects: 16823, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (5244/5244), done.
remote: Total 16823 (delta 12196), reused 15554 (delta 11341)
Receiving objects: 100% (16823/16823), 12.74 MiB | 645 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (12196/12196), done.
Submodule path 'ccan-upstream': checked out '8b0bdb090e2882aa431e89f4bc7aa4736e9e2838'
Cloning into 'knc-asic'...
remote: Counting objects: 898, done.
remote: Total 898 (delta 0), reused 0 (delta 0), pack-reused 898
Receiving objects: 100% (898/898), 2.76 MiB | 675 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (586/586), done.
Submodule path 'knc-asic': checked out 'e75c9ba362466546a83f1e705b62510a0e0afc6c'
Cloning into 'libbase58'...
remote: Counting objects: 167, done.
remote: Total 167 (delta 0), reused 0 (delta 0), pack-reused 167
Receiving objects: 100% (167/167), 29.15 KiB, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (95/95), done.
Submodule path 'libbase58': checked out 'b6adca8ebb12962374a9cd1f6b543186f0cf6a40'
Cloning into 'libblkmaker'...
fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly
Clone of 'git://gitorious.org/bitcoin/libblkmaker.git' into submodule path 'libblkmaker' failed
full member
Activity: 207
Merit: 100
Before running autogen.sh, do:
git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker


Code:
$ git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
fatal: destination path 'libblkmaker' already exists and is not an empty directory.

Ah, this is an existing repo... Try this then:
( cd libblkmaker && git fetch git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker; )

Code:
~/u3test/bfgminer $ cd libblkmaker && git fetch git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
remote: Counting objects: 638, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (6/6), done.
remote: Total 638 (delta 34), reused 31 (delta 31), pack-reused 601
Receiving objects: 100% (638/638), 99.72 KiB, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (418/418), done.
From git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
 * branch            HEAD       -> FETCH_HEAD
~/u3test/bfgminer $ ./autogen.sh
Getting submodules...
Submodule 'ccan' () registered for path 'ccan-upstream'
Submodule 'knc-asic' () registered for path 'knc-asic'
Submodule 'libbase58' () registered for path 'libbase58'
Submodule 'libblkmaker' () registered for path 'libblkmaker'
fatal: Needed a single revision
Unable to find current revision in submodule path 'libblkmaker'
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
Before running autogen.sh, do:
git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker


Code:
$ git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
fatal: destination path 'libblkmaker' already exists and is not an empty directory.

Ah, this is an existing repo... Try this then:
( cd libblkmaker && git fetch git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker; )
full member
Activity: 207
Merit: 100
Before running autogen.sh, do:
git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker


Code:
$ git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
fatal: destination path 'libblkmaker' already exists and is not an empty directory.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
Before running autogen.sh, do:
git clone git://github.com/bitcoin/libblkmaker
full member
Activity: 207
Merit: 100
I posted on github, but thought I'd post here.

When I autogen the present version of BFG, I get the following error:

Code:
./autogen.sh
Getting submodules...
Submodule 'ccan' () registered for path 'ccan-upstream'
Submodule 'knc-asic' () registered for path 'knc-asic'
Submodule 'libbase58' () registered for path 'libbase58'
Submodule 'libblkmaker' () registered for path 'libblkmaker'
fatal: Needed a single revision
Unable to find current revision in submodule path 'libblkmaker'

Thoughts?

[edit on Rasp Pi, raspbian]
hero member
Activity: 725
Merit: 503
Try a current version first.

It doesn't work well with the Monarch on Windows.

But I'm thinking the problem is my 3G operator and not f2pool which is now working and the pool uptime is still haywire... will check it out this weekend.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
I have this issue with bfgminer; when any pool in my list is attacked with DDoS bfg goes crazy and drops out all over the place.

First this happened to me with 1.ghash 2.slush when ghash whent upside down two weeks ago. Then bfg never connected to slush = zero revenue but full electric bill = not good.

Now when I have 1.slush 2.f2pool it happened again when f2pool was under attack! that's my secondary pool!!!

I think it might be due too:

1) My connection is 3G and the connection is dodgy = lots of reconnects.
2) I'm using BFLs old Monarch compatible bfgminer.

But how can I tell bfgminer to only connect to pools that behave good?
Try a current version first.
hero member
Activity: 725
Merit: 503
I have this issue with bfgminer; when any pool in my list is attacked with DDoS bfg goes crazy and drops out all over the place.

First this happened to me with 1.ghash 2.slush when ghash whent upside down two weeks ago. Then bfg never connected to slush = zero revenue but full electric bill = not good.

Now when I have 1.slush 2.f2pool it happened again when f2pool was under attack! that's my secondary pool!!!

I think it might be due too:

1) My connection is 3G and the connection is dodgy = lots of reconnects.
2) I'm using BFLs old Monarch compatible bfgminer.

But how can I tell bfgminer to only connect to pools that behave good?
Pages:
Jump to: