Pages:
Author

Topic: L3+/L3++ voltage tuning script - page 4. (Read 3421 times)

full member
Activity: 195
Merit: 104
May 18, 2018, 03:36:23 AM
#30
this time i got this erroe on miner that i already run script before:

Undefined errors occured fetching voltage settings from miner:
sh: /config/sv: Permission denied

Aborting.
legendary
Activity: 1612
Merit: 1608
精神分析的爸
May 17, 2018, 01:38:38 PM
#29
And how do i run script on multiple L3's at the same time ? :>

Simply open another terminal and start it against another miner (or use screen or tmux). Even on an old and outdated PC you should easily be able to tune a dozen or so miners at once.

Just make sure you do not have 2 script instances running against the same miner at the same time (it should not have any desastrous consequences but both scripts will probably fail with an error when they try to read out or set voltage at the same time).
full member
Activity: 195
Merit: 104
May 17, 2018, 12:13:23 PM
#28
And how do i run script on multiple L3's at the same time ? :>
legendary
Activity: 4172
Merit: 8075
'The right to privacy matters'
May 17, 2018, 10:33:17 AM
#27
I have L3+(Blissz v1.02) is possible to go lower voltage(save more W)? with freq:300-312?

thx

With such low frequency your miners should already be set to minimum voltage/maximum undervolting setting of 0xfe (254). You can't undervolt more than this so no need for tuning.

My take on the scrypt   is that it is good if you want to try minimum volts setting of 0xfe  and find highest hashrate that works for separate boards.

But that if you clock at freq of 359 or lower  like I do most boards simply  do the 0xfe  with close to no errors.

Still if you have 2 board that do   384 and one that does 359  this is a good  addition to the voltage control software.
legendary
Activity: 1612
Merit: 1608
精神分析的爸
May 17, 2018, 10:20:47 AM
#26
I have L3+(Blissz v1.02) is possible to go lower voltage(save more W)? with freq:300-312?

thx

With such low frequency your miners should already be set to minimum voltage/maximum undervolting setting of 0xfe (254). You can't undervolt more than this so no need for tuning.
legendary
Activity: 1612
Merit: 1608
精神分析的爸
May 17, 2018, 10:18:14 AM
#25
Well that updated version works every time exactly 15mins to the second. Then it suddenly stops.

Thank you very much for the reports.
It actually finishes because it thinks the miner is stable and under the max. errror-rate (which I have currently set to 0.2/min, or 1/5min per chain).
The downvolting kicks in as soon as a chain has 0.0 errors in the 10min avg. and the voltage increase kicks in when a chain has more than 0.2 errors per min in the 5min average.

When I look at your end-results, the script assumes the miner as tuned when it does not make any changes within 10min to voltages as it thinks it has found the sweet spot between no errors and too much errors.

I will revisit that part of the code and see what I can improve there, but from what I see it does actually tune your miner, but I agree it should try harder/longer:


| Start 19:20.46 | 0xa0 | 0x8b | 0xcd | 0xa9 |
| Start 19:20.46 | 59 C | 58 C | 54 C | 53 C |
| End   19:35.46 | 0xa0 | 0x92 | 0xcd | 0xb0 |
| End   19:35.46 | 59 C | 58 C | 54 C | 53 C |

| Start 13:39.55 | 0xa3 | 0x6f | 0xa3 | 0x9c |
| Start 13:39.55 | 60 C | 61 C | 58 C | 56 C |
| End   14:01.55 | 0x9f | 0x7d | 0xb1 | 0xa2 |
| End   14:01.55 | 60 C | 60 C | 57 C | 55 C |

| Start  9:40.40 | 0x87 | 0x67 | 0x87 | 0x87 |
| Start  9:40.40 | 60 C | 59 C | 57 C | 54 C |
| End    9:55.40 | 0x8e | 0x6e | 0x87 | 0x87 |
| End    9:55.40 | 59 C | 59 C | 57 C | 54 C |


I was trying to make sure the script doesn't run forever and stops/exits as soon as it can, but I probably went a bit too far wrt this.

For the moment feel free to run the script multiple times, I even recommend to re-run it everytime ambient temperatures change noteably (>=2°C difference). Simply put, the colder the less voltage needed.
Whenever you change frequency you should re-run the script or manually re-tune them anyways.

If you want to run the script multiple times in a row unattended, use a command like below:
Code:
for i in range {1..3}; do /path/l3plus_autotune.py -i x.x.x.x; sleep 60; done
^This will run it three times in a row, just as a workaround until I come up with a smarter solution on finding the right point in time to declare the miner tuned.

I will post, once I have an update.

newbie
Activity: 60
Merit: 0
May 17, 2018, 05:46:18 AM
#24
I have L3+(Blissz v1.02) is possible to go lower voltage(save more W)? with freq:300-312?

thx
newbie
Activity: 1
Merit: 0
May 16, 2018, 06:28:29 PM
#23
Hi there,

Thank you so much for the tool you've created. It's very helpful.

Today I've run into this error and am wondering if you've encountered it before?

https://imgur.com/a/xIoX9BS

full member
Activity: 195
Merit: 104
May 16, 2018, 03:21:56 PM
#22
Well that updated version works every time exactly 15mins to the second. Then it suddenly stops.
legendary
Activity: 4172
Merit: 8075
'The right to privacy matters'
May 16, 2018, 08:49:59 AM
#21
what kind of results can one expect? we talking 50watt or 5 ?

Sorry found answer in original thread.

I am going to ping phil to give it a whirl since I know he has a few L3+. Sadly all miner are in a hosting facility except for one lonely s9 that is pos and been in warranty 5 times. But the OP thread it was 600w vw 800w so that is a 20% saving.

Just got a pm to read this

I have multiple L3+ with the undervolt tool

using just the jstefanop  tool  on freq 359 hash rate of 470 I do 667 watts with minimum volts on all 4 boards. using a corsair ax1500i titanium

this is a savings of over 100 watts.

So my first question is  can this scrypt use a lower volt setting then  0xfe?
..

Thanks for checking in. No, unfortunately 0xfe equals 254 and ist the highest undervolting you can set.
If you have 4x 0xfe set, there is nothing more you can do to save on energy (except lowering frequency further), this script doesn't help you then as it is about to find the highest undervolting setting where you miners still work reliably.

You could however get possibly more hashes/W if you increase the frequency to the point where you still can run them with 0xfe on all or most blades.


I will play with this during the week.
legendary
Activity: 1612
Merit: 1608
精神分析的爸
May 16, 2018, 08:47:40 AM
#20
what kind of results can one expect? we talking 50watt or 5 ?

Sorry found answer in original thread.

I am going to ping phil to give it a whirl since I know he has a few L3+. Sadly all miner are in a hosting facility except for one lonely s9 that is pos and been in warranty 5 times. But the OP thread it was 600w vw 800w so that is a 20% saving.

Just got a pm to read this

I have multiple L3+ with the undervolt tool

using just the jstefanop  tool  on freq 359 hash rate of 470 I do 667 watts with minimum volts on all 4 boards. using a corsair ax1500i titanium

this is a savings of over 100 watts.

So my first question is  can this scrypt use a lower volt setting then  0xfe?
..

Thanks for checking in. No, unfortunately 0xfe equals 254 and ist the highest undervolting you can set.
If you have 4x 0xfe set, there is nothing more you can do to save on energy (except lowering frequency further), this script doesn't help you then as it is about to find the highest undervolting setting where you miners still work reliably.

You could however get possibly more hashes/W if you increase the frequency to the point where you still can run them with 0xfe on all or most blades. And if you are willing to set a frequency where you do not get 0 errors on all chains with 0xfe, my script can help to find the highest possible setting with lowest possible errors.
legendary
Activity: 4172
Merit: 8075
'The right to privacy matters'
May 16, 2018, 08:35:16 AM
#19
what kind of results can one expect? we talking 50watt or 5 ?

Sorry found answer in original thread.

I am going to ping phil to give it a whirl since I know he has a few L3+. Sadly all miner are in a hosting facility except for one lonely s9 that is pos and been in warranty 5 times. But the OP thread it was 600w vw 800w so that is a 20% saving.

Just got a pm to read this

I have multiple L3+ with the undervolt tool

using just the jstefanop  tool  on freq 359 hash rate of 470 I do 667 watts with minimum volts on all 4 boards. using a corsair ax1500i titanium

this is a savings of over 100 watts.

So my first question is  can this scrypt use a lower volt setting then  0xfe?
here is a 3 board unit with voltage tool

Last login: Tue May  8 10:15:16 on ttys000
philsbeasts-Pro:~ philsbeast$ scp /Users/philsbeast/Downloads/set_voltage [email protected]:/config
The authenticity of host '192.168.0.190 (192.168.0.190)' can't be established.
RSA key fingerprint is d8:dc:52:5e:0a:c2:63:55:f1:af:3d:ed:7c:4f:e1:ec.
Are you sure you want to continue connecting (yes/no)? yes
Warning: Permanently added '192.168.0.190' (RSA) to the list of known hosts.
[email protected]'s password:
set_voltage                                                                     100% 9204     9.0KB/s   00:00    
philsbeasts-Pro:~ philsbeast$ ssh [email protected]
[email protected]'s password:
root@antMinerTwo2L3:~# cd /config
root@antMinerTwo2L3:/config# ./set_voltage 1fe
Incorrect arguments
Usage:
./set_voltage [chain# 1-4] [voltage in hex]
root@antMinerTwo2L3:/config# ./set_voltage 1 fe

 version = 0x03
reading voltage

 voltage = 0x80
setting voltage
reading voltage

 voltage = 0xfe
Success: Voltage updated!
root@antMinerTwo2L3:/config# ./set_voltage 2 fe

 version = 0x00
Wrong PIC version
root@antMinerTwo2L3:/config# ./set_voltage 3 fe

 version = 0x03
reading voltage

 voltage = 0x80
setting voltage
reading voltage

 voltage = 0xfe
Success: Voltage updated!
root@antMinerTwo2L3:/config#
root@antMinerTwo2L3:/config# ./set_voltage 4 fe

 version = 0x03
reading voltage

 voltage = 0x80
setting voltage
reading voltage

 voltage = 0xfe
Success: Voltage updated!
root@antMinerTwo2L3:/config#




full size
https://i.imgur.com/YNrG63r.png

so after days no Hw's to speak of.

this is manual tuned to lowest volts on the tool and I use freq 359 since it gave me almost no errors
legendary
Activity: 1612
Merit: 1608
精神分析的爸
May 16, 2018, 08:30:56 AM
#18
did you check my full version of the json ?

I think so, please check this post:

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.37448663
newbie
Activity: 64
Merit: 0
May 16, 2018, 08:04:51 AM
#17
did you check my full version of the json ?
full member
Activity: 195
Merit: 104
May 16, 2018, 07:47:30 AM
#16
..

Thanks for testing the script and reporting back.

Never seen that error here. But I see that we're trying to sleep a negative number of seconds because your ssh connection take longer than 15s each, which makes the computer say "No" in a very Little Brittain like manner.
Will work around this and push an update later today and post here when it is fixed.

I guess that's the reason it never finishes and therefor never really does its job of lowering the voltage.
Have you ever seen it finishing with lines like the following or does it always drop out with an error?

Code:
...
= Running since: 8495s, now sleeping for 24.4s =
Finished tuning, miner stable AFAICS


Well, yes it finished once or twice after 40mins or so, but there still was zero HW's and way more to go with undervolting. Most of times tho it stops after one pass - about 10-15mins. I just took very old laptop not used in long time, installed ubuntu and pluged it to local network seemed best idea at the time since i got windows on pc

First, the problem with negative sleep is fixed in the current github version, please update and see if it goes away for you.

Regarding the problem of not getting undervolted enough, could you pm me the contents of one or two report files the tool generates when finished?
I am aware the mechanism for finding the sweet spot voltage-wise is far from perfect yet, but in my tests I always got very accurate results, meaning it improved my manual tuning by a lot.

Will test it more in couple hours after i get back home and will send You some logs
legendary
Activity: 1612
Merit: 1608
精神分析的爸
May 16, 2018, 07:12:56 AM
#15
..

Thanks for testing the script and reporting back.

Never seen that error here. But I see that we're trying to sleep a negative number of seconds because your ssh connection take longer than 15s each, which makes the computer say "No" in a very Little Brittain like manner.
Will work around this and push an update later today and post here when it is fixed.

I guess that's the reason it never finishes and therefor never really does its job of lowering the voltage.
Have you ever seen it finishing with lines like the following or does it always drop out with an error?

Code:
...
= Running since: 8495s, now sleeping for 24.4s =
Finished tuning, miner stable AFAICS


Well, yes it finished once or twice after 40mins or so, but there still was zero HW's and way more to go with undervolting. Most of times tho it stops after one pass - about 10-15mins. I just took very old laptop not used in long time, installed ubuntu and pluged it to local network seemed best idea at the time since i got windows on pc

First, the problem with negative sleep is fixed in the current github version, please update and see if it goes away for you.

Regarding the problem of not getting undervolted enough, could you pm me the contents of one or two report files the tool generates when finished?
I am aware the mechanism for finding the sweet spot voltage-wise is far from perfect yet, but in my tests I always got very accurate results, meaning it improved my manual tuning by a lot.
legendary
Activity: 1612
Merit: 1608
精神分析的爸
May 16, 2018, 07:06:01 AM
#14
full member
Activity: 195
Merit: 104
May 16, 2018, 06:16:48 AM
#13
Scrypt starts to work, but it finishes randomly testing - sometimes after 10mins or bit more, even if there is room for undervolt for example with zero HW.
And sometime it does this:

= Running since: 00:10.14, now sleeping for 46.4s =
| 192.168.8.18 [425] |  61  |  60  |  58  |  55  |
+ Current voltages   + 0x80 + 0x60 + 0x80 + 0x80 +
|Errors/min (5min)   | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0 0 0 0 |
|Errors/min (10min)  | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0 0 0 0 |
|Errors/min (15min)  | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0 0 0 0 |
|Errors/min (all)    | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0 0 0 0 |
Chain 1 can be undervolted more (0.00 err/m)
Voltage setting of 0x87 good to test.
Undervolted chain 1 from 0x80 to 0x87
Chain 2 can be undervolted more (0.00 err/m)
Voltage setting of 0x67 good to test.
Undervolted chain 2 from 0x60 to 0x67
Chain 3 can be undervolted more (0.00 err/m)
Voltage setting of 0x87 good to test.
Undervolted chain 3 from 0x80 to 0x87
Chain 4 can be undervolted more (0.00 err/m)
Voltage setting of 0x87 good to test.
Undervolted chain 4 from 0x80 to 0x87
= Running since: 00:12.07, now sleeping for -6.0s =
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./l3plus_autotune.py", line 600, in
    time.sleep( REPEAT - (time.time()-now) )
IOError: [Errno 22] Invalid argument


Thanks for testing the script and reporting back.

Never seen that error here. But I see that we're trying to sleep a negative number of seconds because your ssh connection take longer than 15s each, which makes the computer say "No" in a very Little Brittain like manner.
Will work around this and push an update later today and post here when it is fixed.

I guess that's the reason it never finishes and therefor never really does its job of lowering the voltage.
Have you ever seen it finishing with lines like the following or does it always drop out with an error?

Code:
...
= Running since: 8495s, now sleeping for 24.4s =
Finished tuning, miner stable AFAICS


Well, yes it finished once or twice after 40mins or so, but there still was zero HW's and way more to go with undervolting. Most of times tho it stops after one pass - about 10-15mins. I just took very old laptop not used in long time, installed ubuntu and pluged it to local network seemed best idea at the time since i got windows on pc
legendary
Activity: 1612
Merit: 1608
精神分析的爸
May 16, 2018, 05:59:54 AM
#12
Scrypt starts to work, but it finishes randomly testing - sometimes after 10mins or bit more, even if there is room for undervolt for example with zero HW.
And sometime it does this:

= Running since: 00:10.14, now sleeping for 46.4s =
| 192.168.8.18 [425] |  61  |  60  |  58  |  55  |
+ Current voltages   + 0x80 + 0x60 + 0x80 + 0x80 +
|Errors/min (5min)   | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0 0 0 0 |
|Errors/min (10min)  | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0 0 0 0 |
|Errors/min (15min)  | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0 0 0 0 |
|Errors/min (all)    | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0 0 0 0 |
Chain 1 can be undervolted more (0.00 err/m)
Voltage setting of 0x87 good to test.
Undervolted chain 1 from 0x80 to 0x87
Chain 2 can be undervolted more (0.00 err/m)
Voltage setting of 0x67 good to test.
Undervolted chain 2 from 0x60 to 0x67
Chain 3 can be undervolted more (0.00 err/m)
Voltage setting of 0x87 good to test.
Undervolted chain 3 from 0x80 to 0x87
Chain 4 can be undervolted more (0.00 err/m)
Voltage setting of 0x87 good to test.
Undervolted chain 4 from 0x80 to 0x87
= Running since: 00:12.07, now sleeping for -6.0s =
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./l3plus_autotune.py", line 600, in
    time.sleep( REPEAT - (time.time()-now) )
IOError: [Errno 22] Invalid argument


Thanks for testing the script and reporting back.

Never seen that error here. But I see that we're trying to sleep a negative number of seconds because your ssh connection take longer than 15s each, which makes the computer say "No" in a very Little Brittain like manner.
Will work around this and push an update later today and post here when it is fixed.

I guess that's the reason it never finishes and therefor never really does its job of lowering the voltage.
Have you ever seen it finishing with lines like the following or does it always drop out with an error?

Code:
...
= Running since: 8495s, now sleeping for 24.4s =
Finished tuning, miner stable AFAICS

sr. member
Activity: 800
Merit: 293
Created AutoTune to saved the planet! ~USA
May 16, 2018, 04:38:56 AM
#11
what kind of results can one expect? we talking 50watt or 5 ?

Sorry found answer in original thread.

I am going to ping phil to give it a whirl since I know he has a few L3+. Sadly all miner are in a hosting facility except for one lonely s9 that is pos and been in warranty 5 times. But the OP thread it was 600w vw 800w so that is a 20% saving.
Pages:
Jump to: