Pages:
Author

Topic: How to design a perfect cold storage? - page 3. (Read 6260 times)

Activity: 490
Merit: 389
Do not trust the government
September 16, 2017, 07:34:45 AM
I thank the people putting their ideas here, it is good for us (newbies). i have to admit that right now. I do not feel safe with the wallet that i have. however, the amount of bitcoin that i have is not of a substantial so i am not paranoid about it. Still i wanted to ask or clarify something regarding this paper wallet. I have read on the newbie section of somewhere that you can create a duplicate of the same wallet on this paper thing but my question is if you get to withdraw the bitcoin from that wallet say a duplicate it will still reflect on the original right? as it is just the same, i mean like you just have one wallet address it is just that it was duplicated for safe keeping. i apologize if this may be a newbie question but i am no IT expert, i am a medical professional who just so happened got interested with bitcoin.

Yes. A wallet is just a list of private keys which are just numbers that can be used to unlock the funds of the corresponding Bitcoin addresses and send the coins where you wish. Making a paper wallet is just writing that number on paper (but most often with QR codes so it machine readable). It is kinda like a password to your account, it doesn't matter where you store it, it will still be just a password.

It is nice to see people from different professions be interested in Bitcoin. It makes a whole ecosystem possible.
Activity: 154
Merit: 100
September 16, 2017, 05:05:04 AM