Pages:
Author

Topic: Help the bitcoin network by being a node. - page 7. (Read 20982 times)

hero member
Activity: 576
Merit: 500
December 14, 2013, 10:31:27 PM
#45
That script is what I used, and damn it was awesome! Made it very fast to set up!

Feels very good!  Grin I modified the max connections though to 80 instead of 40.



I'm surprised how many old nodes there are out there. Update people!

Code:
bitcoind getpeerinfo|grep subver|sort|uniq -c|sort -n
      1         "subver" : "/BitCoinJ:0.10.1/MultiBit:0.5.14/",
      1         "subver" : "/BitCoinJ:0.10.3/Bitcoin Wallet:3.28/",
      1         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.0/",
      1         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.2.2/",
      1         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.4/Eligius:3/",
      1         "subver" : "/Snoopy:0.1/",
      2         "subver" : "",
      2         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.3/",
      2         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.99/",
      6         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.1/",
     16         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.6/",
     27         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.5/",
legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
December 14, 2013, 10:24:03 PM
#44
yes, it feels good:

legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
December 14, 2013, 10:19:30 PM
#43
here is a one-liner setup script!

http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1se3zd/how_to_create_a_full_bitcoin_node_in_a_5_ubuntu/

it runs in root, uses the Ubuntu PPA, opens up 8333, sets a firewall, and sets ssh port to default 22.

to upgrade bitcoind from time to time, run sudo apt-get update then sudo apt-get upgrade.  make sure the new version is posted to the PPA first though by Matt Corrallo.
legendary
Activity: 1498
Merit: 1000
December 14, 2013, 10:17:35 PM
#42
Little tip, start it with
Code:
screen bitcoind
You can then exit the session and leave it running.

Code:
nohup

is probably the better command.

As a relative N00B does "bitcoind daemon" achive similar to nohup? I just setup bitcoind and am noticing that once I loose my SSH the bitcoind stops.

So I just started with cranking up bitcoind daemon but am not 100% sure if it keeps chugging after I close SSH.

If nohup is the way to go is the command nohup bitcoind or bitcoind nohup or drill into some directory - fyi I have bitcoind running at root since I dont use this VPS or this bitcoind for anything other than helping out seeding....

Yes you have to include the full path to where your bitcoind bin is located, unless you are already in that directory.
legendary
Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002
December 14, 2013, 10:17:19 PM
#41
I'm already trying to help with 5 nodes! Wink Great post

and i thought i was doing good with setting up 3!  Cheesy
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
December 14, 2013, 10:05:13 PM
#40
Little tip, start it with
Code:
screen bitcoind
You can then exit the session and leave it running.

Code:
nohup

is probably the better command.

As a relative N00B does "bitcoind daemon" achive similar to nohup? I just setup bitcoind and am noticing that once I loose my SSH the bitcoind stops.

So I just started with cranking up bitcoind daemon but am not 100% sure if it keeps chugging after I close SSH.

If nohup is the way to go is the command nohup bitcoind or bitcoind nohup or drill into some directory - fyi I have bitcoind running at root since I dont use this VPS or this bitcoind for anything other than helping out seeding....
hero member
Activity: 576
Merit: 500
December 13, 2013, 02:59:06 PM
#39
Don't forget to open port 8333.

Quote
Most ordinary folks should NOT be running a full node. We need full nodes that are always on, have more than 8 connections (if you have only 8 then you are part of the problem, not part of the solution), and have a high-bandwidth connection to the Internet.
So: if you've got an extra virtual machine with enough memory in a data center, then yes, please, run a full node.

http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1scd4z/im_running_a_full_node_and_so_should_you/cdw3lrh?context=3
legendary
Activity: 1193
Merit: 1003
9.9.2012: I predict that single digits... <- FAIL
December 13, 2013, 02:58:27 PM
#38
but by having bitcoin-qt on your computer you're a node as well right?
Yes, even more useful if you keep it on 24/24

...and accept incoming connections.

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/does-my-bitcoin-qt-client-accept-incoming-connections-79808
legendary
Activity: 1498
Merit: 1000
December 13, 2013, 01:57:03 PM
#37
Little tip, start it with
Code:
screen bitcoind
You can then exit the session and leave it running.

Code:
nohup

is probably the better command.
legendary
Activity: 1148
Merit: 1008
If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat
December 13, 2013, 02:52:18 PM
#37
but by having bitcoin-qt on your computer you're a node as well right?
Yes, even more useful if you keep it on 24/24
legendary
Activity: 1498
Merit: 1000
December 13, 2013, 02:35:17 PM
#36
but by having bitcoin-qt on your computer you're a node as well right?

Technically yes, but what these people are doing is having servers that are a lot more open than you would do on your computer.
legendary
Activity: 1106
Merit: 1005
December 13, 2013, 02:30:50 PM
#35
but by having bitcoin-qt on your computer you're a node as well right?
legendary
Activity: 3066
Merit: 1147
The revolution will be monetized!
December 13, 2013, 01:51:35 PM
#34
Thank you for running a node! I have a piece of crap Linux box at home that basically only runs a bitcoin node and TOR. It's not very exciting to look at, but I feel good contributing directly to these networks.
full member
Activity: 168
Merit: 100
December 13, 2013, 01:44:06 PM
#33
Little tip, start it with
Code:
screen bitcoind
You can then exit the session and leave it running.

Just created a droplet myself. tried it on CentOS first but had trouble so tried Ubuntu and it worked first time.

Code:
{
    "version" : 80500,
    "protocolversion" : 70001,
    "walletversion" : 60000,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 108023,
    "timeoffset" : -1,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "difficulty" : 25997.87992881,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1386955780,
    "keypoolsize" : 101,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}
legendary
Activity: 1526
Merit: 1129
December 12, 2013, 12:29:44 PM
#32
Yes, even with 512mb of RAM a node can still be very useful. Thanks for running some!

To get a feel for who/what is using your node, you can try

Code:
./bitcoind getpeerinfo|grep subver|sort|uniq -c|sort -n
      1         "subver" : "/BTCETHZ:0.8.99/",
      1         "subver" : "/BitCoinJ:0.10.3/Bitcoin Wallet:3.28/",
      1         "subver" : "/BitCoinJ:0.9/MultiBit:0.5.12/",
      1         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.99/",
      2         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.0/",
      3         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.3/",
      3         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.4/",
      4         "subver" : "",
      4         "subver" : "/BitCoinJ:0.9/MultiBit:0.5.13/",
     10         "subver" : "/BitCoinJ:0.10.1/MultiBit:0.5.14/",
     11         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.6/",
     22         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.1/",
     24         "subver" : "/BitCoinJ:0.10.2/MultiBit:0.5.15/",
     82         "subver" : "/Satoshi:0.8.5/",

So my node is mostly connected to other BitcoinD nodes, but there's a lot of multibits there too. Old MultiBits have bugs, those users should upgrade Sad

If you do run a bitcoind, please keep it up to date! Running the latest versions keeps things healthy.
legendary
Activity: 1974
Merit: 1029
December 12, 2013, 11:48:32 AM
#31
How would I go about setting something up to monitor bitcoind and if it stops restart it? For some reason my bitcoind stopped last night and I had to manually start it up. I am kind of a linux noob  Sad

https://bitcointalk.org/?topic=5911.0 (old but probably still useful)
hero member
Activity: 576
Merit: 500
December 12, 2013, 10:49:30 AM
#30
How would I go about setting something up to monitor bitcoind and if it stops restart it? For some reason my bitcoind stopped last night and I had to manually start it up. I am kind of a linux noob  Sad
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
December 04, 2013, 03:31:17 AM
#29
Looks like hosting providers will have to stock up on hard drives soon Smiley
newbie
Activity: 44
Merit: 0
December 04, 2013, 02:52:36 AM
#28
Just launched a droplet from DigitalOcean with bitcoind. +1 node for bitcoin.

p.s : for various options to run with bitcoind follow this wiki page
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin.
member
Activity: 111
Merit: 10
December 03, 2013, 08:05:57 PM
#27
little bump, for the new and old coiners :p
Pages:
Jump to: