Pages:
Author

Topic: Electrum - Bitcoin client for the common users (friendly and instant) - page 23. (Read 110105 times)

legendary
Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353
Ok, i got it, the keys are generated at groups of 3. So with the last 3 words i have 8 hex chars.
I only miss 7 hex chars now, 16^7 = 200 million, it's cool, it shouldn't take long.

What i don't understand now is, can i do the process offline? Do i have to setup a your server application on my local pc/server? Do you keep an encrypted database or stuff like that?
In other words, what's the fastest way to check every single seed?

Thank you.

you can do it offline: search until you get the same master public as in your encrypted wallet
note that you will need to follow the 10^5 iterations of key stretching (see stretch_key in the code)

you can gain 10 bits of entropy (a factor 1024 of speed) if you pre-generate all the possible combinations
of 32 bits that are compatible with your 9th word, for the bits 65 to 96 of the key.
legendary
Activity: 3920
Merit: 2349
Eadem mutata resurgo
legendary
Activity: 1176
Merit: 1001
Ok, i got it, the keys are generated at groups of 3. So with the last 3 words i have 8 hex chars.
I only miss 7 hex chars now, 16^7 = 200 million, it's cool, it shouldn't take long.

What i don't understand now is, can i do the process offline? Do i have to setup a your server application on my local pc/server? Do you keep an encrypted database or stuff like that?
In other words, what's the fastest way to check every single seed?

Thank you.
legendary
Activity: 1176
Merit: 1001
With the last 3 words, you can get the last 8 hexadecimal characters easily (use the program mnemonic.py)
Looking at the source of mnemonic.py, i readed this:

Quote
# Note about US patent no 5892470: Here each word does not represent a given digit.
# Instead, the digit represented by a word is variable, it depends on the previous word.

I simply tough that the last 4 words where useless.

Quote
r:lib davide$ python mnemonic.py relax behind thought roar reality began song example clearly linger spill silence
f21e7bc6f29feb76aa7b20c6c77d6740
r:lib davide$ python mnemonic.py clearly linger spill silence
e6d7f877
r:lib davide$ python mnemonic.py linger spill silence
c77d6740
r:lib davide$
legendary
Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353
hum, the picture does not look as bad as your private message suggests.
I can see that you have the 18 first chars of the seed (17 obscured, 1 visible) and the 4 final words.

With the last 3 words, you can get the last 8 hexadecimal characters easily (use the program mnemonic.py)

That means you have 104 bits of your seed.

In addition, you can use the 9th word to reduce the search a little bit, but you will need to reverse engineer the mnemonic encoding.
That would remove 10 bits of entropy.

So, the search space size is "only" 2^14. this sounds  feasible.
legendary
Activity: 1176
Merit: 1001
I thought qr codes came with redundancy build in. Perhaps Thomas might have something useful to contribute.
Not so much redundancy as i can see it.

I will post here the pic i have, obscured:

hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
I thought qr codes came with redundancy build in. Perhaps Thomas might have something useful to contribute.
legendary
Activity: 1176
Merit: 1001
the word seed: useless, completely. (the seed generation does a sort of hash of the word seed, so i cannot retrive the last parts of the seed with the last 4 words.
the qr code: the last 2 pixels on the line are missing, that means that there are around 2^50 combinations to try.
the seed: i have the first 13 characters, so not even half of the required.
legendary
Activity: 1176
Merit: 1001
Ok, i took a photo of the seed at the time.

Unfortunatelly there was a bug on the osx build that cutted of the last 2 "pixels" of the qr code. So, i have:
the qr code, without the last 2 pixels
the first 13 characters of the seed
the first 3 and last 3 words of the "word" seed.

i think that i should find a way out of this.
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
If it did not show the seed nor ask to restore a wallet or create a new one you already had an electrum wallet.

It lives in ~/.electrum so if you never touched that folder it's quite possible your wallet was still there. You will need your password to unlock your private keys, no other way around it. (unless you had your seed somewhere)
legendary
Activity: 1176
Merit: 1001
I am not sure I undertand the problem.
Downloaded Electrum, never inserted a password on it, it never showed me my seed, sent the money to his addresses, unable to recover them, i don't have the password.

Ok, just discovered that i already downloaded electrum on december, i must have set the password at the time. Just, i've tried all of my passwords...
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
I am not sure I undertand the problem.
legendary
Activity: 1176
Merit: 1001
hi
I am using electrum 1.01-e (windoze flatfly compact build, )
I was not able to connect to any server due to some reason(possibly firewall problem, note icon was red, blocks -1)
thomasv from IRC told me to manually change field to
electrum.novit.ro:8081:h

it worked and network went green

now my question:

I didnt set any passwords with electrum client. I cannot change existing passwords (there are two pwd areas, one is python other is wallet encryption area)
are there some default passwords?

Hi, there is no default password. It is empty. What happens if you just set one, do you get an error message? The 2nd area is to confirm your new password, just type it again. 
Guess what?
Same problem. With the difference that Electrum was holding the money needed to pay the Avalon.

I have no words to describe this.

I've never been asked for a password nor he showed me the seed.

I should have tested it before, but i was confident i wouldn't have any problem.

Now, since that really, i didn't set any passowrd, if someone has an idea on how to recover it...
newbie
Activity: 30
Merit: 0
electrum -p socks5:127.0.0.1:9050 -w wallet.dat

or run Tor browser bundle. In Tor Browser/Firefox ... Edit --> Preferences --> Advanced --> Network --> Settings ... note the randomly generated port number by SOCKS Host. Then for example:

electrum -p socks5:127.0.0.1:44444 -w wallet.dat

You can test the port easily with tor-resolve:

tor-resolve electrum.org 127.0.0.1:44444
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 1010
Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas
- can't remember if it's http or socks. To get the proxy option you need the "classic gui" and click on the green circle bottom right

socks
hero member
Activity: 900
Merit: 1000
Crypto Geek
Is there any easy instruction about on how to connect to Electrum over I2p and Tor.

1) Use the browser/vidalia Tor bundle
2) set electrum proxy to 127.0.0.1:9050
- can't remember if it's http or socks. To get the proxy option you need the "classic gui" and click on the green circle bottom right
legendary
Activity: 1372
Merit: 1003
Is there any easy instruction about on how to connect to Electrum over I2p and Tor.
legendary
Activity: 1820
Merit: 1000
I just installed Electrum 1.6.1, and having trouble importing keypairs. Apparently the command for this has changed from "import" to "importprivkey". At terminal, I'm entering,

electrum importprivkey :

I'm asked for my password, and after entering that, the return I get is

Keypair imported: False

Any ideas as to why this isn't working? I know I've got the right keypair. My distro is peppermint 3 (based on Ubuntu 12.04) if that helps.

Dargo
the syntax is now the same as with bitcoind:
electrum importprivkey



Thanks, that did it (I guess I should have guessed this). BTW, this change isn't documented in help - the result of

electrum help importprivkey

is

Imports a key pair
Syntax: import
:

D
legendary
Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353
I just installed Electrum 1.6.1, and having trouble importing keypairs. Apparently the command for this has changed from "import" to "importprivkey". At terminal, I'm entering,

electrum importprivkey :

I'm asked for my password, and after entering that, the return I get is

Keypair imported: False

Any ideas as to why this isn't working? I know I've got the right keypair. My distro is peppermint 3 (based on Ubuntu 12.04) if that helps.

Dargo
the syntax is now the same as with bitcoind:
electrum importprivkey

legendary
Activity: 1820
Merit: 1000
I just installed Electrum 1.6.1, and having trouble importing keypairs. Apparently the command for this has changed from "import" to "importprivkey". At terminal, I'm entering,

electrum importprivkey :

I'm asked for my password, and after entering that, the return I get is

Keypair imported: False

Any ideas as to why this isn't working? I know I've got the right keypair. My distro is peppermint 3 (based on Ubuntu 12.04) if that helps.

Dargo
Pages:
Jump to: