Pages:
Author

Topic: GekkoScience Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread - page 88. (Read 268015 times)

legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000
Did you install the cp2102 usb to uart driver?  Did you use zadig?  You should also be using the cgminer-gekko version, not 4.9.2.
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
Hmm.. I think the problem lies in detecting the USB within cgminer..

 [2015-11-24 23:01:09.253] Started cgminer 4.9.2
 [2015-11-24 23:01:09.471] No devices detected!
legendary
Activity: 3374
Merit: 1859
Curmudgeonly hardware guy
To run smoothly at 150MHz you probably want at least 600mV, which you can measure on the VCORE and GND test pads on the backside. The pot's flat should be at about 3 o'clock position.
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
I'm using the following to TEST:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr --compac-freq 150

The v pod is pointing towards the south (opposite of usb input) which should be equivalent to 0.55v right?
zOU
hero member
Activity: 728
Merit: 500
★ these are stars ★
Are you running it at stock frequency (150Mhs) ?

The Voltage pod is to control power to the chip. (see 1st post)
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
I've done hundreds of troubleshooting in linux, but this one is out of my range! xD

I'm plugging in the USB directly to my laptop. There is a green light constantly on but haven't seen the white led on at all.

What is the V-pod you were mentioning?

I am using cgminer 4.9.2 btw.
zOU
hero member
Activity: 728
Merit: 500
★ these are stars ★
Should be straightforward in linux.

You need zadig drivers with windows/cgminer

Are you using a hub or directly on motherboard ?

Have you checked the V pod ?

Is the green LED on ?
Is the "white" one blinking ?
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
Hi guys,

I am having trouble using this USB miner,
I have used the installation instructions which is written on the second page with --enable-gekko where i used cgminer-gekko.tar.gz

Should the USB just be detected after this?
When i start cgminer i see "No USB detected" but, pressing U and then l in the menu, it says Bus 1 Device 10 ID: 10c4:ea60 bitshopperde Compac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner inactive

I have tried every combination of OS (windows/linux/osx) with every combination of cg-miner/bfg-miner but none of it works.
Totally out of clues!

Hope you guys can help me!

Thanks!
sr. member
Activity: 462
Merit: 251
i will join the game here soon


Mining-Hardware: RaspberryPI B+

i ordered this USB HUB
http://www.amazon.com/ORICO-USB2-0-Adapter-3-3Ft-Desktop/dp/B00EH44AA6 and some Y-USB-Cables :-)

good to be back in home-mining

legendary
Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006
i  need an expert to help me.. i got cgminer-gekko working on the r1 and i modified the lua to work with the new cgminer-api.. but i have one problem i cant fix..



if you notice, #2 is twice.. always twice.. i dont know why.. here is my code.

Code:

function stats_u3()
   local api = {}
   local data = {}
   local stats = luci.util.execi("/usr/bin/cgminer-api -o devs 127.0.0.1 4029 | sed \"s/|/\\n/g\" ")

   if not stats then
      return
   end

   for line in stats do
      for nam, val in string.gfind(line .. ',', "([^=,]+)=*([^,]*),") do
         api[nam] = val
      end
  


    if api['Device Elapsed'] then
         local elapsed =  api['Device Elapsed']
         local str
         local days
         local h
         local m
         local s = elapsed % 60;
         elapsed = elapsed - s
         elapsed = elapsed / 60
         if elapsed == 0 then
            str = string.format("%ds", s)
         else
            m = elapsed % 60;
            elapsed = elapsed - m
            elapsed = elapsed / 60
            if elapsed == 0 then
               str = string.format("%dm %ds", m, s);
            else
               h = elapsed % 24;
               elapsed = elapsed - h
               elapsed = elapsed / 24
               if elapsed == 0 then
                  str = string.format("%dh %dm %ds", h, m, s)
               else
                  str = string.format("%dd %dh %dm %ds", elapsed, h, m, s);
               end
            end
         end


    if api['ASC'] then
        data[#data+1] = {
            ['stats'] = api['ASC'],
   ['Device Elapsed'] = str,
            ['GHS 5s'] =  tostring(math.floor(api['MHS 5s']+0.5) / 1000),
            ['GHS av'] =  tostring(math.floor(api['MHS av']+0.5) / 1000),
            ['Hardware Errors'] = num_commas(api['Hardware Errors'])
            }
    end
    end
   end        
   return data
end

i cant find anything in the code that would make #2 come up twice Sad

legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000
I tried unplugging and replugging the hub and I tried restarting the computer a few times.  Still gives me that error, very weird, I'll have to dig deeper.

I reinstalled the CP2101 usb to uart driver and now bfgminer will not see the sticks even without the hub (note, I did not zadig, but am getting the same result as if I did).  I am able to use both sticks in the hub on cgminer-gekko now, bfg is still running my nanofury sticks.  Guess I'll roll with it like this for now since it's working and I don't feel like messing any more with it (if it ain't broke...).

The other interesting thing is the comms error I always used to get with the sticks in bfgminer is gone now, so that's good, no more dropping hash rates and having to restart the miners every day!

zOU
hero member
Activity: 728
Merit: 500
★ these are stars ★
Unplug replug the hub

Try a usb memory stick to make sure it's fine

legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000
I had a new hard drive image flashed to my computer and after the update I get the following error when I launch bfgminer with 2 sticks in a usb hub:


If I unplug the hub and plug it back in I get this:



I have no idea why this is happening after the system update, everything else works flawlessly.  Anyone have any ideas for me to try?  Thanks.
zOU
hero member
Activity: 728
Merit: 500
★ these are stars ★

That didn't come across like I meant.

1 week with 5 sticks > in the superbpag > into 2.0 hub > into Pi2.

Then 1 week with 5 sticks > superbpag > into the Pi2. (took the 2.0 hub out)

So 2 weeks (and counting) with no trouble either way and depending on the freq you want, you should be able to do 7 sticks.

I did the 5 sticks at freq 250 on the superbpag.

that was clear, it was just me not reading carefully.

Thank you for taking the time to correct Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 331
Merit: 250
Yes, with a Pi2 B (don't know if the older Pi's will work with it or not), ran 5 sticks for a week, plugged into a USB 2.0 hub that was plugged to the Pi. Then again for a week with 5 sticks plugged straight to the Pi, with no problems.

Ok so not directly plugged but using the know workaround (which doesn't always work), but good to know.

Thank you Jake.

Now I just have to find one that ships to Europe and hope it'll handle 6 sticks :p

Or I just get another Orico A3H10 and use 3 sticks on each.

That didn't come across like I meant.

1 week with 5 sticks > in the superbpag > into 2.0 hub > into Pi2.

Then 1 week with 5 sticks > superbpag > into the Pi2. (took the 2.0 hub out)

So 2 weeks (and counting) with no trouble either way and depending on the freq you want, you should be able to do 7 sticks.

I did the 5 sticks at freq 250 on the superbpag.
zOU
hero member
Activity: 728
Merit: 500
★ these are stars ★
Yes, with a Pi2 B (don't know if the older Pi's will work with it or not), ran 5 sticks for a week, plugged into a USB 2.0 hub that was plugged to the Pi. Then again for a week with 5 sticks plugged straight to the Pi, with no problems.

Ok so not directly plugged but using the know workaround (which doesn't always work), but good to know.

Thank you Jake.

Now I just have to find one that ships to Europe and hope it'll handle 6 sticks :p

Or I just get another Orico A3H10 and use 3 sticks on each.
sr. member
Activity: 331
Merit: 250
No, Max was a custom rebuild. I changed the volt-setting resistors and the main caps on the buck to give it a higher voltage and smoother current.

That's whats needed for the "anything goes" over clock run, if it happens. (the last was just for stock stick)


yea I have the A-300:

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Cool-style-USB-2-0-HUB-Charger-10-ports-with-CE-ROHS-FCC-certification/1938705_32513481030.html

looks according to the specs only 600mA per port...sucks.

I would still like to know if there is a way in general to test the max Amp per port on a US hub manually?
Thanks!

someone said (sorry don't have the proper reference handy) that Superbpag usb 3.0 works fine with Raspberry pi and Compacs.
it has seven ports with 2A per port, apparently, for a total of 70W/14A, but costs $36, similar to 10 port Anker.
http://www.amazon.com/Superbpag-Portable-Charger-Transfer-Samsung/dp/B013OK10YM

That's the hub (Superbpag) I used for the 24hr over-clock contest run in the compac solo club. Ran one stick with Y set-up at 435MHz got/getting 23.87GH (I haven't shut it down yet and in about 10min it'll be 36hrs run).

can usb connector even handle the Y setup on this hub (rhetorical question, of course)? doubling from 2A to 4A per slot?

yea I have the A-300:

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Cool-style-USB-2-0-HUB-Charger-10-ports-with-CE-ROHS-FCC-certification/1938705_32513481030.html

looks according to the specs only 600mA per port...sucks.

I would still like to know if there is a way in general to test the max Amp per port on a US hub manually?
Thanks!

someone said (sorry don't have the proper reference handy) that Superbpag usb 3.0 works fine with Raspberry pi and Compacs.
it has seven ports with 2A per port, apparently, for a total of 70W/14A, but costs $36, similar to 10 port Anker.
http://www.amazon.com/Superbpag-Portable-Charger-Transfer-Samsung/dp/B013OK10YM

It looks like a nice hub.  Only problem is a lot of us RPI users are using 2.0 , USB 3.0 Hub's don't seem to like RPI.   Hopefully they come out with a RPI that can handle most usb 3.0 hubs someday.

Until then I will be gettin 2.0 for the most part.  Just hard to beat RPI as a controller.

actually, someone (Jake36, probably) specifically mentioned that this particular usb 3.0 hub (Superbpag) handles raspberry pi well, if I am not mistaken.

Yes, with a Pi2 B (don't know if the older Pi's will work with it or not), ran 5 sticks for a week, plugged into a USB 2.0 hub that was plugged to the Pi. Then again for a week with 5 sticks plugged straight to the Pi, with no problems.
legendary
Activity: 3374
Merit: 1859
Curmudgeonly hardware guy
No, Max was a custom rebuild. I changed the volt-setting resistors and the main caps on the buck to give it a higher voltage and smoother current.
legendary
Activity: 3892
Merit: 4331
Overclock contest? I should have put in Max, the 488MHz Compac that I couldn't get more out of because it was killing my hub. Course that stick isn't exactly stock.

Will any of the last 200 be like Max? End of the Season special, perhaps  Smiley
legendary
Activity: 3892
Merit: 4331
yea I have the A-300:

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Cool-style-USB-2-0-HUB-Charger-10-ports-with-CE-ROHS-FCC-certification/1938705_32513481030.html

looks according to the specs only 600mA per port...sucks.

I would still like to know if there is a way in general to test the max Amp per port on a US hub manually?
Thanks!

someone said (sorry don't have the proper reference handy) that Superbpag usb 3.0 works fine with Raspberry pi and Compacs.
it has seven ports with 2A per port, apparently, for a total of 70W/14A, but costs $36, similar to 10 port Anker.
http://www.amazon.com/Superbpag-Portable-Charger-Transfer-Samsung/dp/B013OK10YM

That's the hub (Superbpag) I used for the 24hr over-clock contest run in the compac solo club. Ran one stick with Y set-up at 435MHz got/getting 23.87GH (I haven't shut it down yet and in about 10min it'll be 36hrs run).

can usb connector even handle the Y setup on this hub (rhetorical question, of course)? doubling from 2A to 4A per slot?

yea I have the A-300:

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Cool-style-USB-2-0-HUB-Charger-10-ports-with-CE-ROHS-FCC-certification/1938705_32513481030.html

looks according to the specs only 600mA per port...sucks.

I would still like to know if there is a way in general to test the max Amp per port on a US hub manually?
Thanks!

someone said (sorry don't have the proper reference handy) that Superbpag usb 3.0 works fine with Raspberry pi and Compacs.
it has seven ports with 2A per port, apparently, for a total of 70W/14A, but costs $36, similar to 10 port Anker.
http://www.amazon.com/Superbpag-Portable-Charger-Transfer-Samsung/dp/B013OK10YM

It looks like a nice hub.  Only problem is a lot of us RPI users are using 2.0 , USB 3.0 Hub's don't seem to like RPI.   Hopefully they come out with a RPI that can handle most usb 3.0 hubs someday.

Until then I will be gettin 2.0 for the most part.  Just hard to beat RPI as a controller.

actually, someone (Jake36, probably) specifically mentioned that this particular usb 3.0 hub (Superbpag) handles raspberry pi well, if I am not mistaken.
Pages:
Jump to: