Pages:
Author

Topic: Masterchest Wallet Alpha Testing Thread - page 5. (Read 13391 times)

sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
March 08, 2014, 04:28:44 PM
#73
I've been trying to break stuff as well and I finally managed to!

I just installed Alpha 2 and got this error when it appears the msc-chain got caught up:

Quote
DEBUG: Block Analysis for: 289519
DEBUG: Block Analysis for pending transactions
BLOCKSCAN: Transaction processing starting...
ERROR: Blockchain scanning thread threw exception : The column name is not valid. [ Node name (if any) = ,Column name = ADDRESS ]
DEBUG: Thread exited with error condition.

Is the version on the mastercoinwallets site always the latest version?

Firstly, thanks for all the bug reports guys, I am taking them on board and looking at them where I can.  

I may be a bit quiet today so sorry if you don't get an immediate response, since joining 'full-time' a couple of weeks ago I've worked through both weekends which has - shall we say, irritated - my better half whom I promised I would work less after leaving my day job!  So a bit of Sunday family time is in order I think Smiley  You know the drill, happy wife happy life.

Tachikoma/DexX, I've just pushed a commit up fixing this bug (thanks to DexX for highlighting the buggy code!).

SyRenity, yep I have been thinking about SQLite but time is so limited at the moment it hasn't made its way far up the priority list unfortunately.

Ron, moving that folder won't do it I'm afraid - SQLCE is just really DLLs and these will be in your GAC (global assembly cache) as well as your system folders so just moving that folder out of program files will be ineffective.  As I mentioned really it's a complete removal or an upgrade.  Best bet is simply run this http://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/details.aspx?id=5783 to update your old SQLCE install.  Also whilst I do of course appreciate your desire to have things easy for the user, I think those expectations are perhaps a little too high.  I have put a lot of effort into this & I did indeed test both without SQLCE and with SQLCE installed, but I did not test with outdated SQLCE installed.  I can't test every possible scenario, hardware configuration and software portfolio before alpha - it's just not realistic.  This is why it's out here for the community to test and as you guys pick these things up I will of course address them and try to remove/automate resolution of problems etc.  There WILL be bugs at this stage.  Completely agree stable releases should be much better Smiley but initial alphas are inherently unstable as they're the first time code gets tested on a wide range of configurations.

Thanks guys! Smiley
Zathras

EDIT: Tachikoma, just tested the link on mastercoinwallets and that pulls directly from raw.github.com so yeah should always be the latest binary.  Every time I do a commit on source I do a build and update the binary in the bin archive on github so getting latest version should always just be redownloading that archive following any commits I do.
legendary
Activity: 1106
Merit: 1026
March 08, 2014, 07:24:34 AM
#72
Is the version on the mastercoinwallets site always the latest version?

Usually yes.

I received the same error and suggested a fix.


Edit: There is some difference with the cancel offer, I think:

https://masterchain.info/selloffer.html?tx=5c6802c5f1e3aa69f90a051250792bc1c5ad2e965259a2673059884df71dfd13¤cy=TMSC
http://www.mymastercoins.com/default.aspx?TXID=5c6802c5f1e3aa69f90a051250792bc1c5ad2e965259a2673059884df71dfd13

Since this tx went through another open order shows an unit price of infinite: http://i.imgur.com/f6kUrO2.png (this was the state earlier, more or less: http://i.imgur.com/7vCCECd.png)
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
March 08, 2014, 05:34:21 AM
#71
I've been trying to break stuff as well and I finally managed to!

I just installed Alpha 2 and got this error when it appears the msc-chain got caught up:

Quote
DEBUG: Block Analysis for: 289519
DEBUG: Block Analysis for pending transactions
BLOCKSCAN: Transaction processing starting...
ERROR: Blockchain scanning thread threw exception : The column name is not valid. [ Node name (if any) = ,Column name = ADDRESS ]
DEBUG: Thread exited with error condition.

Is the version on the mastercoinwallets site always the latest version?
hero member
Activity: 756
Merit: 502
March 08, 2014, 05:02:20 AM
#70
2. This is not something that users should have to deal with - there needs to be a cleaner solution - the wallet should just work out of the box without users needing to tweak with other software installed on their system.

Just a quick suggestion (I was involved in development of desktop app for a mass market in past, which also had same considerations) - please consider using SQLite.
It will give you same capabilities, minus all the distribution and installation headache that SQL server compact will introduce.

You only need to bundle a single DLL to make it work, and there is also an ADO provider (which seems to be useful in your case):
http://system.data.sqlite.org/index.html/doc/trunk/www/index.wiki

HTH.
legendary
Activity: 1358
Merit: 1003
Ron Gross
March 08, 2014, 03:05:22 AM
#69
P.S if you want to do a quick debugging session with me, ping me on skype.
legendary
Activity: 1358
Merit: 1003
Ron Gross
March 08, 2014, 03:04:31 AM
#68
Hey Ron,

Hmm - this is an interesting one.  Basically I think you must already have a 32 bit installation of SQL Server 3.5 Compact, and that installation is older (3.5.5692) than the version I bundle with the wallet (3.5.8080).

I believe Windows uses the system SQL CE components if it's already been installed (rather than DLL's bundled in the application directory).

Either should fix:
1) Uninstall the SQL server compact edition you have on your machine which will make the wallet use the 3.5.8080 DLL's in the app directory (of course this may affect whatever software originally installed it)
2) Upgrade your local SQL server compact edition installation to 3.5.8080+

Thanks
Zathras

1. I don't see SQL server in "Add / remove programs". I did spot it under "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server Compact Edition", and moved it to "C:\tmp" (I didn't want to just delete it). This didn't help, and I'm getting the same error.

2. This is not something that users should have to deal with - there needs to be a cleaner solution - the wallet should just work out of the box without users needing to tweak with other software installed on their system.
legendary
Activity: 1106
Merit: 1026
March 07, 2014, 06:01:54 PM
#67
Hey zathras,

chart is fixed. You need to set the culture info at the beginning of the workthread_DoWork() method, too. I think that's also the only section where anything multithreaded is, right? So it should be fine then.. Smiley

I'm not sure, if CurrentThread.CurrentCulture is enough or if CurrentUICulture needs also to be set. But make sure you use CultureInfo.InvariantCulture instead of creating your own with only the decimal change.

Re: font size, this seems to be somewhat messy and there are some reports that users have problems with it, even when trying to change the element's size on the fly. Some said that the AutoScaleMode should set to .Dpi instead of .Font, but after testing the tables were still misplaced. Maybe you should use fixed font sizes all over the wallet and simply force a specific size, if this is possible. Less usability is still preferred over a broken interface imho.

It would also be nice, if the form is not entitled with "Form1". Wink

By the way, do you scan and refetch the block chain on the fly?


Edit: The balances in the "address overview" are accurate, but the "currencies overview" displays the balances as if the decimal limiter was ignored. http://i.imgur.com/wJoZ0iy.png

The date of a transaction created by the wallet is also affected by localization, I think: http://i.imgur.com/kUBEteZ.png + http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=ad6HcMDR (log was super long, so I hope this is relevant part)
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
March 07, 2014, 04:43:09 PM
#66
Re translations - I did notice some comments on github relating to preparing for translations, thanks for that and I will get back to you soon! Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
March 07, 2014, 04:42:17 PM
#65
Hi guys,

Was this reported already? I googled and didn't find this error message regarding to Masterchest Wallet:

File version mismatch detected between ADO.NET


---------------------------
Masterchest_Wallet
---------------------------
File version mismatch detected between ADO.NET Provider and native binaries of SQL Server Compact which could result in an incorrect functionality.  This could be due to the presence of multiple instances of SQL Server Compact of different versions.  Please install SQL Server Compact binaries of matching version [ADO.NET Provider File Version = 3.5.5692.*, Native Binary File Version = 3.5.8080.*]
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------



Hey Ron,

Hmm - this is an interesting one.  Basically I think you must already have a 32 bit installation of SQL Server 3.5 Compact, and that installation is older (3.5.5692) than the version I bundle with the wallet (3.5.8080).

I believe Windows uses the system SQL CE components if it's already been installed (rather than DLL's bundled in the application directory).

Either should fix:
1) Uninstall the SQL server compact edition you have on your machine which will make the wallet use the 3.5.8080 DLL's in the app directory (of course this may affect whatever software originally installed it)
2) Upgrade your local SQL server compact edition installation to 3.5.8080+

Thanks
Zathras
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
March 07, 2014, 07:00:50 AM
#64
Do you want to use the masterchest wallet in another language?

Help with with translation and reviews are welcome here:

https://www.transifex.com/projects/p/masterchest-wallet-1/


You can do as much as you want or as little as you want, if you only translate a few words that fine. I'll do my best to handout rewards once new languages become available! To track this please use the same username here and on Transifex.

(still working on how payouts can be done fairly so please be patient if you have to wait for your payout until the official wallet supports your language)
legendary
Activity: 1358
Merit: 1003
Ron Gross
March 07, 2014, 04:08:53 AM
#63
Hi guys,

Was this reported already? I googled and didn't find this error message regarding to Masterchest Wallet:

File version mismatch detected between ADO.NET


---------------------------
Masterchest_Wallet
---------------------------
File version mismatch detected between ADO.NET Provider and native binaries of SQL Server Compact which could result in an incorrect functionality.  This could be due to the presence of multiple instances of SQL Server Compact of different versions.  Please install SQL Server Compact binaries of matching version [ADO.NET Provider File Version = 3.5.5692.*, Native Binary File Version = 3.5.8080.*]
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------

newbie
Activity: 18
Merit: 0
March 07, 2014, 01:53:26 AM
#62
When I sent payment,there was debug messages as follow and my wallet became "not synchronzied ".  After I restarted the wallet client the error is the same and I cannot synchronize. Then I restart both bitcoin-qt and msc wallet client, it's ok. 

DEBUG: Sanity checking balances table...
BLOCKSCAN: Finished, sleeping.
DEBUG: Thread exited.
DEBUG: Thread 'workthread' starting...
STATUS: Connection to bitcoin RPC established & sanity check OK.
STATUS: Connection to database established & sanity check OK.
STATUS: Database starting at block 289322
STATUS: Network is at block 289327
STATUS: 5 blocks to catch up
DEBUG: Block Analysis for: 289322
DEBUG: Block Analysis for: 289323
DEBUG: Block Analysis for: 289324
DEBUG: Block Analysis for: 289325
DEBUG: Block Analysis for: 289326
DEBUG: Block Analysis for: 289327
BLOCKSCAN: Found MSC transaction (accept offer): 485aecab6cf60af5cf2e50fa6fea71226e2efa1c091e084e33ce1bfc7a8e5a09
DEBUG: Block Analysis for pending transactions
BLOCKSCAN: Found pending MSC transaction (simple send): 37372d20fd5cd5bfa98b0a53072e775d333eaa55c960ec63c8117a7732cfbefa
BLOCKSCAN: Transaction processing starting...
DEBUG: Enumerating addresses...
ERROR: Blockchain scanning thread threw exception : 添加或减去的值产生无法表示的(my translation : "The added or subtracted value results in an un-representable") DateTime。
参数名(my translation "parameter name"): value
DEBUG: Thread exited with error condition.
newbie
Activity: 18
Merit: 0
March 06, 2014, 11:38:43 PM
#61
Zathras,after I set font  size to 100%,the popup window is ok. The  blue color bottom line of the Rectangular buying popup window isn't there, is't ok?

Hmm.. did also not help. It's pretty late here already, so I guess the next round comes tomorrow. Cheers! Smiley

DexX - No worries, thanks for helping test - greatly appreciated Smiley  I'll see about some further testing my end...

Pplwjd - Just for a test, could you set font size to 100% and then see if everything looks right?  You can set it back to 125% afterwards.  I'd just like to see if that's part of the issue.

Thanks
Zathras
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
March 06, 2014, 09:08:43 PM
#60
Hmm.. did also not help. It's pretty late here already, so I guess the next round comes tomorrow. Cheers! Smiley

DexX - No worries, thanks for helping test - greatly appreciated Smiley  I'll see about some further testing my end...

Pplwjd - Just for a test, could you set font size to 100% and then see if everything looks right?  You can set it back to 125% afterwards.  I'd just like to see if that's part of the issue.

Thanks
Zathras
legendary
Activity: 1106
Merit: 1026
March 06, 2014, 09:04:44 PM
#59
Hmm.. did also not help. It's pretty late here already, so I guess the next round comes tomorrow. Cheers! Smiley
newbie
Activity: 18
Merit: 0
March 06, 2014, 08:55:43 PM
#58
Thank you dexX7

To Zathras, my os is win7 and language is chinese. Screen Resolution is 1680*1050 and I changed my screen fonts size 125% so that I can see it comfortably.

The chart is still broken, but I assume the the culture info is only set for the specific thread and not globally. I'm not aware of a workaround, but it's probably worth to look into and to combat this whenever possible. Could also lead to broken queries, if floating points are used somewhere for example.
 
Code:
Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentCulture = System.Globalization.CultureInfo.InvariantCulture

Has a broader effect and is not only limited to decimal marks, so something related may be preferred.


The image from pplwjd: http://i.imgur.com/vwEK0WC.jpg

edit: sent you some! Smiley

53e7ecbbdafb260e66531f4743dd6f5d332c2f0463148b14368be1ebfde28ff2 (0.005 MSC)
cd0923045d076fc9fbdae6c6f2d601cc549667b21e2e949fcbabb64e592f8541 (0.2 TMSC)

Will probably take a few minutes until it's visible on masterchest.info.
Good point - the chart is drawn by the scanning thread - as a stop gap while I look into invariantculture I've added to scanning thread - can you please try again?

Pplwjd - that's bizarre - seems it can't even find the right fonts etc - what OS & language is that & any customizations (DPI, scaling etc)?

Thanks
Zathras
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
March 06, 2014, 08:45:26 PM
#57
The chart is still broken, but I assume the the culture info is only set for the specific thread and not globally. I'm not aware of a workaround, but it's probably worth to look into and to combat this whenever possible. Could also lead to broken queries, if floating points are used somewhere for example.

Code:
Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentCulture = System.Globalization.CultureInfo.InvariantCulture

Has a broader effect and is not only limited to decimal marks, so something related may be preferred.


The image from pplwjd: http://i.imgur.com/vwEK0WC.jpg

edit: sent you some! Smiley

53e7ecbbdafb260e66531f4743dd6f5d332c2f0463148b14368be1ebfde28ff2 (0.005 MSC)
cd0923045d076fc9fbdae6c6f2d601cc549667b21e2e949fcbabb64e592f8541 (0.2 TMSC)

Will probably take a few minutes until it's visible on masterchest.info.
Good point - the chart is drawn by the scanning thread - as a stop gap while I look into invariantculture I've added to scanning thread - can you please try again?

Pplwjd - that's bizarre - seems it can't even find the right fonts etc - what OS & language is that & any customizations (DPI, scaling etc)?

Thanks
Zathras
legendary
Activity: 1106
Merit: 1026
March 06, 2014, 08:38:48 PM
#56
The chart is still broken, but I assume the culture info is only set for the specific thread and not globally. I'm not aware of a workaround, but it's probably worth to look into and to combat this whenever possible. Could also lead to broken queries, if floating points are used somewhere for example.

Code:
Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentCulture = System.Globalization.CultureInfo.InvariantCulture

Has a broader effect and is not only limited to decimal marks, so something related may be preferred.


The image from pplwjd: http://i.imgur.com/vwEK0WC.jpg

edit: sent you some! Smiley

53e7ecbbdafb260e66531f4743dd6f5d332c2f0463148b14368be1ebfde28ff2 (0.005 MSC)
cd0923045d076fc9fbdae6c6f2d601cc549667b21e2e949fcbabb64e592f8541 (0.2 TMSC)

Will probably take a few minutes until it's visible on masterchest.info.
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
March 06, 2014, 08:04:56 PM
#55
Hey DexX,

I've gone over the numbers and it seems your client is submitting , instead of . when it builds the chart data.  I think this could lead to some unexpected things so I've just gone ahead and declared it's use globally.  Hopefully this will sort it.  Can you pull the latest binary and test?  I'll continue to look at the other issues mentioned.

Code:
        'declare globalization to make sure we use a . for decimal only
        Dim customCulture As System.Globalization.CultureInfo = System.Threading.Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentCulture.Clone()
        customCulture.NumberFormat.NumberDecimalSeparator = "."
        System.Threading.Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentCulture = customCulture
        System.Threading.Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentUICulture = customCulture

Hey pplwjd,

I can't see the image (image proxy error), any chance you can include something like an imgur link?

Thanks Smiley
Zathras
newbie
Activity: 18
Merit: 0
March 06, 2014, 07:55:40 PM
#54
When I buying,the screen became like this,wish it's helpful. By the way I like the UI style of this wallet very very much. Could somebody else please send me a little TMSC so that I can go on the testing. My address is 1Bohpd8tqJe4BdDFNctrzPhCmA2soCYspn, thanks.
http://imagecheese.net/images/buyingpic.jpg
Pages:
Jump to: