Pages:
Author

Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread - page 92. (Read 61906 times)

full member
Activity: 167
Merit: 100
1. I'm currently running Raspian Stretch 9.8 with no issues.

2. You will likely want to save the run.sh file in the same folder as cgminer.

Another way to approach the issue, is  to run cgminer with the initial command line arguments, then use "s" > "w" ("Y" if asked to confirm overwrite) to write a config file.

Open another command prompt and (assuming you have a default instalation) navigate to and edit the config file with:

Code:
sudo su
cd /home/pi/.cgminer
nano cgminer.conf

You can now edit the cgminer config file.

Once you have it edited as desired, exit and save the cgminer.conf file with ctrl+x.

Now you can restart cgminer with "./cgminer" in the original window that cgminer was running in, and it will run with the updated config file settings. If you are switching settings often (maybe manually trying to hone in on a frequency) just leave the second command prompt window open so you can use one window for running cgminer and one for editing cgminer.conf.

3. I'll defer to someone else on this one, I'm just learning linux... (edit: This tutorial may have what you want for a cgminer auto run at start: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/super-tutorial-raspberry-piraspbiancgminertightvncwifi-at-boot-233392).

4. For remote access I use VNC viewer.  You do have to sign up for a free account, but it's an easy process to get up and running. https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/how-to-use-remote-desktop-on-the-raspberry-pi-with-vnc/all.

Hope that helps a bit.

I have followed the link in point 3 and in point 10 in the link you have to do this:

Code:
sudo nano /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart

and add this to end of the file:

Code:
@/usr/bin/lxterminal --geometry=90x35 -e cgminer

But for some reason it will not start after reboot.

Do I have to add the whole path to CGminer, if so what is the path?
hero member
Activity: 2534
Merit: 623
Before the auto tune version (which is still undergoing changes) I ran my sticks at the freq of the slowest stick, which in my case was 450m. Even though the other sticks would run a bit faster, for simplicity it was just easier to run where they were all happy.

Secondly you could have an instance of cgminer per stick with individual settings.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 1
Thanks again for all the advice.

I picked up the 700w power, removed my gtx560
all thats running now is the usb hub (PCIe, 12v rail) with 3 newpacs, and a couple of harddrives running onboard video

i am concerned that i have to crank up my freq to 505mhz for it to get stable.  Anything lower or higher gives me nonce errors or ASIC offline resets.

I tried running the new build again, and adding the noboost code, and tune down 90, and setting the freq at 500 the auto tuner dropped my sticks down to under 70mhz and my pool gave me (too low difficulty) errors.

my question is, should i be concerned of the freq (i do have fans on the sticks)?  everyone else seems to get 100gh/s share with lower freq with a similar build from what i've read?

if the auto tune wont work for me for some reason, can i set the freq by stick instead of globally for all 3 of them?  
GSH 1 - runs about 20gh/s lower than the other 2 sticks, and misses nonce and resets fairly often.

Code:
0: GSH 10031593: BM1387:2 506.25MHz      | 86.73G / 89.21Gh/s WU:1247.2/m
1: GSH 10031670: BM1387:2 506.25MHz      | 83.55G / 73.18Gh/s WU:1022.3/m
2: GSH 10031678: BM1387:2 506.25MHz      | 88.89G / 90.19Gh/s WU:1260.3/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2019-04-15 22:38:58.899] Accepted 221ce1cb Diff 1.92K/512 GSH 0
 [2019-04-15 22:39:07.931] Accepted 22fc2964 Diff 1.87K/512 GSH 1
 [2019-04-15 22:39:19.517] Accepted 296fc51a Diff 1.58K/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:39:25.743] Accepted 0ab177bb Diff 6.13K/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:39:27.165] Accepted 56406fb6 Diff 760/512 GSH 1
 [2019-04-15 22:39:41.037] Accepted 56b2f16a Diff 756/512 GSH 1
 [2019-04-15 22:39:41.348] GSH 1: missing nonces
 [2019-04-15 22:39:41.864] GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
 [2019-04-15 22:39:47.368] GSH 1: setting frequency to 506.25MHz
 [2019-04-15 22:39:50.877] Accepted 61036a22 Diff 676/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:39:55.828] Accepted 2b6e424d Diff 1.51K/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:40:08.816] Accepted 0c62e004 Diff 5.29K/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:40:08.816] Accepted 49f8f0e5 Diff 886/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:40:20.033] Accepted 32a919de Diff 1.29K/512 GSH 0
 [2019-04-15 22:40:38.068] Accepted 7122dbc2 Diff 579/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:40:40.462] Accepted 4fb98364 Diff 822/512 GSH 0
 [2019-04-15 22:40:49.236] GSH 1: missing nonces
newbie
Activity: 3
Merit: 0
Hello,

Thanks for the suggestions. Just attempted to mine as superuser, but got the same result.
legendary
Activity: 3374
Merit: 1859
Curmudgeonly hardware guy
Right, now I remember he's on mac, which is why I didn't say something about zadig earlier.

cgminer's picking up 2Pacs, so either it's already got permissions directly or with the workaround. If it was detected but not able to mine for a permissions issue, there's a warning pops up about that instead of a no-devices-detected. Could that cause a failed-to-initialize without the message about permissions?

Seems to me something at least slightly weird's going on, but I'm the hardware guy so listen to VH and kano.
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
That's a good point. 2Pac and NewPac use a different USB chip so drivers wouldn't carry over.
The -n will show any devices that cgminer can see that are usable on USB

Zadig is Windows only and gives a USB connection to the USB devices that have a non-USB driver in Windows.

... though did he use 'sudo' to mine?
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 10
In connection with this, I would like to ask some n00b questions.
1st. What version of the Raspbian should I use?
2nd. Where do you save the run.sh?
3rd. How can you make the run.sh run at startup?
4th. How do you supervise your PI's?

1. I'm currently running Raspian Stretch 9.8 with no issues.

2. You will likely want to save the run.sh file in the same folder as cgminer.

Another way to approach the issue, is  to run cgminer with the initial command line arguments, then use "s" > "w" ("Y" if asked to confirm overwrite) to write a config file.

Open another command prompt and (assuming you have a default instalation) navigate to and edit the config file with:

Code:
sudo su
cd /home/pi/.cgminer
nano cgminer.conf

You can now edit the cgminer config file.

Once you have it edited as desired, exit and save the cgminer.conf file with ctrl+x.

Now you can restart cgminer with "./cgminer" in the original window that cgminer was running in, and it will run with the updated config file settings. If you are switching settings often (maybe manually trying to hone in on a frequency) just leave the second command prompt window open so you can use one window for running cgminer and one for editing cgminer.conf.

3. I'll defer to someone else on this one, I'm just learning linux... (edit: This tutorial may have what you want for a cgminer auto run at start: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/super-tutorial-raspberry-piraspbiancgminertightvncwifi-at-boot-233392).

4. For remote access I use VNC viewer.  You do have to sign up for a free account, but it's an easy process to get up and running. https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/how-to-use-remote-desktop-on-the-raspberry-pi-with-vnc/all.

Hope that helps a bit.
legendary
Activity: 3374
Merit: 1859
Curmudgeonly hardware guy
That's a good point. 2Pac and NewPac use a different USB chip so drivers wouldn't carry over.
hero member
Activity: 2534
Merit: 623
Not sure if its applicable but have you run Zadig for the newpac drivers?
newbie
Activity: 3
Merit: 0
Hello all,
Just received a NewPac but can't seem to get cgminer 4.11.1 (installed via homebrew on Mac OS Sierra) to initialize the device. Runs 2pacs without issue. Tried using both the newpac-specific switches as well as no switches at all, and no luck.

This is the error:

Code:
[2019-04-13 14:43:17.034] GekkoScience detect (20:30) failed to initialise (incorrect device?), resetting
 [2019-04-13 14:43:17.035] No devices detected!
 [2019-04-13 14:43:17.035] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit

Result of ./cgminer -n; ./cgminer --help | grep newpac-freq; sudo ./cgminer -n:

Code:
[2019-04-13 14:34:21.596] USB all: found 13 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 20 Device 30 ID: 0403:6015
  Manufacturer: 'GekkoScience'
  Product: 'NewPac Bitcoin Miner'                    
 [2019-04-13 14:34:21.596] 1 known USB devices                    
--gekko-newpac-freq Set GekkoScience NewPac BM1387 frequency in MHz, range 50-900 (default: 100)
 [2019-04-13 14:34:21.710] USB all: found 13 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 20 Device 30 ID: 0403:6015
  Manufacturer: 'GekkoScience'
  Product: 'NewPac Bitcoin Miner'                    
 [2019-04-13 14:34:21.710] 1 known USB devices

Any ideas? Thanks for reading.
member
Activity: 93
Merit: 11
419Mining, LLC states in all sales that active cooling is recommended even at stock speeds.

Bear in mind, a simple desk fan can be considered active cooling, most people even use something as simple as this USB fan: https://www.ebay.com/itm/254154810314.

I use two of these on my GekkoScience hubs running 6 NewPacs at 200 Mhz

Overkill but if one fan fails, I'm still OK

Nice and cool & very quiet Cheesy




legendary
Activity: 4256
Merit: 8551
'The right to privacy matters'
@phillip

thanks for the insight, i'll try!

i'll prob breakdown and get the PSU you suggested though

I know a tight budget is tough,  but it is a pretty good one for 69 after rebate.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 1
@phillip

thanks for the insight, i'll try!

i'll prob breakdown and get the PSU you suggested though
legendary
Activity: 4256
Merit: 8551
'The right to privacy matters'
before i spend money on another PSU, if i pulled out the GTX card and used onboard video (which is fine for me, im not doing anything with it other than this), i bet i could get some more power out of the PCIe rail.

i really appreciate the help with this team!
I'm never expecting to mine to make myself rich, i just find it fascinating and a fun hobby project.  the Gekko team has really made it easy to learn about mining, and to get it going!  and support so far has been great.  You guys taking care of the n00bs is what makes me want to continue to purchase these items.  Now I need some Gekko vinyl stickers to put on my car!

Mainboard: M5A88-V EVO - ASUS
CPU: AMD FX-4100
(core voltage is running about about 1.0V right now)

(this compy was originally built to be my media center DVR.  picked up a fire recast for OTA recording, so needed to do something with the rig)

maybe it would work  does the amd fx-4100  have a video chip?

it can pull up to 95 watts which is 7+ amps on one of the 2x 22amp rails so the rail feeding the cpu has under 15 amps left on it

Edit:

I checked the mobo and it has a video chip

you still may not fix your issue  

as I do not know how the 2x 22amp rails setup.

it is free to try it so why not give it a shot.
full member
Activity: 167
Merit: 100
so you want to make a .sh file (shell script).

first line is always "#!/bin/sh"  (a.k.a hashbang then the script type.)
Then you include the command you would enter into the terminal on the next line.

obviously, it can get a lot more complicated, just like batch files, but that's the first step.

simple example:  run.sh

Code:
#!/bin/sh

cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh.2pac -p x --suggest-diff 1  --gekko-2pac-freq 200

after you've made your .sh file, you need to make it executable.  the command for that is "chmod +x run.sh", or if you have a GUI, you can right click on it, and on one of the property pages you can select to make it executable.

then to run a shell script, you need to type in "./run.sh".  the dot slash is critical.

In connection with this, I would like to ask some n00b questions.
1st. What version of the Raspbian should I use?
2nd. Where do you save the run.sh?
3rd. How can you make the run.sh run at startup?
4th. How do you supervise your PI's?
legendary
Activity: 3374
Merit: 1859
Curmudgeonly hardware guy
The BM1387 ASICs are very susceptible to thermal runaway. The difference between no cooling and even slight air movement can mean a halving of the power draw on the NewPac.
copper member
Activity: 190
Merit: 111
https://www.419mining.com
What would be a safe frequency to run these miners if your using a usb 3 port with passive cooling? Trying to figure out how much i can push these sticks before i need external cooling....

419Mining, LLC states in all sales that active cooling is recommended even at stock speeds.

Bear in mind, a simple desk fan can be considered active cooling, most people even use something as simple as this USB fan: https://www.ebay.com/itm/254154810314.
hero member
Activity: 2534
Merit: 623
Team,

i have two more n00b questions.

Is there anyway to make each miner its own worker in my pool through CG miner?
or do all of them together become one worker, technically?

i.e..

Code:
us-east.stratum.slushpool.com:3333 -Gekko-newpac-GSH:0 -o username.worker1 -p x   --gekko-newpac-GSH:1 -o username.worker2 -p x

You can run an instance of cgminer for each stick and have a worker name set for each one. Although there isnt really much point with the sticks as the hashrate isnt much to worry about if one drops out.

What would be a safe frequency to run these miners if your using a usb 3 port with passive cooling? Trying to figure out how much i can push these sticks before i need external cooling....

It says on the first page of the thread  Wink But incase you missed it. Its 125m for passive cooling.
member
Activity: 71
Merit: 11
What would be a safe frequency to run these miners if your using a usb 3 port with passive cooling? Trying to figure out how much i can push these sticks before i need external cooling....
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 1
Team,

i have two more n00b questions.

Is there anyway to make each miner its own worker in my pool through CG miner?
or do all of them together become one worker, technically?

i.e..

Code:
us-east.stratum.slushpool.com:3333 -Gekko-newpac-GSH:0 -o username.worker1 -p x   --gekko-newpac-GSH:1 -o username.worker2 -p x
Pages:
Jump to: