Pages:
Author

Topic: Bitcoin Is Property Not Currency - page 8. (Read 14732 times)

Activity: 658
Merit: 500
March 26, 2014, 03:04:31 AM
With BTC there isn't a broker so I assume you simply need to document your decision but I'm not a tax lawyer so I'm not really sure.

The blockchain is the most perfect broker record you could hope for.

With coin control you could sell exactly the coins you wanted to at exact the basis you wanted to at any time.  

How? as far as i know you can choose wallet to spend but btc are stored in transactions.

I can have bunch of tx in that wallet, but i cant pick the a specific one, correct?

I think you would need a custom wallet client to do this. Unless you can show one thats already done.
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
March 26, 2014, 02:51:12 AM
With BTC there isn't a broker so I assume you simply need to document your decision but I'm not a tax lawyer so I'm not really sure.

With coin control you could sell exactly the coins you wanted to at exact the basis you wanted to at any time.  

D&T: what do you think about the legal implications of my zero-gain/loss-for-tax-purposes wallet idea.  It uses coin control to select a suitable linear combination of coins such that each and every day-to-day purchase you make has a gain/loss for tax purposes of identically zero.  

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/zgl-wallet-achieve-zero-gainloss-for-tax-purposes-with-coin-control-531135

Mutual funds do this sort of thing already. Should be fine, assuming the IRS continues to use the same gain and loss rules as securities trading.

legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1007
March 26, 2014, 02:43:53 AM

D&T: what do you think about the legal implications of my zero-gain/loss-for-tax-purposes wallet idea.  It uses coin control to select a suitable linear combination of coins such that each and every day-to-day purchase you make has a gain/loss for tax purposes of identically zero.