Pages:
Author

Topic: BTC and taxes - page 3. (Read 2303 times)

legendary
Activity: 1120
Merit: 1001
1NF4xXDDpMVmeazJxJDLrFxuJrCAT7CB1b
June 26, 2014, 04:22:29 PM
i heard about long term capital gains is taxed less, but are you sure it's 15% for the first 400K ?

trust's have not been discussed and i have no knowledge how they work, can you provide an example?
Activity: 79
Merit: 10
June 26, 2014, 03:53:07 PM
they don't have to prove anything, i do. and if i can't prove it they got me.

This is correct. If the IRS thinks you are in the wrong, it is on you to prove your position. It is also on you to keep records and so if you can't show the source of your income, they will treat it as the maximum possible tax rate.

Quote from: WEB
my CPA did mention it would be more cost effective to skip the cash out and straight trade my BTC for property but it's going to be very hard to accomplish this.

If this is treated as a barter then you will have received income of the value of the property, which will be taxed as income and might be more than using long-term capital gains.

If you originally mined your coins, then it's going to be income, but if you said you received them when the price was low then that's good news as your income will be low. However, between now and then the price has risen so there will be capital gains taxes to pay.

If you bought them at a low price, again, if you cash out you will owe capital gains taxes. The rate is banded depending on how much and how long you've owned them. But since it sounds like it's been more than a year, depending on your other income, you'll be able to get up to approx. the first $400k at 15% tax, and anything over will be 20%.

If you have only owned the coins for a year or less (or traded them during the year), then it is going to be taxed as income, up to 39.6%.

If you can't prove your cost basis in an audit, they will take the worst case, i.e. income.