Pages:
Author

Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board - page 39. (Read 286370 times)

hero member
Activity: 481
Merit: 502
August 05, 2012, 03:35:13 PM
You need to do a modprobe.

Plug them in then issue this command:

Code:
modprobe ftdi_sio vendor=0x0403 product=0x8350

FYI, this is not required if you added the udev rules posted by yohan at the CM1 support pages.

I've done this and it doesn't work for me, so I have to use modprobe manually
donator
Activity: 919
Merit: 1000
August 05, 2012, 03:02:17 PM
You need to do a modprobe.

Plug them in then issue this command:

Code:
modprobe ftdi_sio vendor=0x0403 product=0x8350

FYI, this is not required if you added the udev rules posted by yohan at the CM1 support pages.
hero member
Activity: 481
Merit: 502
August 05, 2012, 02:43:48 PM
Have you got the latest ftdi drivers?

I suppose I do, I installed libftdi1 and installed the D2XX FTDI ARM drivers (not sure if these last ones are needed, but I installed them anyway)
dmesg show "ftdi_sio: v1.6.0:USB FTDI Serial Converters Driver"
yet, I don't get any /dev/ttyUSBx devices either (only /dev/usbdev1.1, /dev/usbdev1.2 and /dev/usbdev1.3)

I'll fiddle a little further...

I don't get them showing up either.

You need to do a modprobe.

Plug them in then issue this command:

Code:
modprobe ftdi_sio vendor=0x0403 product=0x8350

Then you should see the ttyUSB0/1/2/3 etc. for your Cairnsmore1's Smiley

Hope this helps!
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
August 05, 2012, 02:14:01 PM
Just a quick update.. I was able to get one of the FPGAs to run stably at clocks of 160,160,160 -> 240 Mhash/s.

I'll keep you guys updated!
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
August 05, 2012, 01:23:30 PM
Quick update on my progress with the enterpoint board..

I've now got the FTDI chip working effectively with onboard JTAG.  Unfortunately similar to the issues other bitstream developers have mentioned, the clock coming from the controller is too dirty/skewed and causes the DCM to lose the lock fairly frequently.  So currently the board can find and submit shares, but quickly loses the clock source.  50 vs. 100 Mhz doesn't appear to make a difference.

This was validated with a version which checks the lock every 60 seconds, and it will rarely make it beyond 1 minute.

Chris

Code:

[0              ] found new board cairnsmore:0



[cairnsmore:0:3 ] found new chip



[cairnsmore:0:3 ] programming FPGA



             USERCODE before bitstream upload: 0xcafebabe



             chip already programmed and avoid_reprogramming=true; not uploading bitstream



[cairnsmore:0:3 ]   done programming FPGA



[cairnsmore:0:3 ] magic number check ok



[cairnsmore:0:3 ] chip is running bitstream version henkin, built 21d13h51m19s ago



[cairnsmore:0:3 ] chip has 3 rings



[cairnsmore:0:3 ] assuming input clock frequency of 100 Mhz



[cairnsmore:0:3 ] asserting global reset



[cairnsmore:0:3.0] disabling DCM bypass mux



[cairnsmore:0:3.0] opening signcryption channel



[cairnsmore:0:3.0] setting clock to 140 Mhz, mult=7 div=5



[cairnsmore:0:3.0]     ramping clock: mult=7 div=5



[cairnsmore:0:3.0] asserting local reset



[cairnsmore:0:3.1] disabling DCM bypass mux



[cairnsmore:0:3.1] opening signcryption channel



[cairnsmore:0:3.1] setting clock to 140 Mhz, mult=7 div=5



[cairnsmore:0:3.1]     ramping clock: mult=7 div=5



[cairnsmore:0:3.1] asserting local reset



[cairnsmore:0:3.2] opening signcryption channel



[cairnsmore:0:3.2] setting clock to 140 Mhz, mult=7 div=5



[cairnsmore:0:3.2]     ramping clock: mult=7 div=5



[cairnsmore:0:3.2] asserting local reset



             opening signcryption connection to limp.tricone-mining.com/54.247.190.151



[cairnsmore:0:3.0] initializing cipher state



[cairnsmore:0:3.0]   new cipher state = 0x13a39da433f663f53a50e0af



[cairnsmore:0:3.0] loaded job  bc307cb5acfb1884855fc9e3948c07ee0cbaf804a405d9e2ee9d3ba9f57f261f:f6880a81501ea5eb1a083cc9



[cairnsmore:0:3.1] initializing cipher state



[cairnsmore:0:3.1]   new cipher state = 0x971575f48f3b62f24776676e



[cairnsmore:0:3.1] loaded job  f20550dd69fb55a68482848ebf4d738bc22eccc38755ca8936cffdb1ac975672:ca075355501ea5ee1a083cc9



[cairnsmore:0:3.2] initializing cipher state



[cairnsmore:0:3.2]   new cipher state = 0xd040624874dbee74718e75d9



[cairnsmore:0:3.2] loaded job  1ea890fd73d9f9e82ce5d5ec07f30c77456120f3cddddcdd2a9b1ffbbe6589d5:62ed09ce501ea5f01a083cc9




H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:7.0s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:9.4s
                                                                                      
H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:9.0s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:11s
                                                                                      
H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:11s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:13s
                                                                                    
H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:13s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:15s
                                                                                    
H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:15s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:17s
                                                                                    
H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:17s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:19s
                                                                                    
H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:19s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:21s

                                                                                    
[cairnsmore:0:3.0] decrypting nonce at address 0x00000001


H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:19s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:21s

                                                                                    
[cairnsmore:0:3.0]   encrypted nonce = 0xb85eb745


H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:19s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:21s
                                                                                    
H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:21s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:23s

                                                                                    
[cairnsmore:0:3.0]   found a share: 0xd050f955


H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:21s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:23s

                                                                                    
[cairnsmore:0:3.0]   pool accepted share


H:0/0,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:21s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:23s
                                                                                    
H:184/185,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:23s   |  H:184/185,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:25s
                                                                                            
H:169/170,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:25s   |  H:169/170,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:27s
                                                                                            
H:156/157,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:27s   |  H:156/157,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:29s
                                                                                            
H:146/146,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:29s   |  H:146/146,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:31s
                                                                                            
H:136/137,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:31s   |  H:136/137,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:33s
                                                                                            
H:128/128,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:33s   |  H:128/128,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:35s
                                                                                            
H:120/121,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:35s   |  H:120/121,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:37s
                                                                                            
H:114/114,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:37s   |  H:114/114,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:39s
                                                                                            
H:108/108,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:39s   |  H:108/108,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:41s
                                                                                            
H:103/103,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:41s   |  H:103/103,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:43s
                                                                                            
H:98/98,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:43s   |  H:98/98,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:46s
                                                                                        
H:94/94,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:45s   |  H:94/94,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:48s
                                                                                        
H:90/90,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:47s   |  H:90/90,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:50s
                                                                                        
H:86/86,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:49s   |  H:86/86,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:52s
                                                                                        
H:82/83,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:51s   |  H:82/83,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:54s
                                                                                        
H:79/80,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:53s   |  H:79/80,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:56s

                                                                                        
[cairnsmore:0:3.0] decrypting nonce at address 0x000000b8


H:79/80,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:53s   |  H:79/80,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:56s

                                                                                        
[cairnsmore:0:3.0]   encrypted nonce = 0xffa071d7


H:79/80,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:53s   |  H:79/80,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:56s
                                                                                        
H:76/77,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:55s   |  H:76/77,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:58s

                                                                                        
[cairnsmore:0:3.0]   found a share: 0xef5d2ca8


H:76/77,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:55s   |  H:76/77,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:58s

                                                                                        
[cairnsmore:0:3.0]   pool accepted share


H:76/77,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:55s   |  H:76/77,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:58s

                                                                                        
[cairnsmore:0:3.0] loaded job  a19b3310f7906771d08c589bdebbe08d6fa85d72fda888f507f620eacb49dcac:84d75ff7501ea5ed1a083cc9


H:76/77,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:55s   |  H:76/77,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:58s

                                                                                        
[cairnsmore:0:3.1] loaded job  4530e031c8ad7eaa2db0f804ff7b0a6f472daa931e2335b88700dc3372c80db7:28cc3c50501ea5ee1a083cc9


H:76/77,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:55s   |  H:76/77,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:58s
                                                                                        
H:147/148,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:58s   |  H:147/148,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m

                                                                                            
[cairnsmore:0:3.2] loaded job  cdd0f94dc1834c809d4756abdf1a4f71395327936c975301819fcf77000d6d8e:15263f59501ea5f01a083cc9


H:147/148,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:58s   |  H:147/148,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m
                                                                                            
H:142/143,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:1m   |  H:142/143,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m2s

                                                                                            
[cairnsmore:0:3.0] loaded job  bc36aadd093157015ce9fd4cc7bd4cbff180b05c9fbe8460aff59d8f5cc6b049:ba181415501ea5f11a083cc9


H:142/143,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:1m   |  H:142/143,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m2s

                                                                                            
[cairnsmore:0:3.1] loaded job  0804b3a0e4acafcc9ae09bdea954fc9fdb67bc6e667d9a889411d3483890fbae:2698aed8501ea5f21a083cc9


H:142/143,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:1m   |  H:142/143,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m2s
                                                                                            
H:137/138,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:1m2s   |  H:137/138,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m4s

                                                                                              
[cairnsmore:0:3.2] loaded job  83ef10a9d7d736cabfdeccef6c9fe5dadfb0df0e74f341c2f199765608f845fa:181fb3ea501ea5f21a083cc9


H:137/138,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:1m2s   |  H:137/138,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m4s java.io.IOException: DCM did not lock
at com.triconemining.miner.DCM.checkDcmLocked(DCM.java:215)
at com.triconemining.miner.DCM.checkLocked(DCM.java:207)
at com.triconemining.miner.RingWrapper.recalibrateClock(RingWrapper.java:382)
at com.triconemining.miner.ChipWrapper.recalibrateClock(ChipWrapper.java:152)
at com.triconemining.miner.BoardWrapper.reCalibrateAndPlot(BoardWrapper.java:166)
at com.triconemining.miner.BoardWrapper.run_(BoardWrapper.java:120)
at com.triconemining.miner.BoardWrapper.run(BoardWrapper.java:73)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:722)

                                                                                              
H:133/133,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:1m4s   |  H:133/133,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m6s

                                                                                              
[cairnsmore:0:3.0] loaded job  ff64c2de027b0180832eea2e6953dec31c65784e84a6154fa12b05f0490c5dc2:ace20d41501ea6261a083cc9


H:133/133,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:1m4s   |  H:133/133,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m6s

                                                                                              
[cairnsmore:0:3.1] loaded job  ff4315238c7e6890949b6c3de91e3e6005604e0864c95b5b996854b7e945e27a:29871ee2501ea6291a083cc9


H:133/133,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:1m4s   |  H:133/133,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m6s

                                                                                              
[cairnsmore:0:3.2] loaded job  092b8b64c46c6e2945e5b2b6d71669d028289495c73d5688ecba2025cc9b87cf:c1df6b73501ea62b1a083cc9


H:133/133,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:1m4s   |  H:133/133,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m6s
                                                                                              
H:126/126,0,0 X:210 C:140,140,140 E:0/0,0,0 T:1m7s   |  H:126/126,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:1m10s

sr. member
Activity: 327
Merit: 250
August 05, 2012, 11:11:45 AM
Have you got the latest ftdi drivers?

I suppose I do, I installed libftdi1 and installed the D2XX FTDI ARM drivers (not sure if these last ones are needed, but I installed them anyway)
dmesg show "ftdi_sio: v1.6.0:USB FTDI Serial Converters Driver"
yet, I don't get any /dev/ttyUSBx devices either (only /dev/usbdev1.1, /dev/usbdev1.2 and /dev/usbdev1.3)

I'll fiddle a little further...

You have to have a powered USB hub, and you also need a really good power adapter, otherwise it will draw too much from the PI and cause those errors and not bring up the serial ports. I got it running with my PI and eventually took it offline because it would randomly crash due to power draw. I'm waiting to get a good power adapter from Adafruit.com.
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
August 05, 2012, 09:22:11 AM
Have you got the latest ftdi drivers?

I suppose I do, I installed libftdi1 and installed the D2XX FTDI ARM drivers (not sure if these last ones are needed, but I installed them anyway)
dmesg show "ftdi_sio: v1.6.0:USB FTDI Serial Converters Driver"
yet, I don't get any /dev/ttyUSBx devices either (only /dev/usbdev1.1, /dev/usbdev1.2 and /dev/usbdev1.3)

I'll fiddle a little further...
sr. member
Activity: 397
Merit: 500
August 05, 2012, 07:41:50 AM
ebereon,

how many boards do you have running per instance of cgminer?

EDIT: I've gotten 8 boards running fine in 2 instances of cgminer (any more than 4 per instance crashes it for some reason???) but I can't seem to get my 9th to get detected.

as per Ebereons instructions, I've identified the boards usb's. I've uninstalled w/ and w/out deleting the drivers, and w/ and w/out uninstalling the com's ports associated w/ the board. Each time, the board re-installs to the same coms, which gives me

[2012-08-04 21:39:32] Started cgminer 2.6.2a
 [2012-08-04 21:39:32] Icarus Detect: Test failed at \\.\COM20: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
 [2012-08-04 21:39:32] Icarus Detect: Test failed at \\.\COM21: get 00000000, should: 000187a2

every time. No clue where to begin figuring out this issue, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Steamboat

I don't use cgminer yet, just tested it after mpbm was working without problems. Make sure all boards accept the 190Mh bitstream, best joice is mpbm and check 1 day the invalids. If you have invalids >3% on some pair, use a slower bitstream. If now all works in mpbm with <3% invalids, then i'm sure all boards will be working with cgminer too.

eb
hero member
Activity: 481
Merit: 502
August 05, 2012, 07:41:34 AM
I'm trying to get my Cairnsmore1 run on a Raspberry Pi (cgminer), but I'm getting these type of errors:

 [2012-08-05 09:38:57] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/usbdev1.2: get 12010002, should: 000187a2

I then tried on a Linux machine, and I get the same type:

 [2012-08-05 10:17:12] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/ttyUSB0: get 00000000, should: 000187a2

on Windows it mines without problems. Anyone an idea on how to fix this?


Have you got the latest ftdi drivers?
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
August 05, 2012, 06:27:06 AM
I'm trying to get my Cairnsmore1 run on a Raspberry Pi (cgminer), but I'm getting these type of errors:

 [2012-08-05 09:38:57] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/usbdev1.2: get 12010002, should: 000187a2

I then tried on a Linux machine, and I get the same type:

 [2012-08-05 10:17:12] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/ttyUSB0: get 00000000, should: 000187a2

on Windows it mines without problems. Anyone an idea on how to fix this?
full member
Activity: 199
Merit: 100
August 05, 2012, 04:53:44 AM

[2012-08-04 21:39:32] Started cgminer 2.6.2a
 [2012-08-04 21:39:32] Icarus Detect: Test failed at \\.\COM20: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
 [2012-08-04 21:39:32] Icarus Detect: Test failed at \\.\COM21: get 00000000, should: 000187a2

Steamboat

I think your error is mine . I run one board in one cgminer . Could you check if after   error lines you posted ,do  show up other for a little time telling you something about user privilegesHuh

Try to unplug  usb from all your  boards( better in ubs hub) , then  power off PSU,  wait a couple of minutes (cold?¿? your board) and then power on PSU and first plug usb  of your problematic board.  windows should detect it.

Im almost sure in my case is a temp or usb hub  issue. because sometimes when board is frozen ( amber leds)   it start to work again but other  different fails suddenly.


NOTE: frozen for me is when you have your COMS ok and cgminer is not showing OFF state. but lots of LONGPOLL's and amber leds in the fpgas you have programmed.


Please tell me if it works for you.


Next week I'm going to buy some extra fans and i'll post if they fix my problems.


hero member
Activity: 648
Merit: 500
August 04, 2012, 08:43:52 PM
ebereon,

how many boards do you have running per instance of cgminer?

EDIT: I've gotten 8 boards running fine in 2 instances of cgminer (any more than 4 per instance crashes it for some reason???) but I can't seem to get my 9th to get detected.

as per Ebereons instructions, I've identified the boards usb's. I've uninstalled w/ and w/out deleting the drivers, and w/ and w/out uninstalling the com's ports associated w/ the board. Each time, the board re-installs to the same coms, which gives me

[2012-08-04 21:39:32] Started cgminer 2.6.2a
 [2012-08-04 21:39:32] Icarus Detect: Test failed at \\.\COM20: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
 [2012-08-04 21:39:32] Icarus Detect: Test failed at \\.\COM21: get 00000000, should: 000187a2

every time. No clue where to begin figuring out this issue, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Steamboat
legendary
Activity: 2128
Merit: 1073
August 04, 2012, 06:21:14 PM
it turns out that mucking with clocking like that affects how ISE maps, places and routes everything for some reason
Thanks for the clarification. Fortunately for me I never had the problems with on-board signals but only with off-the-board comms.
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 564
August 04, 2012, 05:55:43 PM
I don't have the CM1 hardware, but I watch this thread and I have to ask:

Why not using PLL_ADV in front of the DCM to filter out the jitter? Just from looking at the floorplan of Spartan-6 the PLL_ADV block is about twice the size of the DCM block. With BANDWIDTH=LOW it should serve as a decent jitter filter.
I've actually got some changes locally to try and do that, but it turns out that mucking with clocking like that affects how ISE maps, places and routes everything for some reason so I'd have to do another long SmartXplorer run - and it's possible that after all that the clock issues would be severe enough that the PLL wouldn't lock either. Since these boards are apparently wired for differential clock signals it probably makes more sense to wait until those are available and try using the PLL with them if they're still not low-jitter enough.
sr. member
Activity: 397
Merit: 500
August 04, 2012, 05:26:36 PM
Update on latest bitstreams after 4 days:
Total 40 FPGA's = 10 boards SN#400+.

Makomk's dcmwd2 oc bitstreams:
17x 200Mh, 22x 190Mh, 1x 180Mh. That means 97.50% of all fpga's running @190Mh+ with <2.8% invalids!

Working bitstreams in percent:
200Mh oc = 42.5%
190Mh oc = 97.5%
180Mh oc = 100%
170Mh oc = 100%
160Mh = 100%
150Mh = 100%
140Mh = 100%


Update Glasswalker's bitstreams:
not changed will update when new bitstream is out

eb
legendary
Activity: 2128
Merit: 1073
August 04, 2012, 04:22:00 PM
common causes of FPGAs freezing (the DCM losing lock and not outputting a clock anymore)
I don't have the CM1 hardware, but I watch this thread and I have to ask:

Why not using PLL_ADV in front of the DCM to filter out the jitter? Just from looking at the floorplan of Spartan-6 the PLL_ADV block is about twice the size of the DCM block. With BANDWIDTH=LOW it should serve as a decent jitter filter.
sr. member
Activity: 397
Merit: 500
August 04, 2012, 02:48:33 PM
HowTo deinstall drivers completely from device manager in windows 7:

First:


This will enable to see all drivers in the device manager that are not used but still installed.
Code:
Name: devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices
Value: 1


Next open device manager and click this:



Then you will see grey entries like this:



Right click a grey entry and chose deinstall:



If you want to deinstall that driver comletely from windows, check the option:


Now make this with every device you want to deinstall from windows and you can start again to install. This works for me on every attempt when i had problems with a driver. I had this when i was playing with libusb.

You can also don't check the option to deinstall completely, just deinstall the device, in this case a replugin of the device will cause new COM selection for this device. In most cases this is enought to get the Cairnsmore working again.

I hope you find this one usefull =)

eb
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 564
August 04, 2012, 02:35:16 PM
Speaking of resetting boards, these bitstreams should hopefully detect one of the common causes of FPGAs freezing (the DCM losing lock and not outputting a clock anymore) and automatically recover from it: http://www.makomk.com/~aidan/shortfin-dcmwd-20120803.zip Initial signs are looking good, touch wood.
hero member
Activity: 648
Merit: 500
August 04, 2012, 01:51:52 PM
In getting my rig up and running I've run across an issue.

Up to board #5 everything went relatively smoothly in flashing the makomk 190 bitstream to SPI. however when I went to flash the 6th (which went well) and plugged everything back in, the 5th was not able to detect one com. I unplugged the USB and plugged it back in and both coms on #5 stopped responding. unplugged #5 and reset, plugged back in, and still nothing. Unplugged #6 and tried again, still nothing. Plugged in #5 solo and nothing. Deleted #5's drivers and reinstalled and still no response on any of the COM ports.

It was working fine until I flashed the 6th (with all other boards disconnected) and decided to stop responding. I've reset, rebooted, switched out usb's, switched hubs, tried with multiple cards and just the single. All the other cards run fine, just #5 w/ the issue.

any ideas?


also, Win 7 64 w/ the latest cgminer build.

Thanks in advance,
Steamboat


This sounds a bit like the FTDI issue I described yesterday. I don't have the full details but there is a utility from FTDI to do a clean-up which followed by clean install might solve the issue. Normal uninstall doesn't appear to be enough if it is this. I think some registry entires are left that cause the issue and hence the utility. I will try and get more details of the how and what on this on Monday.

On a more mundane level have you tried a complete power-off and boot as opposed to reboot and clean plugin and bring up afterwards?

I completely shut down, unplugged the usb, unplugged power to the CM1, plugged in the power again, turned on computer, plugged in usb. no-go

Ok I will try and get more info on this on Monday but as usual I would recommend you send an email into the bitcoin.support email as a backup so that all of the team see what problems you have.

sounds good. I'm going to continue flashing the rest of the boards and come back to #5. Hopefully it's the only one w/ that issue.
sr. member
Activity: 462
Merit: 251
August 04, 2012, 01:47:19 PM
In getting my rig up and running I've run across an issue.

Up to board #5 everything went relatively smoothly in flashing the makomk 190 bitstream to SPI. however when I went to flash the 6th (which went well) and plugged everything back in, the 5th was not able to detect one com. I unplugged the USB and plugged it back in and both coms on #5 stopped responding. unplugged #5 and reset, plugged back in, and still nothing. Unplugged #6 and tried again, still nothing. Plugged in #5 solo and nothing. Deleted #5's drivers and reinstalled and still no response on any of the COM ports.

It was working fine until I flashed the 6th (with all other boards disconnected) and decided to stop responding. I've reset, rebooted, switched out usb's, switched hubs, tried with multiple cards and just the single. All the other cards run fine, just #5 w/ the issue.

any ideas?


also, Win 7 64 w/ the latest cgminer build.

Thanks in advance,
Steamboat


This sounds a bit like the FTDI issue I described yesterday. I don't have the full details but there is a utility from FTDI to do a clean-up which followed by clean install might solve the issue. Normal uninstall doesn't appear to be enough if it is this. I think some registry entires are left that cause the issue and hence the utility. I will try and get more details of the how and what on this on Monday.

On a more mundane level have you tried a complete power-off and boot as opposed to reboot and clean plugin and bring up afterwards?

I completely shut down, unplugged the usb, unplugged power to the CM1, plugged in the power again, turned on computer, plugged in usb. no-go

Ok I will try and get more info on this on Monday but as usual I would recommend you send an email into the bitcoin.support email as a backup so that all of the team see what problems you have.
Pages:
Jump to: