Pages:
Author

Topic: LTC GPU Miner Source Code Reward Thread - page 3. (Read 11625 times)

sr. member
Activity: 470
Merit: 250
March 13, 2012, 02:59:49 PM
#52
I had trouble with worksize, anything under/over 256 would break my miner, making it report MH/s rather then kH/s and it wouldn't send any shares. Try 256 worksize. Also, as bad as this may sound, you could mine a litecoinpool because it pays for stales. But you would only be benefiting yourself, so I wouldn't.

Nope, doesn't work with worksize 256. I tried connecting to litecoinpool but they don't want my stales, they call them Invalid Shares (reaper calls them stales).

The CL code is specific to the hardware in the 5xxx and 6xxx series...  it doesn't compile at all for nVidia cards and it's not surprising that it doesn't compile for the 7xxx series too.

Yep, looks like I'll have to wait until somebody fixes this.
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 500
March 13, 2012, 02:47:28 PM
#51
Try lower aggression.

Yes, I did that. I also played with all the other settings. The result is the same: 100% stales all the time.

I had trouble with worksize, anything under/over 256 would break my miner, making it report MH/s rather then kH/s and it wouldn't send any shares. Try 256 worksize. Also, as bad as this may sound, you could mine a litecoinpool because it pays for stales. But you would only be benefiting yourself, so I wouldn't.
legendary
Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005
March 13, 2012, 01:42:03 PM
#50
The CL code is specific to the hardware in the 5xxx and 6xxx series...  it doesn't compile at all for nVidia cards and it's not surprising that it doesn't compile for the 7xxx series too.
sr. member
Activity: 470
Merit: 250
March 13, 2012, 10:54:17 AM
#49
Try lower aggression.

Yes, I did that. I also played with all the other settings. The result is the same: 100% stales all the time.
full member
Activity: 173
Merit: 100
March 13, 2012, 10:38:27 AM
#48
Try lower aggression.
sr. member
Activity: 470
Merit: 250
March 13, 2012, 10:01:07 AM
#47
Does anybody have it working on a 79xx? It doesn't work on my 7950, I get 100% stales.
full member
Activity: 173
Merit: 100
March 13, 2012, 09:26:12 AM
#46
Finally got it working on my 6870. Using Reaper 13 Beta 2 Win32.

Stock settings (900/1050)

worksize 64
aggression 11
threads_per_gpu 2
sharethreads 8
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 2048 (anything higher will cause Reaper to exit if I dont increase lookup_gap)

190Kh/s (less than 1% stale at Coinotron 1 hr)

Using aggression 14 will bump it to 320Kh/s but at 80-90% stales.
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 500
March 13, 2012, 05:20:28 AM
#45
Any of you guys solo mining LTC with reaper?

I'm not submitting any shares in reaper but GPU is @ 100%,just wondered if this is normal. Huh

I told you, when you solo mine duckie, one share = a block Cheesy

Therefor you will have to wait awhile. Or, you know, you can point your miner to my ltc p2pool node. :~)

Edit:

Looking at litecoinpool, you have about 300kh/s if it is correct. Therefor, it should take you about 4-7 hours per block. (Variance is a killer though)
legendary
Activity: 1442
Merit: 1000
March 13, 2012, 03:58:27 AM
#44
Any of you guys solo mining LTC with reaper?

I'm not submitting any shares in reaper but GPU is @ 100%,just wondered if this is normal. Huh
sr. member
Activity: 240
Merit: 250
Don't mind me.
March 12, 2012, 08:09:17 PM
#43
Wanted to get it running with Reaper on my 335m (Alienware m11x, Windows 8,) but it has been fighting me every step of the way. I've narrowed it down to the driver being able to be installed, and even got it to recognize CUDA on one particular driver, but that's been about it as far as luck goes.

Update: An Old Beta Driver was the ticket, now it's just having trouble putting the thing together.

Code:
Using all devices
        0       GeForce GT 335M
Compiling kernel... this could take up to 2 minutes.
:14: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __a
tribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
        return rotl(n&0x00FF00FF,24U)|rotl(n&0xFF00FF00,8U);
               ^~~~
:607: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[0] ^= rotl(w[3]     +w[2]     , 7U);
                        ^~~~
:608: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[1] ^= rotl(w[0]     +w[3]     , 9U);
                        ^~~~
:609: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[2] ^= rotl(w[1]     +w[0]     ,13U);
                        ^~~~
:610: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[3] ^= rotl(w[2]     +w[1]     ,18U);
                        ^~~~
:611: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[2] ^= rotl(w[3].wxyz+w[0].zwxy, 7U);
                        ^~~~
:612: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[1] ^= rotl(w[2].wxyz+w[3].zwxy, 9U);
                        ^~~~
:613: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[0] ^= rotl(w[1].wxyz+w[2].zwxy,13U);
                        ^~~~
:614: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[3] ^= rotl(w[0].wxyz+w[1].zwxy,18U);
                        ^~~~
:624: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[0] ^= rotl(w[3]     +w[2]     , 7U);
                        ^~~~
:625: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[1] ^= rotl(w[0]     +w[3]     , 9U);
                        ^~~~
:626: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[2] ^= rotl(w[1]     +w[0]     ,13U);
                        ^~~~
:627: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[3] ^= rotl(w[2]     +w[1]     ,18U);
                        ^~~~
:628: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[2] ^= rotl(w[3].wxyz+w[0].zwxy, 7U);
                        ^~~~
:629: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[1] ^= rotl(w[2].wxyz+w[3].zwxy, 9U);
                        ^~~~
:630: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[0] ^= rotl(w[1].wxyz+w[2].zwxy,13U);
                        ^~~~
:631: error: no matching overload found for arguments of type 'unsigned int  __
ttribute__((ext_vector_type(4))), unsigned int'
                w[3] ^= rotl(w[0].wxyz+w[1].zwxy,18U);
                        ^~~~

2012-03-12 23:41:07 Error: Error building OpenCL program
hero member
Activity: 980
Merit: 506
March 12, 2012, 07:52:07 PM
#42
Wait are the speeds being listed as actual speeds of running litecoin and its scrypt algorithm?

If so then the network hashrate should be jumpin sky high right now.

Please clarify...

thanks Grin

The price of LTC is comparable to the price of BTC based on per watt averages.  Mining LTC is slightly more profitable based on the average price of LTC right now, however most people would rather mine BTC as there is much greater liquidity and lower volatility (LTC price has been fluctuating on an order of magnitude for the past few months).

Thanks for the info, but you really didn't answer my question....so ...um no thanks? Huh
legendary
Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005
March 12, 2012, 07:32:35 PM
#41
Wait are the speeds being listed as actual speeds of running litecoin and its scrypt algorithm?

If so then the network hashrate should be jumpin sky high right now.

Please clarify...

thanks Grin

The price of LTC is comparable to the price of BTC based on per watt averages.  Mining LTC is slightly more profitable based on the average price of LTC right now, however most people would rather mine BTC as there is much greater liquidity and lower volatility (LTC price has been fluctuating on an order of magnitude for the past few months).
hero member
Activity: 980
Merit: 506
March 12, 2012, 04:45:03 PM
#40
The hashrate is pretty decent on my 6870, I get 320Mh/s with agression on 14 but for my computer to be usable I need to go to  130Mh/s. I guess with a rig dedicated to mining it could be profitable but not if you want to use your computer also.


MH/s? I think you mean KH/s.
legendary
Activity: 1862
Merit: 1011
Reverse engineer from time to time
March 12, 2012, 04:41:12 PM
#39
Well, as pooler said, it's not really profitable at this point to LTC GPU mine, unless you don't pay for electricity. Some may choose to mine, but if they pool mine, they will get less than BTC mining.

Wrong actually, I am making a few more cents a day LTC GPU mining. http://allchains.info/calc.html
It actually has to do more with wattage, though of course the LTC:BTC ratio is important. For instance, most CPUs these days are either at or below 125w, whereas a GPU is from 150 to over 200w.
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
March 12, 2012, 04:30:04 PM
#38
The hashrate is pretty decent on my 6870, I get 320Mh/s with agression on 14 but for my computer to be usable I need to go to  130Mh/s. I guess with a rig dedicated to mining it could be profitable but not if you want to use your computer also.
hero member
Activity: 980
Merit: 506
March 12, 2012, 03:12:21 PM
#37
Anyone GPU mining LTC with a 6990?

What kind of hash rates you getting?
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 500
March 12, 2012, 02:32:40 PM
#36
Well, as pooler said, it's not really profitable at this point to LTC GPU mine, unless you don't pay for electricity. Some may choose to mine, but if they pool mine, they will get less than BTC mining.

Wrong actually, I am making a few more cents a day LTC GPU mining. http://allchains.info/calc.html
legendary
Activity: 1862
Merit: 1011
Reverse engineer from time to time
March 12, 2012, 01:59:23 PM
#35
Well, as pooler said, it's not really profitable at this point to LTC GPU mine, unless you don't pay for electricity. Some may choose to mine, but if they pool mine, they will get less than BTC mining.
hero member
Activity: 980
Merit: 506
March 12, 2012, 01:16:47 PM
#34
Wait are the speeds being listed as actual speeds of running litecoin and its scrypt algorithm?

If so then the network hashrate should be jumpin sky high right now.

Please clarify...

thanks Grin
legendary
Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005
March 12, 2012, 12:51:04 PM
#33
Still can't get the kernel to compile for nVidia... it just hangs at clBuildProgram program.  Sigh.
Pages:
Jump to: