Pages:
Author

Topic: Great New Crashcorrection (fulfilled) - page 2. (Read 14831 times)

legendary
Activity: 1064
Merit: 1001
November 13, 2013, 08:58:37 AM
Why would you dump lots in seconds when you can keep the price higher by dumping small portions? Of course 24hrs seems a lot reasonable if you want to cash out.
legendary
Activity: 2128
Merit: 1074
November 13, 2013, 08:54:27 AM
Here is the chart, IMO proving that the big crash was started by relatively small whales and lasted about 24 hours before the ddos.

Activity: 133
Merit: 100
November 13, 2013, 08:01:13 AM
You are exaggerating. I wasn't into bitcoin in April, but I studied the charts and looked again just now.
There were multiple dumps of a few thousands of coins each, not even close to 50k, and over several hours, not minutes.
So a massive crash like April does not require several 50k whales to dump, just a bunch of smaller whales and many panic sellers.
That means you didn't see the Gox lag of several hours then. I suppose the initial dumps were done very quickly, afterwards the Gox interface pretty much didn't load at all. You might want to watch the timelapse video of the crash ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nanesJ0bLrQ might not be the best one, but the first one I've found). And close to the lows there were indeed several 100k BTC dumped... Who knows whether by whales or by smaller fish...
legendary
November 13, 2013, 07:12:38 AM
Crash is when several whales compete to dump their 50,000btc each. Back in april there was 100,000btc dumped in the 60s in a matter of minutes.

You are exaggerating. I wasn't into bitcoin in April, but I studied the charts and looked again just now.
There were multiple dumps of a few thousands of coins each, not even close to 50k, and over several hours, not minutes.
So a massive crash like April does not require several 50k whales to dump, just a bunch of smaller whales and many panic sellers.
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
November 13, 2013, 05:22:07 AM