Pages:
Author

Topic: Concerns regarding buying bitcoins offline(udercover cops) - What do you think? - page 2. (Read 2542 times)

Activity: 112
Merit: 10
Didnt even need to read all that

Here is a simple solution for you, cops are supposed to say yes when you ask "are you a cop"?

Just ask everytime you meet a local trader.

(sigh) You really need to educate yourself on that issue.   Completely wrong.
Activity: 854
Merit: 500
Nope..
I would think that having the person you trade with sign an acknowledgement form indicating that the transaction is still responsible for all financial reporting requirements under laws and that in no way is this transaction meant to circumvent these laws.  

What you want to remove is the "intent" element.  Try to comply as much as you know how to.  I'm not a lawyer, but I've worked some of these cases.  If there is any mention of illegal activities, stop there.  Decline the transaction and walk away.  Report it.  Etc., etc..  

Perhaps one of our legal members could draw up something for traders to use and post it here.
Activity: 658
Why is it illegal to sell $5K of a commodity?

I hope you're not serious. The OP is just being retard for not understanding the news report.

Its not illegal to buy and sell bitcoin.
Activity: 6
Merit: 0

I am speechless as you are but strange things occur. I heard the other day some guy was held on airport just talking about bitcoins. WTF?
Activity: 637
Merit: 502
Activity: 766
Merit: 509
1. Why don't you just split up the transactions
2. If they are trying to catch Bitcoin sellers, then why are you concerned about being busted as a buyer?
3. I don't think that it is a big issue as long as you do not buy everything in 1 massive transaction.
4. Buy on Coinbase and then put the coins through a tumbler into another wallet.  It turns out to be cheaper than most LocalBitcoin advertisements and is physically safer than Localbitcoins.