Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 329. (Read 5806004 times)

sr. member
Activity: 412
Merit: 250
os2sam thank you for helping.
I am looking for "universal" for ati 6850 and ati 7770 and for ati 7850
-I d --auto-gpu --auto-fan --gpu-fan 60-80 --temp-overheat 85 --temp-cutoff 95
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I must doing something wrong here.

I want to run only a jalapeno on my netbook, its an atom with integrated graphics. I have the zadig driver installed and the jally is detected. I fire up cgminer with -G or --disable-gpu and it still fails with a windows dialog box popup that says "no opencl.dll found." well I am not using opencl, I want the jally only to mine. what am I missing? using 3.1.1, and the command line is cgminer -G or cgminer --disable-gpu. does opencl.dll actually need to exist even if its not needed?

also, a minor display bug, when I plug the jally into my desktop with an already running cgminer, it detects the jally and it starts hashing with it but the status line for the jally is not added, it just lists the 6870 that was already hashing. shares are reported though in the scrolling part.
Use the nogpu executable file.
legendary
Activity: 4354
Merit: 3614
what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?
I must doing something wrong here.

I want to run only a jalapeno on my netbook, its an atom with integrated graphics. I have the zadig driver installed and the jally is detected. I fire up cgminer with -G or --disable-gpu and it still fails with a windows dialog box popup that says "no opencl.dll found." well I am not using opencl, I want the jally only to mine. what am I missing? using 3.1.1, and the command line is cgminer -G or cgminer --disable-gpu. does opencl.dll actually need to exist even if its not needed?

also, a minor display bug, when I plug the jally into my desktop with an already running cgminer, it detects the jally and it starts hashing with it but the status line for the jally is not added, it just lists the 6870 that was already hashing. shares are reported though in the scrolling part.
set
newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
So I did

Code:
apt-get install fglrx
apt-get install fglrx-updates

And problem above disappeared. X Server running. But still cgminer does not see my 6850.

Code:
set@miner:~/cgminer-3.1.1-x86_64-built$ export DISPLAY=:0
set@miner:~/cgminer-3.1.1-x86_64-built$ ./cgminer -n
No protocol specified
No protocol specified
 [2013-05-25 15:23:48] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-05-25 15:23:48] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-05-25 15:23:48] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1016.4)                   
 [2013-05-25 15:23:48] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-05-25 15:23:48] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-05-25 15:23:48] 0 GPU devices max detected                   
 [2013-05-25 15:23:48] USB all: found 12 devices - listing known devices                   
 [2013-05-25 15:23:48] No known USB devices   
legendary
Activity: 3586
Merit: 1098
Think for yourself
thanks I will read again the gpu-temp flags section.
Just one thing, why  --temp-cutoff doesn't work?
It won't start mining again when temp drops....
The whole time it is "Device recovered to temperature below target, re-enabling"
and nothing happends, or must be there another flag for starting mining again?

From the Top Post - https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.357369

>> --temp-cutoff Temperature where a device will be automatically disabled, one value or comma separated list (default: 95)

To me that implies that the GPU is disabled permanently until you take action to re-enable it.

Now the verbiage in your post does imply that it is *trying* to re-enable your GPU, so I don't know why it isn't.

But I would use a reasonable Temp Target around 60C to 75C, Temp Overheat of 85C to 90C and a Temp Cutoff around 95C

>> --temp-overheat Overheat temperature when automatically managing fan and GPU speeds (default: 85)
>> --temp-target Target temperature when automatically managing fan and GPU speeds (default: 75)

Why don't you post your CGMiner command line and tell us what GPU's you are using in this rig?  Maybe we can come up with something that works better?
Sam
set
newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
Also I'm having bad feeling after this

Code:
set@miner:~$ modprobe fglrx
FATAL: Module fglrx not found.

Does it mean drivers are not installed? If so - should i install it just with `apt-get install fglrx`?
set
newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
@kano
So i did install X server as described here http://askubuntu.com/questions/213678/how-to-install-x11-12-04-lts-x64
and then starded it with xinit
but now i getting this error

Code:
set@miner:~/cgminer-3.1.1-x86_64-built$ sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial
Uninitialised file found, configuring.
Using /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Saving back-up to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.fglrx-1
set@miner:~/cgminer-3.1.1-x86_64-built$ export DISPLAY=:0
set@miner:~/cgminer-3.1.1-x86_64-built$ ./cgminer -n
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  136 ()
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19
  Serial number of failed request:  8
  Current serial number in output stream:  8

What does it mean?
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
I have a bit of an issue, maybe a bug in cgminer.

I have two machines running, one with 2 x 7950 and 1 x 7970. The other has a single 7970.

I get this error - Which I assume is my internet dropping and reconnecting:

http://users.on.net/pacey/error.jpg

One machine (The big one) cgminer crashes. The other machine with the single card, cgminer just hangs (Doesn't crash), and does nothing (Doesn't reconnect or resume hashing).


Can anyone give me any input as to fix this, or maybe tell it to reconnect? I'm thinking on my big machine, when cgminer crashes, this could be a bit more of an issue than just a simple reconnect?

legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
...
 I really need you'r help. Fighting with this whole last week (
Is X running?
Do you have access to X?
export DISPLAY=:0 xlsfonts
... README GPU-README
I'm not sure why I need X on rig without any monutor attached. I have Server Ubuntu 12.04 LTS there.
Also I did DISPLAY=:0 but has no luck
If you are not sure then you just didn't see it in the GPU-README Tongue

On Linux you virtually always need to export your display settings before
starting to get all the cards recognised and/or temperature+clocking working:

export DISPLAY=:0


in the FAQ:

Q: Cgminer cannot see any of my GPUs even though I have configured them all
to be enabled and installed OpenCL (+/- Xorg is running and the DISPLAY
variable is exported on linux)?
A: Check the output of 'cgminer -n', it will list what OpenCL devices your
installed SDK recognises. If it lists none, you have a problem with your
version or installation of the SDK.


and

GPUs mine with OpenCL software via the GPU device driver. This means you need
to have both an OpenCL SDK installed, and the GPU device driver RUNNING (i.e.
Xorg up and running configured for all devices that will mine on linux etc.)


Yeah oddly enough, I did say you need it for a reason ... Smiley
set
newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
...
 I really need you'r help. Fighting with this whole last week (
Is X running?
Do you have access to X?
export DISPLAY=:0 xlsfonts
... README GPU-README
I'm not sure why I need X on rig without any monutor attached. I have Server Ubuntu 12.04 LTS there.
Also I did DISPLAY=:0 but has no luck
newbie
Activity: 40
Merit: 0
So, I've got a PC where there were HD 7770 + 7970 mining litecoin with no problem under win 7 32 bit.
I've got myself a hd5970 and replaced 7770 with it. Then I've got lots of troubles with drivers/sdk because no version of cgminer could start, just crashed.
So I installed a fresh copy of win 7 64 bit and 13.4 drivers with latest sdk. Now cgminer starts fine, gpus do something, but I have no image of what happening, cgminer's console window just shows blank black screen. Any idea how to fix that? What better drivers/sdk to install in this situation? I can already see how it's not so good to have different cards together in one machine.
sr. member
Activity: 412
Merit: 250
thanks I will read again the gpu-temp flags section.
Just one thing, why  --temp-cutoff doesn't work?
It won't start mining again when temp drops....
The whole time it is "Device recovered to temperature below target, re-enabling"
and nothing happends, or must be there another flag for starting mining again?
legendary
Activity: 3586
Merit: 1098
Think for yourself
ati radeon 5800 and two 6800 series and one 7800 series

Uh, ok, your previous post said you had two GPU's now we're up to 4.

You should have your 7800 series in a different machine that the 5xxx and 6xxx series GPU's.

Did you read this threads top post yet?  If you have multiple GPU's/types in the same machine you really need to set your clock ranges per GPU.  The Top Post has easy to understand examples for that.

I have readed alot but still there is no extra flag for GPU TEMP.
I mean two GPUs in one graphic card.

I have 3 graphic cards in one PC is there not possible to have one configuration for all of them?
The safe one, for now I have regulated just a --gpu-fan 55-85 it wokrs ok for now U hope it won't turn off....

The easiest way it would be a GPU-TEMP if that rise for example over 85 oC it slows down mining....


Auto Fan and gpu fan with a fan speed range is only one part of temp control.  You still need to set auto gpu with an engine clock range.

And there are plenty of "GPU TEMP" flags in the readme, gpu readme and top post.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
...
 I really need you'r help. Fighting with this whole last week (
Is X running?
Do you have access to X?
export DISPLAY=:0
xlsfonts

... README GPU-README
Yeah it should be 2 lines Smiley
legendary
Activity: 2955
Merit: 1050

Is X running?
Do you have access to X?
export DISPLAY=:0 xlsfonts
... README GPU-README
just to say it...
kano, thx for your patience and cooperativeness Wink
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
...
 I really need you'r help. Fighting with this whole last week (
Is X running?
Do you have access to X?
export DISPLAY=:0 xlsfonts
... README GPU-README
set
newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
Some more information
Code:
set@miner:~/cgminer-3.1.1-x86_64-built$ sudo aticonfig --lsa
[sudo] password for set:
* 0. 01:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

* - Default adapter
set@miner:~/cgminer-3.1.1-x86_64-built$ lspci -nn | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Barts XT [ATI Radeon HD 6800 Series] [1002:6738]
I really need you'r help. Fighting with this whole last week (
newbie
Activity: 17
Merit: 0
Is there a way to disable any fan management? Just let it handle itself like it did when I was using GUIMiner?
It's not a matter of disabling fan management. You're the one enabling fan management by giving it commands. Just don't give it any fan related commands and cgminer will only monitor them.

Ah ok. It must have added them by default then cause I didn't give it anything but the pool settings.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Is there a way to disable any fan management? Just let it handle itself like it did when I was using GUIMiner?
It's not a matter of disabling fan management. You're the one enabling fan management by giving it commands. Just don't give it any fan related commands and cgminer will only monitor them.
set
newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
Hi guys! Having bad times trying to get cgminer work with rig with only (for now) one 6850 card.
I'm using Ubuntu 12.04 LTS and this https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/preview?sle=true manual
Installed catalyst-13.4

After all here is what i got:

Code:
set@miner:~/cgminer-3.1.1-x86_64-built$ ./cgminer -n
 [2013-05-25 00:46:34] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-05-25 00:46:34] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-05-25 00:46:34] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (793.1)                   
 [2013-05-25 00:46:34] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-05-25 00:46:34] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-05-25 00:46:34] 0 GPU devices max detected                   
 [2013-05-25 00:46:34] USB all: found 12 devices - listing known devices                   
 [2013-05-25 00:46:34] No known USB devices

What is my next steps?
Jump to: