Author

Topic: [ mining os ] nvoc - page 309. (Read 418549 times)

legendary
Activity: 4354
Merit: 9201
'The right to privacy matters'
July 02, 2017, 10:44:54 AM
Fullzero thanks for detailed instruction of my idea and including it into nvOS v0017

here are some operations for image space releasing:

sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade

===skip===

it allows to descrease size image on 2++Gb


PS:I would like to add monitoring system into your project.
Now, I'm choosing from zabbix, munin and cacti. What would you advice?

@_Parallax_

Code:
sudo apt-get purge $(dpkg -l linux-{image,headers}-"[0-9]*" | awk '/ii/{print $2}' | grep -ve "$(uname -r | sed -r 's/-[a-z]+//')")
will do all of that in a single line
or install byobu then you can run `sudo purge-old-kernels`

I use zabbix with grafana. Gives me telegram alerts and pretty graphs
 
*edit, forgot the closing )
Excellent example, thanks!

Could you show how did you install setting  of zabbix and grafana?

Well, I tried but mod's keep deleting my post  Angry
I'll write something up and post it to github and just link it here

send it to me in pm  I will post it.







This is your pm  lets hope it sticks:





!!! WARNING: This user is a newbie. If you are expecting a message from a more veteran member, then this is an imposter !!!

I have Zabbix installed on a raspberry pi, agents on my miners

Server (Ubuntu steps
Pre-Reqs
Code:
sudo apt-get install php7.0-xml php7.0-bcmath php7.0-mbstring

Server install
Code:
wget http://repo.zabbix.com/zabbix/3.2/ubuntu/pool/main/z/zabbix-release/zabbix-release_3.2-1+xenial_all.deb
sudo
Code:
dpkg -i zabbix-release_3.2-1+xenial_all.deb
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install zabbix-server-mysql zabbix-frontend-php
sudo apt-get install zabbix-agent

mysql setup
Code:
mysql -uroot -p
mysql> create database zabbix character set utf8 collate utf8_bin
grant all privileges on zabbix.* to zabbix@localhost identified by 'your_password';
flush privileges;
quit;

Load up the DB
Code:
zcat /usr/share/doc/zabbix-server-mysql/create.sql.gz | mysql -uzabbix -p zabbix

Put mysql pass in zabbix_server.conf
/etc/zabbix/zabbix_server.conf
Code:
DBPassword=your_zabbix_mysql_password

Edit apache config for timezone
/etc/zabbix/apache.conf
Code:
    # php_value date.timezone Europe/Riga
Change that to your timezone using http://php.net/manual/en/timezones.php

Agent Install
Code:
wget http://repo.zabbix.com/zabbix/3.2/ubuntu/pool/main/z/zabbix-release/zabbix-release_3.2-1+xenial_all.deb
sudo
Code:
dpkg -i zabbix-release_3.2-1+xenial_all.deb
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install zabbix-agent

On the agent enable remote commands
/etc/zabbix/zabbig_agent.conf
Find EnableRemoteCommands and change it to
Code:
EnableRemoteCommands=1

Now at the bottom of the zabbix_agent.conf you can create custom checks using userparameter

Example: (use grep, awk, cut etc to grab the specific data, this is for EWBF)
UserParameter=temp.gpu0,curl http://miner1:42000/getstat

Grafana, do a basic install and add in the zabbix plugin. That one is a bit detailed
Here is what mine looks like
































full member
Activity: 169
Merit: 100
July 02, 2017, 10:34:19 AM
Hey there, having an issue with most of my rigs with what I'm struggling for days now, wanted to give it a shot and post here to see if someone has an answer.

Got 5 rigs with this setup:

MB: ASROCK H81 PRO BTC rev 2.0
CPU: Intel Celeron
PSU: Antec 750W Gold
GPUs: 6x Gigabyte GTX 1050ti 4GB
Risers: 6x 16x USB Molex powered risers.
OS: nvOC v0017
Clocks: 150/600
Coin: ZEC

Few rigs with:
MB: ASROCK H81 PRO BTC rev 2.0
CPU: Intel Celeron
PSU: Antec 750W Gold
GPUs: 3x Gigabyte GTX 1050ti 4GB and 3x Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
Risers: 6x 16x USB Molex powered risers.
OS: nvOC v0017
Clocks: 150/600
Coin: ZEC

Rigs crashing all the time, most crash with GPU1 stopped working, then they crash one by one. Sometimes they exit with thread errors.

What I've tried:

1. Lowering the clocks
2. Using the default clocks
3. Using Powerlimit (Both lowering and increasing from it's default value by 5-15W)
4. Powering the PCI buses with 2x Molex connectors to the both (With and without it)
5. Swapping the risers on GPU that crashed first
6. Swapping the GPU that crashed first
7. Swapping the PSU
8. Powering 2x GPUs per PSU cable
9. Using Auto/Gen1/Gen2 for PCI bandwidth speed

Currently, Im out of ideas what to do. Anyone has a suggestion?

Was just going to ask what power limit do you have set for each card? And how many molex's do you have plugged in on each rail ? From what you are describing, it is sounding like a power issue.
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
July 02, 2017, 07:52:49 AM
Hey there, having an issue with most of my rigs with what I'm struggling for days now, wanted to give it a shot and post here to see if someone has an answer.

Got 5 rigs with this setup:

MB: ASROCK H81 PRO BTC rev 2.0
CPU: Intel Celeron
PSU: Antec 750W Gold
GPUs: 6x Gigabyte GTX 1050ti 4GB
Risers: 6x 16x USB Molex powered risers.
OS: nvOC v0017
Clocks: 150/600
Coin: ZEC

Few rigs with:
MB: ASROCK H81 PRO BTC rev 2.0
CPU: Intel Celeron
PSU: Antec 750W Gold
GPUs: 3x Gigabyte GTX 1050ti 4GB and 3x Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
Risers: 6x 16x USB Molex powered risers.
OS: nvOC v0017
Clocks: 150/600
Coin: ZEC

Rigs crashing all the time, most crash with GPU1 stopped working, then they crash one by one. Sometimes they exit with thread errors.

What I've tried:

1. Lowering the clocks
2. Using the default clocks
3. Using Powerlimit (Both lowering and increasing from it's default value by 5-15W)
4. Powering the PCI buses with 2x Molex connectors to the both (With and without it)
5. Swapping the risers on GPU that crashed first
6. Swapping the GPU that crashed first
7. Swapping the PSU
8. Powering 2x GPUs per PSU cable
9. Using Auto/Gen1/Gen2 for PCI bandwidth speed

Currently, Im out of ideas what to do. Anyone has a suggestion?

Try running one graphics card in the full slot (if they have a full slot) and run it for, see it lasts half an hour, then add a second one.. preferably in a full slot (before trying screw around with risers and stuff) and build up with half an hour intervals seeing at what point cards become unstable.. It may be PSU isnt able to supply the power and when it hits its thermal switch it brings down the output.. killing your cards.. locking up the system..
newbie
Activity: 36
Merit: 0
July 02, 2017, 07:40:05 AM
Hey there, having an issue with most of my rigs with what I'm struggling for days now, wanted to give it a shot and post here to see if someone has an answer.

Got 5 rigs with this setup:

MB: ASROCK H81 PRO BTC rev 2.0
CPU: Intel Celeron
PSU: Antec 750W Gold
GPUs: 6x Gigabyte GTX 1050ti 4GB
Risers: 6x 16x USB Molex powered risers.
OS: nvOC v0017
Clocks: 150/600
Coin: ZEC

Few rigs with:
MB: ASROCK H81 PRO BTC rev 2.0
CPU: Intel Celeron
PSU: Antec 750W Gold
GPUs: 3x Gigabyte GTX 1050ti 4GB and 3x Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
Risers: 6x 16x USB Molex powered risers.
OS: nvOC v0017
Clocks: 150/600
Coin: ZEC

Rigs crashing all the time, most crash with GPU1 stopped working, then they crash one by one. Sometimes they exit with thread errors.

What I've tried:

1. Lowering the clocks
2. Using the default clocks
3. Using Powerlimit (Both lowering and increasing from it's default value by 5-15W)
4. Powering the PCI buses with 2x Molex connectors to the both (With and without it)
5. Swapping the risers on GPU that crashed first
6. Swapping the GPU that crashed first
7. Swapping the PSU
8. Powering 2x GPUs per PSU cable
9. Using Auto/Gen1/Gen2 for PCI bandwidth speed

Currently, Im out of ideas what to do. Anyone has a suggestion?
S9k
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
July 02, 2017, 07:24:54 AM
Hi
I don't want to use the mounted FAT32 system with the oneBash file because after everyone incorrect restart of nvOC, this file system isn't mounted.
-------------
m1@m1-desktop:~$ df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /dev
tmpfs           793M  9.6M  784M   2% /run
/dev/sda2        15G   12G  2.5G  83% /
tmpfs           3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M  4.0K  5.0M   1% /run/lock
tmpfs           3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs           793M   36K  793M   1% /run/user/1000
m1@m1-desktop:~$
----------------------

m1@m1-desktop:~$ cd /media/m1
m1@m1-desktop:/media/m1$ ll
total 8
drwxr-x---+ 2 root root 4096 Jul  2 08:11 ./
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root 4096 Jan 15 22:22 ../
--------------
Please help me to understand where I have to ban to mount / dev/sda1 in  /media/m1/1263-A96E/. I want that the file/media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash was on local file system, not FAT32.

Tnx!
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
July 02, 2017, 05:51:24 AM
Somebody may have mentioned this but would it be possible to edit the xorg.conf so that additional resolutions are available for machines that are completely headless?  When I use teamviewer its defaulting to a very low resolution and there are seemingly no others available.


This bothered me too so i added this to oneBash, just slap it anywhere:

xrandr --fb 1360x768



I use the teamviewer=yes param but it does not start automaticaly, I have to click it on terminal. Can anybody help me?

Didnt work for me either, my solution was to uninstall teamviewer, go to the teamviewer site and download the .deb file, install that and add teamviewer to startup applications so it starts when the rig boots, You also have to disable the part about teamviewer in the onebash script or else it will not work, either delete all mention of teamviewer or add a # in front of the lines of code to disable them.
newbie
Activity: 16
Merit: 0
July 02, 2017, 03:22:19 AM
I use the teamviewer=yes param but it does not start automaticaly, I have to click it on terminal. Can anybody help me?
newbie
Activity: 21
Merit: 0
July 02, 2017, 03:17:29 AM
Somebody may have mentioned this but would it be possible to edit the xorg.conf so that additional resolutions are available for machines that are completely headless?  When I use teamviewer its defaulting to a very low resolution and there are seemingly no others available.
newbie
Activity: 16
Merit: 0
July 02, 2017, 03:10:33 AM
MSI Z170A GAMING M5 is in the fully supported list, this mobo has 7x pcie and 2x M.2 slots, so it might support 9 cards. I tried and found that only the 1st M.2 slot(near CPU) worked with M.2 to pcie adapter, so I can run only 8 cards. Any body tried 9 cards?

I use Asus Prime Z270-a. In its bios you can change the function of the m.2 slots. Now I use it with 7 card because the m.2 pcie adapters have not arrived yet, so when they will arrive maybe next week, I will referee to you is you need it.
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
July 02, 2017, 02:58:56 AM
Does anyone have any idea how i can check if my cards are Samsung or Micron memory in ubuntu? i've looked but i cant find anything that will tell me this info.

this cmd will give you detailed information; but its not as helpful as some of the windows tools:

Code:
lspci -vnn | grep VGA -A 12

You should be able to use the memory info from this cmd to identify different manufacturers.

I don't have this info; but I am reasonably sure that is how the windows applications which provide this work; and it is available somewhere on the internet.

Thanks but i've tried that already, theres nothing there that i can use to find out the memory vendor, i've tried every command or system info tool that can provide information on the GPU, as far as i can tell theres nothing that lists the memory vendor..
newbie
Activity: 16
Merit: 0
July 02, 2017, 02:52:30 AM
Hi Guys,

I continue the trying to switch to dwarfpool from nanopool. v17 nvOC, same hw and other sw params, just the pool is the different.

claymore:

ETH - Total Speed: 211.976 Mh/s, Total Shares: 832, Rejected: 0, Time: 02:11
ETH: GPU0 30.360 Mh/s, GPU1 30.396 Mh/s, GPU2 30.362 Mh/s, GPU3 30.394 Mh/s, GPU4 30.543 Mh/s, GPU5 29.973 Mh/s, GPU6 29.947 Mh/s

genoil:

  m  03:45:20|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 182.44MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]
  m  03:45:21|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 190.81MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]
  m  03:45:21|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 185.98MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]
  m  03:45:22|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 189.03MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]
  m  03:45:22|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 182.75MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]
  m  03:45:23|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 186.61MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]
  m  03:45:24|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 178.26MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]
  m  03:45:24|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 187.75MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]
  m  03:45:25|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 183.28MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]
  m  03:45:25|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 189.52MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]
  m  03:45:26|ethminer  Mining on PoWhash #7a75ced3 : 183.68MH/s [A3+0:R0+0:F0]

Can anybody explain the difference? The genoil is the worse, I dont know why.

I use an other rig exactly the same hw and sw just genoil and nanopool. Here I got 216 MH/s.

Any idea or suggession?

Thank you!
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
July 01, 2017, 11:12:29 PM
Hello - Really enjoying this OS - Top efforts on making this and making it free !

I am in tthe process of updating to 17 and all the goodies it'll bring ! however just putting my 2c into this build!

firslty one of the few mods I made to the Bash file overall are as follow and can really see a benifit for all users -

Firstly I have created a varible at the top which sets the name of every currency to the same name - great since I have about 5 rigs running at present and with one line can change rig name, much quicker and updating names makes debugging so much easier

I have also plugged in at the top with a breif wait after a quick ping to the servers I am mining from, really hand for problem testing -

thirdly, I have added the dual mining rate as a variable at the top, allowing a default setting instead of adjusting it down or hardcoding one in, easier to tweak it across entire mining network..

Something I am trying to fix up though is I mostly use claymore miner, and claymore miner outputs a rather nice logfile which I plan on running a push system in nvOC to send that data to an actual server Im running for debuggin and stats, however I noticed the hardcoded dbg for no logfile output, im trying to change this to outtput logs however having some difficulty with it :S id really like claymores single logfile option where it just adds new data to a log file however it doesnt seem to be running well - oh well will keep trying !

Really awesome job overall !!!  Cheers!
full member
Activity: 350
Merit: 100
July 01, 2017, 09:16:04 PM
MSI Z170A GAMING M5 is in the fully supported list, this mobo has 7x pcie and 2x M.2 slots, so it might support 9 cards. I tried and found that only the 1st M.2 slot(near CPU) worked with M.2 to pcie adapter, so I can run only 8 cards. Any body tried 9 cards?
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
July 01, 2017, 08:12:11 PM
Using Biostar Racing Z270 GT6:  set maxTOLUD, did not set security settings (no option in Z270).

A few questions and problems::

1) Plugging in a second GPU (via risers, 1st GPU also via risers) causes the motherboard to black screen on boot.  Here's a teamviewer screenshot of how it looks like (display stopped working when a 2nd GPU came in, had to remote in with teamviewer).   http://imgur.com/a/H5flW

2) The closest PCIE to the CPU is a 1x, then a 16x.  Which slot is considered my "primary GPU"?  Is it the 16x?
legendary
Activity: 4354
Merit: 9201
'The right to privacy matters'
July 01, 2017, 06:25:56 PM
Fullzero thanks for detailed instruction of my idea and including it into nvOS v0017

here are some operations for image space releasing:

sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade

===skip===

it allows to descrease size image on 2++Gb


PS:I would like to add monitoring system into your project.
Now, I'm choosing from zabbix, munin and cacti. What would you advice?

@_Parallax_

Code:
sudo apt-get purge $(dpkg -l linux-{image,headers}-"[0-9]*" | awk '/ii/{print $2}' | grep -ve "$(uname -r | sed -r 's/-[a-z]+//')")
will do all of that in a single line
or install byobu then you can run `sudo purge-old-kernels`

I use zabbix with grafana. Gives me telegram alerts and pretty graphs
 
*edit, forgot the closing )
Excellent example, thanks!

Could you show how did you install setting  of zabbix and grafana?

Well, I tried but mod's keep deleting my post  Angry
I'll write something up and post it to github and just link it here

send it to me in pm  I will post it.
newbie
Activity: 44
Merit: 0
July 01, 2017, 06:05:37 PM
Fullzero thanks for detailed instruction of my idea and including it into nvOS v0017

here are some operations for image space releasing:

sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade

===skip===

it allows to descrease size image on 2++Gb


PS:I would like to add monitoring system into your project.
Now, I'm choosing from zabbix, munin and cacti. What would you advice?

@_Parallax_

Code:
sudo apt-get purge $(dpkg -l linux-{image,headers}-"[0-9]*" | awk '/ii/{print $2}' | grep -ve "$(uname -r | sed -r 's/-[a-z]+//')")
will do all of that in a single line
or install byobu then you can run `sudo purge-old-kernels`

I use zabbix with grafana. Gives me telegram alerts and pretty graphs
 
*edit, forgot the closing )
Excellent example, thanks!

Could you show how did you install setting  of zabbix and grafana?

Well, I tried but mod's keep deleting my post  Angry
I'll write something up and post it to github and just link it here
member
Activity: 71
Merit: 10
July 01, 2017, 04:15:03 PM
Hi there!

Been trying nvOC 0012 after OP pointed me to it in another thread and liked it but went back to my own installation for stability reasons and some other things i missed or didn't like. Still I'd like to say thanks for all the work devoted into nvOC and for sharing it with the community!

Now I got my hands on a nice 8xGPU supermicro 4028 case (X9 board inside) for a couple of days (already feelin' sad that I'll have to return this nice machine) and for the sake of simplicity thought I give nvOC another shot (v0017 this time).
After applying my settings to oneBash I fired up nvOC and found it mining smoothly albeit I didn't manage to get a desktop displayed on any of the graphics-ports (tried pretty much all display-port slots of all cards, especiall GPU #0 which was not easy to find out which one it is (inner left if viewing from the back)). the onboard vga-port shows the ubuntu typical purple background but i cannot see anything else on it.

Logging in via ssh works though so I went on checking temps and stuff and found that the fan-speeds were like I configured them for GPU #0 to GPU #3 but running on default for GPU #4 to GPU #7!
Miners were running on all GPU's present, did not find out how to check OC-settings but I suspect only the cards with set fan-speeds will have their OC-settings applied.

Digging a bit deeper into xorg.conf and the output of nvidia-smi I noticed the the graphic cards PCI-device-addresses on this machine do not start at 01 and go up sequentially but are 04, 05, 08, 09 and 84, 85, 88, 89. The cards in the lower addresses had their fanspeed applied correctly, the 8X ones not.

Inspecting nvOC's xorg.conf I found the there are entries for graphic cards on addresses 01 til 14 which might nicely explain why in my case only the cards within this range get their settings applied. So I went on and changed some other device-entries numbers to 84,85, 88, 89 hoping this would do the trick.

Sadly it didn't, behaviour was just like before.
My guess is that these numbers are hardcoded in some other config somewhere in the system and I might need to alter this as well. Any ideas where else I might need to look?


Thanks in advance,
pain
hero member
Activity: 651
Merit: 501
My PGP Key: 92C7689C
July 01, 2017, 03:40:36 PM
All gfx cards are out of stock  Embarrassed

have heard AMD and Nvidia coming up with specialized minings cards

When can we expect it to hit stores?

The local Fry's got a handful of nVidia cards back in stock this week...everything from 1050s to 1080Tis.  You'll pay through the nose for them, of course: the 1070s were going for a bit over $500 pre-rebate (for EVGA 1070 FTWs, IIRC).  I'm not sure if they're still there or if someone snapped them up.  They didn't receive huge quantities...maybe 3 or 4 1070s and a few more 1080s and 1080Tis.

Keep an eye out for deals on used cards.  My first 1070 (a PNY that looks like a reference implementation) cost me $375 on eBay, shipped maybe three weeks ago.  I spent last weekend out of town for an event.  Before going, I checked OfferUp for my destination and found someone selling an MSI 1070 Gaming X for $340.  I asked the seller if he could hold it until I got down there last Friday; he did.  Drove down, swapped cash for the card, added it to the rig when I got back home.  I've seen some deals pop up on Craigslist as well, but I can only act on so many of them at a time. Grin
member
Activity: 81
Merit: 10
July 01, 2017, 01:37:09 PM
 Posted by: GaryH
Insert Quote
Quote from: dj--alex on Today at 12:35:09 PM
Please help  i already write here early
not get answer

Cannot overclock any GPU>0

Screenshot
https://pp.userapi.com/c840225/v840225257/1033e/5v2hp7Fs-sI.jpg

probably need to post your system config mobo/ram/gpus etc.  There are specific builds for specific mobos/configs..

=====================
ookay

my xorg
https://pastebin.com/rPDe8gLQ
AMD AM3+ Dual core 3200Mhz, 4Gb ram,  1 GTX 780, 1 GTX 1060, HDD 750Gb
Linux Mint 18.1 x64 Kernel 4.10  Nvidia-381  Overclocked only one card. 500mhz mem
2 cannot be overclocked.. i thinking requires monitors on EVERY videocard?Huh Why?Huh
maybe emulator monitors?

Ohhh im already post ALL OF THIS DATA  some days early...
and wait 2-3 days for answer
==================
I want to test another coin on GTX 680.   In my house i have ONLY 1 CARD - GTX 680 2Gb + Linux Mint.

How i can do  this to use with <2GB mem?

GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
legendary
Activity: 4354
Merit: 9201
'The right to privacy matters'
July 01, 2017, 12:48:14 PM
nvoc 0017 for zec with 3 1080ti's

full build is here
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.19869437

Phil, nice rig and walkthru.  I made a link to it on the OP.

In general, I would like more members to make guides / walkthrus / videos explaining - demonstrating how to do X.  So long as they don't contain incorrect information I will add them to the OP.  Smiley

In general; the shorter and more specific; the better.

Also I would like to start a list of member rig hardware / configurations to be used as a reference / guide for new members.  Optimally I would like someone else to oversee this and I will link it to the OP.  

been busy moving shifting and arranging gear.

I plan to build and illustrate   3 or 4 different rigs with your software.
Jump to: